Revolt Dreamcast prototypes

Re-Volt mixed two great passions of many children: remote-controlled cars and video games. Acclaim looked to a rather original racing game featuring these little boosted cars. Here we have a mix between  Micro Machines, Mario Kart and other more conventional games.

The studio  Acclaim Studios London (formerly Probe Entertainment) had planned no less than 28 miniature cars, each with a different behavior, to be driven in 14 races spread over 7 different environments. Here, the circuits can be as much the shelves of a supermarket as the passageway of a ship, the sidewalk of a typical American suburb like Desperate Housewives  or even the aisles of a museum. And it is indeed remote-controlled cars that we control.

The game modes are relatively few and rather classic:  "Single Race", "Training", "Championship", "Time Trial", "Stunts" and "Savage Horde".

Rev-Volt Logo

"Cascade", the most fun mode,  is a special circuit: A skate park, where the goal is to collect 20 stars in order to unlock "Savage Horde". All acrobatics are fair play. Who will make the most beautiful jump with style and aesthetics ?

The player is rewarded many bonuses for putting a few spokes in the wheels of the opponents. And thus, on the menu are water bubbles, paralyzing rays or even explosive darts.

To extend the replay value of Re-Volt , the game includes a circuit editor. Few games offer one. Don't forget the 4-player mode for wild games with friends.

Re-Volt Stunt Dreamcast beta.jpg
Revolt Dreamcast.jpg
Revolt Dreamcast prototype vroum vroum.jpg

The specifics of the build in the menus  :

The interest of this prototype lies in the fact that everything is unlocked from the start: all circuits, all cars and all game modes. No need to cheat or progress in Re-Volt!

  • Before arriving at the title screen, normally the "VMU MESSAGE" screen should appear. This is not present in this prototype version.

  • At the bottom right, it's written "DEV", which means version under development. It remains displayed throughout the game.

  • On the title screen, leaving the game running without pressing START, the auto-demo starts on a light blue background. The sound is present, but the replay videos are not. You will need to restart the game to play it again.

Prototype Revolt Dreamcast loading.jpg
Prototype Revolt Dreamcast Main Menu.jpg
Re-Volt Dreamcast prototype Audio Settings.jpg
Re-Volt prototype Dreamcast View Gallery.jpg
Re-Volt prototype Dreamcast Credit.jpg
Prototype Re-Volt Dreamcast Bigvolt Car.jpg
Revolt Dreamcast loading
Dreamcast prototype Re-Volt Paused.jpg
Dreamcast prototype Revolt GO.jpg

Extract from a Build  computer

Re-Volt Acclaim promotionnal release
Re-Volt Dreamcast Frontend Track (prototype).jpg
  • In the main menu, the color of the font is gray and not white. The background of the box, with the 6 possible selections, is transparent and not black. These differences are noticeable in all similar menus of the game ( option, progress table, etc.).

  • By going to "Option", then "Audio Settings", the "Speaker Type" and "VMU Buzzer" options are not present. The default values for the volume of music (80% instead of 100%) and sound effects (100% instead of 80%) do not correspond to that of the final version. These are seen when pausing during a game.

  • Going into "View Gallery" of "Options", 3 drawing screens are missing. Here the number is 12; it should be 15.

  • Trying to see the  "Credits" of the "Option" menu, the auto-demo problem mentioned above is again present. However, the names of people and the functions they held during the development of Re-Volt are displayed on this screen with a blue background. The credits are different, too, with additional people and roles listed. It may be the credits of the N64 version. The song should repeat normally.

  • Before getting to the car selection window, it is possible, on this screen, to type and choose its name. This is where you can enter the cheat codes. These cheat codes do not work on this beta version (to be confirmed).

  • When choosing your vehicle, a box with the performance of the racing car appears. Question marks replace the power bar for the abilities "Speed", "Acc" and "Wheigt" from the car "Bigvolt" and until the last. The "Bigvolt" and "Bossvolt" cars have no representation of them. While driving the "Bigvolt" car, we realize that it has no wheels...

Prototype

Revolt Dreamcast prototype Select Car.jpg

Final

Final Version Re-Volt Dreamcast Bossvolt.jpg
  • When choosing the race, at the window "Select Track", the image representing  the track "Rooftops" differs from the final version. There is another angle of view and the moon is missing. The "Length" information is mentioned as "Unknown" and not "588 Meters". In the next window after choosing this race, Length is this time indicated as "0 M".

Revolt prototype Rooftops.jpg
Revolt DC Select Track rooftops.jpg
  • When entering "Multi-Player" mode, the game directs the player to a screen in which the number of human opponents must be chosen. In the background, there are 3 kinds of TVs, 2 small and one large, displaying the icon of the last race selected. The final version does not have this display.

Re-Volt prototype Number of Players.jpg
Revolt Final Version Dreamcast Multi-Players.jpg

The specifics of the in-game build:

  • Once in-game, the color used to highlight the information "Lap (number of laps completed)", "Lap (current time for the lap)" and "Race (time in game)" is light blue and not dark blue. The current position "TH" and the speed at which the car is moving "SMPH" are also in this color. The numbers themselves are the correct color, but smaller than usual.

  • One of the camera view options is missing, the one for the view in replay mode. The view from the inside does not go directly into the car. This somehow creates bugs ( see the video at  4:27 )

  • The color around the numbers when counting 3 - 2 - 1 - Go , at the start of a race, is yellow instead of white.

  • When you pause in-game, the small box with the writing "Paused" is missing.

  • The "Rooftops" race is unplayable: it is played in absolute darkness. This track should be lit and the scenery, visible.

Re-Volt Dreamcast prototype Rooftops in game.jpg
Re-Volt Rooftops track.jpg
  • "Frontend" is Re-Volt 's main menu with the theme of a closed toy store. This track is not selectable in the game in its commercial version. This race is not optimized, and the game crashes. No collision is implemented. We can, for example, pass through the walls. System information is displayed at the top of the screen ("Pos" and "Look").

  • As for "Frontend", other races are present in the circuit selection, while they are not there in the final. This prototype allows you to choose the 4 environments of the "Battle" mode and the track of the "Stunt Area" mode.

The specifics of the "Track Editor" mode:

  • When you want to create your circuit in "Track Editor", the default starting point is on the right and not on the left.

  • The font is different, the color of it is gray and not white.

Re-Volt Sega Dreamcast prototype Track Editor.jpg
Track Editor Revolt Dreamcast help (final).jpg

The information to access the help window, "Press X+Y for help" is not written at the top of the screen on the right, but it can be accessed. By opening the help menu, we notice that it corresponds to the PC version and not to that of the Dreamcast. The red box is much smaller.

Revolt Dreamcast GDR Save.jpg
Re-Volt Track Editor Save.jpg

Wanting to save the created circuit,  the game asks if you want to save the changes made. The red in the box where you type your name is lighter. "No Name" should be written there. "Save" is red, not yellow.

Revolt prototype Dreamcast Track Editor Module.jpg
Re-Volt Dreamcast Final Version Module Track Editor.jpg

By selecting Module after pressing Start, the red box is lighter than the commercial version and the other Track Editor menus of this prototype.

  • During the precautionary messages (example just below), the Yes or No is highlighted in red and not yellow, like for the Save prompt previously explained.

  • When trying to save, there is  no precautionary message "A Memory Card with at least 7 blocks...", the circuit will save automatically once Save has been validated.

RE-VOLT (Oct 25, 1999 prototype).jpg

You can download the Re-Volt Dreamcast build below

RE-VOLT (Oct 25, 1999 prototype)

The other normal Re-Volt Dreamcast prototypes:

RE-VOLT (Nov 01, 1999 prototype).jpg
RE-VOLT (Nov 03, 1999 prototype).jpg
RE-VOLT (Nov 12, 1999 prototype).jpg
RE-VOLT (Nov 17, 1999 prototype).jpg
RE-VOLT (Nov 23, 1999 prototype).jpg
RE-VOLT (Nov 24, 1999 prototype).jpg
  • The November 24 build has a small particularity. The "VMU Message" window, just before the title screen, displays a box with text in Japanese. Is it an intermediate prototype, a translation build ?

The other prototypes of Re-Volt, for other consoles :

RE-VOLT (Jul 19, 1999 PSX prototype).png
RE-VOLT (Jul 26, 1999 PSX prototype).png
REV-VOLT (Jul 29, 1999 PSX prototype).png

More than 200 prototypes, documents, press kit have been dumped or scanned, you will find them in free download in the "Releases de prototypes et documents"

Revolt Dreamcast prototypes

Re-Volt mélangeait deux grandes passions de nombreux enfants : les voitures radiocommandées et les jeux vidéo. Acclaim tenait là un jeu de course plutôt original mettant en scène ces petits bolides survoltés. On a ici un mix entre Micro Machines, Mario Kart et d'autres jeux plus conventionnels.

Le studio Acclaim Studios London (anciennement Probe Entertainment) avait prévu pas moins de 28 voitures miniatures avec chacune un comportement différent, à piloter dans 14 courses réparties dans 7 environnements différents. Ici les circuits peuvent être aussi bien les rayons d’un supermarché que la coursive d’un navire, le trottoir d’une banlieue américaine typique façon Desperate Housewives  ou encore les allées d’un musée. Et ce sont bien des voitures téléguidées que l’on contrôle.

Les modes de jeu sont relativement peu nombreux et plutôt classique : Course simple", "Entraînement", "Championnat", "Contre la montre", "Cascades" et "Horde Sauvage".

Rev-Volt Logo

"Cascade", le mode le plus fun,  est un circuit spécial, un skate parc, où le but est de récolter 20 étoiles afin de débloquer "Horde Sauvage". Toutes les acrobaties y sont permises. Qui effectuera le plus beau saut avec style et esthétisme ?

Le joueur disposera de nombreux bonus permettant de mettre quelques bâtons dans les roues des adversaires. Sont ainsi au menu des bulles d’eau, des rayons paralysants ou encore des fléchettes explosives.

Histoire d'allonger la durée de vie de Re-Volt, le jeu comporte un éditeur de circuit. Peu nombreux sont les jeux à en proposer un. Il ne faut pas oublier le mode 4 joueurs pour des parties endiablées entre amis.

Re-Volt Stunt Dreamcast beta.jpg
Revolt Dreamcast.jpg
Revolt Dreamcast prototype vroum vroum.jpg

Les spécificités de la build dans les menus  :

L'intérêt de ce prototype réside dans le fait que tout est déverrouillé d'origine, tous les circuits, toutes les voitures et tous les modes de jeu, plus besoin de cheat ou de progresser dans Re-Volt !

  • Avant d'arriver à l'écran titre, normalement la fenêtre "VMU MESSAGE" devrait s'afficher. Celle-ci n'est pas présente dans cette version prototype.

  • Au fond à droite il y a écrit "DEV" qui signifie version en cours de développement. Il reste affiché tout le long de la partie.

  • À l'écran titre, en laissant le jeu tourner sans appuyer sur START, l'auto-démo démarre sur un fond bleu clair. Le son est bien présent mais les vidéos de replay, elles, ne le sont pas. Il faudra redémarrer le jeu pour y jouer à nouveau.

Prototype Revolt Dreamcast loading.jpg
Prototype Revolt Dreamcast Main Menu.jpg
Re-Volt Dreamcast prototype Audio Settings.jpg
Re-Volt prototype Dreamcast View Gallery.jpg
Re-Volt prototype Dreamcast Credit.jpg
Prototype Re-Volt Dreamcast Bigvolt Car.jpg
Revolt Dreamcast loading
Dreamcast prototype Re-Volt Paused.jpg
Dreamcast prototype Revolt GO.jpg

Extrait d'une Build  PC

Re-Volt Acclaim promotionnal release
Re-Volt Dreamcast Frontend Track (prototype).jpg
  • Au menu principal, la couleur de la police d'écriture est grise et non pas blanche. L'arrière-fond de l'encadré, avec les 6 sélections possibles, est transparent et non pas noir. Ces différences sont perceptibles dans tous les menus semblables du jeu (option, progress table etc.).

  • En allant dans "Option" puis "Audio Settings", les options "Speaker Type" et "VMU Buzzer" ne sont pas présentes. Les valeurs par défaut du volume de la musique (80 % à la place de 100 %) et des bruitages (100 % à la place de 80 %) ne correspondent pas à celle de la version finale. Ces soucis se retrouvent en faisant pause durant une partie.

  • En rentrant dans "View Gallery" des "Options", il manque 3 fenêtres de dessins. Ici le nombre est de 12, il devrait en avoir 15.

  • En voulant voir les  "Crédits" du menu "Option", le problème de l'auto-démo cité plus haut est de nouveau présent. Cependant les noms des personnes et les fonctions qu'elles occupaient durant le développement de Revolt s'affichent sur cette fenêtre avec un arrière-fond bleu. Les crédits sont différents eux aussi, avec des personnes et des rôles supplémentaires listées. Il s'agit peut-être des crédits de la version N64. La chanson devrait se répéter normalement.

  • Avant d'arriver à la fenêtre de sélection de la voiture, il est possible, sur cet écran, de taper et choisir son nom. C'est ici qu'on peut rentrer les cheat codes. Ces codes de triches ne fonctionnent pas sur cette version bêta (à confirmer).

  • Au moment de choisir son véhicule, un encadré avec les performances du bolide apparaît. Des points d'interrogation remplacent la barre de puissance pour les capacités "Speed", "Acc" et "Wheigt" dès la voiture "Bigvolt" et jusqu'à la dernière. Les voitures "Bigvolt" et "Bossvolt" ne possèdent aucune représentation d'elles. En conduisant la voiture "Bigvolt", on s'aperçoit que celle-ci ne possède pas de roues...

Prototype

Revolt Dreamcast prototype Select Car.jpg

Finale

Final Version Re-Volt Dreamcast Bossvolt.jpg
  • Au moment de choisir la course, arrivé à la fenêtre "Select Track" l'image représentant  la piste "Rooftops" diffère de la version finale. Il y a un autre angle de vue et il manque la lune. L'information "Length" est mentionnée comme "Unknow" et non pas "588 Meters". À la fenêtre suivante après avoir choisi cette course, Length est indique cette fois "0 M".

Revolt prototype Rooftops.jpg
Revolt DC Select Track rooftops.jpg
  • En rentrant dans le mode "Multi-Player", le jeu dirige le joueur vers une fenêtre dans laquelle il faut choisir le nombre d'adversaires humains. En arrière-plan, il y a 3 sortes de télés, 2 petites et une grande, affichant l'icône de la dernière course sélectionnée. La version finale ne possède pas cet affichage.

Re-Volt prototype Number of Players.jpg
Revolt Final Version Dreamcast Multi-Players.jpg

Les spécificités de la build en jeu :

  • Une fois en jeu, la couleur employée pour mettre en évidence les informations "Lap (nombre de tours effectués", "Lap (temps en cours pour le tour)" et "Race (temps en jeu)" est bleue clair et non pas foncé. La position actuelle "TH" et la vitesse à laquelle la voiture roule "SMPH" est également de cette couleur. Les chiffres eux sont de la bonne couleur mais plus petits que d'ordinaire.

  • Il manque un choix de caméra, celle pour la vue en mode replay. La vue de l'intérieur, elle, n'arrive pas directement dans la voiture. Ce qui crée en quelque sorte des bugs (voir la vidéo à  4:27)

  • La couleur du pourtour des nombres lors du décompte 3-2-1 - Go, au début d'une course, est jaune contrairement à blanche.

  • Lorsqu'on fait pause en jeu, il manque le petit encadré avec écrit "Paused".

  • La course "Rooftops" est injouable, elle se joue dans le noir absolu. Cette piste devrait être éclairée et les décors visibles.

Re-Volt Dreamcast prototype Rooftops in game.jpg
Re-Volt Rooftops track.jpg
  • "Frontend" est le menu principal de Re-Volt reprenant le thème d'un magasin de jouets fermé. Cette piste n'est pas sélectionnable dans le jeu dans sa version commerciale. Cette course n'est pas optimisée, le jeu crash. Aucune collision n'est implantée, on peut par exemple traverser les murs. Des informations systèmes sont affichées au sommet de l'écrant ("Pos" et "Look").

  • Comme pour "Frontend", d'autres courses sont présentes dans la sélection des circuits, elles n'y sont pas normalement. Ce prototype permet de choisir les 4 environnements du mode "Battle" et la piste du mode "Stunt Area".

Les spécificités du mode "Track Editor" :

  • En voulant créer son circuit dans "Track Editor", le point de départ par défaut se situe à droite et non pas à gauche comme d'habitude.

  • La police d'écriture est différente, la couleur de celle-ci est grise et non pas blanche.

Re-Volt Sega Dreamcast prototype Track Editor.jpg
Track Editor Revolt Dreamcast help (final).jpg

L'information pour accéder à la fenêtre d'aide , "Press X+Y for help" n'est pas écrit en haut de l'écran à droite mais on peut y accéder. En ouvrant le menu d'aide, on remarque que celui-ci correspond à la version PC et non pas à celui de la Dreamcast. L'encadré rouge est bien plus petit que celui que nous connaissons.

Revolt Dreamcast GDR Save.jpg
Re-Volt Track Editor Save.jpg

En voulant sauvegarder le circuit,  le jeu demande si l'on souhaite sauver les modifications apportées. Le rouge dans l'encadré où on tape son nom, est plus clair. No Name devrait être écrit à cet endroit. Save est rouge et non pas jaune.

Revolt prototype Dreamcast Track Editor Module.jpg
Re-Volt Dreamcast Final Version Module Track Editor.jpg

En sélectionnant Module après avoir appuyer sur Start, l'encadré en rouge est plus claire que la version commerciale et que les autres menus de Track Editor de ce prototype.

  • Lors des messages de précaution, exemple juste au dessous, le Yes or No est en surbrillance rouge et non pas jaune comme pour le Save précédemment expliqué.

  • En souhaitant sauvegarder, il n'y  pas de message de précaution "A Memory Card whit a least 7 blocks...", le circuit sauvegardera automatiquement une fois Save validé.

RE-VOLT (Oct 25, 1999 prototype).jpg

Vous pouvez télécharger la build de Re-Volt Dreamcast ci-dessous

RE-VOLT (Oct 25, 1999 prototype)

Les autres prototypes de Re-Volt Dreamcast normaux :

RE-VOLT (Nov 01, 1999 prototype).jpg
RE-VOLT (Nov 03, 1999 prototype).jpg
RE-VOLT (Nov 12, 1999 prototype).jpg
RE-VOLT (Nov 17, 1999 prototype).jpg
RE-VOLT (Nov 23, 1999 prototype).jpg
RE-VOLT (Nov 24, 1999 prototype).jpg
  • La build du 24 novembre possède une petite particularité. La fenêtre "Message VMU", juste avant l'écran titre, affiche un encadré avec du texte en japonais. Est-ce un prototype intermédiaire, une build de traduction ?

Les autres prototypes de Re-Volt pour d'autres consoles :

RE-VOLT (Jul 19, 1999 PSX prototype).png
RE-VOLT (Jul 26, 1999 PSX prototype).png
REV-VOLT (Jul 29, 1999 PSX prototype).png

Plus de 200 prototypes, documents, press kit ont été dumpés ou scannés, vous les retrouverez en libre téléchargement dans la rubrique "Releases de prototypes et documents"