top of page

Additional sketches, photos and assets for the Dreamcast game Propeller Arena from the AM2 development studio

Not all the material at my disposal could be used for the layout of the article: "Seven new Propeller Arena Dreamcast prototypes on the horizon".

First presented at E3 2001, Propeller Arena was an aerial combat game by AM2. Yū Suzuki and his team had favored an arcade game rather than a simulation for their next production.

PA promotion in a French magazine

French_Ad_Propeller_Arena

PA was to follow in the footsteps of Crazy Taxi, but with a more limited budget. It featured everything that had made Hitmaker's game such a success: aggressive music, stereotypical characters, polished gameplay and lots of fun with the controller.

The story took place in the future, in 2045, during a championship (the ABC) that challenged eight pilots of varying personalities and identities to prove who was the best dogfighter. At the controls of old World War II planes, modified and upgraded, only one was left standing!

Propeller Arena was finished and ready for release when the World Trade Center attacks traumatized the United States. SEGA decided to cancel the game so that it would not be associated with the tragedy of September 11, 2001. The reason was that one of PA's levels took place in an urban area surrounded by buildings, and airplane crashes into skyscraper facades were a frequent occurrence. It was preferable to abandon the project against the risk of huge controversy for having been perceived as impassive to the drama that had just happened.

With the release of Propeller Arena on Dreamcast, SEGA would have retired from the console builder market with the tributes. Even though it was never officially released, Propeller Arena is a game that every fan of the White Queen must own, or at least try out.

Characters and maps

The Artwork and photos used in this article are mostly never seen before. The Propeller Arena development team updated their conceptual materials in the same way as a prototype, assigning a version number to each asset.

A version number for some Artworks appears in the bottom right-hand corner of the drawing. For example, the presentation sketch of the "Eagle Jam" squadron leader found on the Internet is marked "4/16 ver S.T". The one on this page is marked "4/11 ver S.T".

The differences are minor. The young actress and pilot of the "Shameless Cats" team of aviators adopts another sexy posture between the 2 variations of the Artwork featuring her.

Differences for "Shameless Cats" between the Internet Artwork (left) and the one in this article (right)

Propeller_Arena_Artwork

Debug option (OBJECT TEST)

Free_Camera_Propeller_Arena

As can be seen from the presentation drawing by Tim Golden of "Muscle Brothers" on this assets disc, the bodybuilder had a different appearance from that which would eventually be chosen for the final version of Propeller Arena. The April 2001 prototype allows us to play him in his virile form, rather than his usual effeminate one.

The screenshots of the battle arenas were certainly taken with the Debug Menu option "OBJECT TEST". It looks just like it. The June 2001 build enables the use of this tool and much more. It's worth noting that the SDKs of a Dreamcast Development Kit (Katana) included a program that allowed developers to take in-game photos.

The assets of a video game were primarily intended for the press, to promote it and generate public interest.  With the discovery of these new Propeller Arena assets, we can see that they were evolving as the game's development progressed.

The story, personality and representation of the characters in play or drawings

Team: Eagle Jam (Pilot: Gary Hamilton) : Gary is a very patriotic American and a top-flight USAF pilot. He is the leader of "Eagle Jam" - a group of airplane enthusiasts who love to restore and fly P-51D's. Although he is an expert pilot, his lack of real combat experience causes him to question his skills as an actual "fighter." When he learned that the Aviation Battle Championship (ABC) was going to use live bullets, he decided to participate in the tournament in an effort to finally erase his doubts about how he'd perform in a real, do-or-die dogfight.

Eagle_Jam_Propeller_Arena
Artwork_AM2_Dreamcast
Eagle_Jam_artwork

Team: Shameless Cats (Pilot: Emily Williams) : Emily is a talented young actress that was once nominated for the National Film Actress of the Year award. She is the granddaughter of John Williams, a world-famous adventurer and pilot who taught her to fly when she was just a little girl. A tomboy in her teenage years, Emily left home at age 18 following a disagreement with her parents. Thanks to her grandfather's support, she found work as a waitress and a dancer before making her professional acting debut at the age of 21. Following her grandfather's passing earlier in the week, Emily was motivated to participate in ABC to honor his spirit and his beloved airplane.

Shameless_Cats_Propeller_Arena
Artwork_Dreamcast_Propeller_Arena
Propeller_Arena_Shameless_Cats
Dreamcast_Propeller_Arena_artwork
AM2_Artwork_Propeller_Arena

Tim GoldenTeam: Muscle Brothers (Pilot: Tim Golden) : The leader of "The Muscle Brothers," Tim is always a contender for the top spot in the All-American Bodybuilding Championships. Yet even with all his strength, Tim is a tender, caring father of three young boys. Ironically, he hates flying, and uses a car to drive from venue to venue. Tim was formerly a cadet in the Air Force, yet he dropped out of the academy and refuses to explain why. Many believe that he may have been traumatized by his experience there. He was originally invited to be a spectator at the ABC, but was tricked into participating in the tournament. It seems the unscrupulous owner of his gym hopes to recover some of his gambling losses by entering Tim in the competition. Tim's sons are excited and proud that their daddy's participating in the ABC, so Tim is now forced to strap in and fly a plane. Again.

Conceptual_Artwork_Propeller_Arena
Muscle_Brothers_Dreamcast

Team: Pizza Fat (Pilot: Michael "Pizza Fat" Cantrelle) : Michael is the first son of Roger Cantrelle, founder of Pizza Fat (Pizza King in the prototype of April 2001), one of the largest pizza restaurant franchises in the U.S. A lazy mama's boy, Michael has been known to bounce from one job to another, and seems to care only about his collection of historic military items. Hoping to light a fire under his son, Roger told Michael, "If you like the military so much, why don't you participate in the ABC? Tell you what. If you win, I'll buy you a tank." Naturally, Michael is very excited about the prospect of owning his very own tank, so he's decided to enter ABC flying one of his father's P-38's.

Tim Golden and Michael Cantrelle take to the air in the LOCKHEED P38J LIGHTNING, a unique flying machine that originated in the US. The first flight of the original model, the XP-38, took place on January 29, 1939. But problems during landing led to several more test flights and the creation of the YP-38, the model that was officially accepted for production on September 7, 1940. The full production model, the P-38E, became the standard for the P-38 series before the J model improved the engine coolant system in 1943.

Unreleased_Propeller_Arena_artwork
Pizza_Fat_Propeller_Arena

Team: Pengo Jets (Pilot: Rally Miller) : Everyone recognizes Rally from his days as an actor in numerous popular TV drama programs. A handsome man, it's no surprise that the vast majority of Rally's fans are female. However, he is a narcissist, and misunderstands women, so he's constantly the subject of much gossip. Rally is an airplane maniac, and flies his private jet all around the country. When he learned of the ABC, and realized that the winner's name would be in headlines everywhere, Rally decided he absolutely had to enter the competition. He persuaded a producer friend of his to create a TV special entitled "Rally Miller in the ABC," and managed to convince the network to buy him a fighter for the ABC. Ever the self-centered type, he now believes that he can attract even more women with his fighter than he could with his private jet!

Artwork_Pengo_Jets_Propeller_Arena
Propeller_Arena_concept
Concept_of_Propeller_Arena

Team: 8-bit Beat (Pilot: Silver Boy): Information on "Silver Boy" is extremely hard to come by. All that is known is that he is the leader of the German techno unit "MetalBoy," and that he is an ultra high-level pilot. As for his background, no one can be certain. As one competitor put it, "All I know is that he's a weirdo who wears a silver body suit. What else do you need to know?"

Rally Miller and Silver Boy enjoy the speed of the MESSERSCHMITT Bf109E. As the primary fighter of the German Luftwaffe, the Bf109E entered production in May of 1940. As the war progressed, most divisions transitioned to the newer F model, but some veteran pilots continued to fly the Bf109E until the summer of 1942.

8-bit_Beat_Propeller_Arena
Propeller_Arena_Asset

Team: Hex Candy (Pilot: Lucy Walman) : Lucy is the lead singer for the up-and-coming all-girl English band named Hex Candy. Although she had no flying experience, her manager entered her in the ABC as a promotional stunt for the band. Even after a two-week flight training course in Florida, Lucy still has doubts about being a championship pilot. Her always-positive attitude has her focused on victory, and she'll use her anger toward her manager for placing her in the competition as a motivating factor, but she'll need to overcome lingering doubts about her abilities if she hopes to claim the title.

Hex_Candy_Asset_Propeller_Arena
Sega_Dreamcast_Asset

Team: Golden Knife (Pilot: Peter Goldsmith) : Peter is the leader of the famous "Greedy Goldsmith Group." A deceptively agile flyer, he fought in the Gulf War as a Navy pilot and earned the unflattering nickname "Hyena of the Desert." The nickname came from his tendency to only target and shoot down enemy fighters that had been previously hit. In this way, his number of enemy fighters that he "destroyed" would increase, causing his performance to look better than it was. Predictably, his war colleagues turned a cold shoulder to him for stealing their glory. After the war, Peter established a successful private company that managed technology stocks, but he decided to enter the ABC to regain some luster on his tarnished aerial career (and to claim some of the enormous prize money). Plus, he has a hankering to return to the days of hunting prey, just as he did during the war.

Lucy Walman and Peter Goldsmith arrive for battle in the SUPERMARINE SPITFIRE Mk Vb. The Mk I, introduced in 1936, held its own against the Luftwaffe's Bf109E, but the German introduction of the Bf109F shifted air superiority in their favor. Plans were set in motion to place a more powerful engine in the Mk I, and a prototype first took to the air in January of 1941. This became the basis for the Mk V, with its greater speed and climbing power.

Artwork_Golden_Knife_Dreamcast
AM2_Dreamcast_concept

The two aviators of the "Shadow" squadron (bonus plane to be unlocked by finishing the game three times with the same plane on at least Normal difficulty) and the "Sol & Ray" squadron (bonus plane to be unlocked by finishing the game twice with the same plane on at least Normal difficulty) are mysterious pilots. No one had seen them before their participation in the ABC. All competitors agree that they should be wary of them. Their style inspire suspicion.

Sol & Ray Propeller Arena
Propeller_Arena_Shadow_Artwork

The distinctive style of SEGA's arcade games is immediately apparent, with each character caricatured in a genre all his own. Which of these eccentric aviators is closest to your heart?

The fighting arenas

Airport (Stage 1) : The first stage of the Championship Mode takes place above a futuristic airport near the ocean. Amid the chaos of combat, observant pilots will witness shuttle launches as well as consumer flight arrivals and departures.

Airport_Stage_Propeller_Arena
STG1_P1.jpg
STG1_TOP.jpg
STG1_P2.jpg

Red Canyon (Stage 2) : Set against a gorgeous sunset, this vast desert canyon plays host to intense power struggles and serves as Championship Mode's second stage.

Red_Canyon_Stage_Propeller_Arena
STG2.jpg
STG2_TOP.jpg
STG2_P1.jpg

Tower City (Stage 3) : Tear through the city streets and beneath low-lying bridges as you avoid enemy fire and towering skyscrapers. This massive stage is an obstacle-ridden urban crash course.

Tower_City_Propeller_Arena
STG3_P2.jpg
STG3_TOP.jpg

Sky High (Stage 4) : Set high above the clouds, "Sky Hi" offers amazing freedom as well as some unexpected hazards. A powerful jet stream just below the cloud layer can quickly tear apart even the most durable flying machine.

Sky_High_Map_Propeller_Arena
STG4_P2.jpg
STG4_TOP.jpg
STG4.jpg

Ice World (Stage 5) : Get ready for some heated combat in an arctic setting, but don't let the whales in the water distract you--your stray fire can send whole glacier tips sliding into the sea!

Propeller_Arena_Ice_World
STG5_P1.jpg
STG5_TOP.jpg
STG5.jpg

Old Castle (Stage 6) : Surrounded by beautiful countryside and a gigantic moat, this massive structure consists of narrow gateways, tall archways, and claustrophobic courtyards that challenge even the most acrobatic pilots.

Map_Old_Castle_Propeller_Arena
STG7_P2.jpg
STG7_TOP.jpg

Volcano (Stage 7) : Set against a nighttime sky, this stage features an enormous erupting volcano and fast-flowing rivers of lava. If your opponents don't take you out, the volcano's fireballs probably will.

Volcano_Propeller_Arena
STG6_TOP.jpg

Phantom Island (Stage 8) : Another skirmish in the night... Phantom Island plays host to a severe electrical storm. With cloud-to-cloud lightning and enemies under cover of darkness, you might want to fly low near the water or take cover in the island's cavernous interior.

Phantom_Island_Propeller_Arena
STG8_P2.jpg
STG8_TOP.jpg

Completing the game two or three times with the same aircraft, at least on Normal difficulty, will unlock two additional levels. ABC participants can then compete in the "Far East Ruins" and "Giga Plant" arenas. The asset disc does not include any screenshots of these two maps.

If you'd like to learn more about Propeller Arena (making-of) and download 7 different prototypes of the game, this article is dedicated to it: "Seven new Propeller Arena Dreamcast prototypes on the horizon".

Other articles devoted specifically to unseen game assets

evil twin Dreamcast banner
Banner Jekyll and Hyde 2001 game.png

Conceptual material for the Jekyll and Hyde game can be found at this address: "Additional illustrations, plans and assets for the Jekyll & Hyde Dreamcast/PC game from the creators of In Utero"

Sources :

bottom of page

top of page

Complément d'esquisses, de photos et d'assets pour le jeu Propeller Arena Dreamcast du studio de développement AM2

Tout le matériel mis à ma disposition n'a pas pu être utilisé pour la mise en page de l'article : "Sept nouveaux prototypes de Propeller Arena Dreamcast planent à l'horizon".

Présenté pour la première fois lors de l'E3 2001, Propeller Arena était un jeu de combat aérien signé AM2. Yū Suzuki et son équipe avait privilégié un jeu d'arcade et non pas une simulation pour leur prochaine production.

Promotion de PA dans un magazine français

French_Ad_Propeller_Arena

PA allait s'inscrire dans la lignée de Crazy Taxi mais avec un budget plus limité. On y retrouve ce qui avait fait le succès du jeu de Hitmaker comme une musique agressive, des personnages stéréotypes, un gameplay soigné et  énormément de fun manette en main.

L'histoire se passait dans le futur, en 2045, au cours d'un championnat (l'ABC) mettant aux défis huit pilotes, aux personnalités et identités variées, de prouver qui était le meilleur combattant de dogfight. Aux commandes de vieux avions de la seconde guerre mondial, modifiés et améliorés, il ne devait en rester qu'un !

Propeller Arena était terminé et prêt à sortir quand les attentats du World Trade Center avaient traumatisé les États-Unis. Pour que le jeu ne soit pas assimilé à la tragédie du 11 septembre 2001, SEGA avait décidé de l'annuler. La raison est qu'un des niveaux de PA se déroulait dans une zone urbaine au milieu des buildings, les crashs d'avions contre une façade d'un gratte-ciel étaient fréquents. Il était préférable d'abandonner le projet contre le risque d'une énorme polémique pour avoir été perçu comme impassible au drame qui venait d'arriver.

Avec la sortie de Propeller Arena sur Dreamcast, SEGA se serait retiré du marché des constructeurs de consoles avec les hommages. Même s'il n'est jamais sorti officiellement, Propeller Arena est un jeu que tout fan de la Reine Blanche doit posséder ou au moyen essayer.

Les personnages et les maps

Les illustrations et les photos prises du moteur valorisant cet article sont majoritairement inédites. L'équipe de développement de Propeller Arena mettait à jour leurs matériaux conceptuels suivant le même procédé qu'un prototype en y attribuant une numérotation des versions des assets.

Un numéro de la monture de certaines Artworks figure dans le coin inférieur droit du dessin. Par exemple, l'ébauche de présentation du chef de l'escadrille "Eagle Jam" repérée sur Internet comporte l'information "4/16 ver S.T". Celle de cette page comprend l'indication "4/11 ver S.T".

Les différences sont minimes. La jeune actrice et pilote de l'équipe d'aviateurs "Shameless Cats" adopte une autre posture sexy entre les 2 versions désormais connues des illustrations la dépeignant.

Différences pour "Shameless Cats" entre l'Artwork d'Internet (à gauche) et celle de cet article (à droite)

Propeller_Arena_Artwork

L'option Debug (OBJECT TEST)

Free_Camera_Propeller_Arena

Comme l'atteste le dessin de présentation de Tim Golden de "Muscle Brothers" de ce disque d'assets, le bodybuilder avait une autre apparence que celle qui sera finalement retenue pour la version définitive de Propeller Arena. Le prototype d'avril 2001 permet de le jouer avec son allure virile et non pas efféminée comme c'est le cas ordinairement.

Les captures d'écran des arènes de combat ont certainement été prise avec l'option du Debug Menu "OBJECT TEST". Ça y ressemble fortement. La build de juin 2001 permet l'utilisation de cet outil et bien plus encore. Il faut savoir que les SDKs d'un Kit de Développement Dreamcast (Katana) comportaient un programme qui autorisait les développeurs à prendre des photos en jeu.

Les assets d'un jeu vidéo était destiné principalement à la press afin de le promouvoir et susciter l'envie au prêt du public.  Avec la découverte de ces nouvelles  ressources de Propeller Arena, on constate qu'elles évoluaient en  même temps que le développement du jeu progressait.

L'histoire, la personnalité et la représentation en jeu ou en dessins des personnages

Team: Eagle Jam (Pilot: Gary Hamilton) : Gary est un patriote Américain  et un pilote de haut vol de l'USAF. Il est le chef d'"Eagle Jam", un groupe de passionnés d'avions qui aiment restaurer et piloter des P-51D. Bien qu'il soit un expert du pilotage, son inexpérience en combat lui fait douter de ses aptitudes en tant que "combattant". Lorsqu'il apprend que l'Aviation Battle Championship (ABC) allait tirer avec des balles réelles, il a décide de participer au tournoi afin d'effacer ses incertitudes quant à sa performance dans un vrai affrontement de dogfitht.

Eagle_Jam_Propeller_Arena
Artwork_AM2_Dreamcast
Eagle_Jam_artwork

Team: Shameless Cats (Pilot: Emily Williams) : Emily est une jeune et talentueuse actrice qui a déjà été nominée pour le prix national de l'actrice de film de l'année. Elle est la petite-fille de John Williams, un aventurier et pilote de renommée mondiale qui lui avait appris à voler alors qu'elle n'était qu'une petite fille. Garçon manqué à l'adolescence, Emily quitte le domicile familial à l'âge de 18 ans à la suite d'un désaccord avec ses parents. Grâce au soutien inconditionnel de son grand-père, elle trouve du travail comme serveuse et danseuse avant de faire ses débuts d'actrice professionnelle à l'âge de 21 ans. Après le décès de son grand-père en début de semaine, Emily a souhaité participer à l'ABC pour honorer sa mémoire et rendre hommage à son avion bien-aimé.

Shameless_Cats_Propeller_Arena
Artwork_Dreamcast_Propeller_Arena
Propeller_Arena_Shameless_Cats
Dreamcast_Propeller_Arena_artwork
AM2_Artwork_Propeller_Arena

Tim GoldenTeam: Muscle Brothers (Pilot: Tim Golden) : Leader des "Muscle Brothers", Tim est toujours en lice pour la première place dans le championnats américains de Bodybuilding. Bien que fortement musclé avec un corps athlétique, Tim est un père tendre et attentionné de trois jeunes garçons. Ironiquement, il déteste prendre l'avion et utilise une voiture pour se rendre d'un site à l'autre. Tim était auparavant cadet de l'armée de l'air, mais il a abandonné l'académie et refuse d'expliquer les raisons. Nombreux sont ceux qui pensent qu'il a été traumatisé par son expérience parmi les forces militaires aériennes. À l'origine, il avait été invité en tant que spectateur à l'ABC, mais on l'a convaincu de participer au tournoi. Il semble que le propriétaire peu scrupuleux de la salle de sports dans laquelle Tim s'entraîne espère récupérer une partie de ses pertes de jeu en le faisant participer à la compétition. Les fils de Tim sont ravis et fiers que leur père soit inscrit à l'ABC, ce qui oblige Tim à voler à bord d'un avion lui qui a pourtant horreur de ça.

Conceptual_Artwork_Propeller_Arena
Muscle_Brothers_Dreamcast

Team: Pizza Fat (Pilot: Michael "Pizza Fat" Cantrelle) : Michael est le premier fils de Roger Cantrelle, fondateur de Pizza Fat (Pizza King dans le prototype d'avril 2001), l'une des plus grandes franchises de pizzeria des États-Unis. Fils à papa paresseux, Michael est connu pour passer d'un emploi à l'autre et ne semble s'intéresser qu'à sa collection d'objets militaires historiques. Espérant mettre le feu aux poudres, Roger dit à Michael : "Si tu aimes tant l'armée, pourquoi ne participes-tu pas à l'ABC ? Je vais te dire une chose. Si tu gagnes, je t'achèterai un char d'assaut". Naturellement, Michael est très excité à l'idée de posséder son tank. Il a donc décidé de participer à l'ABC en pilotant l'un des P-38 de son père.

Tim Golden et Michael Cantrelle pilotent un "LOCKHEED P38J LIGHTNING, une machine volante unique en son genre qui a vu le jour aux États-Unis. Le  premier vol du modèle original, le XP-38, a eu lieu le 29 janvier 1939. Des problèmes rencontrés à l'atterrissage ont conduit à plusieurs autres vols d'essai et à la création du YP-38, le modèle qui a été officiellement accepté pour la production le 7 septembre 1940. Le modèle de production complet, le P-38E, est devenu le standard de la série P-38 avant que le modèle J n'améliore le système de refroidissement de son moteur en 1943.

Unreleased_Propeller_Arena_artwork
Pizza_Fat_Propeller_Arena

Team: Pengo Jets (Pilot: Rally Miller) : Tout le monde connaît Rally Miller en tant qu'acteur ayant joué dans de nombreux programmes dramatiques télévisés populaires. C'est un bel homme et il n'est pas surprenant que la grande majorité de ses fans soient des femmes. Narcissique, il fait constamment l'objet de commérages. Rally est un maniaque de l'avion et parcourt le pays dans son jet privé. Lorsqu'il a appris l'existence de l'ABC et qu'il s'est rendu compte que le nom du gagnant ferait la une de tous les journaux, Rally a décidé qu'il devait absolument participer au concours. Il persuade un ami producteur de créer une émission spéciale intitulée "Rally Miller dans l'ABC" et réussit à convaincre la chaîne TV de lui acheter un avion de chasse pour le championnat. Égocentrique, il pense qu'il peut attirer encore plus de femmes avec son avion de chasse qu'avec son jet privé !

Artwork_Pengo_Jets_Propeller_Arena
Propeller_Arena_concept
Concept_of_Propeller_Arena

Team: 8-bit Beat (Pilot: Silver Boy): Il est extrêmement difficile d'obtenir des informations sur "Silver Boy". Tout ce que l'on sait, c'est qu'il est le chef de la formation techno allemande "MetalBoy" et qu'il est un pilote chevronné de très haut niveau. Quant à son passé, personne ne peut en être certain. Comme l'a dit un concurrent : "Tout ce que je sais, c'est qu'il est bizarre et qu'il porte un body argenté. Que voulez-vous savoir de plus ?"

Rally Miller et Silver Boy apprécient la vitesse du MESSERSCHMITT Bf109E. Principal avion de combat de la Luftwaffe, le Bf109E est entré en production en mai 1940. Au cours de la Seconde Guerre Mondiale, la plupart des divisions de pilotes de chasse allemandes sont passées au modèle F plus récent. Certains pilotes vétérans ont continué à piloter le Bf109E jusqu'à l'été 1942.

8-bit_Beat_Propeller_Arena
Propeller_Arena_Asset

Team: Hex Candy (Pilot: Lucy Walman) : Lucy est la chanteuse d'un groupe anglais de jeunes filles, Hex Candy. Bien qu'elle n'ait aucune expérience de pilotage, son manager l'a inscrite à l'ABC pour promouvoir le groupe. Après avoir suivi un cours de pilotage de deux semaines en Floride, Lucy a encore des hésitations sur sa capacité à devenir pilote de compétition. Son attitude toujours positive lui permet de viser la victoire. Elle utilisera sa colère envers son manager pour l'avoir engagée au championnat de l'ABC comme facteur de motivation. Elle devra surmonter les doutes qui persistent quant à ses faculté de voltige si elle espère remporter le titre.

Hex_Candy_Asset_Propeller_Arena
Sega_Dreamcast_Asset

Team: Golden Knife (Pilot: Peter Goldsmith) : Peter est le leader du célèbre "Greedy Goldsmith Group". Pilote d'une agilité déconcertante, il a participé à la guerre du Golfe en tant que pilote de la Navy et s'est vu attribuer le surnom peu flatteur de "Hyène du désert". Ce qualificatif lui vient de sa tendance à ne viser et n'abattre que les appareils ennemis qui ont déjà été touchés. De cette manière, le nombre de chasseurs ennemis qu'il "détruisait" augmentait, ce qui donnait l'impression que ses performances étaient meilleures qu'elles ne l'étaient. Comme on pouvait s'y attendre, ses collègues militaires lui ont reproché de leur voler la vedette. Après la guerre, Peter a créé une entreprise privée prospère qui gère des investissements dans le domaine de la technologie. Il a décidé de participer à l'ABC pour redorer le blason de sa carrière de pilote ternie (et pour réclamer une partie de l'énorme somme d'argent promise). De plus, il a envie de renouer avec l'époque où il traquait ses proies, comme il le faisait pendant le conflit Irakien.

Lucy Walman et Peter Goldsmith se présentent au championnat de l'ABC à bord du SUPERMARINE SPITFIRE Mk Vb. Le Mk I, introduit en 1936, a tenu bon face au Bf109E de la Luftwaffe, mais la mise en service par les Allemands du Bf109F a fait basculer la supériorité aérienne en leur faveur. Il est alors prévu de doter le Mk I d'un moteur plus puissant, et un prototype s'envole pour la première fois en janvier 1941. Il devient la base du Mk V, avec sa vitesse et sa capacité de montée accrues.

Artwork_Golden_Knife_Dreamcast
AM2_Dreamcast_concept

Les deux aviateurs des escadrilles "Shadow" (avion bonus à débloquer en finissant le jeu trois fois avec le même avion au moins en difficulté normale) et "Sol & Ray" (avion bonus à débloquer en finissant le jeu deux fois avec le même avion au moins en difficulté normale) sont de mystérieux pilotes. Personne ne les avait encore vu avant leur participation à l'ABC. Tous les concurrents s'accordent à dire qu'ils doivent s'en méfier. Leur style n'aspire pas confiance.

Sol & Ray Propeller Arena
Propeller_Arena_Shadow_Artwork

Le style loufoque si particulier des jeux d'arcade de SEGA est immédiat, chaque personnage est caricaturé en ayant un genre propre à lui. Lequel de ces excentriques aviateurs vous correspondra la mieux ?

Les arènes de combat

Airport (Stage 1) : La première étape du mode Championnat se déroule au-dessus d'un aéroport futuriste situé près de l'océan. Dans le chaos des combats, les pilotes attentifs assisteront au décollage des navettes spatiales ainsi qu'à l'arrivée et au départ des vols de passagers.

Airport_Stage_Propeller_Arena
STG1_P1.jpg
STG1_TOP.jpg
STG1_P2.jpg

Red Canyon (Stage 2) : Avec pour toile de fond un magnifique coucher de soleil, ce vaste canyon désertique est le théâtre d'intenses affrontements et constitue la deuxième étape du mode Championnat.

Red_Canyon_Stage_Propeller_Arena
STG2.jpg
STG2_TOP.jpg
STG2_P1.jpg

Tower City (Stage 3) : Frayez-vous un chemin dans les rues de la ville et passez sous les ponts en évitant les tirs ennemis et les gratte-ciel. Ce niveau gigantesque est un véritable parcours du combattant urbain parsemé d'obstacles.

Tower_City_Propeller_Arena
STG3_P2.jpg
STG3_TOP.jpg

Sky High (Stage 4) : Situé au-dessus des nuages, "Sky Hi" offre une liberté incomparable, mais aussi des dangers inattendus. Un puissant jet stream situé juste en dessous de la couche nuageuse peut rapidement mettre en pièces les appareils volants les plus résistants.

Sky_High_Map_Propeller_Arena
STG4_P2.jpg
STG4_TOP.jpg
STG4.jpg

Ice World (Stage 5) : Préparez-vous à des combats acharnés dans un environnement arctique, mais ne vous laissez pas distraire par les baleines dans l'eau : un tir malencontreux peut faire basculer des glaciers entiers dans la mer !

Propeller_Arena_Ice_World
STG5_P1.jpg
STG5_TOP.jpg
STG5.jpg

Old Castle (Stage 6) : Entourée d'un paysage magnifique et d'une douve colossale, cette structure massive se compose de portes étroites, de hautes arches et de cours intérieures claustrophobes qui mettent à l'épreuve même les pilotes les plus habiles.

Map_Old_Castle_Propeller_Arena
STG7_P2.jpg
STG7_TOP.jpg

Volcano (Stage 7) : Sur un fond de ciel étoilé, cette scène met en lumière un énorme volcan en éruption et des rivières de lave qui s'écoulent à un rythme effréné. Si vos adversaires ne vous éliminent pas, les boules de feu du volcan le feront probablement.

Volcano_Propeller_Arena
STG6_TOP.jpg

Phantom Island (Stage 8) : Une nouvelle escarmouche dans la nuit... L'île fantôme est le théâtre d'un violent orage à caractère électrique. Les éclairs couvrent toute la surface de l'île et les ennemis se cachent dans l'obscurité. Il est donc préférable de voler à basse altitude près de l'eau ou de s'abriter à l'intérieur de la caverne sur l'île.

Phantom_Island_Propeller_Arena
STG8_P2.jpg
STG8_TOP.jpg

En finissant deux ou trois fois le jeu avec le même avion, au moins en difficulté normale, deux niveaux supplémentaires seront débloqués. Les participants de l'ABC pourront alors s'affronter dans les arènes de "far East Ruins" et "Giga Plant". Le disque d'assets n'inclue aucune capture d'écran de ces deux maps.

Si vous souhaitez en apprendre davantage sur Propeller Arena (making-of) et télécharger 7 prototypes différents du jeu, cet article y est consacré : "Sept nouveaux prototypes de Propeller Arena Dreamcast planent à l'horizon".

Autres articles consacrés spécifiquement à des assets inédites de jeu

evil twin Dreamcast banner
Banner Jekyll and Hyde 2001 game.png

Du matériel conceptuel pour le jeu Jekyll and Hyde peut être trouvé à cette adresse : "Complément d'illustrations, de plans et d'assets pour le jeu Jekyll & Hyde Dreamcast/PC né des créatifs d'In Utero"

Sources :

bottom of page