The great events of Sega before the launch of the Dreamcast with a release of around 2000 vintage photos.

The Tokyo Game Show and E3 are annual events not to be missed. The video game industry is booming. Major announcements from publishers and manufacturers often take place during these events. It was the masses of the video game. Today, in the age of the internet, these salons have lost their splendor.  Back then, that was the place for a journalist to be.

SEGA , in 1998, organized 2 major events in order to present its future console then known under the code name Katana . The announcement of a new console is always a magical moment for the manufacturer who does things big and for the fans who drool over the potential of the machine they will soon have under the Christmas tree.

On May 1, 1998, Shoichiro Irimajiri unveiled the Dreamcast to the world in front of an audience of 1,500 people during the New Challenge Conference . In September of the same year, Sega held an incredible booth for the fall Tokyo Game Show .

Tokyo Game Show 1998 Autumn
Tokyo Game Show Dreamcast outside

The New Conference Challenge

May 1, 1998, 4 o'clock in the afternoon. In front of the New Otani , a luxury hotel in Tokyo , the crowd of journalists throngs. In the ranks, the pressure mounts. In a few minutes, SEGA will unveil its future console and its ambitions for the future. What could be better than this symbolic place to organize such an event?

The New Otani was built in 1964 to coincide with the Olympic Games of that year and its prestigious setting perfectly reflects SEGA 's desires for the years to come. The winds of change are blowing through the corridors of the company's imposing building. Located in the district of Ota , and more precisely in the district of Haneda , the head office of SEGA is only a stone's throw from Haneda airport. It is also in this district that we find the Namco companies or the giant Canon .

That day, the President of SEGA , Shoichiro Irimajiri is about to live an unforgettable moment. At this exceptional assembly, more than 1,500 people, publishers and actors of the “ Katana ” project, are present. The most important ones ( CEO of NEC , Yamaha and Hitachi ) are called upon to take the stage alongside the President of SEGA . The opening, the much desired opening is there and revealed to the press. That day, a speech by Bill Gates (for the partnership with Microsoft and its Windows CE ) and several demos are displayed, one by one, on the giant screen installed in the large conference room.

The first, created by Tetsuya Mizuguchi ( SEGA Rally , REZ , Child of Eden , etc.), is a tech demo revealing the console's visual capabilities. We can see the modeled head of Shoichiro Irimajiri extricating himself from a screen, before turning on himself and speaking to the assembly with a lip synchronization and a striking realism (for the time). Through this demo, SEGA shows the console's capabilities in terms of texture deformation, visual effects, transparency, zooms, rotations… a real slap in the face that required a lot of work from the small team responsible for its design. Moreover, many were amused by the little wink made at the title screen of a certain Super Mario 64.

Then, the journalists were able to discover the demo Babylon (or Tower of Babel , Babel's Tower in English). Concocted by the great Yu Suzuki (with music, it seems, by Kenji Eno ). Everything then runs at 60 frames per second, with a resolution of 640 X 480, a great technical demo for the time. Here is what the man was able to say about this technical demo.

Tower of Babel tech demo article and download link below:

Tower of Babel Dreamcast Tech Demo version 2 and 3 Release

New Conference Challenge VIP
New Conference Challenge Dreamcast Shoichiro Irimajiri
New Conference Challenge Dreamcast VIP

The console is then expected for November 20, 98 at a price of 28,800 yen (roughly 205 euros). There is also talk of a US release in April 99 and a European release in September 99. There will be just a little delay compared to the first intentions. On the other hand, if the game demonstrations are absent, some revelations are present… 

Finally, we realize that the years have passed, nothing changes. Promises are always too ambitious. Nevertheless, SEGA is a tech-savvy company and the VMU (or VMS ) is there to prove it. The Visual Memory Unit or System is a memory card with a small screen and two buttons. 

On July 11, 1998, SEGA released the VMU Atsumete Godzilla to match the release of the new Godzilla movie. It thus became the first accessory in history to be released before the console.

During the Tokyo Game Show, SEGA announced the signing of approximately 350 third-party publishers, while Capcom revealed the incredible Resident Evil: Code Veronica . In Consoles + of November 98, we even learn that Yoshiki Okamoto of Capcom unbridled everyone by throwing to his Square colleagues: “I tell you: the Dreamcast is cool! I invite my friends from Square to develop alongside us! »

TGS Autumn 1998
Console Dreamcast Prototype
Iri San Tech Demo Dreamcast
Dreamcast Tech Demo Iri-San
New Conference Challenge Sega Dreamcast Show
New Conference Challenge Dreamcast Show
Dreamcast exhibition TGS 1998
exhibition VMU Godzilla Dreamcast TGS 1998

If that will not be the case, the journalist insists on the bewildering side of the evening which followed the conference, with a crowd of developers congratulating SEGA . Even the pundits at Sony were disgusted. And for good reason, Namco is mounted on the stage and a handshake between the boss of SEGA and that of Namco made the rounds of the press. The two rivals of the arcade, hand in hand, it was unheard of!

Capcom TGS 1998 stage
Namco Stage TGS 98
Tokyo Game Show Square Stage

Note that SEGA presented the Dreamcast to the European press on September 6, 1998 during the ECTS in London . The wait then became difficult to manage.

European events (ECTS and launch of the Dreamcast)

The " European Computer Trade Show " ( ECTS ) was a video game trade fair for industry professionals and journalists taking place in London each year from 1989 to 2004.

In some years it competed  E3 before disappearing to the detriment of the " Game Convention " in Leipzig and then the " Gamescom " in Cologne .

Sega was absent from ECTS in 1999. At a date so close to the European launch of the Dreamcast , that seemed surprising. Sega preferred to focus on operations in each country. Gossips immediately thought of the astronomical sums devoted to sponsoring the football teams of Arsenal and Saint-Etienne . Sega had nevertheless caught up by organizing a party. The big boss of Sega , Shoichiro Irimajiri and actors of Austin Powers 2 had moved for the occasion.

Dreamcast Event Austin Powers Actors
Dreamcast European Launch
Dreamcast European Event

Launch of the Dreamcast in the United Kingdom (to be confirmed). The photos come from " https://www.facebook.com/Dreamcast-UKEU-185918598097655 " This kind of photo being rare, I wanted  also archive them on my site. We find boxers Lennox Lewis and Chris Eubank . The short actor Verne Troyer was present during this evening. Store shelf photos must be from a Virgin Megastore .

European Sega Dreamcast Launch
Dreamcast Arsenal sponsoring
Lancement Francais de la Dreamcast

To welcome the release of the Dreamcast in France , the Virgin Megastore in Paris on the Champs-Elysées had closed its doors at one o'clock in the morning instead of midnight, in order to sell consoles from the first minutes of this blessed day of October 13, 1999. For this event, the star of X Rocco Siffredi had moved in person signing the consoles and other objects that were presented to him. It was the occasion of a great celebration, with the presence of the bosses of Sega France . Finally, to nail the show, the store had decorated its front with a giant poster in the colors of Sega.

In 2000,  the " ECTC " exhibition took place at the Olympia in London . SEGA was there. The Japanese company had organized an attraction ( Dreamcast Première ) at the Empire cinema in Leicester Square in London outside the show on September 3 from 6:45 p.m. Before attending the previews of the games to come on Dreamcast , in the corridors leading to the projection room, exhibited movie posters diverted for the occasion: " Mad Max ", " The Magnificent Seven ", " West Side Story ", " 60 Seconds Flat ", and " The Game of Death "!

There were representatives from Sega of Europe , a few people from Japan including the editor of Famitsu and some  senior Sega executives during the event mixed in with regular gamers for a night of stellar partying.

A video  of one hour presented the titles to come and the future online mode. There was an amazing Shenmue trailer . Other games like Samba De Amigo , Power Stone 2 , Tokyo Highway Challenge 2 , Black & White , were also presented without forgetting F355 Challenge , Jet Set Radio , Space Channel 5 , Xtreme Sports , Sega GT , Alone in the Dark , Half Life , Speed​​ Devils Online , Headhunter and Quake III .

The firm's emblematic characters strolled through the crowd. We could see Sonic , the boxers of Ready Rumble , the undead of House of the dead or even a sexy Ulala welcoming players at the front door.

Anyone could try their hand at Sega GT , Shenmue , and Virtua Tennis in the theater lobby. The really cool stuff, like Quake 3 Arena , Toy Racer and Dream Dorobo (Planet Ring) were in the VIP area  as did the booze and the press kit containing a playable demo of MSR .

Unaware of the absolutely incredible press disc that one could obtain, the First Disc , SEGA had shone with its aura this evening!!!

Disc Première Dreamcast bundle.jpg

You can download it below:

Sega Dreamcast Premiere Press Kit with  archive.org

ECTS 2000 Dreamcast Event
Première Disc Dreamcast Flyers_20220317_0001.jpg
Outside the Dreamcast Première London

Testimonial from a person taking ECTS 2000

Sonic Disc Première Dreamcast Event
Ulala Cosplay Dreamcast ECTS 2000
Tokyo Game Show 1998 Dreamcast Stage

To keep the emotion aroused by this testimony, it has not been translated.

 

"I was at the event. A story of pure luck and a misunderstanding.

 

I was at the sega booth at ects and was on the final boss of space channel 5 (I had an import of it) the rep was impressed, not thinking I had played it. He asked me not to complete it and said I should come to an event at a cinema at Leicester Square, i said will there be queues and he said to mention he had invited me if there was any issue.

 

I got there and the the queue was massive, so saw a host near a door to the side and mentioned the rep had invited me. Well it turns out that was the vip entrance and my friend and I ended up in the exclusive part of the event.

 

We got the press kit, there we dreamcast premiere disks everywhere and swirl branded popcorn.

 

We played a load of betas of the last games to be released. I was picked to play planet ring as the dreamcasts first UK online player (I was awful at it ) I hope there's no footage of it out there.

 

We then went to the balcony to watch the showcase of all the games due to be released. I was hyped for Black & White and half life.

 

Afterwards we got talking to some of the sega guys and they invited us to the arcade next door (or above, I think it was sega world at the time) and played arcades until it was time to get our train.

 

One of my most favorite gamer days ever. I wish I'd filled my bag with the disks"

The 1998 Fall Tokyo Game Show

Even if the Dreamcast stand was imposing, the real stakes around this new machine were revealed during the Sega Conference 2 , a gigantic assembly bringing together journalists from all over the world which had taken place 2 days earlier. Surprise event, revelation, were linked to satisfy the most curious.

Sega Dreamcast Stage Tgs 1998

The Dreamcast wanted to hurt and at first glance it had succeeded. If Sega 's know-how in Arcade benefited titles like Sega Rallye 2 , Sonic Aventure , Blue Stinger etc., that the realization was neat, it was reheated. There was no gameplay innovation and game principle yet.

After all,  this was only the beginning of the console. You can't be too demanding at the start of a new machine's life. Knowing its history, it innovated more than any other console with iconic games like Shenmue , Jet Set Radio and Phantasy Star Online .

In addition to the classic steering wheels and joysticks, Sega unveiled a wide range of peripherals in order to give the Dreamcast the possibilities of a real computer, internet access via a special modem or the creation of a web TV. While walking on the stand of the Japanese firm, it was possible to admire under a window, as in a museum, various accessories as well as some strange prototypes of consoles and controllers.

Dreamcast console prototype tokyo game show 1998
Dreamcast Pad prototype TGS 1998

List of games in presentations:

Blue Stinger logo
Blue Stinger artwork
Blue Stinger Dreamcast
Blue Stinger Sega

Blue Stinger

Blue Stinger is a survival horror video game, created by Climax CEO in Japan and published by Activision in North America and Europe .

Blue Stinger on Dreamcast puts the player in the shoes of Eliot Ballade , a lifeguard at sea. You will explore Dinosaur Island , an island on which an object from space crashed and which, shortly after, surrounded by a mysterious protective bubble.

Climax Landers (Time Stalker)

Climax Landers Dreamcast logo

Time Stalkers , also known as Climax Landers  in Japan, is a role-playing video game released in 1999 on Dreamcast .

Time Stalkers on Dreamcast is a role-playing game that takes you into a mysterious world of strange lands and twisting labyrinths. Play as Sword and discover the origins of your world. The quest leads the hero to use magic weapons and spells in turn-based battles, each success to gain experience and at the same time, to become more powerful.

Climax Landers Dc Artwork
Time Satlkers Dreamcast tgs
Time Stalkers Dreamcast tgs 98

Prototype to download here: Time Stalkers Dreamcast prototype release

Cool Boarders Dreamcast logo
Cool Boarders Dreamcast Tokyo Game Show 98
Snow Surfer Dreamcast tgs

Cool Boarders (Snow Surfer)

Snow Surfers is a snowboarding game developed by UEP Systems , the creators of the Cool Boarders series. It was released in 1999 for Dreamcast .

Try a session in Snow Surfers on Dreamcast , where style matters as much as speed. Incredible jumps and gravity-defying tricks are now at your fingertips in this title that is in the vein of Cool Boarders .

Les grand évènements de Sega avant le lancement de la Dreamcast avec une release d'environ 2000 photos d'époque.

Le Tokyo Game Show et l'E3 sont des évènements annuels à ne pas manquer. L'industrie vidéoludique est en pleine ébullition. Les grandes annonces des éditeurs et des constructeurs ont souvent lieu durant ces events. C'était les messes du jeu vidéo. Aujourd'huit, à l'heure d'internet, ces salons ont perdu de leur splendeur.  À l'époque, c'était là qu'il fallait être pour un journaliste.

SEGA, en 1998, organisa 2 events majeurs afin de présenter sa future console alors connu sous le nom de code Katana. L'annonce d'une nouvelle console est toujours un moment magique pour le constructeur qui fait les choses en grand et pour les fans qui bavent devant le potentiel de la machine qu'ils auront prochainement sous le sapin de Noel.

Le 1er mai 1998, Shoichiro Irimajiri, dévoila au monde entier la Dreamcast devant un parterre de 1500 personnes durant la New Challenge Conference. En septembre de la même année, Sega tenait un stand incroyable pour le Tokyo Game Show d'automne.

Tokyo Game Show 1998 Autumn
Tokyo Game Show Dreamcast outside

La New Conference Challenge

1 mai 1998, 4 heures de l’aprem. Devant le New Otani, un hôtel luxueux de Tokyo, la foule de journalistes se pressent. Dans les rangs, la pression monte. Dans quelques minutes, SEGA va dévoiler sa future console et ses ambitions pour l’avenir. Quoi de mieux que ce lieu symbolique pour organiser un tel évènement ?

Le New Otani a été construit en 1964 afin de coïncider avec les Jeux Olympiques de cette même année et son cadre prestigieux reflète parfaitement les désirs de SEGA pour les années à venir. Le vent du changement souffle dans les couloirs de l’imposant building de la société. Située dans l’arrondissement d’Ôta, et plus précisément dans le quartier d’Haneda, la maison-mère de SEGA n’est qu’à quelques encablures de l’aéroport d’Haneda. C’est aussi dans cet arrondissement que l’on trouve les sociétés Namco ou le géant Canon.

Ce jour-là, le Président de SEGA, Shoichiro Irimajiri s’apprête à vivre un moment inoubliable. A cette assemblée exceptionnelle, plus de 1 500 personnes, éditeurs et acteurs du projet “Katana”, sont présentes. Les plus importantes (CEO de NEC, Yamaha et Hitachi) sont appelées à monter sur l’estrade aux côtés du Président de SEGA. L’ouverture, l’ouverture tant souhaitée est là et révélée à la presse. Ce jour-là, un discours de Bill Gates (pour le partenariat avec Microsoft et son Windows CE) et plusieurs démos s’affichent, une à une, sur l’écran géant installé dans la grande salle de conférence.

La première, créée par Tetsuya Mizuguchi (SEGA Rally, REZ, Child of Eden, etc.), est une démo technique révélant les capacités visuelles de la console. On peut y voir la tête modélisée de Shoichiro Irimajiri s’extirper d’un écran, avant de tourner sur lui-même et de parler à l’assemblée avec une synchronisation labiale et un réalisme saisissants (pour l’époque). Par cette démo, SEGA montre les capacités de la console en matière de déformation de textures, d’effets visuels, de transparence, de zooms, de rotations… une vraie claque qui a demandé un gros travail à la petite équipe chargée de sa conception. D’ailleurs, beaucoup se sont amusés du petit clin d’œil fait à l’écran titre d’un certain Super Mario 64.

Ensuite, les journalistes ont pu découvrir la démo Babylon (ou Tour de Babel, Babel’s Tower en anglais). Concoctée par le grand Yu Suzuki (avec une musique, semble t-il, de Kenji Eno). Le tout tourne alors à 60 images par seconde, avec une résolution de 640 X 480, une belle démo technique pour l’époque. Voici ce que l’homme a pu déclarer à propos de cette démo technique.

Article et lien de téléchargement de la démo technique Tower of Babel ci-dessous :

Tower of Babel Dreamcast Tech Demo version 2 et 3 Release

New Conference Challenge VIP
New Conference Challenge Dreamcast Shoichiro Irimajiri
New Conference Challenge Dreamcast VIP

La console est alors attendue pour le 20 novembre 98 au prix de 28.800 yens (grosso modo 205 euros). On parle aussi d’une sortie US en avril 99 et d’une sortie européenne pour septembre 99. Il y aura juste un peu de retard par rapport aux premières intentions. En revanche, si les démonstrations de jeux sont absentes, quelques révélations sont présentes… 

Finalement, on se rend compte que les années ont beau passer, rien ne change. Les promesses sont toujours trop ambitieuses. Il n’empêche que SEGA est une société technophile et le VMU (ou VMS) est là pour le prouver. Le Visual Memory Unit ou System est une carte mémoire embarquant un petit écran et deux boutons. 

Le 11 juillet 1998, SEGA a sorti le VMU Atsumete Godzilla afin de correspondre à la sortie du nouveau film Godzilla. C’est ainsi devenu le premier accessoire de l’histoire à sortir avant la console.

Lors du Tokyo Game Show, SEGA a annoncé la signature d’environ 350 éditeurs tiers, tandis que Capcom a révélé l’incroyable Resident Evil : Code Veronica. Dans Consoles + de novembre 98, on apprend même que Yoshiki Okamoto de Capcom a débridé tout le monde en lançant à ses collègues de Square : « Je vous le dis : la Dreamcast, c’est cool ! J’invite mes amis de Square à venir développer à nos côtés ! »

TGS Autumn 1998
Console Dreamcast Prototype
Iri San Tech Demo Dreamcast
Dreamcast Tech Demo Iri-San
New Conference Challenge Sega Dreamcast Show
New Conference Challenge Dreamcast Show
Dreamcast exhibition TGS 1998
exhibition VMU Godzilla Dreamcast TGS 1998

Si ça ne sera pas le cas, le journaliste insiste sur le côté ahurissant de la soirée qui suivait la conférence, avec une foule de développeurs félicitant SEGA. Même les pontes de Sony étaient dégoûtées. Et pour cause, Namco est monté sur l’estrade et une poignée de main entre le patron de SEGA et celui de Namco a fait le tour de la presse. Les deux rivaux de l’arcade, main dans la main, c’était du jamais-vu !

Capcom TGS 1998 stage
Namco Stage TGS 98
Tokyo Game Show Square Stage

A noter que SEGA présentait la Dreamcast à la presse européenne le 6 septembre 1998 lors de l’ECTS de Londres. L’attente devenait alors difficile à gérer.

Les évènements Européens (ECTS et lancement de la Dreamcast)

Le "European Computer Trade Show" (ECTS) était un salon de jeux vidéo réservé aux professionnels de l'industrie et aux journalistes ayant lieu à Londre chaque année de 1989 à 2004.

Certaines années, il concurrença  l'E3 avant de disparaître au détriment de la "Game Convention" de Leipzig puis de la "Gamescom" de Cologne.

Sega était absent de l'ECTS en 1999. A une date si proche du lancement en Europe de la Dreamcast, cela paraissait surprenant. Sega avait préféré privilégier les opérations dans chaques pays. Les mauvaises langues pensaient tout de suite aux sommes astronomiques conscacrées au sponsoring des équipes de foot d'Arsenal et de Saint-Etienne. Sega s'était quand même rattrapé en organisant une soirée. Le big boss de Sega, Shoichiro Irimajiri et des acteurs d'Austin Powers 2 s'étaient déplacés pour l'occasion.

Dreamcast Event Austin Powers Actors
Dreamcast European Launch
Dreamcast European Event

Lancement de la Dreamcast au Royaume-Uni (à confirmer). Les photos proviennent de "https://www.facebook.com/Dreamcast-UKEU-185918598097655" Ce genre de photo étant rare, j'ai voulu  les archiver égalment sur mon site. On retrouve les boxeurs Lennox Lewis et Chris Eubank. L'acteur de petite taille Verne Troyer était présent lors de cette soirée. Les photos des rayons de magasin doivent venir d'un Virgin Megastore.

European Sega Dreamcast Launch
Dreamcast Arsenal sponsoring
Lancement Francais de la Dreamcast

Pour accueillir la sortie de la Dreamcast en France, le Virgin Megastore de Paris aux Champs-Elysées avait fermé ses portes à une heure du matin au lieu de minuit, afin de vendre des consoles dès les premières minutes de ce jour bénit du 13 octobre 1999. Pour cet évènement, la star du X Rocco Siffredi s'était déplacée en personne dédicaçant les consoles et autres objets qu'on lui présentait. Ce fut l'occasion d'une grande fête, avec la présence des boss de Sega France. Enfin, pour clouer le spectacle, le magasin avait décoré sa devanture avec une affiche géante aux couleurs de Sega.

En 2000,  le salon "ECTC" se déroulait à l'Olympia de Londres. SEGA y était présent. L'entreprise japonaise avait organisé en dehors du salon, le 3 septembre dès 18 h 45, une attraction (Dreamcast Première) au cinéma Empire à Leicester Square à Londres. Avant d'assister aux avant-premières des jeux à venir sur Dreamcast, dans les couloirs menant à la salle de projection, s'exhibaient des affiches de cinéma détournées pour l'occasion : "Mad Max", "Les Sept mercenaires", "West Side Story", "60 secondes chrono", et "Le Jeu de la mort" !

Il y avait des représentants de Sega of Europe, quelques personnes du Japon notamment le rédacteur en chef de Famitsu et certains  hauts dirigeants de Sega, durant l'évènement, mélangés avec des joueurs ordinaires pour une nuit d'anthologie à faire la fête.

Une vidéo  d'une heure présentait les titres à venir et le futur mode online. Il y avait une incroyable bande-annonce de Shenmue. D'autres jeux comme Samba De Amigo, Power Stone 2, Tokyo Highway Challenge 2, Black & White, étaient également présentés sans oublier F355 Challenge, Jet Set Radio, Space Channel 5, Xtreme Sports, Sega GT, Alone in the Dark, Half Life, Speed ​​Devils Online, Headhunter et Quake III.

Les personnages emblématiques de la firme déambulaient dans la foule. On pouvait apercevoir Sonic, les boxeurs de Ready Rumble, les morts-vivants de House of the dead où encore une Ulala sexy accueillant les joueurs à la porte d'entrée.

Tout le monde pouvait s'essayer à Sega GT, Shenmue et Virtua Tennis dans le hall du théâtre. Les trucs vraiment cool, comme Quake 3 Arena, Toy Racer et Dream Dorobo (Planet Ring) se trouvaient dans la zone VIP  tout comme l'alcool et le dossier de presse contenant une démo jouable de MSR.

Ignorant le disque de presse absolument incroyable que l'on pouvait obtenir, le Première Disque, SEGA avait brillé de son aura cette soirée!!!

Disc Première Dreamcast bundle.jpg

Vous pouvez le télécharger ci-dessous :

Sega Dreamcast Première Press Kit avec  archive.org

ECTS 2000 Dreamcast Event
Première Disc Dreamcast Flyers_20220317_0001.jpg
Outside the Dreamcast Première London

Témoignage d'une personne étant à l'ECTS 2000

Sonic Disc Première Dreamcast Event
Ulala Cosplay Dreamcast ECTS 2000
Tokyo Game Show 1998 Dreamcast Stage

Pour garder l'émotion suscitée par ce témoignage, il n'a pas été traduit .

 

"I was at the event. A story of pure luck and a misunderstanding.

 

I was at the sega booth at ects and was on the final boss of space channel 5 (I had an import of it) the rep was impressed, not thinking I had played it. He asked me not to complete it and said I should come to an event at a cinema at Leicester Square, i said will there be queues and he said to mention he had invited me if there was any issue.

 

I got there and the the queue was massive, so saw a host near a door to the side and mentioned the rep had invited me. Well it turns out that was the vip entrance and my friend and I ended up in the exclusive part of the event.

 

We got the press kit, there we dreamcast premiere disks everywhere and swirl branded pop corn.

 

We played a load of betas of the last games to be released. I was picked to play planet ring as the dreamcasts first UK online player (I was awful at it ) I hope there's no footage of it out there.

 

We then went to the balcony to watch the showcase of all the games due to be released. I was hyped for Black & White and half life.

 

Afterwards we got talking to some of the sega guys and they invited us to the arcade next door (or above, I think it was sega world at the time) and played arcades until it was time to get our train.

 

One of my most favourite gamer days ever. I wish I'd filled my bag with the disks"

Le Tokyo Game Show d'automne de 1998

Même si le stand Dreamcast était imposant, les véritables enjeux autour de cette nouvelle machine se sont révélé lors de la Sega Conférence 2, gigantesque assemblée réunissant les journalistes du monde entier qui s'était déroulée 2 jours plus tôt. Événement surprise, révélation, s'étaient enchainés pour satisfaire les plus curieux.

Sega Dreamcast Stage Tgs 1998

La Dreamcast voulait faire mal et au premier coup d'oeil, elle avait réussi. Si le savoir-faire de Sega en matière d'Arcade bénéficiait à des titres comme Sega Rallye 2, Sonic Aventure, Blue Stinger etc., que la réalisation était soignée, c'était du réchauffé. Il n'y avait pas encore d'innovation de gameplay et de principe de jeu.

Après tout,  ce n'était que le début de la console. On ne peut pas se montrer trop exigeant au début de la vie d'une nouvelle machine. Connaissant son histoire, elle innova plus que toutes autres consoles avec des jeux emblématiques comme Shenmue, Jet Set Radio et Phantasy Star Online.

Outre les classiques volants et joysticks, Sega dévoila un large éventail de périphérique afin de donner à la Dreamcast les possibilités d'un véritable ordinateur, accès à internet via un modem spécial ou la création d'un web TV. En se promenant sur le stand de la firme japonaise, il était possible d'admirer sous une vitrine, comme dans un musée, différents accessoires ainsi que quelques étranges prototypes de consoles et de manettes.

Dreamcast console prototype tokyo game show 1998
Dreamcast Pad prototype TGS 1998

Liste des jeux en présentations :

Blue Stinger logo
Blue Stinger artwork
Blue Stinger Dreamcast
Blue Stinger Sega

Blue Stinger

Blue Stinger est un jeu vidéo de type survival horror, créé par Climax CEO au Japon et édité par Activision en Amérique du Nord et en Europe.

Blue Stinger sur Dreamcast place le joueur dans la peau d'Eliot Ballade, sauveteur en mer. Vous explorerez Dinosaur Island, île sur laquelle s'est écrasé un objet venu de l'espace et qui, peu de temps après, s'est vue entourée d'une mystérieuse bulle protectrice.

Climax Landers (Time Stalker)

Climax Landers Dreamcast logo

Time Stalkers, également connu sous le nom Climax Landers  au Japon, est un jeu vidéo de rôle sorti en 1999 sur Dreamcast.

Time Stalkers sur Dreamcast est un jeu de rôle vous entraînant dans un monde mystérieux, fait de terres étranges et de labyrinthes tortueux. Incarnez Sword et découvrez les origines de votre monde. La quête amène le héros à se servir d'armes et de sorts magiques dans des combats en tour par tour, chaque succès permettant d'acquérir de l'expérience et par la même occasion, de devenir plus puissant.

Climax Landers Dc Artwork
Time Satlkers Dreamcast tgs
Time Stalkers Dreamcast tgs 98

Prototype à télécharger ici : Time Stalkers Dreamcast prototype release

Cool Boarders Dreamcast logo
Cool Boarders Dreamcast Tokyo Game Show 98
Snow Surfer Dreamcast tgs

Cool Boarders (Snow Surfer)

Snow Surfers est un jeu de snowboard développé par UEP Systems, les créateurs de la série Cool Boarders. Il est sorti en 1999 pour Dreamcast.

Tentez une session dans Snow Surfers sur Dreamcast, où le style compte autant que la vitesse. Sauts incroyables et figures défiant la gravité sont désormais à votre portée dans ce titre qui s'inscrit dans la veine de Cool Boarders.