A new prototype of the Propeller Arena Dreamcast looms on the horizon

The game  Dreamcast Propeller Arena could have suffered the same fate as Tetris on Megadrive. Tetris MD had been produced and then its stock was finally destroyed. Some employees at Sega of America make this hypothesis without being able to confirm it.

Its release date was scheduled a week after its cancellation. A deadstock that could sleep in a warehouse? If September 11 had not happened (the reason for its cancellation), it would undoubtedly have been delayed.  No destruction order was given. I love this idea!

"I still think there must be retail copies in a warehouse somewhere!  But everyone I asked told me that they were never made and that the game was going to be delayed if 9/11 hadn't happened.  Who knows if they were telling the truth? "

It was canceled only because of September 11. It had been totally done, packaging, etc., although no retail copies came out. This is a good game ! Just bad timing. "

"I know they didn't go and destroy it, so they're somewhere if they were made."

Sega AM2 Dreamcast logo in game.jpg

You want proof here!

Presented by Sega logo.jpg

During the event dedicated to  the firm with the blue hedgehog, the Segafes 2018 (a kind of Japan Expo on a smaller scale), visitors could contemplate relics exhibited behind glass plinths, a temporary exhibition retracing the history of Sega , from the Megadrive to the Dreamcast ...

In a window, Sonic fans could admire a new accessory from the Dreamcast, a kind of tablet proudly enthroned next to a mysterious copy of Propeller Arena !!!

We still do not know what this touch screen could be used for, perhaps a concept of a level editor. What was that copy of Propeller Arena doing there that seemed to be ready for sale?

The story does not end there. When Sega Japan moved its headquarters in 2019, an employee named Makato Osaki shared photos of a prototype on his twitter account.  but above all a version with a GD-Rom in a hurry and labeled with the title!

The more the years go by, the more the revelations about Propeller Arena leave us wondering. The proofs of its production may be before our eyes. We are just missing a confirmation!

Dreamcast Propeller Arena beta.jpg
Propeller Arena DC new beta town.jpg

Segafes 2018

Propeller Arena Dreamcast.jpg

Makoto Osaki prototype photo

Propeller Arena prototype dreamcast.jpg

Makoto Osaki GD-Rom pressed GD-ROM photo

Propeller Arena Dreamcast Sample.jpg
Unreleased Propeller Arena Dreamcast.jpg
Propeller Arena prototype Dreamcast team select.jpg

"We are going to go through an area of turbulence"

Propeller Arena is an aerial combat game on Dreamcast, developed by Sega-AM2 , which places the player in control of planes competing in tournaments in the near future. He has the choice between different models, such as the Spitfire or the Mustang . He must make the best possible score in a limited time. A large number of figures such as twists or loops are achievable thanks to key combinations on the controller.

Hothead Pappy Boyington could have  enlist the best pilots by seeing them fight online. An online mode was planned. The competitions promised to be tight. Who has never dreamed of being part of an aircraft squadron !!!

The environments are 8 in number without counting the 2 secrets. Air combat takes place above a city, leveling the buildings. Other hunting grounds allow you to fight above an erupting volcano or even by flying over polar bears in a world of ice.

At the start, 8 pilots, each with its own zinc, are available. By completing the game, several times, it will be possible to unlock up to 5 new future Red Barons . The particular style of Sega is present, each aviator is caricatured by having a separate genre.

Propeller Arena Dreamcast Volcano new prototype release.jpg

In terms of graphics, the sets can seem empty or even monotonous. It may be missing details like trees. Apart from this small flaw, the game is fun to play.

Propeller Arena didn't take itself seriously, it wanted to be  easy to learn. As for Crazy Taxi , the watchword was " FUN " !!!

We can only regret that this AM2 title has never been released, it would undoubtedly have been successful by positioning itself today as a reference for the White Queen.

The particularities of this new prototype of Propeller Arena:

It was discovered in 2003 and then made available to the community in a truncated version. It took 19 years to get a GD-I from Propeller Arena . Half Life had known the same fate until the appearance of a physical disc in 2018. History repeats itself for our greatest pleasure!

This beta is the same build that was leaked at the time. Today,  the extraction of the game will have been done correctly. The modified files are linked to downsampling (reduction, data compression) to put the game on CD. The sounds, the music were mainly impacted. The BIN had also been changed.

prototype of Propeller Arena Dreamcast.jpg

Sur le GD-R (format des GD-Rom prototypes, à lire ici), il n'y a aucune annotation. On pourrait le confondre avec un disque vierge.

Propeller Arena Dreamcast analysis

Dreamcast analyse Propeller Arena.png

You can download it below, it includes a CDI (the same one already known) to burn your game as well as the original dump in GDI

New prototype of Propeller Arena for Dreamcast (11.09.2001)

Thanks:

Please feel free to check out " other canceled games " that I have found. For the more curious among you, I have created a " list of all unreleased from the dreamcast ".

Un nouveau prototype de Propeller Arena Dreamcast plane à l'horizon

Le jeu  Dreamcast Propeller Arena aurait pu subir le même sort que Tetris sur Megadrive : Tetris MD avait été produit puis le  stock fût finalement détruit. Certains employés de chez Sega of America émettent cette hypothèse pour Propeller Arena sans avoir pu la confirmer.

Sa date de sortie était prévue une semaine après son annulation. Un deadstock qui pourrait dormir dans un entrepôt ? Si le 11 septembre n'avait pas eu lieu (la cause de son annulation), il aurait été sans doute retardé. Aucun ordre de destruction n'a été donné. J'aime cette idée !

"Je continue de penser qu'il doit y avoir des exemplaires dans un entrepôt quelque part !  Mais toutes les personnes à qui j'ai posé la question m'ont dit qu'ils n'avaient jamais été fabriqués et que le jeu allait être retardé si le 11 septembre n'avait pas eu lieu.  Qui sait s'ils disaient la vérité ?"

Il a été annulé uniquement à cause du 11 septembre. Il avait été totalement fait, emballage, etc., bien qu'aucune version commerciale de détail ne soit sorti. C'est un bon jeu ! Juste un mauvais timing."

"Je sais qu'ils ne sont pas allés le détruire, donc ils sont quelque part s'ils ont été fabriqués."

Sega AM2 Dreamcast logo in game.jpg

Des preuves en veux tu en voilà !

Presented by Sega logo.jpg

Lors de l'évènement dédié à  la firme à l'hérisson bleu, le Sega Fes 2018 (une sorte de Japan Expo en plus petit), les visiteurs pouvaient contempler des reliques exposées derrière des socles de verre, une exposition temporaire retraçant l'histoire de Sega, de la Megadrive à la Dreamcast ...

Dans une vitrine, les fans de Sonic pouvaient admirer un accessoire inédit de la Dreamcast, une sorte de tablette trônant fièrement à côté d'une mystérieuse copie de Propeller Arena !!!

On ne sait toujours pas à quoi pouvait servir cet écran tactile, un concept d'éditeur de niveaux peut-être. Qu'est-ce que cette copie de Propeller Arena venait elle faire là, elle qui semblait être prête pour la vente ?

L'histoire ne s'arrête pas là. Lorsque Sega Japon déménagea son quartier général en 2019, un employé du nom de Makato Osaki avait partagé sur son compte twitter des photos d'un prototype  mais surtout d'une version avec un GD-Rom pressé et labellisé du titre !

Plus les années passent, plus les révélations à propos de Propeller Arena nous laissent songeurs. Les preuves de sa production sont peut-être sous nos yeux. Il nous manque juste une confirmation !

Dreamcast Propeller Arena beta.jpg
Propeller Arena DC new beta town.jpg

Segafes 2018

Propeller Arena Dreamcast.jpg

Makoto Osaki prototype photo

Propeller Arena prototype dreamcast.jpg

Makoto Osaki GD-Rom pressé photo

Propeller Arena Dreamcast Sample.jpg
Unreleased Propeller Arena Dreamcast.jpg
Propeller Arena prototype Dreamcast team select.jpg

"Nous allons traverser une zone de turbulences"

Propeller Arena est un jeu de combat aérien sur Dreamcast, développé par Sega-AM2, qui place le joueur aux commandes d'avions s'affrontant lors de tournois dans un futur proche. Il a le choix entre différents modèles, tel que le Spitfire ou le Mustang. Il doit faire le meilleur score possible en un temps limité. Un grand nombre de figures comme des vrilles ou des loopings sont réalisables grâce à des combinaisons de touches sur la manette.

Pappy Boyington, des têtes brûlées, aurait pu enrôler les meilleurs pilotes en les voyant combattre en ligne. Un mode online était prévu. La compétions s'annonçait serrée. Qui n'a jamais rêvé de faire partie d'une escadrille d'avions !!!

Les environnements sont au nombre de 8 sans compter les 2 secrets. Des combats aériens se passent au-dessus d'une ville, en rasant les buildings. D'autres terrains de chasse permettent de combattre au-dessus d'un volcan en éruption ou bien encore en survolant des ours polaires dans un monde de glaces.

Au début, 8 pilotes, avec chacun son zinc, sont disponibles. En finissant le jeu, à plusieurs reprises, il sera possible de débloquer jusqu'à 5 nouveaux futurs Baron Rouge. Le style particulier de Sega est bien présent, chaque aviateur est caricaturé en ayant un genre à part.

Propeller Arena Dreamcast Volcano new prototype release.jpg

Niveau graphismes, les décors peuvent sembler vides voir monotones. Il manque peut-être des détails comme des arbres. En dehors de ce petit défaut, le jeu est plaisant à jouer.

Propeller Arena ne se prenait pas au sérieux, il se voulait  facile à prendre en main. Comme pour Crazy Taxi, le mot d'ordre était le "FUN" !!!

On ne peut que regretter que ce titre d'AM2 ne soit jamais sorti, il aurait sans doute cartonné en se positionnant aujourd'hui comme une référence de la Reine Blanche.

Les particularités de ce nouveau prototype de Propeller Arena :

Il avait été découvert en 2003 puis mis à disposition de la communauté dans une version tronquée. Il aura fallu attendre 19 ans pour avoir un GD-I de Propeller Arena. Half Life avait connu le même destin jusqu'à l'apparition d'un disque physique en 2018. L'histoire se répète pour notre plus grand plaisir !

Cette béta est le même build qui avait fuité à l'époque. Aujourd'hui, l'extraction du jeu a été faite correctement. Les fichiers modifiés sont liés au downsampling (réduction, compression de données) pour mettre le jeu sur CD. Les sons, la musique étaient principalement impactés. Le BIN avait également été modifié.

prototype of Propeller Arena Dreamcast.jpg

Sur le GD-R (format des GD-Rom prototypes, à lire ici), il n'y a aucune annotation. On pourrait le confondre avec un disque vierge.

Propeller Arena Dreamcast analyse

Dreamcast analyse Propeller Arena.png

Vous pouvez le télécharger ci-dessous, il comprend un CDI (le même déjà connu) pour graver votre jeu ainsi que le dump original en GDI

New prototype of Propeller Arena for Dreamcast (11.09.2001)

Remerciement:

N'hésitez pas à regarder "les autres jeux annulés" que j'ai trouvé. Pour les plus curieux d'entre vous, j'ai créé une "liste de tous les unreleased de la dreamcast".