XG3 : Extreme G Racing Prototype

With the XG3 Extreme G Racing game for the GameCube and Playstation 2, British development studio "Acclaim Cheltenham" had created a beast of a racing game of mind-blowing quality. The game's unparalleled sense of speed, tight control, breathtaking track design, and superb graphics combined for a final experience that easily rivaled that of Wipeout or F-Zero.

Are you ready for a good dose of adrenaline by exceeding 300 km/h ?

The specificities of the PS2 build of June 14, 2001  :

  • Acclaim, with this build, took the opportunity to promote XGIII: Extreme G Racing. At the end of the introduction scene, an estimated release date is displayed as well as the website to visit to learn more about the game. This is a specificity of the prototype. The XGIII logo that appears at the end of the cutscene is purple and not white.

  • Once at the title screen, the background is green/turquoise as opposed to orange on the final version. The logo of the game is bigger as well as the writing "Press Start Button". The characters are not present, as in the final US version. By pressing the R1 + R2 buttons, a cheat unpublished in the prototype allows to have all the bikes and all the circuits unlocked as well as unlimited money.

prototype

XG3 prototype cheat.jpg

Pal finale

XG3 Extreme G racing Pal Ps2 version.jpg

Us finale

Extreme G3 Us version Ps2.jpg
Extreme G3 Ps2 prototype.jpg
XG3 Extreme-G Racing Playstation 2 prototype auto demo.jpg
  • During the auto-demo, the large white "DEMO" label should flash alternately with the game logo. On this prototype version, the game icon does not appear (as well as "Press Start Button" at the bottom and "Storm" at the top right). The text color is gray. Its font is tiny, you can hardly see it.

  • The loading should be screens with the appearance of the layout of one of the circuits in images, here the window is black with just written "Now Loading".

  • There are no sound effects when navigating through the game's menus and sub-menus.

Prototype Playstation 2 XG3 Main Menu.jpg
  • In the main menu, "Game Options" should be called just "Options" while "Co-operative Carrer" should be called "XG Team Carrer". The blue box at the bottom of the screen, with an explanatory help message, is misaligned : it protrudes slightly from the screen (this problem is repeated elsewhere).

  • The submenu "General Options" of "Options" contains new settings characteristic of the build, "Options Data (save or load)" and "Maxi Bike (choice of the number of competitors in the race)". Italian is among the language choices, this dubbing will never be done when the game is released. No language, except English, is active.

  • The scrolling of credits is different. On the commercial version, nicknames will be used instead of the real names of some people. The pattern used in the background is not the same.

Extreme G 3 racing prototype Ps2 General Options.jpg
Xg3 Ps2 prototype Credits.jpg
XG3 Pal version Credit.jpg
XG3 playstation 2 beta Screen Ajust.jpg
  • The box around the slider in the "Screen Adjust" sub-menu of "Options" is purple and not white. The navigation help button "Round" is missing to reset the default settings.

  • "Music Volume" and "SFX Volume" are automatically highlighted in yellow. They normally become this color only when selected. When adjusting the volume of the special effects, a high-pitched noise sounds continuously in the ears, which should not occur. The prototype does not indicate the volume in numbers, but only with a purple or blue bar. The location of the "Triangle" button will change between this build and the retail version.

Versus mode Extreme G3 ps2 prototype.jpg
  • In "Button Config." of the "Options" menu, when navigating between the 2 different options on the screen, the inscriptions become highlighted in red instead of yellow.

  • If you choose "Versus", the window will be called "P1 Load Character" instead of "P1 load Rider".

  • On the team selection screen, the background of the box that says "Select Team" is transparent green instead of transparent blue. The up and down arrows to the left and right of the box title are in one pattern instead of two, they are rounded when they should not be. These differences are reflected in other menus.

  • In cooperation mode, the image representing the futuristic motorcycle in the biker selection window is larger than usual. The team logo does not move from left to right when navigating between the 2 riders of your choice.

XG3 Extreme-G Racing Playstation 2 Rider.jpg
XG3 Ps2 choose rider.jpg
  • When playing a career, the "Welcom to XG3" screen explains the content of the "Career" mode. On the left, the XGIII symbol should be revealed and not several logos that scroll up and down in circles.

XGIII Extreme Racing prototype Sony Career.jpg
Extreme Racing 3 career.jpg
  • Once the vehicle is chosen, in all game modes, the prototype allows the player to assign a name for his driver, this feature was unknown until now.

Audioo Options XG3 prototype Acclaim.jpg
Button Config XG3 Acclaim Ps2 prototype.jpg
Extreme Racing G3 Name Input prototype sony ps2.jpg
XG3 ps2 prototype collision problem.jpg
  • Three statistics of the bike should be revealed in the "Rider Status" screen. On the prototype, only "Bank" and "Engine" appear. Earning" is missing. The "250 G" annotation should be almost centered and close to the red circle, here it is aligned to the left. "Engine" is located on the right side of the menu when it should be above "Bank", on the left.

XG3 Sony prototype Rider Status.jpg
XG3 Extreme-G Racing Ps2 final version.jpg
  • In the "Game Modes" menu, the "League" mode is called "Cup Select" in the prototype and the "Arcade" mode is called "Practice" here. The symbol used for "XG Mall" differs from the final version.

  • Only the "Verdegrad" track is unlocked in "Practice" mode on the prototype. Normally, only the "Muon Harbor" track should be unlocked.

Cup Selet XG3 playstation 2 prototype.jpg
verdegrad Track XG3 sony ps2 prototype.jpg
  • The presentation images of the arenas is the same for the 10 courses to choose from, they are numbered from 1 to 10 on this build. In the commercial version, the number is replaced by the name of the area and the distance to travel. These defects are reflected in other game modes.

Practice XG3 Extreme-G Racing prototype sony ps2.jpg
Arcade Mode XG3 ps2.jpg
  • In "Cup Select", the symbols of the cups to be won are not similar to those we know.

  • The icons of the upgrades to buy/sell in "XG Mall" should be transparent and blend with the menu background. They are modeled, on this prototype, in a normal way as real objects. The name and description of the effect of the enhancement, which may also differ, are written in blue and not in black. The scrolling order, from left to right, is not correct. The category "Shield Boost" does not exist yet.

Cup of XG3 sony playstation 2 prototype.jpg
Unfinished Track XG3 Extreme G Racing Acclaim prototype.jpg
XG Mall XG3 prototype.jpg
XG3 ps2 XG Mall.jpg
Time Trial XG3 Acclaim prototype.jpg
  • The layout of the track selection in the "Time Trial" mode is problematic. The menu is not finished, the track record is missing for example.

  • Once in game, the name XG3 and the build version are written in the middle of the screen. The player interface is basic and not yet worked.

XG3 Extreme G Racing ps2 beta in game.jpg
XG3 playstation 2 in game.jpg
Pause XG3 playstation 2 disc prototype.jpg
  • In the pause menu, it is possible to restart the race. This possibility should not exist. However, the option is inactive.

  • The build being early, the levels are not finished. Elements of the scenery are not animated, textures are strange, scenery floats in the air, lighting and brightness are not the right ones (you can't see anything in dark places). There are many bugs like going out of the track and flying in the sky (having to restart the race).

XG3 6-14-01 - PS2.png

You can download the XGIII: Extreme G Racing Playstation 2 build below

XGIII: Extreme G Racing (Jun 14, 2001 prototype)

The other prototypes of XGIII: Extreme G Racing Playstation 2 with Watermark :

XG3 6-29 - PS2.png

The build of June 29 is close to the final version with its title screen and main menu with the orange background.

Other XGIII: Extreme G Racing Playstation 2 prototypes :

XG3 7-17 - PS2.png
XG3 8-3 - PS2.png
XG3 8-28 - PS2.png

The other prototypes of XGIII: Extreme G Racing Gamecube (Dump problem) :

XG3 2-19 - GC.png

More than 200 prototypes, documents, presskits have been dumped or scanned, you will find them in free download in the "Releases de prototypes et documents"

XG3 : Extreme G Racing Prototype

Avec le jeu XG3 Extreme G Racing sur GameCube et Playstation 2, le studio de développement britannique "Acclaim Cheltenham" avait créé une bête de course d'une qualité hallucinante. Le sens inégalé de la vitesse du jeu, le contrôle serré, la conception des piste à couper le souffle et les superbes graphismes se combinaient pour une expérience finale qui rivalisait facilement avec celle des marques Wipeout ou F-Zero.

Etes-vous prêt à une bonne dose d'adrénaline en dépassant les 300 km/h ?

Les spécificités de la  build PS2 du 14 juin 2001  :

  • Acclaim, avec cette build, en profitait pour promouvoir XGIII : Extreme G Racing. À la fin de la scène d'introduction, une date d'estimation de sortie s'affiche ainsi que le site web à visiter pour se renseigner sur le jeu. C'est une spécificité du prototype. Le logo de XGIII qui apparaît à la fin de la cutscene est violet et non pas blanc.

  • Une fois à l'écran titre, l'arrière-fond est vert/turquoise contrairement à orange sur la version finale. Le logo du jeu est plus grand ainsi que l'écriture de "Press Start Button". Les personnages ne sont pas présents, comme pour la version américaine finale. En pressant les boutons R1 + R2, un cheat inédit au prototype permet d'avoir toutes les motos et tous les circuits déverouillés ainsi que l'argent illimité.

prototype

XG3 prototype cheat.jpg

Pal finale

XG3 Extreme G racing Pal Ps2 version.jpg

Us finale

Extreme G3 Us version Ps2.jpg
Extreme G3 Ps2 prototype.jpg
XG3 Extreme-G Racing Playstation 2 prototype auto demo.jpg
  • Durant l'auto démo, la grande inscription blanche "DEMO" devrait clignoter en alternance avec le logo du jeu. Sur cette version prototype, l'icône du jeu ne se manifeste pas (ainsi que "Press Start Button" au fond et "Storm" en haut à droite). La couleur du texte est grise. Sa police d'écriture est minuscule, on la voit à peine.

  • Les chargements devraient être des écrans avec l'apparence du tracé d'un des circuits en images, ici la fenêtre est noire avec juste écrit "Now Loading".

  • Il n'y a aucun bruitage lorsqu'on navigue dans les  menus et les sous-menus du jeu.

Prototype Playstation 2 XG3 Main Menu.jpg
  • Dans le menu principal, "Game Options" devrait se nommer juste "Options" tandis que "Co-operative Carrer" devrait s'appeler "XG Team Carrer". L'encadré bleu, au fond de l'écran, avec un message explicatif d'aide, est mal aligné : il dépasse légèrement de l'écran (ce souci se répète ailleurs).

  • Le sous-menu "General Options" de "Options" contient de nouveaux paramétrages caractéristiques à la build, "Options Data (sauver ou charger)" et "Maxi Bike (choix du nombre de concurrents en course)". L'Italien figure parmi le choix des langues, ce doublage ne sera jamais effectué à la sortie du jeu. Aucune langue, sauf l'anglais, n'est active.

  • Le défilement des crédits est différent. Sur la version commerciale, des surnoms seront utilisés à la place du vrai nom de certaines personnes. Le motif employé en arrière-plan n'est pas le même.

Extreme G 3 racing prototype Ps2 General Options.jpg
Xg3 Ps2 prototype Credits.jpg
XG3 Pal version Credit.jpg
XG3 playstation 2 beta Screen Ajust.jpg
  • L'encadré autour du curseur dans le sous-menu "Screen Adjust" de "Options" est violet et non pas blanc. Il manque la présence du bouton d'aide de navigation "Rond" pour pouvoir réinitialiser les réglages par défaut.

  • "Music Volume" et "SFX Volume" sont automatiquement en surbrillance jaune. Ils deviennent de cette couleur, normalement, uniquement quand on les sélectionne. En réglant le volume des effets spéciaux, un bruit aigu résonne aux oreilles en continu, ce son ne devrait pas se produire. Le prototype n'indique pas le volume en chiffre mais seulement avec une barre violette ou bleue. L'emplacement du bouton "Triangle" changera entre cette build et la version retail.

Versus mode Extreme G3 ps2 prototype.jpg
  • Dans "Button Config." du menu "Options", en naviguant entre les 2 différentes options présentes à l'écran, les inscriptions deviennent en surbrillance rouge et non pas jaune.

  • En choisissant "Versus", la fenêtre s'intitule "P1 Load Character" au lieu de "P1 load Rider"

  • A l'écran de sélection de l'équipe, l'arrière-plan de l'encadré dans lequel est écrit "Select Team" est vert transparent au lieu de bleu transparent. Les flèches haut et bas se trouvant à gauche et à droite du titre de l'encadré sont en un seul motif et non pas deux, elles sont arrondies alors qu'elles ne devraient pas l'être. Ces différences se répercutent dans d'autres menus.

  • En mode coopération, l'image représenant la moto futuriste à la fenêtre de sélection du biker est plus grande qu'à l'accoutumée. Le logo du team ne bouge pas de gauche à droite en naviguant parmi les 2 pilotes à choix.

XG3 Extreme-G Racing Playstation 2 Rider.jpg
XG3 Ps2 choose rider.jpg
  • En jouant une carrière, l'écran "Welcom to XG3" explique le contenu du mode "Career". Sur la gauche, le symbole de XGIII devrait se révéler et non pas plusieurs logos qui défilent de haut en en bas dans des cercles.

XGIII Extreme Racing prototype Sony Career.jpg
Extreme Racing 3 career.jpg
  • Une fois le véhicule choisi, dans tous les modes de jeu, le prototype permet au joueur d'affecter un nom pour son pilote, cette feature était jusque là inconnue.

Audioo Options XG3 prototype Acclaim.jpg
Button Config XG3 Acclaim Ps2 prototype.jpg
Extreme Racing G3 Name Input prototype sony ps2.jpg
XG3 ps2 prototype collision problem.jpg
  • Trois statistiques de la moto devraient se dévoiler à l'écran "Rider Status". Sur le prototype, seulement "Bank" et "Engine" apparaissent. Il manque "Earning". L'annotation "250 G" devrait presque être centrée et proche du cercle rouge, ici elle est alignée sur la gauche. La mention "Engine" est située du côté droit du menu alors qu'elle devrait être au-dessus de "Bank", à gauche.

XG3 Sony prototype Rider Status.jpg
XG3 Extreme-G Racing Ps2 final version.jpg
  • Au menu "Game Modes", le mode "League" s'appelle sur le prototype "Cup Select" et le mode "Arcade" se nomme ici "Practice". Le symbole utilisé pour "XG Mall" diffère de la version finale.

  • Uniquement la course "Verdegrad" est débloquée en mode "Practice" sur le prototype. Normalement, seulement la piste "Muon Harbor" devrait l'être.

Cup Selet XG3 playstation 2 prototype.jpg
verdegrad Track XG3 sony ps2 prototype.jpg
  • Les images de présentation des arènes est la même pour les 10 parcours au choix, elles sont numérotées de 1 à 10 sur cette build. Dans la version commerciale, le numéro est remplacé par le nom de la zone et la distance à parcourir. Ces défauts se reflètent dans d'autres modes de jeu.

Practice XG3 Extreme-G Racing prototype sony ps2.jpg
Arcade Mode XG3 ps2.jpg
  • Dans "Cup Select", les symboles des coupes à gagner ne sont pas semblables à ceux que nous connaissons.

  • Les icônes des améliorations à acheter/vendre dans "XG Mall" devraient être transparentes et se fondrent avec l'arrière-plan du menu. Elles sont modélisées, sur ce prototype, de façon normale comme de véritables objets. Le nom et le descriptif de l'effet de l'amélioration, qui eux peuvent diverger également, sont écrits en bleu et non pas en noire. L'ordre de défilement, de gauche à droite, n'est pas le bon. La catégorie "Shield Boost" n'existe pas encore.

Cup of XG3 sony playstation 2 prototype.jpg
Unfinished Track XG3 Extreme G Racing Acclaim prototype.jpg
XG Mall XG3 prototype.jpg
XG3 ps2 XG Mall.jpg
Time Trial XG3 Acclaim prototype.jpg
  • La mise en page du choix de la piste du mode "Time Trial" est problématique. Le menu n'est pas fini, il manque le record de la piste par exemple.

  • Une fois en jeu, le nom XG3 ainsi que la version de la build sont inscrits au milieu de l'écran. L'interface joueur est basique et pas encore travaillée.

XG3 Extreme G Racing ps2 beta in game.jpg
XG3 playstation 2 in game.jpg
Pause XG3 playstation 2 disc prototype.jpg
  • Dans le menu pause, il est possible de recommencer la course. Cette possibilité ne devrait pas exister. L'option  est cependant inactive.

  • La build étant précoce, les niveaux ne sont pas terminés. Des éléments du décor ne sont pas animés, des textures sont étranges, des décors  flottent dans les airs, l'éclairage et la luminosité ne sont pas les bonnes (on ne voit rien dans les endroits sombres). Il y a de nombreux bugs comme sortir de la piste et voler dans le ciel (obliger de recommencer la course).

XG3 6-14-01 - PS2.png

Vous pouvez télécharger la build de XGIII: Extreme G Racing Playstation 2 ci-dessous

XGIII: Extreme G Racing (Jun 14, 2001 prototype)

Les autres prototypes de XGIII: Extreme G Racing Playstation 2 avec Watermark :

XG3 6-29 - PS2.png

La build du 29 juin se rapproche de la version finale avec son écran titre et menu principal avec l'arrière-fond orange.

Les autres prototypes de XGIII: Extreme G Racing Playstation 2 normaux :

XG3 7-17 - PS2.png
XG3 8-3 - PS2.png
XG3 8-28 - PS2.png

Les autres prototypes de XGIII: Extreme G Racing Gamecube (Problème de dump) :

XG3 2-19 - GC.png

Plus de 200 prototypes, documents, presskits ont été dumpés ou scannés, vous les retrouverez en libre téléchargement dans la rubrique "Releases de prototypes et documents"