The Dreamcast prototype of Evil Twin: Cyprien's Chronicles dated October 19, 2000

This prototype of Evil Twin : Cyprien's Chronicles Dreamcast is dated October 19th 2000. This prototype version is 8 months earlier than the one of June 25th 2001 (detailed analysis on this page) and precedes the commercial release of the game by 16 months.

The batch of GD-R in which this build of Evil Twin was dug up has caused significant problems with data extraction. Perhaps the dump is not perfect, which could alter the correct functioning of this version.

The game developed by the studio In Utero (article dedicated to this French company) complicated to explore freely without advancing in the story of Cyprien and visiting all the maps. The comparisons were made with Playstation 2 and Dreamcast prototypes, which also have a level selection screen (inactive in the final version).

General information

  • The game launches directly on the title screen without going through the animations of the publisher Ubisoft and the development studio In Utero.

  • This build has no loading screen while the other has the same as the Master. The loading progress is measured in percentage on a black screen like in the Dreamcast version of Jekyll and Hyde.

  • The audio, both the musical themes and the sound effects, is not implemented. When you know how important music is in a game, it's a shame.

Evil Twin Dreamcast (October 19, 2000 prototype).jpg
  • The default language of the title is French. Since you can't access any option in the main menu except "Start", changing the language is impossible. Attempting to select another option will return the game to the title screen.

Île de Jocelyne/barbe à papa

  • Two options in the main menu do not exist in the final version. These are "Continue" and "Exit". The text of the seven options displayed on the screen is not highlighted by the use of bold type

  • The photo shown in the main menu features two additional individuals who will be scribbled in white during the commercial release of Evil twin: Cyprien's Chronicles.

Dreamcast Prototype (Oct 19, 2000)

Dreamcast Prototype (Jun 25, 2001)

Cotton Candy Evil Twin Sega Dreamcast GD-R.jpg
Evil Twin Dreamcast beta Omar 1.jpg
Evil Twin Cyprien's Chronicles Dreamcast prototype Main Menu.jpg
  • Only three islands are playable out of the eight that make up the game. As on the previous prototype, to access it you have to choose the island and the map of your choice from the level selection screen. You can play the "Island of the Demis", "Vince's Island" and "Jocelyn's Island", each named after one of the members of In Utero (ex: Jocelyn Trimedy). For the more curious, he reveals with some of his former colleagues whats went on behind the scenes during development of Jekyll and Hyde (read here).

  • Contrary to the prototype of June 25, 2001, the maps of the "Island of the Demis" are all playable except one, "Training Vince", which makes the console crash. The "Village" level often appears on a black screen, you have to play it many times and cross your fingers to load it correctly.

  • A watermark visible in-game, with the In Utero logo, mentions the title as being in Work in Progress.

Île de Vince/Buble

Bulbe Evil Twin Dreamcat Map prototype.jpg

Île des Demis/Alchimiste

Alchimiste map Evil Twin Sega Dreamcast prototype.jpg

Some important characteristics of the levels

Some levels on the three islands like "Kitchen" on "Jocelyn's Island" make the game reset. "Vegetable Garden" on "Jocelyn's Island" loads on a screen with a turquoise background. "The central island" of "Vince's island" loads on a screen with a black background. Despite this, you can interact with the game, for example, by opening the inventory. The "Beach" map also has load problems, you'll see !

Many levels of the prototype are not finished. The camera sometimes gets lost and does not follow Cyprien anymore. The graphics are not final, with textures problems (this may be due to a dumping problem). There is no cutscene of introduction or progression in the levels. The bugs are numerous. The young child can't meet, during his adventure, his companion, the NPC Wilburn.

Île des Demis, center island (Oct 19, 2001 DC prototype)

Evil Twin Sega Dreamcast GD-R île des demis.jpg

Île des Demis,center island (May 04, 2001 PS2 prototype)

Île des Demis/Arrive

Ps2 Sony prototype Evil Twin île des Demis.jpg
Arrivée Evil Twin Sega Dreamcast prototype october 2000.jpg
  • Île des Demis/Training Stéphan : The camera remains fixed on the area where Cyprien appears.

  • Île des Demis/Village : The camera acts strangely and takes time to settle on Cyprien, when it doesn't simply screw up. The color of the wooden boards covering the floor tends to green and not brown as in the final version. If you take a closer look at the scenery in this area, you can make out blue/orange delimitations, like pieces of a puzzle that are not well put together (bug!). If Cyprien ventures to the left of where he appears in the level, he is pushed back to his point of origin, perhaps by a paranormal force that does not want him to investigate there !

Dreamcast Prototype (Oct 19, 2000)

Sega Dreamcast Evil Twin beta octobre 2001.jpg

PS2 prototype (May 04, 2001)

Sony PS2 Evil Twin prototype Village.jpg
  • Île de Vince/Swamp : During the development of the game, changes were made to make the level easier and more accessible. In the final version, a rock will be placed between the water lilies to facilitate the passage from one flower to another. In the DC build of October 2000, the rock has still not been added.

Dreamcast Prototype (Oct 19, 2000)

Evil Twin Dreamcast Prototype Swamp ( October 2001).jpg

Dreamcast Prototype (Jun 25, 2001)

Swamp Evil Twin Dreamcast (June 2001 prototype).jpg
  • Île de Vince/Center : Weed does not cover the water-filled ditch. Wilbur is hiding on this prototype. He is shy, he does not dare to show himself !

Dreamcast Prototype (Oct 19, 2000)

Evil Twin Dreamcast Center (October Prototype).jpg

Dreamcast Prototype (Jun 25, 2001)

Evil Twin Prototype Dc Center (June 2001).jpg
  • Île de Vince/Arene : Part of the map will be adjusted later with the addition of flying mushrooms to add a touch of exploration to this part of the level. The row of mushrooms on the left will be removed. In the final version, other changes will also be effective in this area.

Île des Demis/Training Stephane

Evil Twin Cyprien's Chronicles dreamcast october 2000 prototype.jpg

Île de Jocelyne/Îlot Central

Jocelyne Isle Evil Twin Dreamcast beta.jpg

Île de Vince/Plage

Evil Twin prototype dreamcast plage level.jpg

Île de Vince/Termitière

Unfinished map Evil Twin Dc prototype 2000.jpg

Dreamcast Prototype (Oct 19, 2000)

Early Evil Twin Dreamcast Prototype Vince Isle.jpg

Dreamcast Prototype (Jun 25, 2001)

Sega Dreamcast Evil Twin Vincent's Island.jpg

Île de Jocelyne/Cave

SuperCyp Evil Twin Dc prototype (october 2000).jpg
  • Île de Vince/Termitière : As for "Village", a blue background (bug) delimits the perimeters of the level.

  • Île de Jocelyne/Cave : The backgrounds are not displayed. Cyprien appears on a black background. He can move, jump or transform into Super Cyp. He will meet a long-nosed NPC who usually triggers a cutscene on the retail version. There are other non-player characters around.

In the game

Cyprien Sega Dreamcast Prototype.jpg
Cyprien Evil Twin Dreamcast early build Vince.jpg
  • Pressing the "START" button during a game, with a pad plugged into port B of the console, resets the level.

  • Cyprien carries in his inventory the maximum number of each item. He can thus transform into Super Cyp whenever he wants without having to collect the necessary items to do so. His number of lives reaches the ceiling of 99. Anyway, the boy doesn't need them because he is invincible unless he falls into a hole or a precipice.

  • Once the inventory menu is open, the "Left" trigger switches to the other menus available from that window. Usually the "Right" trigger is used to do this. The level map (or island) presentation menu is missing in this prototype

  • The "Load" window in the inventory menu contains non-selectable pre-saved games. When trying to load them, the game quits by returning to the title screen. This is normal since the "Exit" option (not present in the final) is highlighted in this menu.

  • The player interface differs from the final version, especially for the bar in the upper right corner of the screen.

If the prototype is not necessarily interesting to play, it allows us to see all the improvements made to the camera system when the game is released.

You can download the Evil Twin: Cyprien's Chronicles Dreamcast build below

Evil Twin: Cyprien's Chronicles (Oct 14, 2000 Dreamcast Prototype)

All actual dumps for the 4 (1 functional only) Dreamcast prototypes of Evil Twin. This archive (18 GB in CUE format) is intended to be preserved only.

Evil Twin Cyprien's Chronicles Dreamcast dump pack (CUE)

If you want to learn more about In Utero and Evil Twin, this article is dedicated to it : "The memories of Evil Twin: Cypriens Chronicles, the nightmare is within reach of the dreams of In Utero".

Special thanks to :

  • Omar Cornut for providing this prototype of Evil Twin. Do not hesitate to visit his website : SMS Power

  • Vince for the English translation of the article.

  • Jérôme Firon for the correction of the text in French.

Le prototype Dreamcast d'Evil Twin : Cyprien's Chronicles datant du 19 octobre 2000

Ce prototype d'Evil Twin : Cyprien's Chronicles Dreamcast date du 19 octobre 2000. Cette version prototype est antérieure de 8 mois à celle du 25 juin 2001 (analyse détaillée sur cette page) et précède de 16 mois la sortie commerciale du jeu.

Le lot de GD-R dans lequel a été déterré ce build d'Evil Twin a posé d'importants problèmes d'extractions de données. Le dump n'est peut-être pas parfait, ce qui pourrait altérer le bon fonctionnement de cette version.

Le jeu développé par le studio In Utero (dossier consacré à cette enreprise française) est compliqué à explorer librement sans avancer dans l'histoire de Cyprien et visiter toutes les cartes. Les comparaisons ont été faites à partir de prototypes Playstation 2 et Dreamcast, possédant eux aussi un écran de sélection des niveaux (inactif en version finale).

Les généralités

  • Le jeu se lance directement à l'écran titre sans passer par les animations de l'éditeur Ubisoft et du studio de développement In Utero.

  • Cette build n'a aucun écran de chargement tandis que l'autre possède les même que le Master. La progression du Loading est  chiffrée en pourcentage sur un écran noir comme pour la version Dreamcast de Jekyll and Hyde.

  • L'audio, que ce soit les thèmes musicaux et les bruitages, n'est pas implémenté. Quand on connait l'importance de la musique dans un jeu, c'est bien regrettable.

Evil Twin Dreamcast (October 19, 2000 prototype).jpg
  • La langue par défaut du titre est le français. Ne pouvant accéder à aucune option du menu principal sauf "Commencer", changer le langage est impossible. En essayant de sélectionner une autre option, le jeu revient à l'écran titre.

Île de Jocelyne/barbe à papa

  • Deux options du menu principal n'existent pas en version finale. Il s'agit de "Continuer" et de "Quitter". Le texte des sept options affichées à l'écran n'est pas mis en évidence par l'utilisation du caractère gras.

  • La photo illustrée dans le menu principal met en scène deux individus supplémentaires qui seront griffonnés en blanc lors de la sortie commerciale d'Evil twin : Cyprien's Chronicles.

Dreamcast Prototype (Oct 19, 2000)

Dreamcast Prototype (Jun 25, 2001)

Cotton Candy Evil Twin Sega Dreamcast GD-R.jpg
Evil Twin Dreamcast beta Omar 1.jpg
Evil Twin Cyprien's Chronicles Dreamcast prototype Main Menu.jpg
  • Seule trois îles sont jouables sur les huit qui composent le jeu. Comme sur le prototype précédent, pour y accéder il faut choisir l'île et la map de son choix depuis l'écran de sélection des niveaux. On peut ainsi jouer à "l'île des Demis", "l'île de Vince" et "l'île de Jocelyn" qui porte chacune le nom d'un des membres d'In Utero (ex: Jocelyn Trimedy). Pour les plus curieux, il dévoile avec certains de ses anciens partenaires de l'époque les coulisses du développement de Jekyll and Hyde (à lire ici).

  • Contrairement au prototype du 25 juin 2001, les cartes de "l'île des Demis" sont toutes jouables sauf une, "Training Vince", qui fait planter la console. Le niveau "Village" apparaît souvent sur un écran noir, il faut s'y reprendre à de nombreuses reprises et croiser les doigts  pour le charger correctement.

  • Un filigrane  visible en jeu, avec le logo d'In Utero, mentionne le titre comme étant en Work in Progress.

Île de Vince/Buble

Bulbe Evil Twin Dreamcat Map prototype.jpg

Île des Demis/Alchimiste

Alchimiste map Evil Twin Sega Dreamcast prototype.jpg

Quelques particularités importantes des niveaux

Certains niveaux des trois îles comme "Cuisine" de "l'île de Jocelyn" font se réinitialiser le jeu. "Potager" de "l'île de Jocelyn" se charge sur un écran avec un arrière-fond de couleur turquoise. "L'îlot central" de "l'île de Vince" se charge quant à lui sur un écran avec un arrière-fond de couleur noire. Malgré ça, on peut interagir avec le jeu, par exemple, en ouvrant l'inventaire. La carte "Plage"  pose aussi des problèmes de load, vous verrez !

Beaucoup de niveaux du prototype ne sont pas finis. La caméra, parfois, se perd et ne suit plus Cyprien. Les graphismes ne sont pas finaux avec notamment des problèmes de textures (cela provient peut-être d'un souci de dump). Il n'y a aucune cutscene d'introduction ou de progression dans les niveaux. Les bugs sont nombreux. Le jeune enfant ne peut pas rencontrer, durant son périple, son compagnon, le NPC Wilburn.

Île des Demis, îlot central (Oct 19, 2001 DC prototype)

Evil Twin Sega Dreamcast GD-R île des demis.jpg

Île des Demis, îlot central (May 04, 2001 PS2 prototype)

Île des Demis/Arrive

Ps2 Sony prototype Evil Twin île des Demis.jpg
Arrivée Evil Twin Sega Dreamcast prototype october 2000.jpg
  • Île des Demis/Training Stéphan : La caméra reste fixée sur la zone d'apparition de Cyprien.

  • Île des Demis/Village : La caméra agit bizarrement et prend du temps pour se caler sur Cyprien, quand elle ne déconne pas purement et simplement. La couleur des planches en bois recouvrant le sol tend sur le vert et non pas sur le brun comme dans la version finale. En observant de plus près les décors de cette zone, on peut distinguer des délimitations bleues/oranges, comme des pièces d'un puzzle mal assemblées (bug !). Si Cyprien s'aventure sur la gauche de son lieu d'apparition dans le niveau, il se fait repousser à son point d'origine, peut-être par une force paranormale qui ne veut pas qu'il enquête  par là !

Dreamcast Prototype (Oct 19, 2000)

Sega Dreamcast Evil Twin beta octobre 2001.jpg

PS2 prototype (May 04, 2001)

Sony PS2 Evil Twin prototype Village.jpg
  • Île de Vince/Marais : Durant le développement du jeu, des modifications ont été apportées afin de rendre le niveau plus facile et plus accessible. En version finale, un rocher sera placé entre les nénuphars pour faciliter le passage d'une fleur à l'autre. Dans la build DC du mois d'octobre 2000, le caillou n'a toujours pas été ajouté.

Dreamcast Prototype (Oct 19, 2000)

Evil Twin Dreamcast Prototype Swamp ( October 2001).jpg

Dreamcast Prototype (Jun 25, 2001)

Swamp Evil Twin Dreamcast (June 2001 prototype).jpg
  • Île de Vince/Centre : La mauvaise herbe ne recouvre pas le fossé rempli d'eau. Wilbur se cache sur ce prototype. Il est timide, il n'ose pas se montrer !

Dreamcast Prototype (Oct 19, 2000)

Evil Twin Dreamcast Center (October Prototype).jpg

Dreamcast Prototype (Jun 25, 2001)

Evil Twin Prototype Dc Center (June 2001).jpg
  • Île de Vince/Arene : Une partie de la map subira des rectifications ultérieurement avec l'ajout de champignons volants pour rajouter une touche d'exploration dans cette partie du niveau. La rangée de champignons sur la gauche sera supprimée. Dans la version finale, d'autres modifications seront également effectives dans cette zone.

Île des Demis/Training Stephane

Evil Twin Cyprien's Chronicles dreamcast october 2000 prototype.jpg

Île de Jocelyne/Îlot Central

Jocelyne Isle Evil Twin Dreamcast beta.jpg

Île de Vince/Plage

Evil Twin prototype dreamcast plage level.jpg

Île de Vince/Termitière

Unfinished map Evil Twin Dc prototype 2000.jpg

Dreamcast Prototype (Oct 19, 2000)

Early Evil Twin Dreamcast Prototype Vince Isle.jpg

Dreamcast Prototype (Jun 25, 2001)

Sega Dreamcast Evil Twin Vincent's Island.jpg

Île de Jocelyne/Cave

SuperCyp Evil Twin Dc prototype (october 2000).jpg
  • Île de Vince/Termitière : Comme pour "Village", un arrière fond bleu (bug) délimite les pourtours du niveau.

  • Île de Jocelyne/Cave : Les décors ne s'affichent pas. Cyprien apparaît sur un fond noir. Il peut se déplacer, sauter ou se transformer en Super Cyp. Il rencontrera un NPC au long nez qui généralement déclenche une cutscene sur la version retail. D'autres personnages non-joueurs sont disposés dans les alentours.

En jeu

Cyprien Sega Dreamcast Prototype.jpg
Cyprien Evil Twin Dreamcast early build Vince.jpg
  • En appuyant durant une partie sur le bouton "START", avec un Pad branché dans le port B de la console, le niveau se réinitialise.

  • Cyprien transporte dans son inventaire le nombre maximum de chaque item. Il peut ainsi se transformer en Super Cyp quand il le souhaite sans avoir à ramasser les objets nécéssaires pour le faire. Son nombre de vies atteint le plafond fixé à 99. De toute manière, le garçon n'en a pas besoin car il est invincible sauf s'il tombe dans un trou ou un précipice.

  • Une fois le menu de l'inventaire ouvert, la gâchette "Gauche" bascule vers les autres menus disponibles depuis cette fenêtre. Ordinairement, la gâchette "Droite" est utilisée pour le faire. Le menu de présentation de la map (ou de l'île) du niveau est absent dans ce prototype.

  • La fenêtre "Load" du menu inventaire comprend des sauvegardes pré-enregistrées non sélectionnable. En essayant de les charger, le jeu quitte en revenant à l'écran titre. Normal puisque l'option "Quitter" (non présente en finale) est en surbrillance  dans ce menu.

  • L'interface joueur diffère de la version finale, notamment pour la barre se trouvant dans le coin supérieur droit de l'écran.

Si le prototype n'est pas forcément intéressant à jouer, il permet de voir toute l'amélioration apportée au système de caméra lors de la commercialisation du jeu.

Vous pouvez télécharger la build d'Evil Twin: Cyprien's Chronicles Dreamcast ci-dessous

Evil Twin: Cyprien's Chronicles (Oct 14, 2000 Dreamcast Prototype)

Tous les dumps effectifs pour les 4 prototypes (1 fonctionnels seulement) Dreamcast d'Evil Twin. Cette archive (18 GO au format CUE) est destinée à être conservée uniquement.

Evil Twin Cyprien's Chronicles Dreamcast dump pack (CUE)

Si vous souhaitez en apprendre davantage sur In Utero et Evil Twin, cet article y est consacré : "Les mémoires d'Evil Twin : Cypriens Chronicles, le cauchemar est à portée des rêves d'In Utero".

Remerciements :

  • à Omar Cornut pour la mise à disposition  de ce prototype d'Evil Twin. N'hésitez pas à visiter son site internet : SMS Power

  • à Vince pour la traduction anglaise de l'article.

  • à Jérôme Firon pour la correction du texte en français.