Castlevania: Resurrection Dreamcast

Before starting, I would like to thank the following people:

  • All the people (dev, composer ect) involved in this project that never saw the light of day.

  • The owner of the prototype for placing his trust in me by entrusting me with the GDI.

  • Régis Monterrin for writing the article.

  • SiZiOUS and jc for exploring the game files.

  • Darcagn for modifying the game to run with a CD on a normal Dreamcast.

  • Sapass Krem for the creation of the cover.

An unloved machine (commercially speaking) brought to the rank of legend, the Dreamcast, like any other console, retains its share of mysteries. As we know, multiple prototypes lie dormant around the world and some will have taken more than twenty years to emerge. Like games like Scud Race or other Arles girls expected in vain, Castlevania Ressurection has long remained a pipe dream and fans of the license wondered if it even existed. Well, not only does it exist but it goes way beyond the simple technical demo of moving a character around an empty world without being able to interact.

Before taking a closer look at the outlines of this demo presented behind closed doors (journalists and VIPs only) at E3, let's take a look at the past of this work that never reached specialist stores.

Konami Logo Castlevania Resurrection Dreamcast

Trailer for release

A promise ... fallen

The first information about Castlevania Ressurection began to fall during the magazines of the summer of 1999. It was indeed during this period, in their summer double-number, that the ducks presented in length, width and across the titles presented during the summer. of the Great Video Game Mass, namely E3. At the time, all the journalists were unanimous in praising the spectacular graphics of the game. Konami fully intends to take advantage of the capabilities of the Dreamcast and promises striking lighting effects as well as respect for the Castlevania license, particularly in terms of atmosphere. Looking at the screenshots of our mags, we had to face the facts: Ressurection's visual punch is undeniable! Detailed textures, quality lights, various creatures, Konami's software makes you want to.

And yet ... some media do not hesitate to make a reservation. Indeed, Castlevania Ressurection is the work of an inexperienced American team and the words of producer Ken Ogasawara , reported in Joypad n ° 88, are not very reassuring:

 

“Seeing as the Castlevania N64 sold admirably well in the United States, it was clear that the title remained a safe bet in that country. All the development part of the game is done in the United States with an American team. We want to market the game for Christmas 1999 in the United States. The Dreamcast version will be essentially action-oriented, because our wish is to create a real gamer game. "

 

Make no mistake, just because the title is being developed by a US team doesn't mean that players and the press are starting to have reservations. No, it's more that Castlevania has long been a franchise focused on action, adventure and exploration. And inevitably, the side "nag" of such announcements, especially for fans of the series, passed moderately. Clearly, many feared that the license would be distorted ...

The other element that we note, and it is to say how much we should be wary of such statements, is that we are being told an exit ... for Christmas 1999, that is to say only a few months after this interview with Ken Ogasawara . To draw a parallel, we have to imagine that the exceptional Skies of Arcadia , when it was announced, was totally embryonic. Worse, seven months before its release in October 2000 in Japan, the world (during the flight phases with the ship) was totally empty! What we want to show by this comparison is that in the summer of 1999… Castlevania Ressurection is probably only the core of what it is destined to become. And it suffices to take Joypad n ° 92 of December 1999, in other words the month of release envisaged by the producer, to learn that this brave Ressurection is finished at… 25%. Despite a start of enthusiasm, the title will finally disappear in limbo in the most total indifference - or almost. Canceled during the spring of the year 2000, it was therefore necessary to wait 21 years before we discovered the existence of an extremely rare version presented at E3 1999. A surprising prototypal version that we have tried and examined under all seams.

Castlevania Resurrection Dreamcast château
Castlevania Resurrection Dreamcast vitrail
Castlevania Resurrection Dreamcast Joypad
Castlevania Resurrection Dreamcast ennemis
Castlevania Resurrection Dreamcast Hydra
Castlevania Resurrection Sonia Belmont

Fortune duo

The story of the game takes place in 1666. It plays Sonia Belmont , the first member of the Belmont clan, a woman born with a supernatural gift allowing her to feel the presence of spirits. His grandfather taught him to use the whip because he felt that this ability would lead his granddaughter to great dangers. In the Castlevania timeline, Sonia is also the heroine of Castlevania Legends, a Game Boy cartridge released in 1997.

Castlevania Ressurection therefore embodies Sonia and it is no surprise that we find his weapon of choice: the whip. Originally, it was to be accompanied (understand by this that the player could play a second character) by a certain Victor Belmont , a descendant of the Belmont clan. So there was a priori a notion of time travel and it was a question, during the adventure, of going from one of the protagonists to the other, perhaps at different times.

On paper, it really looked good.

A promising prototype

Castlevania Ressurection , at the prototype stage, has interesting qualities despite the unfinished implementation of multiple elements.

If we start the prototype on a standard Dreamcast, this is what happens: the Konami logo and the title Castlevania Ressurection fly by (probably to save time during sessions with journalists at E3 1999). ) and we immediately go to the so-called “ Courtyard ” level. We can then take control of Sonia.

To start, we sink into a recess on the right and we face a first wizard as well as a kind of evil totem that throws flaming balls. This little isolated corner appears as a sort of tutorial, even if the difficulty is not at all resolved. We are also surprised by the continual respawn of spirits that come to rub shoulders with the main character. Undeniably, action was the primary focus of the team at this point in development. We are literally assailed by these specters! To get out of the way, we decide to go to the left. After a fight against a sorcerer, we climb a low wall and access a larger area. We can then start to explore the place and strike the various wizards of the section but also the skeletons who do not hesitate, from their perch, to throw bones at us. Via the directional cross, it is possible to switch to an autoseek camera, which is not a luxury as the focal length is not optimal. In manual mode, the Y key allows you to re-center the camera. We thus find the atmosphere of Castlevania, at least at the level of intentions, and we can even have fun interacting with the flames (to make them turn blue, this should probably have an impact on the opening of the door of the cathedral that you can see). After a little adventure on the roofs, we are back on dry land. The bestiary is not extraordinarily varied, there are obviously bugs but there is an interesting approach. In terms of inventory and items, the items are not regulated but it is funny to see that hitting a candle causes, as in the originals, the obtaining of a heart of life. After cleaning this level, we can move on.

To do this, just press START to access the DEBUG menu. You can then choose another internship. The title Chapel (the chapel) leads us to the heart of a religious building. The atmosphere is much more marked than in the previous level with its lava, flames, stained glass windows and large arches. Here again, the specters, omnipresent, stick to the basques! But one takes a certain pleasure to wander in this place by defeating the wizards. We can have fun hitting objects to collect all kinds of items (flask, compass ...) and even a secondary weapon (a throwing knife that we throw with the B key, an ax, an explosive flask or even a protective book that revolves around the avatar). Upstairs, a few enemies are also waiting for you (and the skeletons are there to block your way). The atmosphere of this level is very interesting and suggests certain possibilities that the game could have offered to the players if it had seen the light of day. Obviously frustrating… especially since there is a clash against a boss: MEDUSA .

The boss: That must have been the small challenge for journalists at the time. By hitting the flames in the area, a door opens and you gain access to this mythological creature. This boss has two transformations and the confrontation takes place in a room large enough to facilitate movement.

The Stairs level is much larger and we can imagine that there was possibly a boss fight there. We move over a large area then we climb a large staircase on the right. For the occasion, the bestiary is enriched with new wizards who swing blue fireballs. We can get axes as a secondary weapon and even a kind of shield. Funny thing, by simultaneously pressing the side keys L + R and the analog stick, Sonia Belmont rolls… but remains motionless. This function was not implemented in this demo of 99. The level is just a preview and there is not much to do except the pleasure of beating a few enemies.

The Hall begins outside and then continues in a room where we face wizards. It had to be an area with a boss or, at the very least, a mini-boss. After defeating these dreadful, a door opens and if one touches the other door - which should lead to the next level - the soft crashes. Indeed, the last playable level on this version is called Corridor (the corridor) and it is not accessible with the original hardware. You have to go through an emulator to access it. On Demul , the level is not accessible so we tried Flycast and it worked.

Corridor is a chase against a Lerna Hydra , this mythological creeper with three heads. The camera is completely strawberry but we can guess the intentions of the developers and we say to ourselves that this sequence, adjusted and finalized, could have been very nice.

Castlevania Resurrection Dreamcast Courtyard

"Courtyard" gameplay video

Castlevania Resurrection Dreamcast Chapel

"Chapel" Gameplay Video

Castlevania Resurrection Dreamcast Medusa

"Stairs" gameplay video

"Corridor" gameplay video

Castlevania Ressurection , in its prototypical version of E3 99, thus comprises 4 stages (and a fifth accessible via emulator). Knowing that the title, according to rumors, has not gone beyond 25% development, this suggests that there may still be another version but if so, it should not be much more advanced. The intentions were there, the realization is nothing spectacular for a Dreamcast but there are still some nice effects and some sets stand out. The title of Konami could have been a very good game but it seems that dissensions between the Japanese parent company and the American subsidiary (hey, it reminds me of another publisher) got the better of the project. It's a shame because the potential was there.

Build analysis

The peculiarities visible to the naked eye:

Castlevania Resurrection Dreamcast exploration fichier 1
Castlevania Resurrection Dreamcast exploration fichier 2
Castlevania Resurrection Dreamcast prototype
  • The # 20 means that it is the 20th GD-R of this compilation that has been done. There are at least 19 more that have been created. At this point, it is likely that the remaining 19 have been lost or destroyed.

  • The music, composed by "Mark Lindsey" (Original Music Copyright © 1998) includes only one song that plays in a loop. You can listen to his other compositions on this site . Do not hesitate to credit him in the description of your videos with his 2 links and the copyright, you will make him happy.

  • As this prototype version is not optimized, it paddles or freeze. Bugs are present such as crossing the scenery.

  • The enemy "Lock" system is not yet implemented, we do not know if we hit our target. It's frustrating at first. In the long run, we get used to it.

  • When we use the "Start" menu to choose our level, we start the new environment with our health bar and our previous equipment. It is the same when we die, we recover our secondary weapon.

  • Secondary weapons do not appear to drop randomly. They drop according to the number of level uploads (to be confirmed). It may be necessary to start over 4 times "Chapel" to find the protective spellbook.

  • The more we load to new levels, the more powerful our whip becomes.

  • Arriving in front of "Medusa" , there is a freeze. It must certainly correspond to a cutscene not inserted in the beta. Upon killing the boss, an emblem appears. By taking it, the demo relaunches from the Konami logo this time with the player's indications (life bar) previously present in the game only. It will no longer be possible to face the Gorgon again.

  • By using a joystick in port "2" , pressing "Start" activates the "Free Camera" mode. You will have to hold "Y" to go up, "A" to go forward, "X" to go back, "B" to go down and the directional cross to orient yourself. The left trigger makes the movements faster.

  • Edit : Whip and sub-weapons (items) have a charge attack. Holding X or B will fill the blue bar to remove it. The sub-weapon charge performs an object crash, taking more hearts and performing a unique move (Thanks to GigaBoots for this feedback).

The peculiarities hidden in the files:

  • The "INTRO BIN" , like the "COMMON" or even the "E70_MEDUSA" are archives of textures.

  • No "Debug" other than those mentioned above, no "hidden level" .

  • The "Corridore" level hangs on a real Dreamcast because the code tries to access invalid memory areas outside the authorized ranges, causing crashes. It is not something that would be easy to fix. This works on some emulators because they simply ignore these memory accesses.

You will be able to read a dossier on the reverse engineering of the games by going to the "Castlevaninia Resurrection DC reverse" page .

Castlevania Resurrection Dreamcast corver
Castlevania Resurrection Dreamcast jp co
Castlevania Resurrection Dreamcast jp co
Castlevania Resurrection Dreamcast jp co

If you want to dress up your game, you can download and print (in real size) a PAL cover offered by Sapass Krem :

If you want to dress up your game, you can print a JAP cover (you have to click on the image and then print it) offered by Gregg Super on this site:

The download pack includes, to read the "README":

  • GDI_ORIGINAL : Original GD-R dump in Raw format (BBA method).

  • GDI_ODES : 33 MB miniaturized GDI for use with GDEMU, USB-GDROM, MODE or emulators. Creation and addition of a 0GDTEX.PVR image for the menus.

  • CRDC-CDR.CDI : CDI image to burn onto a 700 MB / 80 min CD-R. Data padded on the outside of the drive for better performance. Burn with DiscJuggler or ImgBurn with the DJ plugin.

  • CRDC-NOPAD.CDI : Small CDI image of 113 MB for use with GDEMU, USB-GDROM, MODE or emulators. No padding added. Try burning this version if your DC has difficulty loading the top version from a CD-R.

Castlevania: Resurrection  Dreamcast

Avant de commencer, je tiens à remercier les personnes suivantes :

  • Toutes les personnes (dev, compositeur ect) impliquées dans ce projet n'ayant jamais vu le jour.

  • Le propriétaire du prototype pour m'avoir accordé sa confiance en me confiant le GDI.

  • Régis Monterrin pour avoir rédigé l'article.

  • SiZiOUS et jc pour avoir explorés les fichiers du jeu.

  • Darcagn pour avoir modifié le jeu pour qu'il s'exécute avec un CD sur une Dreamcast normale.

  • Sapass Krem pour la création de la jaquette.

Machine mal-aimée (commercialement parlant) portée au rang de légende, la Dreamcast, comme n’importe quelle autre console, conserve son lot de mystères. On le sait, de multiples prototypes sommeillent à travers le monde et certains auront mis plus de vingt ans à émerger. À l’image de jeux comme Scud Race ou d’autres arlésiennes attendues en vain, Castlevania Ressurection est longtemps resté une chimère et les fans de la licence se demandaient même s’il existait. Eh bien, non seulement il existe mais il va bien au-delà de la simple démo technique permettant de déplacer un personnage dans un monde vide sans pouvoir interagir.

Avant de nous intéresser en détails aux contours de cette démo présentée en behind closed doors (uniquement aux journalistes et VIP) à l’E3, penchons-nous un instant sur le passé de cette œuvre qui ne sera jamais parvenue jusqu’aux magasins spécialisés.

Konami Logo Castlevania Resurrection Dreamcast

Trailer pour release

Une promesse… déchue

Les premières informations à propos de Castlevania Ressurection commencent à tomber dans les magazines de l’été 1999. C’est en effet à cette période, dans leur double-numéro estival, que les canards présentaient en long, large et travers les titres présentés lors de la Grande Messe du jeu vidéo, à savoir l’E3. À l’époque, tous les journalistes sont unanimes pour saluer les graphismes spectaculaires du jeu. Konami a bien l’intention de profiter des capacités de la Dreamcast et promet des effets de lumière saisissants ainsi que le respect de la licence Castlevania, notamment en matière d’ambiance. En regardant les screenshots de nos mags, il fallait se rendre à l’évidence : le punch visuel de Ressurection est indéniable ! Textures détaillées, lumières de qualité, créatures variées, le soft de Konami donne envie.

Et pourtant… certains médias n’hésitent pas à émettre une réserve. En effet, Castlevania Ressurection est l’œuvre d’une équipe américaine peu expérimentée et les dires du producteur Ken Ogasawara, rapportées dans le Joypad n°88, ne sont pas super rassurants :

 

« Vu que le Castlevania N64 s’est admirablement bien vendu aux États-Unis, il était clair que le titre restait une valeur sûre dans ce pays. Toute la partie développement du jeu se fait aux États-Unis avec une équipe américaine. Nous souhaitons commercialiser le jeu pour Noël 1999 aux États-Unis. La version Dreamcast sera essentiellement orientée vers l’action, car notre souhait est de créer un vrai jeu de gamers. »

 

Ne vous méprenez pas, ce n’est pas parce que le titre est développé par une équipe US que les joueurs et la presse se mettent à émettre des réserves. Non, c’est plutôt que Castlevania a été pendant longtemps une franchise misant sur l’action, l’aventure et l’exploration. Et forcément, le côté « bourrin » de telles annonces, surtout pour les fans de la série, passait moyennement. Clairement, beaucoup craignaient que la licence soit dénaturée…

L’autre élément que l’on note, et c’est pour dire à quel point il faut se méfier de telles déclarations, c’est qu’on nous annonce une sortie… pour Noël 1999, soit quelques mois seulement après cette interview de Ken Ogasawara. Pour faire un parallèle, il faut s’imaginer que l’exceptionnel Skies of Arcadia, lors de son annonce, était totalement embryonnaire. Pis, sept mois avant sa sortie en octobre 2000 au Japon, le monde (lors des phases de vol avec le navire) était totalement vide ! Ce que l’on veut montrer par cette comparaison, c’est qu’à l’été 1999… Castlevania Ressurection n’est probablement que le noyau de ce qu’il est appelé à devenir. Et il suffit de prendre le Joypad n°92 de décembre 1999, autrement dit le mois de sortie envisagé par le producteur, pour apprendre que ce brave Ressurection est terminé à… 25 %. Malgré un début d’engouement, le titre va finalement disparaître dans les limbes dans l’indifférence la plus totale - ou presque. Annulé durant le printemps de l’année 2000, il aura donc fallu attendre 21 ans pour que l’on découvre l’existence d’une version rarissime présentée lors de l’E3 1999. Une version prototypale surprenante que nous avons essayée et examinée sous toutes les coutures.

Castlevania Resurrection Dreamcast château
Castlevania Resurrection Dreamcast vitrail
Castlevania Resurrection Dreamcast Joypad
Castlevania Resurrection Dreamcast ennemis
Castlevania Resurrection Dreamcast Hydra
Castlevania Resurrection Sonia Belmont

Duo de fortune

L’histoire du jeu se déroule en 1666. On y incarne Sonia Belmont, premier membre du clan Belmont, une femme née avec un don surnaturel lui permettant de ressentir la présence d’esprits. Son grand-père lui a appris à manier le fouet car il a senti que cette capacité allait conduire sa petite-fille vers de grands dangers. Dans la chronologie des Castlevania, Sonia est également l’héroïne de Castlevania Legends, une cartouche Game Boy parue en 1997.

Castlevania Ressurection fait donc incarner Sonia et c’est sans surprise que l’on retrouve son arme de prédilection : le fouet. À l’origine, elle devait être accompagnée (comprenez par là que le joueur pouvait incarner un second personnage) d’un certain Victor Belmont, un descendant du clan Belmont. Il y avait donc a priori une notion de voyage dans le temps et il était question, durant l’aventure, de passer de l’un à l’autre des protagonistes, peut-être à des époques différentes.

Sur le papier, ça avait vraiment de la gueule.

Un prototype prometteur

Castlevania Ressurection, à l’état de prototype, possède des qualités intéressantes malgré l’implantation non finalisée de multiples éléments.

Si l’on démarre le prototype sur une Dreamcast standard, voilà ce qu’il se passe : le logo Konami et le titre Castlevania Ressurection passent à toute vitesse (probablement pour gagner du temps lors des sessions avec les journalistes lors de l’E3 1999) et on passe immédiatement au niveau dit « Courtyard » (la cour). On peut alors prendre le contrôle de Sonia.

Pour démarrer, on s’enfonce dans un renfoncement à droite et on affronte un premier sorcier ainsi qu’une espèce de totem maléfique qui projette des boules enflammées. Ce petit coin isolé apparaît comme une sorte de tutorial, même si la difficulté n’est pas du tout réglée. On est également surpris par le respawn continuel d’esprits qui viennent se frotter au personnage principal. Indéniablement, l’action était le point primordial visé par l’équipe à ce moment-là du développement. On est littéralement assailli par ces spectres ! Pour se dépêtrer, on décide donc de partir vers la gauche. Après un combat contre un sorcier, on grimpe sur un muret et on accède à une zone plus étendue. On peut alors commencer à explorer les lieux et frapper les différents sorciers de la section mais aussi les squelettes qui n’hésitent pas, depuis leur perchoir, à nous balancer des os. Via la croix directionnelle, il est possible de passer en caméra autoseek, ce qui n’est pas un luxe tant la focale n’est pas optimale. En mode manuel, la touche Y permet de recentrer la caméra. On retrouve ainsi l’ambiance de Castlevania, en tout cas au niveau des intentions, et on peut même s’amuser à interagir avec les flammes (pour les faire devenir bleues, cela devait avoir probablement un impact dans l’ouverture de la porte de la cathédrale que l’on aperçoit). Après une petite péripétie sur les toits, nous revoilà sur la terre ferme. Le bestiaire n’est pas extraordinairement varié, on recense évidemment des bugs mais il y a une approche intéressante. Côté inventaire et items, les objets ne sont pas réglés mais il est amusant de voir que frapper une bougie occasionne, comme dans les originaux, l’obtention d’un cœur de vie. Après avoir nettoyé ce niveau, on peut passer à la suite.

Pour cela, il suffit de presser START pour accéder au menu DEBUG. On peut alors choisir un autre stage. Le titre Chapel (la chapelle) nous conduit au cœur d’un bâtiment religieux. L’ambiance est bien plus marquée que dans le précédent niveau avec sa lave, ses flammes, ses vitraux et ses grandes arches. Là encore, les spectres, omniprésents, collent aux basques ! Mais on prend un certain plaisir à déambuler en ce lieu en terrassant les sorciers. On peut s’amuser à frapper les objets pour récolter toute sortes d’items (fiole, boussole…) et même une arme secondaire (un couteau de lancer que l’on projette avec la touche B, une hache, une fiole explosive ou même un livre protecteur qui tournoie autour de l’avatar). À l’étage, quelques ennemis vous attendent également (et les squelettes sont là pour vous barrer le passage).  L’ambiance de ce niveau est très intéressante et laisse augurer certaines possibilités que le jeu aurait pu offrir aux joueurs s’il avait vu le jour. Forcément frustrant… surtout qu’il s’y cache un affrontement contre un boss : MEDUSA.

Le boss : Cela devait être le petit challenge des journalistes à l’époque. En frappant les flammes de la zone, une porte s’ouvre et on accède à cette créature mythologique. Ce boss possède deux transformations et l’affrontement se déroule dans une salle assez vaste pour faciliter les déplacements.

Le niveau Stairs (les escaliers) est beaucoup plus vaste et on peut imaginer qu’il y avait possiblement un combat de boss en ce lieu. On se déplace sur une grande zone puis on monte un grand escalier sur la droite. Pour l’occasion, le bestiaire s’enrichit de nouveaux sorciers qui balancent des boules de feu bleues. On peut récupérer des haches comme arme secondaire et même une sorte de bouclier. Chose amusante, en pressant simultanément les touches latérales L + R et le stick analogique, Sonia Belmont effectue une roulade… mais reste immobile. Cette fonction n’était pas implantée dans cette démo de 99. Le niveau est juste un aperçu et il n’y a pas grand-chose à faire, si ce n’est le plaisir de rosser quelques ennemis.

Le Hall (la salle) débute à l’extérieur puis se poursuit dans une salle où l’on affronte des sorciers. Il devait s’agir d’une zone avec un boss ou, tout du moins, un mini-boss. Après avoir vaincu ces affreux, une porte s’ouvre et si l’on touche l’autre porte – qui devait conduire au prochain niveau – le soft plante. En effet, le dernier niveau jouable sur cette version se nomme Corridor (le couloir) et il n’est pas accessible avec le hardware d’origine. Il faut passer par un émulateur pour y avoir accès. Sur Demul, le niveau n’est pas accessible donc nous avons essayé Flycast et ça a fonctionné.

Corridor est une course-poursuite face à un Hydre de Lerne, ce rampant mythologique à trois têtes. La caméra est complètement aux fraises mais on devine les intentions des développeurs et on se dit que cette séquence, réglée et finalisée, aurait pu être très sympa.

Castlevania Resurrection Dreamcast Courtyard

Vidéo  gameplay de "Courtyard"

Castlevania Resurrection Dreamcast Chapel

Vidéo gameplay de "Chapel"

Castlevania Resurrection Dreamcast Medusa

Vidéo  gameplay de "Stairs"

Vidéo  gameplay de "Corridor"

Castlevania Ressurection, dans sa version prototypale de l’E3 99, comporte ainsi 4 stages (et un cinquième accessible via émulateur). En sachant que le titre, selon les rumeurs, n’est pas allé au-delà des 25 % de développement, cela laisse envisager qu’il subsiste peut-être une autre version mais si c’est le cas, elle ne doit pas être beaucoup plus avancée. Les intentions étaient là, la réalisation n’a rien de spectaculaire pour une Dreamcast mais il y a tout de même de jolis effets et certains décors sortent du lot. Le titre de Konami aurait pu être un très bon jeu mais il semblerait que des dissensions entre la maison-mère japonaise et la filiale américaine (tiens, ça me rappelle un autre éditeur) aient eu raison du projet. C’est dommage car le potentiel était là.

Analyse du build

Les particularité visible à l'oeil nu :

Castlevania Resurrection Dreamcast exploration fichier 1
Castlevania Resurrection Dreamcast exploration fichier 2
Castlevania Resurrection Dreamcast prototype

Le #20 signifie que c’est le 20 ème GD-R de cette compilation qui a été fait. Il y  a au moins 19 autres qui ont été créé. A ce stade, il est probable que les 19 autres ont été perdus ou détruits.

  • La musique, composée par "Mark Lindsey" (Original Music Copyright ©1998) ne comprend qu'une chanson qui passe en boucle. Vous pouvez écouter ses autres compositions sur ce site. N'hésitez pas à le créditer dans la description de vos vidéos avec ses 2 liens et le copyright, vous lui ferez plaisir.

  • Cette version prototype n'étant pas optimisée, elle rame ou freeze. Des bugs sont présents comme par exemple de  traverser le décor.

  • Le système de "Lock" des ennemis n'étant pas encore implanté, on ne sait pas  si on touche notre cible. C'est frustrant au début. À la longue, on s'y fait.

  • Lorsqu'on emploie le menu "Start" pour choisir notre niveau, on commence le nouvel environnement avec notre barre de santé et notre équipement précédent. Il va de même lorsqu'on meurt, on récupère notre arme secondaire.

  • Les armes secondaires ne semblent pas tomber de manière aléatoire. Elles droppent selon le nombre d'upload de niveau (à confirmer). Il faudra peut-être recommencer 4 fois "Chapel" pour trouver le grimoire protecteur.

  • Plus on charge de nouveau niveau, plus notre fouet devient puissant.

  • En arrivant devant "Medusa", il y a un  freeze. Il doit certainement correspondre à une cinématique non insérée dans la beta. En tuant le boss, une un emblème apparaît. En la prenant, la démo se relance depuis le logo Konami cette fois en ayant les indications du joueur (barre de vie) présentes précédemment en jeu uniquement. Il ne sera plus possible d'affronter la Gorgonne à nouveau.

  • En utilisant une  manette dans le port "2", en appuyant sur "Start", on active le mode "Free Camera". Il faudra maintenir "Y" pour monter, "A" pour avancer, "X" pour reculer , "B" pour descendre et la croix directionnelle pour s'orienter. La gâchette gauche permet de rendre les mouvements plus rapides.

  • Edit :Le fouet et les sous-armes (objets) ont une attaque de charge. Maintenir X ou B remplira la barre bleue pour la retirer. La charge sous-arme effectue un crash d'objet, prenant plus de cœurs et effectuant un mouvement unique (Merci à GigaBoots pour ce retour).

Les particularité cachée dans les fichiers :

  • L'"INTRO BIN", comme le "COMMON" ou encore le "E70_MEDUSA" sont des archives de textures.

  • Pas de "Debug" autre que ceux invoqués plus haut, pas de "niveau caché".

  • Le niveau "Corridore" se bloque sur un vrai Dreamcast car le code tente d'accéder à des zones de mémoire non valides en dehors des plages autorisées, provoquant des plantages. Ce n'est pas quelque chose qui serait facile à réparer. Cela fonctionne sur certains émulateurs car ils ignorent simplement ces accès mémoire.

Vous pourrez lire un dossier sur le reverse engineering du jeux en vous rendant sur la page "Castlevaninia Resurrection DC reverse".

Castlevania Resurrection Dreamcast corver
Castlevania Resurrection Dreamcast jp co
Castlevania Resurrection Dreamcast jp co
Castlevania Resurrection Dreamcast jp co

Si vous désirez habiller votre  jeu, vous pouvez télécharger puis imprimer (en taille réelle) une jaquette PAL proposée par Sapass Krem :

Si vous désirez habiller votre  jeu, vous pouvez  imprimer  une jaquette JAP(il faut cliquer sur l'image puis l'imprimer) proposée par Gregg Super sur ce site :

Texte de Laurent Comby

Le pack de téléchargement comprend, à lire le "README" :

  • GDI_ORIGINAL : Original GD-R dump au format Raw (BBA méthode).

  • GDI_ODES : GDI de 33 Mo miniaturisé à utiliser avec GDEMU, USB-GDROM, MODE ou émulateurs. Création et ajout d'une image 0GDTEX.PVR pour les menus.

  • CRDC-CDR.CDI : Image CDI à graver sur un CD-R 700 Mo / 80 min. Données rembourrées à l'extérieur du disque pour de meilleures performances. Gravez avec DiscJuggler ou ImgBurn avec le plugin DJ.

  • CRDC-NOPAD.CDI : Petite image CDI de 113 Mo à utiliser avec GDEMU, USB-GDROM, MODE ou émulateurs. Aucun rembourrage ajouté. Essayez de graver cette version si votre DC a des difficultés avec les  chargements de la version du dessus à partir d'un CD-R.