Dave Mirra BMX Dreamcast prototypes

Tony Hawk's Pro Skater, Activision's famous skate simulation, pioneered a new genre of games. The other publishers were quick to respond by offering, in turn, games derived from more or less extreme sports: surfing, rollerblading, BMX and even, even... scooters! We had it all by the end of the 90s!

In view of the success of Tony Hawk Pro Skateboarding, Acclaim  also wanted its share of the pie. The publisher therefore ordered a game on the world of BMX using the same concept of THPS, but replacing the skateboard with bicycles.

Z-Axis Games, the studio in charge of developing the game, called it Dave Mirra Freestyle BMX, a licensed game with the legend of the discipline. It was released on September 26, 2000 and several sequels would see the light of day thereafter: #2 on Xbox, PS2 , GC and GBA  then #3, which will be a Gameboy Advance exclusive.

We also owe Acclaim  and Z-Axis for a bicycle game called "BMX XXX", mixing the worlds of BMX with that of US striptease! Dave Mirra refused to lend his image to a game with a sexual connotation and even filed a complaint against the company. This game created controversy, is censored in some countries and is one sign among many others that the end was near for Acclaim !

Dave Mirra was one of those freaks that feared nothing, and that no one could stop. He was a BMX ace, a stunt pro holding  several world records in this discipline. He was the most successful man in X-Games history. Unfortunately for his fans, he committed suicide in 2016, leaving the extreme sports world in shock.

Tony Hawk and Dave Mirra (re)popularized skateboarding and BMX, sports without much visibility at that time. The children, and especially the teenagers began to want to imitate their idols by attempting the most improbable tricks. Those were crazy years and I, too, got into skateboarding after experiencing THP1 on PS1 and then on Dreamcast. It was also the surge of punk-rock, music that lends itself well to these spectacular sports.

Dreamcast prototype of Dave Mirra Freestyle BMX.jpg

Fun above all!

Once the introductory sequence is over, the first selection screen offers different game modes. First, you have to choose one of the world's best specialists in the discipline, a bike and then an outfit. As you progress through the game, new riders, bikes, and outfits will be unlocked.

The game modes aren't particularly innovative. We have the Session mode, which consists of performing as many tricks as possible (a number of points are awarded after each acrobatic trick) in a limited time. The best score wins. Free Style mode is for practicing and getting familiar with the controller. The Proquest mode offers to participate in various competitions, the goal being to achieve a predetermined number of imposed tricks to unlock the next level. A 2-player mode offers a whole series of duels (perform the best tricks, reach the highest on a jump, etc.)

This freestyle bike simulation ensures a few hours of delirium on two wheels.

Dave Mirra Freestyle BMX Dreamcast Cover.jpg
Dave Mirra Bmx Dreamcast prototype Dave Mirra.jpg
Dave Mirra Freestyle Bmx Dreamcast prototype.jpg
DC prototype Dave Mirra Bmx Replay.jpg
Dreamcast Dave Mirra Bmx prototype in game.jpg

The specifics of the build:

On the track selection screen, after confirming the rider and the bike, press up, up, down, down, left, right, left, Y. You will have access to all levels. Good to know !

  • The game does not work with Demul emulator, only with Flycast. I have not tested other emulators.

  • After the starting cinematic, 2 screens, "Mpeg Sofdec" and that of the copyright of Dave Mirra Pro BMX, should appear before arriving at the title menu. They are missing in this prototype.

Dreamcast prototype Dave Mirra BBMX Main Menu.jpg
  • After the opening scene of the game, one should be directed to the title menu with "Press Start" written. Instead, you arrive directly at the main menu without going through this step.

  • In this prototype version, there is no music in the menus. Music sometimes works in-game, sometimes not (TBC).

  • The credits in the "Cool Stuff" menu are problematic. When trying to view them, the game will restart. Sometimes, however, we can access it but it is quite rare.

Dreamcast Dave Mirra Bmx prototype music.jpg
Dreamcast Dave Mirra Freestyle Bmx Prototype Audio.jpg
Dave Mirra Bmx Dreamcast prototype Vibration.jpg
Dc Dave Mirra Bmx prototype audio option.jpg
Dave Mirra Bmx Dreamcast beta in game.jpg
  • In Menu Option, "Color Ajust" is placed before Audio. The "Color Ajust" window is slightly different in its adjustment. The explanatory box is smaller.

prototype

Dave Mirra Bmx GDR Dreamcast Color Ajust.jpg

Final

Final Dave Mirra Bmx Dreamcat Color Ajust.jpg
  • In the game options, by selecting Audio, the option to adjust the music and sound effects volume does not exist. It is not possible to increase or decrease the volume.

  • Loading screens are represented simply with a progress bar, without the "Loading" above and without the game logo. The screen is basic. The game mode (Freeride etc.) is written on this screen, which is not seen in the commercial version. Loading times are faster in this prototype (to be confirmed).

prototype of Dave Mirra Bmx Dreamcast Loading.jpg
Final Dave Mirra Bmx Dreamcast Loading.jpg
  • Once the game has started, by pressing pause and then going to options, this prototype allows you to activate the vibration kit. This build-specific option is non-functional; it is not possible to modify it.

  • Also in the options, after the game is paused, selecting audio, the name of a song is misspelled. Instead of being called "What I Got Sublime", this one is called "What IJI Got Sublime". Additional music is selectable in this menu; though it has no specific title, it is referenced as "No Track". Increasing or decreasing the volume of sound effects or music behaves strangely; try it and you will understand. It's hard to explain.

  • In Trick List, once the game is paused, the button combos corresponding to the trick to be performed are darker.

  • The game often freezes when you want to quit a game.

Dave Mirra Bmx Dreamcast prototype New Record.jpg
  • By choosing the "Proquest" game mode, after the game starts, the objectives to be achieved should be written in green and not in white/gray like the other on-screen text. Completing an objective, you see the same font color issue; it should be purple/blue.

  • When the time is up, when saving your score by choosing your name, the annotation "press start when done" should appear at the bottom of the screen, but it doesn't in this build.

Specificities in the levels:

There are many differences in the levels, as these are not finished. Some examples in photos. On the left, the prototype; on the right, the final version.

While playing in "Pro Tour - Eastwood", the player starts the level at another location. The propellers are animated: they turn when they should be stationary.
 

Sega Dreamcast Dave Mirra Bmx prototype propeller in motion.jpg
Dave Mirra Dreamcast Final propeller.jpg

When playing in "Greenville-Vall Trails", the player starts the level in the the opposite direction of the final version. There are also texture issues.

prototype Dreamcast Dave Mirra Bmx texture problem.jpg
Final Dave Mirra Bmx Dreamcast texture problem.jpg

While playing in "Acclaim Max Games-Dirt", the player starts the level in the opposite direction of the final version. The pretty blue sky does not exist; instead there is nothing at all. We notice that the palm trees are missing, as well.

Beta Dreamcast Dave Mirra Bmx skie.jpg
final dreamcast dave mirra bmx skie.jpg
prototype Dave Mirra Bmx Dreamcast case.jpg
Dave Mirra Bmx Dreamcast final case.jpg

While playing in "Acclaim Max Games-Street", the player starts the level in another location. There are also differences in textures. Element Crates of jumping for example, seem to be made of wood and not metal as in the final version.

When playing in "Woodward-Titanic", the background (sky and trees) is different, like some other textures.

Dave Mirra Dreamcast prototype (background).jpg
Final Dave Mirra Dreamcast Background.jpg

While playing in "Woodward-Lot 8", the lamps hanging from the ceiling are turned off. For once, the player starts in the right place!

Prototype Dreamcast Dave Mirra Bmx lamp off.jpg
DC Dave Mirra Bmx final lamp off.jpg

While playing in "Greenville-Greenville Park", there is no glass on the building. The background differs.

Dave Mirra Dreamcast GD-R windows of the building.jpg
Dave Mirra Final Dreamcast windows.jpg
Dave Mirra Dreamcast final tree.jpg

While playing in "Woodward-Woodward Trails", there's no sky. The trees have been cut (they are not present).

Dreamcast prototype Dave Mirra Tree.jpg

The final version is brighter than the prototype. There are many bugs, especially when you end a session in "Proquest", the judges' points are not displayed, but the sound is indeed present ( see the video at 6 minutes 56 ).

DAVE MIRRA FREESTYLE BMX (Sep 28, 2000 prototype).jpg

You can download the Dave Mirra Dreamcast build below

DAVE MIRRA FREESTYLE BMX (Sep 28, 2000 prototype)

The other prototypes of Dave Mirra Dreamcast  :

DAVE MIRRA FREESTYLE BMX (Oct 16, 2000 prototype).jpg
  • By pressing L+R and  Start on the second controller in game, you can modify the general performance of the prototype (idle). There are 3 different performance modes. Repeat the button combo each time to cycle them. This option is ideal for taking pretty pictures!

Dreamcast Dave Mirra prototype.jpg

More than 200 prototypes, documents, press kit have been dumped or scanned, you will find them in free download in the "Releases de prototypes et documents"

Dave Mirra BMX Dreamcast prototypes

Tony Hawk's Pro Skater, célèbre simulation de skate d'Activision, fut le pionnier d'un nouveau genre de jeux. Les autres éditeurs n'allaient pas tarder à répliquer en proposant à leur tour des jeux dérivés de sports plus ou moins extrêmes : surf, roller, bmx et même, même... de la trottinette ! Nous avons eu  droit à la totale à la fin des années 90 !

A la vue du succès de Tony Hawk Skateboarding 1 , Acclaim a voulu également sa part du gâteau. L'éditeur a donc commandé un jeu sur l'univers du bmx en reprenant le même concept de THP1 mais en remplaçant les skates par des vélos.

Z-Axis Games, le studio chargé de développer du jeu, l'appela Dave Mirra Freestyle BMX, un jeu sous licence donc avec la légende de la discipline. Il sortit le 26 septembre 2000 et plusieurs suites verront le jour par la suite : un 2 sur Xbox, PS2, GC et GBA puis un 3 qui sera une exclusivité Gameboy Advance.

On doit aussi à Acclaim et Z-Axis un jeu de vélo baptisé "BMX XXX", mêlant les univers du BMX à celui du striptease US ! Dave Mirra refusa de prêter son image à un jeu à connotation sexuelle et porta même plainte contre la société. Ce jeu créa la polémique, sera censuré dans certains pays et constitue un signe parmi tant d'autres  que la fin était proche pour Acclaim !

Dave Mirra était l'un de ces allumés à qui rien ne faisait peur, de ceux que rien ni personne ne pouvait arrêter. C'était un as du BMX, un pro de la voltige détenant  plusieurs records du monde dans cette discipline. Il était l'homme le plus titré de l'histoire des X-Games. Malheureusement pour ses fans, il se suicida en 2016 laissant le monde du sport extrême en état de choc.

Tony Hawk et Dave Mirra (re)popularisèrent le skate et le BMX, des sports sans grande visibilité à cette époque. Les enfants, les adolescents se mirent à vouloir imiter leurs idoles en tentant les plus improbables figures. Ces années étaient folles et moi aussi je me suis mis au skate après avoir connu THP 1 sur PS1 puis sur Dreamcast. C'était également la déferlante du punk-rock, de la musique se prêtant bien à ces sports spectaculaires.

Dreamcast prototype of Dave Mirra Freestyle BMX.jpg

Le fun avant tout !

Une fois la séquence d'introduction terminée, le premier écran de sélection propose différents modes de jeu. Tout d'abord, il faut choisir un des spécialistes de la discipline parmi les meilleurs au monde, un vélo puis une tenue. En progressant dans le jeu, de nouveaux pilotes, vélos et tenues se débloqueront.

Les modes de jeu ne sont pas particulièrement innovants. On découvre le mode Session qui consiste à réaliser un maximum de figures (un nombre de points sont attribués après chaque acrobatie) dans un temps limité. Le meilleur score l'emporte. Le mode Free Style sert à s'entraîner et se familiariser avec la manette. Le mode Proquest propose de participer à diverses compétitions, le but étant de réaliser un nombre prédéterminé de figures imposées pour dévérouiller le niveau suivant. Un mode 2 joueurs propose toute une série de duels (plus belles figures à réaliser, hauteur à atteindre sur un saut, etc.)

Cette simulation de vélo freestyle assure quelques heures de délire en deux-roues.

Dave Mirra Freestyle BMX Dreamcast Cover.jpg
Dave Mirra Bmx Dreamcast prototype Dave Mirra.jpg
Dave Mirra Freestyle Bmx Dreamcast prototype.jpg
DC prototype Dave Mirra Bmx Replay.jpg
Dreamcast Dave Mirra Bmx prototype in game.jpg

Les spécificités de la build :

A l'écran de sélection de la piste, après avoir validé le pilote et le vélo, appuyez sur haut, haut, bas, bas, gauche, droite, gauche, Y. Vous aurez accès à tous les niveaux. C'est bon à savoir !

  • Le jeu ne fonctionne pas avec l'émulateur Demul, uniquement avec Flycast. Je n'ai pas testé d'autres émulateurs.

  • Une fois la cinématique du début finie, 2 fenêtres, "Mpeg Sofdec" et celle du copyright de Dave Mirra Pro BMX, devraient faire leur apparition avant d'arriver au menu titre. Elles ne sont pas là.

Dreamcast prototype Dave Mirra BBMX Main Menu.jpg
  • Après la scène d'ouverture du jeu, on devrait être dirigé sur le menu titre avec écrit "Press Start". On arrive à la place directement au menu principal sans passer par cette étape.

  • Sur cette version prototype, il n'y a pas de musique dans les menus. La musique fonctionne parfois en jeu, parfois non (à confirmer).

  • Les crédits, dans le menu "Cool Stuff" posent problème. En règle générale, en voulant les voir, le jeu redémarrera. Parfois pourtant, on peut y accéder mais c'est assez rare.

Dreamcast Dave Mirra Bmx prototype music.jpg
Dreamcast Dave Mirra Freestyle Bmx Prototype Audio.jpg
Dave Mirra Bmx Dreamcast prototype Vibration.jpg
Dc Dave Mirra Bmx prototype audio option.jpg
Dave Mirra Bmx Dreamcast beta in game.jpg
  • Dans Menu Option, "Color Ajust" est placé avant Audio. La fenêtre de "Color Ajust" est légèrement différente dans son ajustement. L'encadré explicatif est plus petit.

prototype

Dave Mirra Bmx GDR Dreamcast Color Ajust.jpg

Finale

Final Dave Mirra Bmx Dreamcat Color Ajust.jpg
  • Dans les options du jeu, en sélectionnant Audio, la couleur pour régler la puissance de la musique et des bruitages n'existe pas. Il est impossible d'augmenter ou de diminuer le volume

  • Les chargements sont représentés simplement avec une barre de progression sans être le "Loading" au-dessus et sans le logo du jeu. L'écran est basique. Le mode de jeu (Freeride etc.) est écrit sur cette fenêtre chose que l'on ne voit pas sur la version commerciale. Les temps de chargement sont plus rapides sur ce prototype (à confirmer).

prototype of Dave Mirra Bmx Dreamcast Loading.jpg
Final Dave Mirra Bmx Dreamcast Loading.jpg
  • Une fois la partie commencée, en appuyant sur pause puis en se rendant sous option, ce prototype permet d'activer ou non le kit vibration. Cette option spécifique à la build est non fonctionnelle, il est impossible de la modifier.

  • Toujours dans les options une fois le jeu mis en pause, en sélectionnant l'audio, le nom d'une chanson est mal écrit. À la place de s'appeler "What I Got Sublime", celle-ci se nomme "What I J I Got Sublime". Une musique supplémentaire est sélectionnable dans ce menu, elle n'a pas de titre précis, elle est référencée comme "No Track". Augmenter ou diminuer le volume des bruitages ou de la musique réagit bizarrement, essayez et vous comprendrez. C'est difficilement explicable.

  • Dans "Trick List" une fois la partie en pause, les combos de boutons correspondant à la figure à effectuer sont plus sombres.

  • Le jeu freeze souvent lorsqu'on souhaite quitter une partie.

Dave Mirra Bmx Dreamcast prototype New Record.jpg
  • En choisissant le mode de jeu "Proquest", la partie lancée, les objectifs à réaliser devraient être écrit en vert et non pas en blanc/gris comme les autres indications. En accomplissant un des objectifs, même problème de couleurs de police d'écriture, ça devrait être en violet/bleu.

  • Lorsque le temps est écoulé, au moment d'enregistrer son score en choisissant son nom, l'annotation "press start when done" devrait figurer au fond de l'écran, elle n'y est pas.

Les spécificités dans les niveaux :

Il y de nombreuses différences dans les niveaux, ceux-ci ne sont pas finis. Quelques exemples en photos, à gauche le prototype, à droite la version finale.

En jouant dans "Pro Tour - Eastwood", le joueur commence le niveau à un autre endroit. Les hélices sont animées, elles tournent alors qu'elles devraient être à l'arrêt.

Sega Dreamcast Dave Mirra Bmx prototype propeller in motion.jpg
Dave Mirra Dreamcast Final propeller.jpg

En jouant dans "Greenvill-Vall Trails", le joueur commence le niveau dans le sens et la direction opposée de la version finale. Il y a également des problèmes de textures.

prototype Dreamcast Dave Mirra Bmx texture problem.jpg
Final Dave Mirra Bmx Dreamcast texture problem.jpg

En jouant dans "Acclaim Max Games-Dirt", le joueur commence le niveau dans le sens et la direction opposée de la version finale. Le joli ciel bleu n'existe pas, à la place il n'y a rien du tout. On remarque que les palmiers ne sont pas là.

Beta Dreamcast Dave Mirra Bmx skie.jpg
final dreamcast dave mirra bmx skie.jpg
prototype Dave Mirra Bmx Dreamcast case.jpg
Dave Mirra Bmx Dreamcast final case.jpg

En jouant dans "Acclaim Max Games-Street", le joueur commence le niveau à un autre endroit. Il y a également des différences de textures. Les caisses des éléments  de jump par exemple, semblent en bois et non pas en métal comme dans la version finale.

En jouant dans "Woodward-Titanic", l'arrière-plan (ciel et arbres) est différent, comme certaines autres textures.

Dave Mirra Dreamcast prototype (background).jpg
Final Dave Mirra Dreamcast Background.jpg

En jouant dans "Woodward - Lot 8", les lampes suspendues au plafond sont éteintes. Pour une fois, le joueur commence au bon endroit !

Prototype Dreamcast Dave Mirra Bmx lamp off.jpg
DC Dave Mirra Bmx final lamp off.jpg

En jouant dans "Greenville-Greenville Park", il n'y a aucune vitre sur l'immeuble. L'arrière-plan diffère.

Dave Mirra Dreamcast GD-R windows of the building.jpg
Dave Mirra Final Dreamcast windows.jpg
Dave Mirra Dreamcast final tree.jpg

En jouant dans "Woodward - Woodward Trails", le ciel n'est pas fini. Les arbres ont été coupés, il ne sont pas présents.

Dreamcast prototype Dave Mirra Tree.jpg

La version finale est plus lumineuse que le prototype. Il y a de nombreux bug notamment lorsqu'on termine une session dans "Proquest", les points des juges ne s'affichent pas mais le son est lui bel et bien présent (voir la vidéo à 6minutes 56).

DAVE MIRRA FREESTYLE BMX (Sep 28, 2000 prototype).jpg

Vous pouvez télécharger la build de Dave Mirra Dreamcast ci-dessous

DAVE MIRRA FREESTYLE BMX (Sep 28, 2000 prototype)

Les autres prototypes de Dave Mirra Dreamcast  :

DAVE MIRRA FREESTYLE BMX (Oct 16, 2000 prototype).jpg
  • En appuyant sur L+R et  Start sur la deuxième manette en jeu, vous pouvez modifier les performances générales du prototype (ralenti). Il y a 3 modifications  différentes des performances. Répétez la manipulation à chaque fois pour passer à la suivante. Cette options est idéale pour faire de jolie photos !

Dreamcast Dave Mirra prototype.jpg

Plus de 200 prototypes, documents, press kit ont été dumpés ou scannés, vous les retrouverez en libre téléchargement dans la rubrique "Releases de prototypes et documents"