Shenmue II GAME JAM (Apr 11,2001 Dreamcast prototype)

Spring 1995, Yu Suzuki takes advantage of a moment of respite to continue developing his prototype. The originator of SEGA's greatest arcade hits has an idea in mind. Virtua Fighter has become a strong license of the brand and the Japanese knows that he can use this universe to develop a revolutionary role-playing game. Steeped in ambition, the man and his team attempt a first: The Old Man and the Peach Tree. The program, built with a few algorithms, tells the story of Taro, who is looking for a certain Ryu , a kung-fu master capable of teaching him his art. The title, expected to be for Saturn, offers the exploration of an open world with the solving of puzzles. At 37, Yu Suzuki has nothing left to prove and yet he is about give rise to a work that will crystallize the video game industry for nearly two decades.

The beginning of a long epic, Shenmue!

he Old Man and the Peach Tree Shenmue.jpg
The Old Man and the Peach Tree Shenmue Artwork.jpg

Since the early 90s (and from his trip to China), Yu Suzuki has aimed to make an RPG that goes beyond Japanese clichés. More freedom, interaction with an organic world, an optimized dialogue system... the creator stopped at nothing. He imagined a story that took place in the 1950s in Luoyang , the ancient Chinese capital. Inspired by a trip to China dating back to 93, the story The Old Man and the Peach Tree contrasted what was usually done in video games at the time.

«A man, who appears to be a martial arts master, is basking in the sun. Taro , who is the player character, asks the man if he knows Master Ryu . The old man then tells him that he only has to bring back a peach to get the answer. So the first part of the quest is to find a peach tree. There is an apple tree not far from them. Taro can't reach the apple, so he borrows a stick from one of the guards and picks the apple which he immediately gives to the man. But the latter explains to him again that he wants to eat a peach, and he gets angry. At the end, children gather around the man and encourage him. Taro quietly approaches and an in-game cutscene begins. The old man skimps on a lake. Each time the stone hits the surface of the water, it stuns a fish. The fish literally float to the surface of the water. The children are very happy to have fish for dinner. The man managed to hit two or three fish with a single stone. After witnessing such a spectacle, Taro is certain that it is in fact Master Ryu. That's the kind of story that we found in the game. This became the basis of the game.»

The Old Man and the Peach Tree has a script and a staging (nothing has been shown but we can guess the scene) totally out of step with its time. However, this prototype allowed the whole team to gauge the capabilities of the Saturn and to push it to its ultimate limits: fully 3D graphics, management of collisions and clipping (late display of scenery), control of characters and the camera, monitoring and consistency of events and puzzles, dialogues in other words, the 32-bit has seen all the colors.

The idea of an RPG on the model of Virtua Figther

After The Old Man and the Peach Tree, the AM2 team decided to turn to a more concrete universe that is, above all, well known to fans of the brand: Virtua Fighter. We move to 1996. The idea is to create an RPG using the characters of the famous fighting game, whose hero is Akira.

Fully 3D and with a cinematic approach, it adds (compared to The Old Man and the Peach Tree prototype) the ability to fight multiple individuals at once; but also, recorded voices give more sense of life and realism to the protagonists of the story. By doing so, Yu Suzuki saved considerable time: he used all the character moves of the famous fighting game (Akira, Pai, Lau, Jacky, etc.), but with the 3D engine. At this point, the developers had a very precise idea of what they want.

That trip to China would have the effect of clarifying many of his desires. For Virtua Fighter RPG, Yu Suzuki designed a document based on his memories, where it is particularly about the story and its guideline. The hero, Akira (funny thing is that in Shenmue, the game code reveals that the character ID remained "AKIR", diminished form of Akira) must face a destiny that jostles his emotions.

Shenmue early artwork (1).BMP

Official Shenmue 1+2 script

Shenmue Script.jpg

First, the grief over the loss of his father; then, the departure for China and the feeling of revenge that animated him (the main antagonist then bears the name of Randi and not Lan Di); then, the fight against the murderer of his father and finally, victory and a new journey with his friends. From this document, Yu Suzuki draws an orchestral suite in four repeating movements. To give more volume to the story, the creator called on a scriptwriter to whom he made listen to the famous piece in order to give him more inspiration. It is from this precise moment that Yu Suzuki began the real writing of the 11 different chapters of the game.

2008, my trip to Guilin

Guilin Road Trip (Shenmue)

Shenmue Saturn (Shenmue 2)

2008, my trip to Guilin

Chine Road Trip (Shenmue)

To give a dramatic feel to his title, Yu Suzuki opted for a romantic approach, in order to make the player feel all the emotions of the hero. And each of the 11 chapters takes place in different locations in China. Suffice to say that Virtua Fighter RPG has created a real base for the future Project Berkley. It is Akira Yuki (when younger), and not Ryo Hazuki, that one finds in the Saturn prototypes. Again, even though these prototypes, by Yu Suzuki's admission, are playable and slumbering somewhere at SEGA in Japan, they are just prototypes, short and intended to gauge the performance of the Saturn. Hence the fight sequence between Ryu and Guizhang or the doe scene from Shenmue II. There is no full Project Berkley or Shenmue game on the Saturn. These are just tests.

The Beginning of the Berkley Project

In 1997, Yu Suzuki was involved in the development of SEGA's future console. The Dreamcast, which would succeed the Saturn, is much more powerful and better aimed at game designers. Logically, the whole team decided to abandon 32-bit support to focus on the future machine which was then called "Next-gen Saturn". Virtua Fighter RPG had been abandoned in turn, resulting in the birth of a new title but which had no name yet, except for the code name Guppy. Built in 45 hours, the gameplay mixed a large number of approaches: cinematics, fights, research and exploration, learning new techniques, interaction between the different chapters and even the presence of "underground dungeons".

In 1998, Yu Suzuki changed the name of the game to Berkley and aimed to introduce the first two chapters in the first adventure. Only then was the ambition of the AM2 limitless and the game growing visibly. Project Berkley became Shenmue Chapter 1: Yokosuka and each game contained only one single chapter, all materializing in the form of a gigantic killer app for the Dreamcast. Given the scale of development (which required about 30% of the total workforce of AM2), Yu Suzuki was forced to redefine the basics of game design. It was at this time that he imagined the concepts of FREE for Full Reactive Eyes Entertainment, and Quick Time Events (QTE) from which he drew inspiration from the game of our childhood, SIMON.

Sega Dreamcast Console
Project Berkley Shenmue disc.jpg

That same year, the SEGA teams were working at full speed to produce Shenmue. At that time, the number of employees working on Yu Suzuki's game exceeded 200. Among those who toiled the most, there are the programmers who set up multiple compression algorithms in order to fit the game on 3 GD-ROMs (without that, it would have taken 50 or 60 CD ROMs to store Shenmue) but also the developers who have been called to the rescue for "NPC life control". Yu Suzuki reveals that this concept was added later, because it was not part of the development stages.

«Each character led their own life. All this was not planned and it has been done and integrated in the meantime. This was quite a heavy task for the staff working on the game. If I add up the NPCs (or NPCs) from Shenmue and Shenmue II , I think there are over 450. We created a background for each character: name, age, weight, height, his/her partner, place of residence, etc.»

Shenmue contains over 300 characters (700 including Shenmue 2). To save time, the team used a formidable technique: it used the names of employees and high authorities of SEGA to personalize this little world. One of the employees absolutely wanted to be an F1 driver. He finally found himself as a simple onlooker near the construction site.

An incredible development

To fully understand how Shenmue was ahead of its time, we are going to make a presentation of the techniques put in place to push realism to its maximum. Unlike other games, the creation of the game did not start with dozens and dozens of artwork. While there were some during the making of Virtua Fighter RPG, the team's real inspiration came from the music.

«The development of the game first started with its music. Then, once I finally had a theme that I liked and corresponded to my desire, I had all my staff listen to it, the project directors, the screenwriters, without telling them anything. They knew the general concept of the project but nothing had really been decided yet. I then asked them to freely follow their inspiration only with this music. Finally, we all exchanged many ideas, in addition to mine. The world of Shenmue was therefore built on his music, without starting with artwork as is usually the case in video games»

Shenmue 1 Concept Art.jpg
Shenmue sketch_7.jpg
Shenhua's Theme Shenmue music.jpg
Shenmue Concept Art.png

Yuzo Koshiro, who participated in the musical composition of Shenmue, visited SEGA studios about once a week. The game was entirely designed through his music, that is to say that the musicians composed the themes by focusing on sketches and models. When you hear the final result, there is something to be amazed about.

All the animations are made in motion capture and the team even went so far as to use an electronic glove in order to faithfully reproduce the movement of the hands and fingers.

Clay Sculture Shenmue Dreamcast.jpg

Official sculpture (photo by SkillJim)

Lan Di Shenmue official Sculture.jpg

For the fights, the choreographies were strongly enforced, and Yu Suzuki's perfectionism became almost sickly. The instructions given to the actors were ultra-precise and it was not easy to comply with the demands of the creator, who did not hesitate to lend his hand by showing all the gestures to be performed one by one.

The other feat comes from the modeling of the main character. Akira gave way to a certain Ryo Hazuki and the first sketches were drawn by Yu Suzuki himself:

«To get a story that suited me, I needed a hero that matched my expectations. So I first drew sketches of what I expected from the ideal main character. I got what I wanted, both from the front and from the side. But the problem is that the 3D rendering did not correspond to the model at all! I felt like I had another person!»

To counter the problem, the devs would then hatch a genius idea: to use clay to reconstruct the faces of the main characters of the story. These sculptures, made by professionals, were then scanned in 3D to obtain a rendering close to perfection. With such a technique, the faces reached the trifle of 50,000 animations, so the number of polygons had to be shifted down.

For architecture, the AM2 had developed a program that made it possible to structure the layout of the various buildings and rooms. It was enough to input objects such as tables, chairs and others for the software to organize and reposition everything, making sure that the character could cross the area without hindrance. Crazy!

Finally, the change in weather had taken a lot of resources from Yu Suzuki's team:

«Today, everyone knows how to do it, but at the time it was a real challenge. The Magic Weather system allows for programmatic weather and weather control. The brightness evolves correctly according to the time of day. Wind and snow algorithms are also generated. We used Yokosuka's historical weather data for a three-year period starting in 1986, to recreate the game's in-game weather.»

In 1999, Yu Suzuki began his worst nightmare (he hates this part of development): debugging. This phase consisted of playing the game and testing it in every corner to eradicate any form of bug. The cycle took two full weeks, which were grueling. Every day, more than 300 bugs were listed to be then corrected. According to the creator, a team took turns working around the clock, recording videos to target any bugs. At the end of the development, more than 300 people had to be coordinated, which was a real ordeal, because no one had the experience of such a project. Nowadays, developers use project management software, which makes it possible to coordinate all the stages of the creation of a game but also the interaction with the different people and teams. At the end of the 90s, this was far from being the case.

«At that time, there were no project management tools, such as Redmine . So instead we used a command sheet which was just a simple list of measurements in Excel. Because we were developing or testing the game, the number of bars to correct never decreased. And for information, there were more than 10,000! It's scary to think that we managed this project essentially by distributing sheets of paper»

Shenmue Cover Pal
Shenmue unused Bike features.webp

To make Shenmue, the developers didn't get much sleep or rest. If they managed to take turns, each Friday was called "Shenmue Weekend". The team would travel to SEGA's lodge in Zushi (a town of about 55,000 people located 65 km from Tokyo) and work all weekend.

This is what Shenmue was all about. Programmers who fought for months to get the best game in the world. The team of programmers was also split in two: on one side, the employees who worked on the game system, on the other those who officiated on the programming routines due to the countless events. Shenmue is also the dropping of ideas. Originally, Ryo was to start his journey in China (yes!) and the bike came naturally at the start of development. The test was even carried out with Ryo pedaling while speeding through a meadow. At the end of development, a programmer took over the concept to flesh it out and improve it, but the concept of riding a bicycle in Yokosuka did not bring anything significant. The team preferred to remove this element. Tak Hirai even admits that they had fun using different new "features" (and which he wanted to keep as Easter Eggs), such as fast forward and rewind of the day/night cycle or the possibility of carrying an object like a house and swing it.

The presentation of Shenmue 2 at Game Jam

Shenmue Game Jam Event.jpg
Game Jame Shenmue 2 Event.jpg
Game Jame Shenmue Show Dreamcast.jpg

Yu Suzuki had made an appearance at Sega's Game Jam show, in April 2001,  to show off the latest Shenmue II goodies, gadgets, and gameplay systems. Suzuki had launched a demo with crowd noise on a busy street in Hong Kong and then showed off the all-new automatic map, which appears and rotates based on the location of  Ryo  and his direction.

Next, Suzuki opened the options menu, where he checked Ryo's current collection of Gatcha (small Japanese toys). The game had informed him that if he had one more figure, it would complete his Virtua Fighter toy collection, and he could sell the set, at the pawn shop for 500 HKD. Suzuki had  taken Ryo Hazuki's character to an alley, where he had played several rounds of a game of chance. Ryo quickly won the mini-game. He then took his new collection to a pawn shop to sell it and collect as much money as possible.

Exposing his twisted fascination with minigames, Suzuki had moved Ryo to a seedy bar, where our hero struck up a conversation with an Italian darts player. The crowd watched in silence as Suzuki played a thrilling game of dart throwing!

Suzuki  had also demonstrated Shenmue II's dynamic loading system. When R

Shenmue II GAME JAM (Apr 11,2001 Dreamcast prototype)

Printemps 1995. Yu Suzuki profite d’un moment de répit pour poursuivre l’élaboration de son prototype. Le géniteur des plus grands hits d’arcade de SEGA a une idée derrière la tête. Virtua Fighter est devenue une licence forte de la marque et le Japonais sait qu’il peut se servir de cet univers pour développer un jeu de rôle révolutionnaire. Pétris d’ambition, l’homme et son équipe tentent un premier essai : The Old Man and the Peach Tree. Le programme, construit avec quelques algorithmes, relate l’histoire de Taro. Ce dernier recherche un certain Ryu, maître de kung-fu capable de lui enseigner son art. Le titre, prévu sur Saturn, prévoit l’exploration d’un monde ouvert avec la résolution d’énigmes. A 37 ans, Yu Suzuki n’a plus rien à prouver et pourtant, il est sur le point de donner naissance à une œuvre qui va cristalliser l’industrie du jeu vidéo pendant près de deux décennies.

Le début d'une longue épopée, Shenmue !

he Old Man and the Peach Tree Shenmue.jpg
The Old Man and the Peach Tree Shenmue Artwork.jpg

Depuis le début des années 90 et son voyage en Chine, Yu Suzuki a dans l’optique de réaliser un RPG qui aille au-delà des clichés à la japonaise. Plus de liberté, de l’interaction avec un monde organique, un système de dialogues optimisé… le créateur ne recule devant rien. Il imagine alors une histoire qui prend place dans les années 50 à Luoyang, l’ancienne capitale chinoise. Inspiré par un voyage en Chine datant de 93, le récit The Old Man and the Peach Tree bouleverse tout ce qui se fait dans le jeu vidéo d’alors.

« Un homme, qui semble être un maître d’arts martiaux, se prélasse au soleil. Taro, qui est le personnage du joueur, demande à l’homme s’il connaît Maître Ryu. Le vieil homme lui indique alors qu’il n’a qu’à ramener une pêche pour obtenir la réponse. Donc, la première partie de la quête consiste à trouver un pêcher. Il y a un pommier non loin d’eux. Taro ne peut pas atteindre la pomme, alors il emprunte un bâton à l’un des gardiens et cueille la pomme qu’il donne aussitôt à l’homme. Mais ce dernier lui explique à nouveau qu’il veut manger une pêche. Et il se met en colère. A la fin, des enfants sont réunis autour de l’homme et l’encouragent. Taro s’approche tranquillement et une scène cinématique in-game commence. Le vieil homme fait des ricochets sur un lac. Chaque fois que la pierre touche la surface de l’eau, elle assomme un poisson. Les poissons flottent littéralement à la surface de l’eau. Les enfants sont très heureux d’avoir des poissons pour le dîner. L’homme est parvenu à toucher deux ou trois poissons avec une seule et unique pierre. Après avoir assisté à un tel spectacle, Taro est certain qu’il s’agit en fait de Maître Ryu. Voilà, c’est le genre d’histoire que l’on retrouvait dans le jeu. Ceci est devenu la base du jeu. »

The Old Man and the Peach Tree a un scénario et une mise en scène (rien n’a été montré mais on peut deviner la scène) en décalage total avec son époque. Pourtant, ce prototype a permis à toute l’équipe de jauger les capacités de la Saturn et de la pousser dans ses ultimes retranchements : graphismes entièrement en 3D, gestion des collisions et du clipping (affichage tardif des décors), contrôle des personnages et de la caméra, suivi et cohérence des évènements et énigmes, dialogues… autant dire que la 32 bits en a vu de toutes les couleurs.

L'idée d'un RPG sur le modèle de Virtua Figther

Après The Old Man and the Peach Tree, l’équipe de l’AM2 décide de se tourner vers un univers plus concret et surtout bien connu des fans de la marque : Virtua Fighter. Nous sommes alors en 1996. L’idée consiste à créer un RPG en utilisant les personnages du célèbre jeu de baston dont le héros est Akira.

Entièrement en 3D et doté d’une approche cinématographique, il ajoute (par rapport au prototype de The Old Man and the Peach Tree) la possibilité de combattre plusieurs individus à la fois, mais aussi des voix enregistrées pour donner plus de corps et de réalisme aux protagonistes de l’histoire. En agissant de la sorte, Yu Suzuki gagne un temps considérable : il exploite tous les mouvements du célèbre jeu de baston (Akira, Pai, Lau, Jacky, etc.) mais aussi le moteur 3D. A cette époque, le Japonais a une idée très précise de ce qu’il désire.

Ce périple chinois aura pour effet de clarifier bon nombre de ses envies. Pour Virtua Fighter RPG, Yu Suzuki conçoit un document basé sur ses souvenirs, où il est notamment question de l’histoire et de sa ligne directrice. Le héros, Akira (ce qui est amusant, c’est que dans Shenmue, le code du jeu révèle que l’ID du personnage est restée en « AKIR », forme diminuée de Akira) doit faire face à un destin qui bouscule ses émotions.

Shenmue early artwork (1).BMP

Script officiel de Shenmue 1+2

Shenmue Script.jpg

D’abord, la tristesse avec la perte de son père, ensuite le départ vers la Chine et le sentiment de vengeance qui l’anime (l’antagoniste principal porte alors le nom de Randi et non Lan Di), puis le combat contre le meurtrier de son géniteur et enfin la victoire et un nouveau voyage avec ses amis. De ce document, Yu Suzuki en tire une suite orchestrale en quatre mouvements qui se répètent. Pour donner plus de volume à l’histoire, le créateur a fait appel à un scénariste à qui il a fait écouter le fameux morceau afin de lui donner plus d’inspiration. C’est à partir de ce moment précis que Yu Suzuki débute la véritable écriture des 11 différents chapitres du jeu.

2008, mon voyage à Guilin

Guilin Road Trip (Shenmue)

Shenmue Saturn (Shenmue 2)

2008, mon voyage à Guilin

Chine Road Trip (Shenmue)

Pour donner un côté dramaturge à son titre, Yu Suzuki a opté pour une approche romanesque, afin de faire ressentir toutes les émotions du héros au joueur. Et chacun des 11 chapitres prend place dans différentes localités de Chine. Autant dire que Virtua Fighter RPG a créé un véritable socle pour le futur Project Berkley. C’est d’ailleurs Akira Yuki (en plus jeune), et non pas Ryo Hazuki, que l’on retrouve dans les prototypes Saturn. Encore une fois, même si ces prototypes, de l’aveu de Yu Suzuki, sont jouables et sommeillent quelque part chez SEGA au Japon, il ne s’agit que de prototypes, courts et destinés à jauger les performances de la Saturn. D’où la séquence de combat entre Ryu et Guizhang ou encore la scène de la biche de Shenmue II. Il n’existe aucun jeu complet Project Berkley ou Shenmue sur Saturn. Ce ne sont que des essais.

Le début du projet Berkley

En 1997, Yu Suzuki est impliqué dans le développement de la future console de SEGA. La Dreamcast, qui doit succéder à la Saturn, est beaucoup plus puissante et tournée vers les concepteurs de jeu. Fort logiquement, toute l’équipe décide d’abandonner le support 32 bits pour se focaliser sur la future machine qui est alors appelée « Next-gen Saturn ». Virtua Fighter RPG est abandonné à son tour, entraînant la naissance d’un titre inédit mais qui n’a pas encore de dénomination si ce n’est le nom de code Guppy . Découpé sur 45 heures, le gameplay brasse un grand nombre d’approches : des cinématiques, des combats, de la recherche et de l’exploration, de l’apprentissage de nouvelles techniques, de l’interaction entre les différents chapitres et même la présence de « donjons souterrains »

En 1998, Yu Suzuki change le nom du jeu en Berkley et a pour objectif de présenter les deux premiers chapitres dans la première aventure. Seulement voilà, l’ambition de l’AM2 est sans limite et le jeu grossit à vue d’oeil. Project Berkley devient Shenmue Chapter 1 : Yokosuka et chaque jeu ne contient plus qu’un seul et unique chapitre, le tout se matérialisant sous la forme d’une gigantesque killer app pour la Dreamcast. Devant l’ampleur du développement (qui réclame environ 30% de l’effectif total de l’AM2), Yu Suzuki se voit obligé de redéfinir les bases du game design. C’est à ce moment-là qu’il imagine les concepts du FREE pour Full Reactive Eyes Entertainment, et des Quick Time Event (QTE) dont il puise l’inspiration du jeu de notre enfance, le SIMON.

Sega Dreamcast Console
Project Berkley Shenmue disc.jpg

Cette même année, les équipes de SEGA tournent à plein régime pour réaliser Shenmue. A cette époque, le nombre d’employés qui travaillent sur le jeu de Yu Suzuki dépasse les 200 têtes. Parmi ceux qui triment le plus, il y a les programmeurs qui mettent en place de multiples algorithmes de compression afin de faire tenir le jeu sur 3 GD-ROM (sans ça, il aurait fallu 50 ou 60 CD ROM pour stocker Shenmue) mais aussi les développeurs qui ont été appelés à la rescousse pour le « contrôle de la vie des PNJ ». Yu Suzuki révèle que ce concept a été ajouté par la suite, car il ne faisait pas partie des étapes du développement.

« Chaque personnage menait sa propre vie. Tout ça n’était pas prévu et cela a été fait et intégré entre temps. Ce fut une tâche assez lourde pour le personnel qui travaillait sur le jeu. Si j’additionne les NPC (ou PNJ) de Shenmue et Shenmue II, je pense qu’il y en a plus de 450. Nous avons créé un background pour chaque personnage : nom, âge, poids, taille, son/sa partenaire, lieu de résidence, etc. « 

Shenmue contient plus de 300 personnages (700 en comprenant Shenmue 2). Pour gagner du temps, l’équipe employa une méthode redoutable : elle utilisa les noms des employés et des hautes instances de SEGA pour personnaliser tout ce petit monde. L’un des employés voulait absolument être un pilote de F1. Il s’est finalement retrouvé comme un simple badaud près du chantier de construction.

Un développement incroyable

Pour bien comprendre à quel point Shenmue était en avance sur son temps, nous allons faire une présentation des techniques mises en place pour pousser le réalisme à son maximum. A l’inverse des autres jeux, la création du jeu n’a pas débuté par des dizaines et des dizaines d’artworks. Même s’il y en a eu durant l’élaboration de Virtua Fighter RPG, la véritable inspiration de l’équipe est venue de la musique.

« Le développement du jeu a d’abord commencé par sa musique. Ensuite, une fois que j’ai enfin eu un thème qui me plaisait et correspondait à mon envie, je l’ai fait écouter à tout mon staff, aux directeurs de projet, aux scénaristes, sans rien leur dire. Ils connaissaient le concept général du projet mais rien n’était encore véritablement décidé. Je leur ai ensuite demandé de suivre librement leur inspiration uniquement avec cette musique. Enfin, on s’est tous échangé de nombreuses idées, en plus des miennes. Le monde de Shenmue s’est donc construit sur sa musique, sans commencer par des artworks comme c’est habituellement le cas dans les jeux vidéo. »

Shenmue 1 Concept Art.jpg
Shenmue sketch_7.jpg
Shenhua's Theme Shenmue music.jpg
Shenmue Concept Art.png

Yuzo Koshiro, qui a participé à la composition musicale de Shenmue, se rendait dans les studios de SEGA environ une fois par semaine. Le jeu a entièrement été conçu via sa musique, c’est-à-dire que les musiciens ont composé les thèmes en se focalisant sur des croquis et des maquettes. Quand on entend le résultat final, il y a de quoi être bluffé.

Toutes les animations sont réalisées en motion capture et l’équipe va même jusqu’à utiliser un gant électronique afin de reproduire fidèlement le mouvement des mains et des doigts.

Clay Sculture Shenmue Dreamcast.jpg

Sculture officiel (photo de SkillJim)

Lan Di Shenmue official Sculture.jpg

Pour les combats, les chorégraphies sont ultrapoussées, et le perfectionnisme de Yu Suzuki en devient presque maladif. Les instructions données aux acteurs sont ultraprécises et il n’est pas facile de se plier aux exigences du créateur, qui n’hésite pas à donner de sa personne en montrant un à un tous les gestes à exécuter.

L’autre prouesse vient de la modélisation du personnage principal. Akira a laissé la place à un certain Ryo Hazuki et les premiers croquis ont été dessinés par Yu Suzuki himself :

« Pour obtenir une histoire qui me convienne, il me fallait un héros qui corresponde à mes attentes. J’ai donc tout d’abord dessiné des croquis de ce que j’attendais du personnage principal idéal. J’ai obtenu ce que je voulais, aussi bien de face que de profil. Mais le problème, c’est que le rendu en 3D ne correspondait pas du tout au modèle ! J’avais l’impression d’avoir une autre personne ! »

Pour contrer le problème, le Japonais va alors avoir une idée de génie : utiliser de l’argile pour reconstituer les visages des personnages principaux de l’histoire. Ces sculptures, réalisées par des professionnels, ont été ensuite scannées en 3D pour obtenir un rendu proche de la perfection. Avec une telle technique, les visages atteignent la bagatelle de 50 000 animations, si bien que le nombre de polygones a dû être revu à la baisse.

Pour l’architecture, l’AM2 a carrément développé un programme qui permet de structurer l’agencement des différentes bâtisses et pièces. Il suffisait d’y entrer des objets comme des tables, des chaises et autres pour que le logiciel s’organise et repositionne le tout, en faisant en sorte que le personnage puisse traverser la zone sans encombre. Dingue !

Pour terminer, le changement météorologique a demandé beaucoup de ressources à l’équipe de Yu Suzuki :

« Aujourd’hui, tout le monde sait le faire, mais à l’époque il s’agissait d’un vrai défi. Le système Magic Weather permet un contrôle programmatique de la météo et du temps. La luminosité évolue correctement en fonction de l’heure de la journée. Des algorithmes concernant le vent et la neige sont également générés. Nous avons utilisé les données météorologiques historiques de Yokosuka pendant une période de trois ans à partir de 1986, pour recréer la météo in-game du jeu. »

En 1999, Yu Suzuki a débuté son pire cauchemar (il déteste cette partie du développement) : le debbuging. Cette phase consiste à jouer au jeu et à le tester dans les moindres recoins pour éradiquer toute forme de bug. Le cycle a pris deux semaines complètes, qui furent éreintantes. Chaque jour, ce sont plus de 300 bugs qui étaient répertoriés pour être ensuite corrigés. Selon le créateur, une équipe se relayait pour travailler 24 heures sur 24, enregistrant des vidéos pour cibler tous les bugs. A la fin du développement, ce sont plus de 300 personnes qu’il fallait coordonner, ce qui fut un véritable calvaire, car personne n’avait l’expérience d’un tel projet. De nos jours, les développeurs utilisent des logiciels de gestion de projet, qui permettent de coordonner toutes les étapes de la création d’un jeu mais aussi l’interaction avec les différentes personnes et équipes. A la fin des années 90, c’était loin d’être le cas.

« A cette époque, il n’y avait pas d’outils de gestion de projet, tel que Redmine. Donc, à la place, nous avons utilisé une feuille de commande qui n’était qu’une simple liste de mesures dans Excel. Parce que nous développions ou testions le jeu, le nombre de mesures à corriger n’a jamais diminué. Et pour information, il y en avait plus de 10 000 ! C’est flippant de se dire que nous avons géré ce projet essentiellement en distribuant des feuilles de papier. »

Shenmue Cover Pal