The Red Star Xbox (Aug 12, 2004 prototype)

The comic:

The Red Star Xbox disc prototype_20220210_0001.jpg
Unreleased The Red Star Xbox Main Title.jpg
prototype xbox The Red Star man.jpg
The Red Star Xbox Unreleased Version Character Select.jpg
Xbox The Red Star In Game.jpg
The Red Star Xbox prototype Battle.jpg
Unreleased Xbox Version The Red Star Mission.jpg

Originally The Red Star is a 2-book comic. The series was created and scripted by Christian Gossett . The drawing mixes traditional sketching and computer-generated imagery.

Take the Soviet Union as a backdrop. You put in a war between the supporters of this Red Star and the defenders of a land. Then you distil a bit of magic with witches capable of igniting huge cannons and kinds of all-powerful gods. In the middle of all that, you add a love story. You mix it all up and you get The Red Star synopsis.

Comic book graphics  are beautiful, as are the pagination  original but behind all these beautiful drawings, the reader feels a great emptiness, a great lack of depth, a lambda discourse on the meaning of patriotic war and military honor stuck in a coarse mystical dimension.

We like it or we don't like it. Readers' reviews are very mixed about this work of science fiction .

The Red Star Unreleased Xbox Title.jpg

The PS2 and XBOX adaptation of The Redstar:

In 2003, Acclaim signed an agreement with Archangel studio ,  the comic book publishing house, for the adaptation of comics into video games. Release was planned for 2004 on PS2 and Xbox. The Xbox version was made alongside the PlayStation 2 version.

The Red Star  was unfortunately canceled on Xbox due to Acclaim 's bankruptcy. Months before the game's scheduled release, it was featured on OXM ( Official Xbox Magazine ) Demo Disc Number 35. XS Games took over the publishing rights to the game in  integrally redesigning the Xbox version. It will eventually be released on the PSP in 2010. There was even talk of an Xbox release in 2006 published by Game Informer, it never happened, the Microsoft console was cursed for it.

In this action game, the player can alternately embody 3 characters, each of course having their own abilities.

The Red Star  takes place in a parallel universe where the history of Russia is completely different from the one we know. The URBS (name of the nation) has a vast and ultra-modern military arsenal. But this alternate world also has another particularity: magic. The Russian fleet uses wizards to impose its power and protect its borders.

The protagonist of the game (as well as of the comics) is Maya Antares , once a witch in the service of the Russian fleet, who has gone in search of her husband Marcus , who disappeared after a terrible battle ten years earlier.

During her adventures, Maya is accompanied by Kyuzo , her loyal bodyguard, and Mekita , a Nogorkese rebel whom she meets along the way. Having all become outlaws, our heroes are now ready to journey into the unknown to find Marcus and end the tyranny that oppresses their country.

The Red Star was not innovative, these graphics were average. This subtle mix of beat'em all and Shoot'em up went completely unnoticed when it was released on Playstation 2 . It was neither too easy nor too difficult. The cooperation mode was perhaps the greatest interest of the title. It's the kind of game that we try without conviction but for which we take a strange liking to it.

All you have to do is test the Unreleased Xbox version and this new build!

Note:

  • The dump was done, surprisingly, like a ps2 game. The extraction seems clean (to be confirmed).

  • It will be redumped as needed during the year.

  • The prototype works and has been tested on the Xemu emulator.

Feel free to look at " other canceled games " that I found. For the most curious of you, I have created a " list of all unreleased from theDdreamcast ".

The Red Star Xbox (Aug 12, 2004 prototype)

Le comic :

The Red Star Xbox disc prototype_20220210_0001.jpg
Unreleased The Red Star Xbox Main Title.jpg
prototype xbox The Red Star man.jpg
The Red Star Xbox Unreleased Version Character Select.jpg
Xbox The Red Star In Game.jpg
The Red Star Xbox prototype Battle.jpg
Unreleased Xbox Version The Red Star Mission.jpg

À l'origine The Red Star est un comic de 2 livres. La série a été créée et scénarisée par Christian Gossett. Le dessin mélange crayonné traditionnel et décor en images de synthèse.

Prenez l'Union Soviétique en toile de fonds. Vous y mettez une guerre entre les partisans de cette Étoile Rouge et les défenseurs d'une contrée. Ensuite vous distillez un poil de magie avec des sorcières capables d'embraser d'immenses canons et des espèces de dieux tout-puissants. Au milieu de tout ça, vous rajoutez une histoire d'amour. Vous mélangez le tout et vous obtiendrez le synopsis de The Red Star.

Les graphismes de la BD  sont magnifiques, de même que la pagination  originale mais derrière tous ces beaux dessins, le lecteur ressent un grand vide, un grand manque de profondeur, un discours lambda sur le sens de la guerre patriotique et de l'honneur militaire englué dans une dimension mystique grossière.

On aime ou on n'aime pas. Les critiques des lecteurs sont très mitigées au sujet de cet ouvrage de Science-fiction.

The Red Star Unreleased Xbox Title.jpg

L'adaptation sur PS2 et XBOX de The Redstar :

En 2003, Acclaim signa un accord avec Archangel studio,  la maison d'édition du comic, pour l'adaptation de la BD en jeu vidéo. La sortie était prévue pour 2004 sur PS2 et Xbox. La version Xbox a été réalisée en parallèle de la version PlayStation 2.

The Red Star  a malheureusement été annulé sur Xbox en raison de la faillite d'Acclaim. Des mois avant la sortie prévue du jeu, il était présent sur le disque de démonstration Numéro 35 d'OXM (Official Xbox Magazine). XS Games a repris les droits d'édition du jeu en  repensant intégrablement la version Xbox. Il finira par sortir sur PSP en 2010. On parlait même d'une sortie sur Xbox en 2006 éditée par Game Informer, ça n'est jamais arrivé, la console de Microsoft lui était maudite.

Dans ce jeu d'action, le joueur peut incarner alternativement 3 personnages, chacun ayant bien sûr ses propres capacités.

The Red Star  se déroule dans un univers parallèle où l'histoire de la Russie est complètement différente de celle que nous connaissons. L'URBS (nom de la nation) dispose d'un arsenal militaire vaste et ultra-moderne. Mais ce monde alternatif a aussi une autre particularité : la magie. La flotte russe utilise des sorciers pour imposer sa puissance et protéger ses frontières.

La protagoniste du jeu (ainsi que de la bande dessinée) est Maya Antares, autrefois sorcière au service de la flotte russe, qui est partie à la recherche de son mari Marcus, disparu après une terrible bataille dix ans plus tôt.

Au cours de ses aventures, Maya est accompagnée de Kyuzo, son fidèle garde du corps, et de Mekita, un rebelle nogorkais qu'elle rencontre en chemin. Devenus tous des hors-la-loi, nos héros sont maintenant prêts à voyager dans l'inconnu pour retrouver Marcus et mettre fin à la tyrannie qui opprime leur pays.

The Red Star n'innovait pas, ces graphismes étaient moyens. Ce mélange subtil de beat'em all et de Shoot'em up était passé totalement inaperçu lors de sa sortie sur Playstation 2. Il n'était ni trop facile, ni trope difficile. Le mode coopération était peut-être le plus grand intérêt du titre. C'est le genre de jeu qu'on essaie sans conviction mais pour lequel on y prend étrangement goût.

Il ne vous reste plus qu'à tester la version Unreleased Xbox et cette nouvelle build !

Important :

  • Le dump a été fait, étonnament, comme pour un jeu ps2. L'extraction semble propre (à confirmer).

  • Il sera redumper au besoin dans le courant de l'année.

  • Le prototype fonctionne et a été testé sur l'émulateur Xemu.

Vous pouvez le télécharger ci-dessous :

The Red Star Xbox (Aug 12, 2004 prototype)

N'hésitez pas à regarder "les autres jeux annulés" que j'ai trouvés. Pour les plus curieux d'entre vous, j'ai créé une "liste de tous les unreleased de laDdreamcast".