Aggressive Inline Playstation 2 prototype

What did Jaren Grob, Taig Khris, Chris Edwards, Franky Morales, Sven Boekhorst, Sam Fogarty, Matt Lindenmuth, Matt Salerno, Eito Yasutoko and Shane Yost have in common ? They were all the kings of rollerblading, what Tony Hawk and Rodney Mullen were to skateboarding.

Aggressive Inline is a game in which players take part in frenzied rollerblading competitions across incredibly vast worlds. Playing as the greatest of the discipline, you will have to prove your bravery and style in levels that react dynamically. To do so, avatars will need to be upgraded.

This rollerblading game was the obvious answer from the development studio Z-Axis to Activision's behemoth, Tony Hawk Pro Skater.

The specificities of the build of March 2, 2002 :

  • The prototype starts on a screen specially designed for the demo. The name of the publisher, the name of the development studio and other information are shown. It is mentioned that the build does not reflect the final product, as the game development is in WORK IN PROGRESS.

  • After a few minutes, an attract mode unique to this prototype starts. At the end of the replay sequence, 2 promotional screens display the specifics of Agressive Inline and its approximate release date.

  • The color of the text in the "Main Menu" is yellow and not white (same difference elsewhere). It is possible to leave the demo by selecting the door symbol which replaces the wrench icon (options). As the game is a demo, only the "Career" mode is selectable, the others are locked. The same applies to some characters in the "Player Select" menu or some options in the "Level Select" menu.

  • In the final version, the player can admire video scenes in the box above the game modes. In the prototypical version, the movies are replaced by an image corresponding to the previous loading time. This difference is recurrent.

The start screen of the game, a work of art !

Aggressive Inline Playstation 2 Demo.jpg

Auto-Demo, forbidden to under 18 years old !

Auto Demo Aggressive Inline Demo.jpg
  • At the selection of the future Rollerblade champion, the font used for the statistics is the same as the menu titles. Another font was finally chosen for the commercial version. The order of the attributes is not the same, some are missing while others were unknown until now; maybe it is the wording of the words used for the stats that changes. The 12 characters are not in the right order compared to the final version. There is a 13th rider, called "SECRET", which can only be found in the beta. The starting attribute numbers of the characters are also unrecognizable. The navigation help buttons "X (Select)" and "Triangle (Back)" are highlighted and have an SF style. I like them better this way, don't you ?

prototype

Player Select Menu prototype Aggressive Inline Acclaim.jpg

finale

American Aggressive Inline game.jpg
  • On this demo, it is impossible to name the character as the player wants. The game will go directly to the "Level Select" menu, whose title is not written on the right side of the screen when it should be. The layout of the menu is slightly different. The icon used for the "Museum" option is a dinosaur skeleton and does not look like a Mammoth. The developers switched the location of the "Movie Lot" and "The Boardwalk" symbols between the prototype and the final product. The descriptions of the options in this menu are not centered, they are aligned on the right. The game mode "The Boardwalk" should be closed but it is playable here.

Level Select Aggressive Inline Playstation 2 prototype.jpg
Acclaim game Aggressive Inline.jpg

The promotion of the game in the Mad In Acclaim prototype !

Agressive Inline Ps2 prototype promo.jpg

The first Loading, bof bof

Aggressive Inline Playstation 2 prototype loading.jpg

Where can we see the videos of the crazy people on wheels ?

Aggressive Inline Ps2 prototype main menu.jpg
  • The loading times, except for the first one, are represented by the image of the controller's button configuration. "Z-Axis Ltd" (the same team as Dave Mirra Freestyle BMX), the studio in charge of Aggressive Inline, should have kept this design instead of a simple black background with a yellow progress bar.

  • When starting a game, a short cut-scene showing the skatepark should start. On this demo, the player starts directly.

  • In game, the messages indicating the objectives to accomplish and the "X" key to validate them are placed in a different way. The prototype marks "Pause State" above the player's orange and blue gauge (timer system of sorts), there is nothing written normally. The color of the aura surrounding the $ symbol on the NPCs is green and not red.

Why not keep this Loading ?

Aggressive Inline Ps2 prototype pad config.jpg

Stephen King inspired many people !

Acclaim prototype Aggressive Inline Ps2.jpg
Aggressive Inline Ps2 Acclaim.jpg
Clown Aggressive Inline Ps2 Demo.jpg
  • In game, there are many differences like the look of the levels, some examples below :

Aggressive Inline Ps2 Acclaim prototype pause menu.jpg

A square should precede each option in the pause menu. Once the goal is accomplished, a cross marks it as successful.

Aggressive Inline Pause Menu.jpg

The NPC in the first Career Mode arena is a foreman. In the final version, his profession is cook. Food is stronger than concrete !

NPC Aggressive Inline Acclaim prototype.jpg
NPC Aggressive Inline video game.jpg

A door ? Where ? Does it lead to victory or is it just a mirage ?

Playstation 2 prototype Aggressive Inline Acclaim.jpg
Aggressive Inline Ps2.jpg

The GG gang from Jet Set Radio had tagged the garage blind on this demo !

prototype Aggressive Inline Sony.jpg
Aggressive Inline.jpg

The classic move in early builds, a billboard that will later be replaced by another !

The Boarddwalk Aggressive Inline prototype playstation.jpg
AI Playstation 2.jpg
Inline Demo - PS2.png

You can download the build of Aggressive Inline Playstation 2 below

Aggressive Inline (Mar 02, 2002 prototype)

The other DEMO prototypes of Aggressive Inline Playstation 2:

Inline demo NO MOVIES - PS2.png

More than 200 prototypes, documents, presskits have been dumped or scanned, you will find them in free download in the "Releases de prototypes et documents"

Aggressive Inline Playstation 2 prototype

Qu'avaient donc en commun Jaren Grob, Taig Khris, Chris Edwards, Franky Morales, Sven Boekhorst, Sam Fogarty, Matt Lindenmuth, Matt Salerno, Eito Yasutoko et Shane Yost ? Ils étaient tous les rois du roller, ce que Tony Hawk et Rodney Mullen étaient pour le skate.

Aggressive Inline est un jeu dans lequel les joueurs prennent part à des compétitions endiablées de Rollerblade  à travers des mondes incroyablement vastes. Incarnant les plus grands de la discipline, il faudra prouver sa bravoure et son style dans des niveaux qui réagissent de manière dynamique. Pour y arriver, les avatars devront être améliorés.

Ce jeu de roller était la réponse évidente du studio de développement Z-Axis au mastodonte d'Activision, Tony Hawk Pro Skater.

Les spécificités de la build du 2 mars 2002 :

  • Le prototype démarre sur un écran spécialement conçu pour la démo. Le nom de l'éditeur, le nom du studio de développement et d'autres informations y figurent. Il est mentionné que la build ne reflète pas le produit final, le développement du  jeu étant en WORK IN PROGRESS.

  • Après quelques minutes, un attract mode unique à ce prototype débute. À  la fin de la séquence de replay, 2 écrans promotionnels affichent les spécificités d'Agressive Inline et sa date de sortie approximative.

  • La couleur du texte du menu principal "Main Menu" est jaune et non pas blanche (même différence ailleurs). Il est possible de quitter la démo en sélectionnant le symbole de la porte qui remplace l'icône d'une clé à molette (options). Comme le jeu est une démo, seulement le mode "Career" est sélectionnable, les autres sont verrouillés. Il en sera de même pour certains personnages du menu "Player Select" ou certaines options du menu "Level Select".

  • En version finale, le joueur peut admirer des scènes vidéo dans l'encadré au-dessus des modes de jeu. Sur la version prototypée, les films sont remplacés par une image correspondant au temps de chargement précédent. Cette différence est récurrente.

L'écran de démarrage du jeu, une oeuvre d'art !

Aggressive Inline Playstation 2 Demo.jpg

Auto-Demo, interdit au moins de 18 ans !

Auto Demo Aggressive Inline Demo.jpg
  • À la sélection du futur champion de Rollerblade, la police d'écriture employée pour les statistiques est la même que les titres des menus. Une autre police a finalement été retenue pour la version commerciale. L'ordre des attributs n'est pas le même, il en manque certain tandis que d'autre étaient inconnus jusqu'à maintenant ; peut-être est-ce la formulation des mots employés pour les stats qui change. Les 12 personnages ne sont pas dans le bon ordre comparativement à la version finale. Il existe un 13ème rider, appelé "SECRET", que l'on ne trouve que sur la bêta. Les chiffres des attributs de départ des  personnages  sont également méconnaissables. Les boutons d'aide de navigation "X (Select)" et "Triangle (Back)" sont en surbrillance et ont un style SF. Je les préfère ainsi, pas vous ?

prototype

Player Select Menu prototype Aggressive Inline Acclaim.jpg

finale

American Aggressive Inline game.jpg
  • Sur cette démo, il est impossible de nommer le personnage comme le joueur le souhaite. Le jeu arrivera directement au menu "Level Select" dont le titre n'est pas écrit à droite de l'écran alors qu'il devrait l'être. La mise en page du menu  est légèrement différente. L'icône employée pour l'option "Museum" est un squelette de  dinosaure et n'a pas l'aspect d'un Mammouth. Les développeurs ont interverti l'emplacement du symbole "Movie Lot" et "The Boarddwalk" entre le prototype et le produit final. Les descriptifs des options de ce menu ne sont pas centrés, ils sont alignés sur la droite. Le mode de jeu "The Boardwalk" devrait être fermé mais il est jouable ici.

Level Select Aggressive Inline Playstation 2 prototype.jpg
Acclaim game Aggressive Inline.jpg

La promotion du jeu dans le prototype Mad In Acclaim !

Agressive Inline Ps2 prototype promo.jpg

Le premier Loading, bof bof

Aggressive Inline Playstation 2 prototype loading.jpg

Où peut on visionner les vidéos des fous sur roulettes ?

Aggressive Inline Ps2 prototype main menu.jpg
  • Les temps de chargements, sauf le premier, sont représentés par l'image de la  configuration des touches de la manette. "Z-Axis Ltd" (le même team que Dave Mirra Freestyle BMX), le studio en charge d'Aggressive Inline, aurait dû garder ce design au lieu d'un simple arrière-fond noir avec une barre de progression jaune.

  • En démarrant une partie, une courte cut-scene montrant le skatepark devrait s'enclencher. Sur cette démo, le joueur démarre directement.

  • En jeu, les messages indiquant les objectifs à accomplir et la touche "X" pour les valider sont placés d'une autre manière. Le prototype marque "Pause State" au-dessus de la jauge orange et bleue du joueur (système de chrono en quelque sorte), il n'y a rien d'écrit normalement. La couleur de l'aura entourant le symbole $ sur les NPC est verte et non pas rouge.

Pourquoi ne pas avoir gardé ce Loading ?

Aggressive Inline Ps2 prototype pad config.jpg

Stephen King inspira beaucoup de monde !

Acclaim prototype Aggressive Inline Ps2.jpg
Aggressive Inline Ps2 Acclaim.jpg
Clown Aggressive Inline Ps2 Demo.jpg
  • En jeu, il y a de nombreuses différences comme le look des niveaux, quelques exemples ci-dessous :

Aggressive Inline Ps2 Acclaim prototype pause menu.jpg

Un carré devrait précéder chaque option du menu pause. Une fois l'objectif accompli, une croix le marque comme réussi.

Aggressive Inline Pause Menu.jpg

Le NPC de la première arène du mode "Career" est un contremaître. En version finale, sa profession est cuisinier. La nourriture est plus forte que le béton !

NPC Aggressive Inline Acclaim prototype.jpg
NPC Aggressive Inline video game.jpg

Une porte ? Où ça ? Amène-t-elle à la victoire ou n'est-ce qu'un mirage ?

Playstation 2 prototype Aggressive Inline Acclaim.jpg
Aggressive Inline Ps2.jpg

La bande des GG de Jet Set Radio avaient tagué le store du garage sur cette démo !

prototype Aggressive Inline Sony.jpg
Aggressive Inline.jpg

Le coup classique dans les early builds, un panneau publicitaire qui sera ultérieurement remplacé par un autre !

The Boarddwalk Aggressive Inline prototype playstation.jpg
AI Playstation 2.jpg
Inline Demo - PS2.png

Vous pouvez télécharger la build de Aggressive Inline Playstation 2 ci-dessous

Aggressive Inline (Mar 02, 2002 prototype)

Les autres prototypes DEMO d'Aggressive Inline Playstation 2 :

Inline demo NO MOVIES - PS2.png

Plus de 200 prototypes, documents, presskits ont été dumpés ou scannés, vous les retrouverez en libre téléchargement dans la rubrique "Releases de prototypes et documents"