Metroplis Street Racer Dreamcast, from conception to commercialization (various releases)

The MSR title, better known as Metropolis Street Racer was one of the Dreamcast 's most ambitious. Designed by Bizarre Creations (the creators of Fur Figthers ), one of the most popular development studios of the time, MSR was announced as a racing game close to the simulation. It was to accompany the release of the last Sega console but was delayed several times to be marketed only 1 year later.

Three major cities, London , San Francisco and Tokyo have been fully modeled down to the smallest detail by the Bizarre Creations team. Each of the cities represented a commercial territory of Sega : Europe , America , Japan . Alas,  MSR will never see the light of day in the land of the rising sun.

The developers had carried out a lot of research and had traveled to the field to reproduce the topography of the place as faithfully as possible. 30 hours of video recording and 32,000 photos were needed to achieve this graphic feat.

Tokyo in real life

Tokyo in the end of 1999

Tokyo modeled

Tokyo MSR
Metropolis Street Racer Cover
Metropolis Street Racer press kit

The races take place on nine circuits, with 3 per city. 26 cars, among the most famous on the automotive market at that time, were in the game. The streets and neighborhoods had been fully reproduced and the realism was striking.

The duels take place on the great American boulevards with sharp right-angle turns and drops. Then, it is in the small winding and dark alleys of the Japanese capital that we continue our wild runs....

The main event (the Street Racer ) is divided into 25 chapters consisting of various events ( Hot Lap where you have to beat the record at all, the Time Run where you have to complete several laps in a limited time, etc.).

By completing the various challenges, the player earns points called Kudos . Their attribution is made according to the time or the classification in race, the style of driving and the possible penalties. Kudos act as a progress bar during MSR , so you can unlock new cars, new races and new chapters.

The driving is simulation-oriented, being very far from the very difficult F355 Ferrari Challenge . Driving is simple and natural. Road holding is good, speed high and braking firm and precise.

development Metropolis Street Racer

E3 prototype

One of the peculiarities of the game was the respect of real time differences. That is to say that if when you were playing it was night in Japan and you were competing on one of the tracks in Tokyo you were driving at night!

The music is excellent. We find a radio system, similar to those of GTA , with music  composed by one and the same person: Richard Jacques , a well-known British composer at SEGA . He also composed the OSTs for Daytona USA: Championship Circuit Edition , Sonic 3D , Sonic R , Jet Set Radio , and Headhunter . All styles of music are present,  rock, rap, dance, jazz, pop and even country. A funny detail, the radio scrambled when passing through a tunnel.

Metropolis Street Racer Audi
MSR-LONDRES
MSR-SAN FRANCISCO
development MSR Dreamcast
Metropolis Street Racer Airbrush Dreamcast Console.jpg
MSR Dreamcast Collection.jpg

A competition had been organized by Sega , in France , with a chain of stores around Metropolis Street Racer . The objective was to achieve the greatest number of Kudos on a given circuit. For the first phase of the competition, the competitors had to register their record on  the circuit: Street Race - Chapter 18 - Race 7 (Old Palace Yard North) then take it to a store covering the event. In the second phase, the top two players from each store competed against each other. At the end of these confrontations, the 4 best players (score), all shops combined, were selected for the final which took place on May 17, 2001 in Paris . The final no longer took place with the greatest number of Kuedos but on the best cumulative time over 2 races. The winner, Alexandre Péron (impossible to contact him) had won an Opel Speedster with an estimated value of 32,000 E.

Years later,  Project Gotham Racing will be released at Xbox launch, drawing heavily on MSR .

Metroplis Street Racer is one of those games that will have left its mark on Dreamcast owners. It arrived too late in the console's life cycle, sales were poor. He is, 20 years later, still a reference.

The E3 Prototype (May 9, 2000)

This prototype version of MSR is a demo, many things are  locked. It allows you to have a glimpse of what the game would become. Judging by the license plates of the cars, it must have been used for an E3 . By extracting the files, it bears the name " METROPOLIS STREET RACER - TOKYO GAME SHOW DEMO ".

  • The intro video when launching the game is not present.

  • The " Warning " window warning of the illegality of street racing  does not yet exist.

  • It is not possible to configure the time in the " Clock Settings " window and the zone ( GMT ) in the " Time Zone Select " window, these screens do not appear where they should normally be.

  • The screen with the " MPEG Sofdec " and " ADX " (copyright) logos is not yet included in this build.

  • By launching this MSR E3 prototype, we start directly at the window presenting the Kuedos system. The writing is brighter, whiter than usual. You should hear the sound of a car starting up, however there is nothing, no sound. This screen will repeat a second time when it shouldn't. The music will start on its second appearance. It's a different sound track than the final version.

  • The window displaying the Sega logo  has some differences. Here it says " Sega Enterprises Presents " under the logo, it should only read " Presented by " above the logo.

Prototype

Sega Enterprises Presents Logo.jpg

Final

Presented by Sega Logo.jpg
  •  " A Bizarre Creations Game ", where the development studio logo appears, is written in bold type. There is nothing on the retail version. This feature is also visible in the title menu.

  • The title screen is not the same as we are used to seeing. The copyrights scrolling below " Press Start " (which is not centered) have some words that change between the 2 versions.

Metropolis Street Racer prototype E3 Dreamcast Main Title.jpg
MSR Dreamcast Title.jpg
  • During the self-demo, " Press Start " should appear at the bottom right of the screen, there is nothing on this demo.

MSR Dreamcast E3 prototype.jpg
E3 prototype Metropolis Sreet Racer in game.jpg
MSR E3 prototype Dreamcast Sega.jpg
E3 prototype MSR Dreamcast main menu.jpg
Metropolis Street Racer Dreamcast E3 version.jpg
MSR Dreamcast E3 version.jpg
  • The loading, " Now Loading ", are slightly different.

  • After the title screen, the player is taken directly to a limited number of game mode choices including " Hot Lap ", " Multiplayer " and " Time Runed " without needing to register a driver name. The car is automatically selected by the game, it is not possible to change it. This part linked to the demo (presentation of game modes, circuits, etc.) is specific to the prototype.

  • As soon as an event is finished or abandoned, several promotional windows praising the future of the game follow one another before returning to the title screen.

Metropolis Street Racer E3 disque prototype Dreamcast (May 9, 2000).jpg

You can download the Metropolis Street Racer E3 Dreamcast build below:

Metropolis Street Racer E3 (May 9, 2000)

The prototype (Oct 10, 2000, certainly a false date)

This European Metropolis Street Racer prototype has 2 distinct features: the vehicle  can behave on the keyboard (weird) and an option used by the developers appears when performing a trick on a joystick.

  • During a game, by connecting a controller to port B or C (port D not tested) then pressing the left or right trigger, a particular display appears on the screen (see the video). The directional cross allows you to navigate in one of the many sub-zones of the menu, for example 1,2,3,4,5 or 6. To modify the values of the sub-zones, you must use the analog stick.

Be careful , this menu does not always open. You will have to try several times. Emulators do not display it correctly.

  • By plugging a keyboard into port B , C or D , the car can be driven using it. The various configured keys and their functions:

K = Accelerate

N = Back

M = Brake

Y = Turn left

X = Turn Right

Left or Right Arrow = Honk

Metropolis Street Racer disc prototype (Oct 10, 2000).jpg

You can download this Metropolis Street Racer build  Dreamcast below:

Metropolis Street Racer  (Oct 10, 2000)

The White Label  "MSR Opel Challenge" (Jul 25, 2000)

It is a particular version of Metropolis Street Racer , a  demo featuring Opel 's car, the Speedster also known as the Vauxhall VX 220 in the UK . This disc was available free from UK retailers with Virtua Tennis pre-orders. This White Label was designed to promote the Opel Speedster . The player will drive this vehicle which has become emblematic of MSR on a single circuit, Asuka in Japan (in one or two player mode).

MSR Opel Challenge White Label  (Jul 25, 2000).jpg

You can download this Whitel Label "MSR Opel Challenge"  Dreamcast below:

MSR Opel Challenge  (Jul 25, 2000)

Spanish Press Kit for Metropolis Street Racer.

When acquiring this Press Kit , it was accompanied by the MSR Opel Challenge White Label . The origin and history of this disc still remain a mystery. We can read, in Spanish, on the sleeve of the disc the following inscriptions:

"MSR presents the most realistic ride at the Hard Rock Cafe P° Castellana n°2 - Madrid on October 5 at 8:30 p.m.

The most desired cars, the most interesting cities but can you be the master behind the wheel of an Opel Speester,  will you dare? Practice with this playable demo, if you  are the best pilot, you will receive a fantastic prize. Don't miss this opportunity."

MSR press kit disc (spanish).jpg

You can download this MSR Press Kit  Dreamcast below:

MSR Press Kit

MSR Dreamcast Car development
Metropolis Street Racer Race development
Spanish MSR Dreamcast press kit.jpg
Metropolis Street Racer Press Kit.jpg

Metroplis Street Racer Dreamcast, de sa conception à as commercialisation (diverses releases)

Le titre MSR, plus connu sous le nom de Metropolis Street Racer était l'un des plus ambitieux de la Dreamcast. Conçu par Bizarre Creations (les créateurs des Fur Figthers), un des studios de développement les plus prisés de l'époque, MSR s'annonçait comme un jeu de courses proche de la simulation. Il devait accompagner la sortie de la dernière console de Sega mais fut retardé à plusieurs reprises pour n'être commercialisé seulement 1 année après.

Trois grandes villes, Londres, San Francisco et Tokyo ont été entièrement modélisée dans leurs moindres détails par l'équipe de Bizarre Creations. Chacune des villes représentait un territoire commercial de Sega : Europe, Amérique, Japon. Hélas,  MSR ne verra jamais le jour au pays du soleil levant.

Les développeurs avaient effectué de nombreuses recherches et s'étaient déplacés sur le terrain pour reproduire le plus fidèlement la topographie des lieux. 30 heures d'enregistrement vidéos et 32 000 photos furent nécessaires pour arriver à cette prouesse graphique.

Tokyo en vrai

Tokyo in the end of 1999

Tokyo modélisé

Tokyo MSR
Metropolis Street Racer Cover
Metropolis Street Racer press kit

Les courses se déroulent sur neuf circuits, à raison de 3 par ville. 26 voitures, parmi les plus célèbres du marché automobile en ce temps-là, étaient de la partie. Les rues et les quartiers avaient été entièrement reproduits et le réalisme était saisissant.

Les duels ont lieu sur les grands boulevards américains aux virages à angle droit et dénivelés prononcés. Ensuite, ce sont dans les petites ruelles sinueuse et sombres de la capitale nippone que l'on poursuit nos runs sauvages....

L'épreuve principale (le Street Racer) se découpe en 25 chapitres se composant d'épreuves variées ( Hot Lap où il faut battre le record du tout, le Time Run où il faut réaliser plusieurs tours en un temps limité etc.).

En relevant les différents défis, le joueur gagne des points appelés Kudos. Leur attribution s'effectue selon le temps ou le classement en course, le style de conduite et les éventuelles pénalités. Les Kudos font office de barre de progression durant MSR, ainsi on pourra débloquer des nouvelles voitures, de nouvelles courses et des nouveaux chapitres.

La conduite est orientée simulation, en étant très loin du très difficile F355 Ferrari Challenge. La conduite est simple et naturelle. La tenue de route est bonne, la vitesse élevée et les freinage ferme et précis.

development Metropolis Street Racer

E3 prototype

Une des particularités du jeu était le respect des décalages horaires réels. C'est-à-dire que si au moment où vous jouiez c'était la nuit au Japon et que vous concouriez sur un des tracés de Tokyo vous conduisiez de nuit!

Les musiques sont excellentes. On retrouve un système de radio, similaire à celles de GTA, avec des musiques  composées par une seule et même personne : Richard Jacques, un compositeur britannique bien connu chez SEGA. Il a également composé les OST de Daytona USA: Championship Circuit Edition, Sonic 3D, Sonic R, Jet Set Radio, et Headhunter. Tous les styles de musique sont présents,  du rock, du rap, de la dance, du jazz, de la pop et même de la country. Un détail amusant, la radio se brouillait lorsqu'on passait dans un tunnel.

Metropolis Street Racer Audi
MSR-LONDRES
MSR-SAN FRANCISCO
development MSR Dreamcast
Metropolis Street Racer Airbrush Dreamcast Console.jpg
MSR Dreamcast Collection.jpg

Un concours avait été organisé par Sega, en France, avec une chaîne de magasins autour de Metropolis Street Racer. L'objectif était de réaliser le plus grand nombre de Kudos sur un circuit déterminé. Pour la première phase du concours, les compétiteurs devaient enregistrer leur record sur  le circuit : Street Race - Chapitre 18 - Race 7 (Old Palace Yard North) puis l'emmener dans un magasin couvrant l'évènement. Lors de la seconde phase, les deux meilleurs joueurs de chaque magasin s'affrontaient. À l'issue de ces confrontations, les 4 meilleurs joueurs (score), toutes boutiques confondues, étaient sélectionnés pour la finale qui avait lieu le 17 mai 2001 à Paris. La finale ne se déroulait plus avec le plus grand nombre de Kuedos mais sur le meilleur temps cumulé sur 2 courses. Le gagnant, Alexandre Péron (impossible de le contacter) avait gagné une Opel Speedster d'une valeur estimée à 32 000 E.

Des années plus tard,  Project Gotham Racing sortira au lancement de la Xbox, il s'inspirera fortement de MSR.

Metroplis Street Racer est un de ces jeux qui aura marqué les possesseurs de Dreamcast. Il est arrivé trop tard dans le cycle de vie de la console, les ventes furent mauvaises. Il est, 20 après, toujours une référence.

Le prototype E3 (May 9, 2000)

Cette version prototype de MSR est une démo, beaucoup de choses sont  verrouillées. Elle permet d'avoir un aperçu de ce que le jeu allait devenir. À en juger par les plaques d'immatriculation des voitures, elle a dû être utilisé pour un E3. En procédant à l'extraction des fichiers, elle porte le nom "METROPOLIS STREET RACER - TOKYO GAME SHOW DEMO".

  • La vidéo d'introduction en lançant le jeu n'est pas présente.

  • La fenêtre "Warning" mettant en garde sur l'illégalité des courses de rues  n'existe pas encore.

  • Il n'est pas possible de configurer l'heure à la fenêtre "Clock Settings" et la zone (GMT) dans la fenêtre "Time Zone Select" , ces écrans n'apparaissant pas où ils devraient être normalement.

  • L'écran avec les logo "MPEG Sofdec" et "ADX" (copyright) ne figure pas encore dans cette build.

  • En lançant ce prototype E3 de MSR, on commence directement à la fenêtre présentant le système des Kuedos. L'écriture est plus lumineuse, plus blanche que d'habitude. On devrait entendre le son d'une voiture qui démarre cependant il n'y a rien, aucun bruitage. Cet écran se répètera une deuxième fois alors qu'il ne devrait pas. La musique commencera à sa deuxième apparition. C'est une autre piste sonore que la version finale.

  • La fenêtre affichant le logo Sega  possède quelques différences. Ici, il est mentionné "Sega Enterprises Presents" sous le logo, on ne devrait pouvoir lire uniquement "Presented by" au-dessus du logo.

Prototype

Sega Enterprises Presents Logo.jpg

Finale

Presented by Sega Logo.jpg
  •  "A Bizarre Creations Game", à l'apparition du logo du studio de développement, est écrit avec des caractères gras. Il n'en est rien sur la version au détail. Cette particularité est visible également au menu titre.

  • L'écran titre n'est pas le même que nous avons l'habitude d'apercevoir. Les copyrights défilant au-dessous de "Press Start" (qui lui n'est pas centré) ont quelques mots qui changent entre les 2 versions.

Metropolis Street Racer prototype E3 Dreamcast Main Title.jpg
MSR Dreamcast Title.jpg
  • Durant l'auto-demo, "Press Start" devrait figurer en bas à droite de l'écran, il n'y a rien sur cette démo.

MSR Dreamcast E3 prototype.jpg
E3 prototype Metropolis Sreet Racer in game.jpg
MSR E3 prototype Dreamcast Sega.jpg
E3 prototype MSR Dreamcast main menu.jpg
Metropolis Street Racer Dreamcast E3 version.jpg
MSR Dreamcast E3 version.jpg
  • Les loading, "Now Loading", sont légèrement différents.

  • Après l'écran titre , le joueur arrive directement sur un nombre de choix de mode de jeu limité dont "Hot Lap", "Multiplayer" et "Time Runed" sans avoir besoin d'enregister un nom de pilote. La voiture est automatiquement sélectionnée par le jeu, il n'est pas possible d'en changer. Cette partie liée à la démo (présentation des modes de jeux, des circuits etc.) est spécifique au prototype.

  • Dès qu'une épreuve est terminée ou abandonnée, plusieurs fenêtres promotionnels vantant le futur du jeu se succèdent avant de revenir à l'écran titre.

Metropolis Street Racer E3 disque prototype Dreamcast (May 9, 2000).jpg

Vous pouvez télécharger la build de Metropolis Street Racer E3 Dreamcast ci-dessous :

Metropolis Street Racer E3 (May 9, 2000)

Le prototype (Oct 10, 2000, certainement une fausse date)

Ce prototype européen de Metropolis Street Racer possède 2 particularités distinctes : le véhicule  peut se conduire au clavier (bizarre) et une option utilisée par les développeurs apparaît en effectuant une astuce sur une manette.

  • Durant une partie, en branchant une manette sur le port B ou C (port D non testé) puis en pressant la gâchette gauche ou droite, un affichage particulier apparaît à l'écran (voir la vidéo). La croix directionnelle permet de naviguer dans une des nombreuses sous-zones du menu, par exemple 1,2,3,4,5 ou 6. Pour modifier les valeurs des sous-zones, il faut utiliser le stick analogique.

Attention, ce menu ne s'ouvre pas toujours. Il faudra essayer à plusieurs reprises. Les émulateurs ne l'affichent pas correctement.

  • En branchant un clavier dans le port B, C ou D, la voiture pourra être pilotée en l'utilisant. Les différentes touches configurées et leurs fonctions :

K = Accélérer

N = Reculer

M = Freiner

Y = Tourner à gauche

X = Tourner à droite

Flèche Gauche ou Droite = Klaxonner

Metropolis Street Racer disc prototype (Oct 10, 2000).jpg

Vous pouvez télécharger cette build de Metropolis Street Racer  Dreamcast ci-dessous :

Metropolis Street Racer  (Oct 10, 2000)

Le White Label  "MSR Opel Challenge" (Jul 25, 2000)

C'est une version particulière de Metropolis Street Racer, une  démo mettant en avant la voiture d'Opel, la Speedster connu également sous le nom de Vauxhall VX 220 au Royaume-Uni. Ce disque était disponible gratuitement chez les détaillants du Royaume-Uni avec les précommandes de Virtua Tennis. Ce White Label fut conçu pour promouvoir l'Opel Speedster. Le joueur conduira ce véhicule devenu emblématique de MSR sur un seul et unique circuit, Asuka au Japon (en mode un ou deux joueurs).

MSR Opel Challenge White Label  (Jul 25, 2000).jpg

Vous pouvez télécharger ce Whitel Label "MSR Opel Challenge"  Dreamcast ci-dessous :

MSR Opel Challenge  (Jul 25, 2000)

Banque d'images (Press Kit) espagnole pour Metropolis Street Racer.

Lors de l'acquisition de ce Press Kit, il était accompagné du White Label de MSR Opel Challenge. L'origine et l'histoire de ce disque restent encore un mystère. On peut y lire, en espagnol, sur le sleeve du disque les inscriptions suivantes :

"MSR présente la conduite la plus réaliste au Hard Rock Cafe P° Castellana n°2 - Madrid le 5 octobre à 20 h 30.

Les voitures les plus désirées, les villes les plus intéressantes mais pourrez-vous être le maître au volant d'une Opel Speester,  oserez-vous ? Entraînez-vous avec cette démo jouable, si vous  êtes le meilleur pilote, vous recevrez un prix fantastique. Ne manquez pas cette opportunité."

MSR press kit disc (spanish).jpg

Vous pouvez télécharger ce MSR Press Kit  Dreamcast ci-dessous :

MSR Press Kit

MSR Dreamcast Car development
Metropolis Street Racer Race development
Spanish MSR Dreamcast press kit.jpg
Metropolis Street Racer Press Kit.jpg