Heaven's Drive, the Japanese Unreleased version of Burnout 1 on Playstation 2

Unlike most racing games, Burnout is a license where cars that are not directly involved in the race are just as important as those that are. All races take place on public roads open to traffic, pushing the player to drive dangerously to stay ahead of their opponents.

To the foot nice dog !

The Burnout project was born at the development studio Criterion Software and became a Playstation 2 game, originally called Shiny Red Car, a temporary name. The designers of this most acclaimed racing game of the early 2000s were inspired by movies like the French blockbuster Ronin. The movie was eye-popping with high-speed chases through the streets of Paris, which provided the basic concept of driving in dangerous urban environments.

Criterion Software game Burnout.jpg

We must think of the Japanese!!!

Cult sequences of motorized chases from American cinema, such as Basic Instinct, were practically integrated into the game. The Criterion team spent hours watching movies at a time when DVD was in its infancy.

The inspirations were multiple and did not only come from the big screen. Need For Speed on 3DO had opened the door to races on real roads with real traffic. Crazy Taxi or Emergency Call Ambulance from Sega and Thrill Drive from Konami already allowed you to weave through traffic and dodge cars. These games have strongly influenced the developers of Burnout.

Japanese Version of Burnout playstation 2 (Unreleased).jpg

It was necessary to give players a valid reason to take risks in their driving style. So the boost system was devised. It rewards dangerous driving by allowing, once the boost bar is full, to drive at a breathtaking speed. All means are good to fill it : drifting, brushing against other vehicles, driving in the opposite direction, gliding. But beware, the slightest shock will reduce the progress of this Nitro !

Of course, avoiding accidents was easier said than done. There was little margin for error in Burnout, the slightest touch of the steering wheel was likely to send the car crashing. A lot of effort had been put into crashes (replay, cutscene etc.), and these were ruinous for the player. Criterion Software found this game mechanic exciting and entertaining. The stunts will make the charm of the Burnout series, the player became a spectator and asked for more !

The developers even implemented a "worst driver" scoreboard showing who caused the most damage during the race. Were you one of them ? Come on, this is just between you and me ?

Burnout was a solid arcade racer like a reinforced concrete bridge pillar, with the usual racing and championship modes based on checkpoints to pass. The survival mode, a little extra, was fun and allowed you to take your mind off the game between 2 games !!!

Why not the highway to heaven ?

Heaven's Drive Unreleased Playstation 2 (burnout).jpg

The lords of the road! You follow me ?

Unreleased Japanese version of Burnout Ps2.jpg

Acclaim took care of its release in November 2001 on PS2. Gamecube and Xbox versions followed in 2002. The specialized press welcomed the game with very positive reviews. Also, after the success of this first Burnout, many sequels will be released.

On a side note, the British government condemned Acclaim for the promotional campaign around Burnout 2. The American publisher offered to pay all speeding fines on the day of its launch. This advertisement was very bad and could incite crazy drivers to drive dangerously in real life. Between the real and the imaginary, there is only one step!

The dream car of the year 2000 !

Heaven's Drive Playstation 2 Acclaim.jpg

For unknown reasons, Burnout 1 will never be released in Japan. Sega was in charge of its publication under the name of GRAND HEAT. Some lucky people were able to try some demos at the Tokyo Game Show in 2002. Its promotion had started, various media were talking about it. Burnout 1 is the only game of the series that has never been released in the land of the Rising Sun.

The head to tail is close !

Heaven's Drive Ps2 Acclaim.jpg

The particularities of the build :

This Japanese Playstation 2 prototype is called Heaven's Drive which corresponds to Burnout 1 released in Europe and the United States. There is no information about its existence. The game is, in my opinion, in final version. It was ready for its release in Japan.

  • There are some localization changes when comparing with the US commercial version. The developers have changed the name of some game modes or options, for example the "Face Off" mode is called "Duel" on this prototype.

  • The name of the main menu is normally called "Burnout". Here it is called "Main Menu".

To you the joys of crumpled metal and driving the wrong way !!!

Burnout Heavens Drive - PS2.png

You can download Heaven's Drive (unreleased japanese version of Burnout 1) PS2 build below

Heaven's Drive (Jan 03, 2002 Playstation 2 prototype)

10 km/h too fast !!!

Acclaim Unreleased Burnout ps2 in japan.jpg

The radar is not far away !!!

Heaven's Drive ps2 prototype.jpg

It was necessary to put a photo !

Heaven's Drive Acclaim ps2 prototype.jpg

More than 200 prototypes, documents, presskits have been dumped or scanned, you will find them in free download in the "Releases de prototypes et documents"

Heaven's Drive, la version Unreleased japonaise de Burnout 1 sur Playstation 2

Contrairement à la plupart des jeux de course, Burnout est une licence où les voitures qui ne sont pas impliquées directement dans la course sont tout aussi importantes que celles qui le sont. Toutes les courses se déroulent sur des voies publiques ouvertes au trafic, poussant le joueur à conduire dangereusement pour devancer ses adversaires.

Au pied gentil chien !

Le projet Burnout est né au sein du studio de développement Criterion Software pour devenir un jeu Playstation 2. Il s'appelait, à l'origine, Shiny Red Car, un nom provisoire. Les concepteurs de ce jeu de course, le plus acclamé au début des années 2000, se sont inspirés de films comme le blockbuster français Ronin. Le film en mettait pleins les yeux avec des courses-poursuites à grande vitesse dans les rues de Paris, ce qui fournissait le concept de base d'une conduite dans des environnements urbains dangereux.

Criterion Software game Burnout.jpg

Il faut penser aux Japonais !!!

Des séquences de courses-poursuites motorisées cultes du cinéma Américain, celle de Basic Instinct par exemple, ont pratiquement été intégrées au jeu. Le team de Criterion en a passé des heures à visionner des films à une époque où le DVD n'en était qu'à son balbutiement.

Les inspirations étaient multiples et ne venaient pas que du grand écran. Need For Speed sur 3DO avait ouvert la porte aux courses sur de vraies routes avec un véritable trafic. Crazy Taxi ou Emergency Call Ambulance de Sega et Thrill Drive de Konami permettaient déjà de se faufiler dans la circulation et d'esquiver les voitures. Ces jeux ont fortement influencé les développeurs de Burnout.

Japanese Version of Burnout playstation 2 (Unreleased).jpg

Il fallait donner une raison valable aux joueurs de prendre des risques dans leur style de conduite. Le système de boost a donc été imaginé. Il récompense une conduite dangereuse en permettant, une fois la barre de suralimention pleine, de circuler à une vitesse ahurissante. Tous les moyens sont bons pour la remplir : drifter, frôler les autres véhicules, circuler en sens inverse, faire des vols planés. Mais attention, le moindre choc diminue la progression de cette Nitro !

Bien sûr, éviter les accidents était plus facile à dire qu'à faire. Il y avait peu de marge d'erreur dans Burnout, le mmoindre coup de volant était susceptible d'envoyer la voiture dans le décor. Beaucoup d'efforts avaient été déployés sur les crashs (replay, cutscene etc.), et ceux-ci étaient ruineux pour le joueur. Criterion Software trouvait excitant et divertissant cette mécanique de jeu. Les cascades feront le charme de la série des Burnout, le joueur devenu spectateur en redemandait !

Les développeurs avaient même implanté un tableau des scores des "pires pilotes" montrant qui avaient causé le plus de dégâts durant la course. Faisiez-vous partie de ceux-là ? Allez, ça restera entre vous et moi ?

Burnout était un jeu de courses d'arcade solide comme un pilier de pont en béton armé, avec les modes habituels de courses et de championnat basés sur des points de contrôle à franchir. Le mode survie, un petit extra, était amusant et permettait de se changer les idées entre 2 parties !!!

Pourquoi pas l'autoroute du paradis ?

Heaven's Drive Unreleased Playstation 2 (burnout).jpg

Les seigneurs de la route ! Vous me suivez ?

Unreleased Japanese version of Burnout Ps2.jpg

Acclaim se chargea de sa sortie en novembre 2001 sur PS2. Des versions Gamecube et Xbox ont suivi en 2002. La presse spécialisée a accueilli le jeu positivement avec des critiques plus qu'élogieuses. Aussi, après le succès de ce premier Burnout, de nombreuses suites verront le jour.

Pour l'anecdote, le gouvernement britannique condamna Acclaim pour la campagne promotionnelle  autour de Burnout 2. L'éditeur Américain proposait de payer toutes les amendes d'excès de vitesse le jour de son lancement. Cette publicité était très mal vue et pouvait inciter des fous du volant à conduire dangereusement dans la vie réelle. Entre le réel et l'imaginaire, il n'y a qu'un pas !

La voiture de rêve des année 2000 !

Heaven's Drive Playstation 2 Acclaim.jpg

Pour des raisons inconnues, Burnout 1 ne sortira jamais au Japon. Sega était chargé de sa publication sous le nom de GRAND HEAT. Certains chanceux ont pu s'essayer à  des démos de présentation au Tokyo Game Show de 2002. Sa promotion avait débuté, divers médias en parlaient. Burnout 1 est le seul jeu de la série à ne jamais avoir été commercialisé au pays du Soleil Levant.

Le tête à queue est proche !

Heaven's Drive Ps2 Acclaim.jpg

Les spécificités de la  build :

Ce prototype japonais Playstation 2 se nomme Heaven's Drive qui correspond à Burnout 1 sorti en Europe et aux États-Unis. Il n'y a aucune information quant à son existence. Le jeu est, à mon avis, en version finale. Il était prêt pour sa commercialisation au Japon.

  • Il y a des changements de localisation en comparant avec la version commerciale américaine. Les développeurs ont modifié la dénomination de certains modes de jeux ou d'options, par exemple le mode "Face Off" se nomme sur ce prototype "Duel".

  • Le nom du menu principal s'appelle normalement "Burnout". Ici, il s'intitule "Main Menu".

À vous les joies de la tôle froissée et de la conduite en contresens !!!

Burnout Heavens Drive - PS2.png

Vous pouvez télécharger la build de Heaven's Drive (unreleased japanese version of Burnout 1) PS2 ci-dessous

Heaven's Drive (Jan 03, 2002 Playstation 2 prototype)

10 km/h trop vite !!!

Acclaim Unreleased Burnout ps2 in japan.jpg

Le radar n'est pas très loin !!!

Heaven's Drive ps2 prototype.jpg

Il fallait bien mettre une photo !

Heaven's Drive Acclaim ps2 prototype.jpg

Plus de 200 prototypes, documents, presskits ont été dumpés ou scannés, vous les retrouverez en libre téléchargement dans la rubrique "Releases de prototypes et documents"