All Star Baseball 2003 Gamecube prototypes

The Yankee Stadium, this name does not tell you anything?  It is a famous baseball stadium located in New York. John McClane, along with Zeus, was almost killed there in Die Hard 3. Oops, that's right, we're not here to talk about movies !

Like American soccer and its derivative video games (NFL QBC 2000, NFL QBC 2002), baseball is a sport that has difficulty crossing the Atlantic. In the United States, on the other hand, fans have a real cult following.

Acclaim, a specialist in all kinds of sports games, released All Star Baseball 2003 like every year. The problem with this kind of games is that they are reserved for the fans of this sport and leave the others on the sidelines.

Who will be able to make the perfect game, striking out all of the opposing team's batters without any of them reaching first base ?

The specificities of the build of January 16, 2002 :

  • When launching the prototype, the first surprising thing is the absence of the animated logo of the publisher Acclaim. Since the baseball introduction cinematic is not there, we won't be able to see the baseball players at work, in the most famous stadiums of the world (hello Yankee Stadium).

  • At the warning screen of the space required to save the game, the warning message is not correct.

  • The copyright window of All Star Baseball 2003 differs from that of the final version.

prototype

All Star Baseball 2003 Gamecube prototype copyright.jpg

final version

All Star Baseball 2003 Gc Copyright.jpg
  • Normally, a video is visible in a space reserved for this purpose on the left side of the main menu. In this prototype version, the movie is replaced by a model of a baseball player.

  • There are frequent discrepancies when browsing the game menus and options, such as : unusual alignment and layout of on-screen descriptions, the color of menu headers or window information titles remaining white instead of green, abnormal font size, display of navigation help buttons that may be missing for some menus, some information on game windows that are not grayed out, etc.
All Star Baseball 2003 Baseball prototype Gamecube main title.jpg
Prototype GC All Star Baseball 2003 main menu.jpg
All Star Baseball 2003 nintendo prototype in game.jpg
  • When scrolling manually through the files of the people who participated in the development of the game, in "Credit" within the "Special Features" option, some people are not yet represented by their photos on the right of the screen. The thank you messages of some staff members do not correspond to those in the final version. In some categories of professions, creators are not yet credited.
All Star Baseball 2003 Credit prototype Nintendo Gamecube.jpg
All Star Baseball 2003 Baseball Credit GC.jpg
  • The "Movie" sub-option is new and specific to the "Special Features" menu of the build. The game crashes by selecting it.
  • If you want to set the parameters of the software according to the player's affinities, in "Options" it is impossible to change the volume of the music in the different menus, the alternative not being proposed by the prototype. Still in the same place, the window for loading or saving a game differs from the final product.
All Star Baseball 2003 prototype unfinsished stadium.jpg
Baseball All Star 2003 Movie option prototype.jpg
All Star Baseball 2003 prototype GD Save menu.jpg
All Star Baseball 2003 nintendo Gamecub save.jpg
  • When browsing the "Players Card" option and selecting "View Cards", the card image is not the same as the one used at the end of the game programming.
All Star Baseball 2003 option menu Gc prototype.jpg
All Star Baseball 2003 GC prototype Card menu.jpg
All Star Baseball Gamecube Card.jpg
All Star Baseball 2003 prototype game loading.jpg

There are plenty of other particularities to the build, it's up to you to find them. Take a look at the stage selection where you can observe the loadings between the prototype and the final version without forgetting some stages that are not finished !!!

ASB03 1-16-02 - GC.png

You can download the build of All Star Baseball 2003 Gamecube below

All Star Baseball 2003 (Jan 16, 2002 prototype)

More than 200 prototypes, documents, presskits have been dumped or scanned, you will find them in free download in the "Releases de prototypes et documents"

All Star Baseball 2003 Gamecube prototypes

Le Yankee Stadium, ce nom ne vous dit rien ?  C'est un célèbre stade de baseball se situant à New YorkJohn McClane, en compagnie de Zeus,  a failli y se faire tuer dans Die Hard 3. Oups, c'est vrai, on n'est pas ici pour parler cinéma !

Comme le football américain et ses jeux vidéo dérivés (NFL QBC 2000, NFL QBC 2002), le baseball est un sport qui peine à traverser l'Atlantique. Aux États-Unis au contraire, les fans leur vouent un véritable culte.

Acclaim, spécialiste de jeux de sports en tous genres, sortait en 2003 All Star Baseball 2003 comme chaque année. Le problème avec ce genre de jeux, c'est qu'ils sont réservés aux amateurs de ce sport et laissent les autres sur le carreau.

Qui saura faire le match parfait, éliminer tous les frappeurs de l'équipe adverse sans qu'aucun d'entre eux n'atteigne la première base ?

Les spécificités de la  build du 16 janvier 2002 :

  • En lançant le prototype, la première chose surprenante est l'absence du logo animé de l'éditeur Acclaim. La cinématique d'introduction de baseball n'étant pas là, on ne pourra voir les baseballers à l'œuvre,  dans les stades les plus célèbres du monde (coucou le Yankee Stadium).

  • Arrivé à l'écran de mise en garde de l'espace requis pour sauvegarder le jeu,  le message d'avertissement n'est pas correct.

  • La fenêtre du copyright de All Star Baseball 2003 diffère de celle de la version finale.

prototype

All Star Baseball 2003 Gamecube prototype copyright.jpg

version finale

All Star Baseball 2003 Gc Copyright.jpg
  • Normalement, une vidéo est visible dans un espace réservé à cet effet sur le côté gauche du menu principal. Dans cette version prototype, le film est remplacé par la modélisation d'un joueur de baseball.

  • Des différences se répètent fréquemment en parcourant les menus et options du jeu comme : l'alignement et la mise en page inhabituelle des descriptifs  à l'écran, la couleur des en-têtes des menus ou des titres des informations de la fenêtre qui reste blanche au lieu d'apparaître en vert, la grandeur de la police d'écriture anormale, l'affichage des boutons d'aide pour la navigation qui peut manquer pour certains menus, certains renseignements sur des fenêtres de jeu qui ne sont pas grisées, etc.
All Star Baseball 2003 Baseball prototype Gamecube main title.jpg
Prototype GC All Star Baseball 2003 main menu.jpg
All Star Baseball 2003 nintendo prototype in game.jpg
  • En faisant défiler manuellement les fiches des gens ayant participé au développement du jeu, dans "Credit" au sein de l'option "Special Features", certaines personnes ne sont pas encore représentées par leurs photos à droite de l'écran. Les messages de remerciements de certains membres du staff ne correspondent pas à ceux de la version finale. Dans certaines catégories de professions, des créateurs ne sont pas encore crédités.
All Star Baseball 2003 Credit prototype Nintendo Gamecube.jpg
All Star Baseball 2003 Baseball Credit GC.jpg
  • La sous-option "Movie" est inédite et spécifique au menu "Special Features" de la build. Le jeu crashe en la sélectionnant.
  • En souhaitant paramétrer le soft suivant les affinités du joueur, dans "Options", il est impossible de modifier le volume de la musique des différents menus l'alternative n'étant pas proposée par le prototype. Toujours au même endroit, la fenêtre pour charger ou sauver une partie se différencie du produit final.
All Star Baseball 2003 prototype unfinsished stadium.jpg
Baseball All Star 2003 Movie option prototype.jpg
All Star Baseball 2003 prototype GD Save menu.jpg
All Star Baseball 2003 nintendo Gamecub save.jpg
  • En parcourant l'option "Players Card" puis en sélectionnant "View Cards", l'image  de la carte n'est pas la même que celle utilisée à la fin de la programmation du jeu.
All Star Baseball 2003 option menu Gc prototype.jpg
All Star Baseball 2003 GC prototype Card menu.jpg
All Star Baseball Gamecube Card.jpg
All Star Baseball 2003 prototype game loading.jpg

Il y a plein d'autres particularités à la build, à vous de les trouver. Faites un tour dans la sélection du stade où observer bien les loadings entre le prototype et la version finale sans oublier certains stades qui ne sont pas finis !!!

ASB03 1-16-02 - GC.png

Vous pouvez télécharger la build de All Star Baseball 2003 Gamecube ci-dessous :

All Star Baseball 2003 (Jan 16, 2002 prototype)

Plus de 200 prototypes, documents, presskits ont été dumpés ou scannés, vous les retrouverez en libre téléchargement dans la rubrique "Releases de prototypes et documents"