Jekyll & Hyde, the split personality, from PC to Dreamcast

Like Frankenstein, the story of "The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde" has become a cult favorite. Written and published in 1886 by Robert Louis Stevenson, it refers to the tug of war between good and evil. This horror novel can be interpreted as a work about split personality disorder.

In 150 years, this timeless short story has been adapted in all possible and unimaginable formats: in the cinema, in the theater, on television, in comic books, in board games and even in video games.

This article is complementary to the one about the history of In Utero and their biggest project, their baby, Evil Twin : The memoirs of Evil Twin: Cypriens Chronicles, the nightmare is within reach of the dreams of In Utero

The development of Jekyll and Hyde

At the beginning of the year 2000, while programming Evil Twin, a team of 20 professionals from the Parisian development studio In Utero, had the mission to create a PC game based on this famous horrific license. It will be called, at its release "Jekyll and Hyde".

«The budgets were not the same as now. There must have been about 20 of us (1/3 LDs GDs, 1/3 artists, 1/3 programmers). There was a main game designer, but the level designers could work on the GD as well from time to time, the same for the art side, if an idea seemed interesting we would do it, and there was less documentation to do on it»

Illustration of Jekyll's cabinet

Artwork Jekyll and Hyde PC cabinet Jekyll.tif

LD : Level Designer

GD : Game Designer

In Utero was composed of young talents who are still working, for some of them, in the video game industry. They were a tight team and still are 20 years later. Who knows what games they could have created if the company hadn't closed !!!

«When In Ut' died, we didn't really get angry with each other. A good part of us went to work for Ubisoft, in Paris, Montpellier and Montreal, so we worked together again, and we saw each other occasionally. We watched the 98 French soccer team victory during the wedding of one of the founders over several days, on a Barco projected on a sheet in a barn. We had a real bond.»

The world of video games was not the same as today, it has evolved enormously. Production costs have increased along with the generations of platforms. Between fifty and a hundred people are probably needed for an average title. Like many professions, in the late nineties, employees didn't need thousands of qualifications, the know-how was acquired as you went along.

Jocelyn Tridemy (text in italics), who was the inspiration for a island of Evil Twin, was a Artiste3d/LD on the Jeckyll & Hyde project.

«I learned a lot on the job. I started with 3d, but I did some texturing, learned to animate, then did levels, then GD rules, and starting and tracking tools.»

Unlike ET, the development of Jekyll & Hyde did not last long, about a year. The deadlines were short. For the Parisian company, it was a way to make money while polishing their baby "Evil Twin". Doesn't it remind you of Yū Suzuki and his Shenmue ?

«As far as deadlines are concerned, we were beginning to have a bit of experience, but we were not in a hurry and we were having very long days, even weeks, at the time of milestones with the editor.»

3D modeling of Jekyll's cabinet

  Jekyll and Hyde 2001 game 1er cabinetjekyll 3D.TIF

The book room

salle du livre Jekyll and Hyde Artwok

The book room in game

Jekyll and Hyde  uses the same engine and the same graphic creation and integration tool (I.S.A.A.C) as the one used for Evil Twin. The models, the sets, the designs, the atmosphere of the places and the characters are inspired by the drawings of Stéphane Levallois (a French cartoonist). ET and Jekyll have an artistic and creative side in common, the graphic style of In Utero.

Automatons hangar

Stephane Levallois Jekyll hangar automates.jpg

Library Lab

Artwok Stephane Levallois labo bibliotheque.jpg

Interior station

Conceptual Material Jekyll and Hyde gare interieure.jpg

«Our references were the same and we tried to stick to Stéphane Bachelet's style.»

Anthony Lejeune, the art director, was in charge of respecting and visually recapturing the artistic approach of the comic book illustrator once the illustrations were transferred to 3D (volume, adding textures, character shapes, etc.) while maintaining overall consistency by supervising the other graphic designers. Using filters and Photoshop, the developers managed to find a type of texture that was a little trashy and not very clean to match Levallois' designs.

At the end of the adventure, once Jekyll and Hyde was on the shelves, all those who had worked on the project shared Stéphane Levallois' original illustrations. Who knows, maybe they will have something to showcase his work !

Pc game Jekyll and Hyde salle du livre02300.jpg

Plan of the dock and port area (see illustration on the left)

Jekyll and Hye PC Plan docks+port.jpg

Original drawing of Nino Sapina by Stephane Levallois (amphitheater))

The development team couldn't make the game they wanted to make because of their limited gameplay skills. As the company grew quickly, there were some tensions, differences of opinion. It doesn't help but at the same time what company doesn't have this kind of problem ?

«At the beginning we wanted to be able to switch from Jekyll to Hyde or vice versa as we wanted»

Surprisingly, this feature is present in one of the prototypes (technical demo) of Jekyll and Hyde discovered recently on Dreamcast.

One of the game’s biggest flaw was the game/level design. At the time, these professions were new. The critics of the journalists were not kind to this aspect of the title. However, they praised the creative side of the software.

With hindsight, and 20 years of experience at Ubisoft, if he had to do it again, Jocelyn Tridemy would correct some of the game's flaws such as the handling of the characters and the camera system.

Stephane Levallois Jekyll and Hyde Pc artwork.jpg

Interface Concept Art

«There should be a better separation of tasks, focus people on what they do best, spend more time on the 3C's of the character (two main characters, with potentially different C's) and differentiate the two characters more»

3C : Camera, Control, Character, it's what makes a main character pleasant to play or not, if the camera allows you to do and see what you need, if the character is reactive or in any case in adequacy with the game, and if it's comfortable to use for the type of game you want to play (I learned this specific term while writing this article :)).

Concept art menu Jekyll and Hyde int3.jpg

«We didn't know what the 3Cs were, we did a lot of things on instinct.»

For the anecdote, an Easter Egg is hidden in the level of the cemetery. One of the mausoleums is built on 2 floors, on the second floor "Evil Twin" and on the first floor "Jekyll". The developers were sneakys, by examining the tombstones, the names of the members of In Utero or their friends are engraved in the stone!

The cemetery level

Level plan Jekyll and Hyde cimetiere.jpg
2001 Jekyll and hyde cimetierre03.jpg
Jekyll game cimetierre02.jpg

The music is magnificent. They were composed by Bertrand Eluerd. He also participated in the soundtrack of Evil Twin. Unfortunately, he died in 2005 at the age of 40.

Playstation 2 and Dreamcast versions were considered. The porting had started. They didn't have time to release In Utero as it filed for bankruptcy in 2001.

Prostitutes

Jekyll game prostituée1.bmp

Priest

Jekyll pc draft prêtre.BMP

actress

figurante.bmp

The "Smokehouse" level (first mesh)

Jekyll and Hyde fum 1er maillage.tif

The partnership with Cryo Interactive

Cryo Interactive, a long-time partner of In Utero since "Virus: It is aware", took care of the edition of Jekyll & Hyde. The French publisher trusted them with small-scale projects.

«The other games than Evil Twin also allowed/forced us to recruit other talented people, that's how we grew. And became ambitious, maybe too much so.»

It should be noted that at the beginning, In Utero was only a graphic service provider. The beginning of a partnership between the publisher and the development studio, which will later include 3 games ("Odyssey: The Search for Ulysses", "Jekyll and Hyde" and "Shadow of Zorro") starts with the project "Virus: It is aware" for Playstation 1. In Utero will take care of the cinematics, the scenery and the level design of the game. During this time, a small part of the company's staff is working on Cyprien, the first name of Evil Twin.

«Evil Twin was the first game where In Utero did everything from A to Z. It was the baby of the studio's founders, and a lot of people among us. So it took more time. We had to earn money and do other projects: The Odyssey, Jekyll, Zorro, etc. »

In Utero logo animation for Jeckyll and Hyde

With the work on Virus turned in on time, Cryo is pleased with their first experience with the Paris-based firm. As the little guys from In Utero needed a way to make a living, Jean-Martial Lefranc, one of the founders of Cryo Interactive Entertainment, proposed to the studio to write pitches (summary of the story, themes, type and main features of the game). Among the 3 proposed, Cryo retained the one that became The Odyssey: The Search for Ulysses.

«The Odyssey is a great experience, we're in a small group, we do what we want, what we can, we use Cryo's Omni camera (engine) system but  tweaked it, to make it more dynamic. We were supported by programmers from Cryo, but also by some of their testers.»

Jekyll & Hyde, le dédoublement de personnalité, du PC à la Dreamcast

Comme pour Frankenstein, l'histoire de "L'Étrange Cas du docteur Jekyll et de M. Hyde" est devenue culte. Écrite et publiée en 1886 par Robert Louis Stevenson, elle fait référence au tiraillement entre le bien et le mal. Ce roman d'épouvante peut être interprété comme une œuvre sur le trouble de dédoublement de la personnalité.

En 150 ans, cette nouvelle intemporelle, a été adaptée dans tous les formats possibles et inimaginables : au cinéma, au théâtre, à la télévision, en bande dessinée, en jeu de société et même en jeux vidéo.

Cet article est complémentaire à celui sur l'histoire d'In Utero et de leur plus grand projet, leur bébé, Evil Twin : Les mémoires d'Evil Twin : Cypriens Chronicles, le cauchemar est à portée des rêves d'In Utero

Le développement de Jekyll and Hyde

Au début des années 2000, en parallèle de la programmation d'Evil Twin, une team de 20 professionnels du studio de développement parisien In Uteroavait pour mission d'élaborer un jeu PC exploitant cette célèbre licence horrifique. Il se nommera, à sa sortie "Jekyll and Hyde".

«Les budgets n'étaient pas les mêmes que maintenant. On devait être une vingtaine (1/3 LDs GDs, 1/3 artistes ,1/3 programmeurs). Il y avait un game designer principal, mais les level designers pouvaient bosser sur le GD aussi ponctuellement, pareil du côté art, si une idée semblait intéressante on la faisait, et il y avait moins de documents à faire dessus.»

Illustration du cabinet de Jekyll

Artwork Jekyll and Hyde PC cabinet Jekyll.tif

LD : Level Designer

GD : Game Designer

In Utero était composé de jeunes talents qui travaillent, pour une partie d'entre eux, toujours dans l'industrie du jeu vidéo. Ils formaient une équipe soudée et le sont toujours 20 ans après. Qui sait les jeux qu'ils auraient pu créer si la société n'avait pas fermé !!!

«Quand In Ut' est mort, nous ne nous sommes pas vraiment fâchés entre nous. Une bonne partie d'entre nous est parti travailler pour Ubisoft, qui a Paris, qui a Montpellier, qui a Montréal, donc nous avons retravaillé ensemble, où nous nous sommes revus ponctuellement. Nous avons assisté à la victoire de 98 de l'équipe de France de foot pendant le mariage sur plusieurs jours d'un des fondateurs, sur un Barco projeté sur un drap dans une grange. Ça crée des liens !»

L'univers du jeu vidéo n'était pas le même qu'aujourd'hui, il a énormément évolué. Les coûts de production ont augmenté en même temps que les générations de plates-formes. Entre cinquante et cent personnes sont probablement nécessaires pour un titre moyen. Comme beaucoup de profession, à la fin des années nonantes, les employés n'avaient pas besoin de milliers de qualifications, le savoir-faire s'acquérait au fur et à mesure.

Jocelyn Tridemy (texte en italique)), qui a inspiré une des îles d'Evil Twin, était Artiste3d/LD sur le projet Jeckyll & Hyde.

«J'ai appris beaucoup de choses sur le tas. J'ai commencé par la 3d, mais j'ai fait des texture , appris à animer, puis faire des niveaux, puis des règles GD, et du début et du suivi d'outils.»

Contrairement à ET, le développement de Jekyll & Hyde n'a pas duré longtemps, environ une année. Les délais étaient courts. Pour l'entreprise parisienne, c'était un moyen de gagner de l'argent tout en peaufinant leur bébé "Evil Twin". Ça ne vous rappelle pas Yū Suzuki et son Shenmue ?

«Pour les délais, on commençait à avoir un peu d'expérience, mais on n'était dans les choux et on faisait de très grosses journées, voire de très grosses semaines, au moment des milestones avec l'éditeur.»

Modélisation 3D du cabinet de Jekyll

  Jekyll and Hyde 2001 game 1er cabinetjekyll 3D.TIF

La salle du livre

salle du livre Jekyll and Hyde Artwok

La salle du livre en jeu

Jekyll and Hyde emploie le même moteur et le même outil de création graphique et d'intégration (I.S.A.A.C) que celui utilisé pour Evil Twin. Les modèles, les décors, les designs, les planches d'ambiance des lieux et des personnages sont inspirés des dessins de Stéphane Levallois (un dessinateur français de bandes-dessinées). ET et Jekyll  ont un côté artistique et créatif en commun, la patte graphique d'In Utero.

Hangar automates

Stephane Levallois Jekyll hangar automates.jpg

Labo Bibliotèque

Artwok Stephane Levallois labo bibliotheque.jpg

Gare intérieure

Conceptual Material Jekyll and Hyde gare interieure.jpg

«Nos références étaient les mêmes et nous avons essayé de coller au style de Stéphane Bachelet

Anthony Lejeune, à la direction artistique, était chargé de respecter et de retrouver visuellement la démarche artistique de l'illustrateur de BD une fois le passage des illustrations à la 3D (mise en volume, ajout des textures, forme des personnages etc.) tout en gardant une cohérence d'ensemble en supervisant les autres graphistes. À base de filtre et de Photoshop, les développeurs avaient réussi à trouver une touche de texture un peu trash et pas très propre pour coller aux designs de Levallois.

À la fin de l'aventure, une fois Jekyll and Hyde dans les rayons des magasins, tous ceux qui avaient oeuvré sur le projet se sont partagé les illustrations originales de Stéphane Levallois. Qui sait, peut-être ont-ils de quoi faire une exposition sur son travail !

Pc game Jekyll and Hyde salle du livre02300.jpg

Plan de la zone des docks et du port (voir illustation à gauche)

Jekyll and Hye PC Plan docks+port.jpg

Planche originale de Nino Sapina par Stephane Levallois (amphithéâtre)

L'équipe de développement n'a pas pu faire le jeu qu'elle souhaitait à cause de la limite de leurs compétences au niveau du gameplay. L'entreprise ayant vite grandi, il y avait quelques tensions, des divergences d'opinions. Ça n'aide pas mais en même temps  quelle entreprise ne connait pas ce genre de problème ?

«Au départ on voulait pouvoir passer de Jekyll à Hyde ou inversement comme on voulait»

Etonnament, cette fonctionnalité est présente dans un des prototypes (démo technique) de Jekyll and Hyde découvert récemment sur Dreamcast.

Le point faible qui sera reproché au jeu était le game/level design. A l'époque, ces professions étaient nouvelles. Les critiques des journalistes n'ont pas été tendres vis-à-vis de cet aspect du titre. Ils saluèrent cependant le côté créatif du soft.

Avec du recul, et 20 ans d'expérience chez Ubisoft, si c'était à refaire,  Jocelyn Tridemy corrigerait certains défauts du jeu comme la prise en main des personnages et le système de caméra.

Stephane Levallois Jekyll and Hyde Pc artwork.jpg

Interface Concept Art

«Il faudrait une meilleure separation des tâches, concentrer les gens sur ce qu'ils faisaient le mieux , passer plus de temps sur les 3C du perso ( Deux main characters, avec potentiellement des C différents) et différencier davantage les deux persos.»

3C : Camera, Control, Character, c'est ce qui fait qu'un personnage principal est agréable à jouer ou non, si la caméra permet de faire et de voir ce dont on a besoin, si le personnage est réactif ou en tous cas en adéquation avec le jeu, et s'il est confortable à utiliser pour le type de jeu voulu (j'ai appris ce terme spécifique en rédigeant cet article :)).

Concept art menu Jekyll and Hyde int3.jpg

«On ne savait pas ce qu'étaient les 3C, on faisait beaucoup de choses à l'instinct.»

Pour l'anecdote, un Easter Egg se cache dans le niveau du cimetière. Un des mausolées est construit sur 2 étages, au premier "Evil Twin" et au rez-de-chaussée "Jekyll". Comme les développeurs étaient des petits cachotiers, en examinant les pierres tombales, les noms des membres d'In Utero ou de leurs amis sont gravés dans la pierre !

Le niveau du cimetière

Level plan Jekyll and Hyde cimetiere.jpg
2001 Jekyll and hyde cimetierre03.jpg
Jekyll game cimetierre02.jpg

Les musiques sont magnifiques. Elles ont été composées par Bertrand Eluerd. Il a aussi participé à la bande-son d'Evil Twin. Malheureusement, il est mort en 2005 à l'âge de 40 ans.

Des versions Playstation 2 et Dreamcast ont été envisagées. Le portage avait commencé. Elles n'ont pas eu le temps de sortir In Utero ayant déposé le bilan en 2001.

Prostituées

Jekyll game prostituée1.bmp

Prêtre

Jekyll pc draft prêtre.BMP

Figurante

figurante.bmp

Le niveau "Fumerie" (premier maillage)

Jekyll and Hyde fum 1er maillage.tif

Le partenariat avec Cryo Interactive

Cryo Interactive, une partenaire de longue date d'In Utero depuis "Virus: It is aware", se chargea de l'édition de Jekyll & Hyde. L'éditeur français leur accordait toute sa confiance pour des projets de petite envergure.

«Les autres jeux qu'Evil Twin  nous ont aussi permis/obligés à recruter d'autres personnes de talents, c'est comme cela que nous avons grossi. Et pris de l'ambition, trop peut-être.»

Il faut savoir qu'à son commencement, In Utero n'était qu'un prestataire graphique. Le début d'un partenariat entre l'éditeur et le studio de développement, qui comprendra par la suite 3 jeux ("Odyssée : Sur les traces d'Ulysse", "Jekyll and Hyde" et "L'Ombre de Zorro") démarre sur le projet "Virus: It is aware" pour  Playstation 1. In Utero va s'occuper des cinématiques, des décors et du level design du jeu. Pendant ce temps-là, une petite partie du personnel de la société avance sur Cyprien, le premier nom d'Evil Twin.

«Evil Twin etait le premier jeu où In Utero faisait tout de A à Z. C'était le bébé des fondateur du studio, et de beaucoup de gens parmi nous. Il a donc pris plus de temps. Il fallait gagner de l'argent et faire d'autre projets: L'Odyssée, Jekyll, Zorro, etc. »

L'animation du logo d'In Utero pour Jeckyll and Hyde

Le travail sur Virus étant rendu dans les temps, Cryo est satisfait de leur première expérience avec la firme de Paris. Comme les petits gars d'In Utero ont besoin d'un gagne-pain, Jean-Martial Lefranc, un des fondateurs de Cryo Interactive Entertainment, a proposer au studio d'écrire des pitchs (résumé de l'histoire, des thèmes, du type et des principales caractéristiques du jeu). Parmi les 3 proposés, Cryo a retenu celui qui est devenu l'Odyssée : Sur les traces d'Ulysse.

«L'Odyssée est une super expérience, on est en petit groupe, on fait ce qu'on veut, ce qu'on peut, on utilise le système d'Omni camera (moteur) de Cryo mais en le détournant, pour que ce soit plus dynamique. Nous avons été soutenus par des programmeurs de Cryo, mais aussi par quelques-uns de leurs testeurs.»