San Francisco Rush 2049 Dreamcast prototypes

The reason Rush San Francisco was so much fun to play was not the original intent of the game (to be first) but to exploit the physics of the vehicles and find the shortcuts hidden in the nooks and crannies of the races. Players spent more time creating their own stunts like directors of the greatest action movies at the expense of the race itself which traditionally translated into "Follow the track and get there first.".

The replayability was not left out, to encourage the use of shortcuts and the exploration of all the tracks, the designers had slyly placed silver and gold coins, some of which were difficult to access. By finding them all, bonus cars, for example, were unlocked. This concept was borrowed from platform games. Rush 2049 is full of secrets.

Rush 2049 is divided into three parts, the race mode, the stunt mode and the multiplayer mode. 6 tracks based on existing San Francisco routes are available, in a futuristic world set in 2049.

The cars will be able to unfold wings when they are in the air, which will help control the rotation of the vehicle or stabilize it and thus avoid a hard landing on the roof. The developers were ingenious in adding this welcome feature and bringing new thrills.

The stunt mode that appeared in Rush 2 was back. The goal is simple, to do as many acrobatic tricks as possible at the wheel of your car to get as many points as possible. From rollover to 2 wheels, you have to be imaginative to dazzle the judges !

The Rush San Francisco series is no longer a simple racing game, it is a driving adventure. The graphics and the rigid handling must be ignored, the fun is there. After all, that's the most important thing, isn't it ?

The specificities of the Dreamcast build of February 17, 2000:

This Dreamcast prototype of San Francisco Rush 2049 is dated February 17, 2000, about 6 months before the final version. The annotation on the GD-R mentions it as an Alpha. It is the earliest build known to date.

  • While browsing the game files, after extracting its content, a short video in SFD format is specific to the prototype. It is a short animation for the logo of San Francisco Rush 2049 not used in the final version.

  • There is no "Rush 2049" logo displayed on the Dreamcast memory card. (to be confirmed).

  • The presentation windows of the different video and audio codecs (MPEG Sofdec and ADX) used to develop the game are not displayed when turning on the console and starting the prototype.

Logo animation comparison

  • The next screen, the copyright screen for Midway and Sans Francisco Rush 2049, has some writing differences. For example, in this prototypical version, the game is called simply Rush 2049, certainly the working name of the title. Moreover, the name of the game is named as such in the GD-Rom Explorer program.

prototype

San Francisco Rush 2049 prototype midway copyright.jpg

Final

Midway Copyright San Francisco Rush 2049 DC.jpg
  • Before reaching the title menu, the player is normally invited to view the animated logos of the publisher and the title. In the beta, they are not there. The title screen appears directly after Midway's Coypright.

  • The title screen does not have the copyright "1999 MIDWAY GAME WEST INC.". The developers had opted for another design of the title "San Francisco Rush 2049". It is simply noted "PRESS START" instead of "PRESS START BUTTON". During the auto-demo, pressing START will bring up the main menu. Normally, the game should return to the title screen.

San Francisco Rush 2049 Dreamcast prototype Main Title.jpg
Dreamcast final Sans Francisco Rush 2049 title.jpg

Small temporary wings, fly, fly!

San Francisco Rush 2049 Midway Dreamcast prototype.jpg

Welcome to San Francisco

San Francisco Rush 2049 Dreamcast gd r town.jpg

The future is now!

San Francisco Rush Midway Dreamcast beta.jpg
  • The option to select to browse the game website in the main menu, "WEB SITE", is not yet implemented.

Main menu (button location)

  • There is no music in the different menus of Rush 2049. The sound effects, the sounds used when navigating or selecting an option in the game menus are not the same as we are used to hearing. You have to have an ear for it !

  • The indication to go back, by pressing the "B" button, at the top left of the main menu, is something that is only found on the Alpha version of Rush 2049 while the information to validate and go to the next menu by pressing "A" is at the top right and not at the bottom right.

  • When choosing to enter the "RECORDS" menu, the developers had not yet worked on this page. The following message appears instead of the best times per race: "The is nothing to see here move along, move along".

  • In "OPTIONS", the order of the sub-options is not correct. "NEGATIVE POINTS" seems to be specific to the build. "ODOMETER" and "COIN" do not exist. The help to know how to go back to the previous menu, located at the top left of the window by pressing "B", is not present.

Rush San Francisco 2049 prototype Dreamcast main menu.jpg

Provisional message

Rush San Francisco Dreamcast prototype Records.jpg
  • When changing the settings in "AUDIO", the default values are not the same between the commercial version and the prototype.  It is impossible to select "SPEAKERS" because the option is not present.

  • To reset the default settings for "VIDEO", press "Reset to Defaults" which should normally be titled "Initial Settings".

San Francisco Rush 2049 Dreamcast prototype Audio.jpg
  • Once the game settings are configured in the main menu (video, option, audio etc.), we go to the next window which is "PLAYER 1". The information written on the screen is not the right one, a picture is better than 10 000 words to explain it :

San Francisco Rush 2049 Prototype Dreamcast Player 1.jpg
Final San Francisco Rush 2049 for Dreamcast.jpg
Rush 2049 Dreamcast prototype Video.jpg
  • The first thing that jumps out when playing the prototype is the design and presentation of the different menus. They are basic and temporary as you can see on the pictures above. The font is not the same, the selectable items are not highlighted in a box. The "A" and "B" buttons, to go back or go to the next window, are non-existent except in the main menu. All menus have these features.

Midway Dreamcast prototype Game.jpg
  • The next step is to choose the game mode between 6 possible ones (SINGLE RACE, PRACTICE, GHOST RACE, CIRCUIT, STUNT and OBSTACLE (secret)). But this is on the retail version because the "GHOST RACE" and "CIRCUIT" modes are not present without forgetting "TIME TRIAL" which must correspond to the "PRACTICE" with a time delay of 1000 seconds before the game ends.

  • All game modes, all races and all vehicles are unlocked in this prototype version, no need to progress to unlock bonuses !

Game modes

Rush San Francisco 2049 Dreamcast GD R.jpg
  • In the menu of the choice of circuits, the game mode and the number of players previously validated are registered. They should not be. An image representing the race should be displayed to the right of the track as well as a small logo (flag) Rush 2049. Various new options, such as "LAPS", "GRAVITY" and "DEATHS" allow to modify race parameters in "TIME TRIAL" mode. As the races had no name at the time of development of this prototype, they are simply called "TRACK 1, 2, 3 etc.". Race 1 will later be called MARINA. Some of these differences are present in all game modes.

Where are the wheels?

Unfinished Car San Francisco Run 2049 prototype Dreamcast.jpg
Select Track Dreamcast prototype Rush San Francisco 2049.jpg
Select Track Rush San Francisco 2049 Dreamcast.jpg
  • In the car selection menu, the default colors of the vehicles are not the same. Some cars are not finished, the wheels may not fit properly. They are not polished. Two cars are new to the build (CAR 7 and 13), they are only playable here. By changing the vehicle settings (Engine, Tires etc.), the interior view should show, for example, the engine compartment, however, on the prototype, the interior view is represented by a green grid model of the car. As with the circuits, the cars have provisional names. The specifications of the cars are not shown on the left side of the screen (Top Speed, Acceleration etc.). They should be running on some sort of metallic gray podium that is not present. Some car settings seem new or their names change.

San Francisco Rush 2049 Car Dreamcast GD-R.jpg
Car Selection Rush 2049 Dreamcast.jpg
  • By playing the "OBSTACLE" mode, 2 parameters of the race, unique to the prototype, allow to modify the value of the wind and the fog. This race is not finished, its progress was at a very early stage.

San Francisco Rush Dreamcast prototype Obstacle Race.jpg
Rush 2049 Dreamcast Obstacle Race.jpg
  • When playing the "STUNT" mode, there is a missing arena on the prototype, "The Rim". The levels are not finished. Textures are different and the layout of some arenas is different.

Rush San Francisco 2049 prototype Dreamcast Stunt.jpg
Stunt San Francisco Rush 2049 DC.jpg
  • The player interface will have some big changes between the Alpha version and the commercial version. It should be the interface of the Rush 1 and 2 of the Nintendo 64.

Single Race San Francisco Rush 2049 Dreamcast prototype.jpg
San Francisco rush Dreamcast Single Race.jpg
  • If the layout of the races is the same, the scenery has differences, no checkered starting line, textures that change, no animations, no ads, the starting line can be placed a few meters backward or forward etc.

new car

Unused Car San Francisco Rush 2049 Dc prototype.jpg

new car

Unused Car Rush 2049 Dreamcast prototype.jpg

Obstacle course not completed

prototype of Rush 2049 Dreamcast Obstacle course.jpg

Obstacle course not completed

Rush San Francisco 2049 Work in progress Dreamcast.jpg
San Francisco Rush 2049 Midway prototype.jpg
Rush 2049 Midway Dreamcast prototype.jpg
Prototype Dreamcast Rush 2049 in game.jpg
San Francisco Rush Dreamcast in game.jpg
San Francisco Rush Dreamcast prototype game.jpg
Rush San Francisco  midway  in game.jpg
Rush San Francisco 2049 Dreamcast.jpg
Rush 2049 Dreamcast.jpg
San Francisco Rush 2049 Beta Dreamcast.jpg
San Francisco Rush Dreamcast final.jpg

It's up to you to find the other features of this Alpha version !

Rush 2049 prototype disc.jpg

You can download the build of San Francisco Rush 2049 Dreamcast below

San Francisco Rush 2049 (Feb 17, 2000 prototype)

San Francisco Rush 2049 Dreamcast prototypes

La raison pour laquelle les Rush San Francisco était si amusant à joueur n'était pas l'intention initiale du jeu (être le premier) mais d'exploiter la physique des véhicules et de trouver les raccourcis dissimuler dans les moindres recoins des courses. Les joueurs passaient plus de temps à créer leurs propres cascades tels des réalisateurs des plus grands films d'action au détriment de la course même qui traditionnellement se traduisait par  "Suivez la piste et arrivez premier".

La rejouabilité n'était pas en reste, pour encourager l'utilisation des raccourcis et l'exploration de l'ensemble des pistes, les concepteurs avaient sournoisement placé des pièces d'argent et d'or dont certaines difficiles d'accès. En les trouvant toutes, des voitures bonus, par exemple, étaient débloquées. Ce concept était emprunté aux jeux de plateforme. Rush 2049 regorge de nombreux secrets.

Rush 2049 est divisé en trois parties, le mode courses, le mode cascades et le mode multijoueur. 6 pistes basées sur des itinéraires existant de San Francisco sont disponibles, dans un monde futuriste prenant place en 2049.

Les voitures pourront déplier des ailes lorsqu'elles se retrouvent dans les airs qui permettent de contrôler la rotation du véhicule ou le stabiliser et ainsi éviter un atterrissage brutal sur le toit. Les développeurs avaient été ingénieux en rajoutant cette fonctionnalité bienvenue et apportant de nouveaux frissons.

Le mode cascade qui faisait son apparition dans Rush 2 était de nouveau de la partie. Le but est simple, faire le plus de figure acrobatique au volant de son bolide pour récolter le plus de point possible. Du tonneau aux 2 roues, il faut être imaginatif pour éblouir les juges !

La série des Rush San Francisco n'est plus un jeu simple jeu de course, c'est une aventure de conduite. Il faut faire abstraction des graphismes et de sa maniabilité rigide, le fun est au rendez-vous. Après tout, c'est le plus important non ?

Les spécificités de la  build Dreamcast du 17 février 2000 :

Ce prototype Dreamcast de  San Francisco Rush 2049 est daté du 17 février 2000 soit environ 6 mois avant la version finale. L'annotation sur le GD-R le mentionne comme étant une Alpha. C'est la build la plus précoce connue à ce jour.

  • En parcourant les fichiers du jeu, après l'extraction de son contenu, une courte vidéo au format SFD est spécifique au prototype. Il s'agit d'une courte animation pour le logo de San Francisco Rush 2049 non utilisé en version finale.

  • Il n'y a aucun logo "Rush 2049" qui s'affiche sur la carte mémoire de la Dreamcast. (à confirmer)

  • Les fenêtres de présentation des différents codecs vidéo et audios (MPEG Sofdec et ADX) utilisés pour développer le jeu ne s'affichent pas en allumant la console et en démarrant le prototype.

Logo animation comparaison

  • L'écran suivant, celui du copyright de Midway et de Sans Francisco Rush 2049,  comporte des différences d'écriture. Par exemple, dans cette version prototypée, le jeu est appelé simplement Rush 2049, certainement le nom provisoire du titre. D'ailleurs le nom du jeu est nommé ainsi dans le programme GD-Rom Explorer.

prototype

San Francisco Rush 2049 prototype midway copyright.jpg

Finale

Midway Copyright San Francisco Rush 2049 DC.jpg
  • Avant d'arriver au menu titre, le joueur est normalement invité à visionner les logos animés de l'éditeur et du titre. Sur la beta, ils n'y sont pas. L'écran titre apparaît directement après le Coypright de Midway.

  • L'écran titre ne possède pas le copyright "1999 MIDWAY GAME WEST INC.". Les développeurs avaient opté pour un autre design du titre "San Francisco Rush 2049". Il est tout simplement noté "PRESS START" au lieu de "PRESS START BUTTON". Durant l'auto démo, en pressant START, le menu princiapl s'affichera. Nnormalement, le jeu devrait revenir à l'écran titre.

San Francisco Rush 2049 Dreamcast prototype Main Title.jpg
Dreamcast final Sans Francisco Rush 2049 title.jpg

Petite ailes provisoires, vol, vol !

San Francisco Rush 2049 Midway Dreamcast prototype.jpg

Bienvenu à San Francisco

San Francisco Rush 2049 Dreamcast gd r town.jpg

Le futur, c'est maintenant !

San Francisco Rush Midway Dreamcast beta.jpg
  • L'option à sélectionner pour parcourir le site internet du jeu dans le menu principal, "WEB SITE", n'est pas encore implantée.

Menu principal (emplacement bouton)

  • Il n'y a pas de musique dans les différents menus de Rush 2049. Les bruitages, les sons utilisés lorsqu'on navigue ou lorsqu'on sélectionne une option dans les menus du jeu ne sont pas les mêmes que nous avons l'habitude d'entendre. Il faut avoir l'oreille !

  • L'indication pour revenir en arrière, en appuyant sur le bouton "B", en haut à gauche du menu principal, est quelque chose qui ne se trouve que sur la version Alpha de Rush 2049 tandis que l'information pour valider et passer au menu suivant en pressant "A" lui se trouve en haut à droite et non pas en bas à droite.

  • En choisissant d'entrer dans le menu "RECORDS", les développeurs n'avaient pas encore travaillé cette page. Le message suivant apparaît au lieu des meilleurs temps par courses : "The is nothing to see here move along, move along".

  • Dans "OPTIONS", l'ordre des sous options n'est pas le bon. "NEGATIVE POINTS" semble spécifique à la build. "ODOMETER" et "COIN" n'existent pas. L'aide pour savoir comment revenir au menu précédent, se trouvant en haut à gauche de la fenêtre en pressant sur "B", n'est pas présente.

Rush San Francisco 2049 prototype Dreamcast main menu.jpg

Message provisoire

Rush San Francisco Dreamcast prototype Records.jpg
  • En modifiant les réglages dans "AUDIO", les valeurs par défauts ne sont pas les mêmes entre la version commerciale et le prototype.  Il est impossible de sélectionner "SPEAKERS" car l'option n'est pas présente.

  • Pour réinitialiser les réglages par défaut de "VIDEO", il faut appuyer sur "Reset to Defaults" qui devrait normalement s'intituler "Initial Settings".

San Francisco Rush 2049 Dreamcast prototype Audio.jpg
  • Une fois les réglages de jeu configurés dans le menu principal (vidéo, option, audio etc.), on passe à la fenêtre suivante qui est "PLAYER 1". Les informations écrites à l'écran ne sont pas les bonnes, une image vaut mieux que 10 000 mots pour l'expliquer :

San Francisco Rush 2049 Prototype Dreamcast Player 1.jpg
Final San Francisco Rush 2049 for Dreamcast.jpg
Rush 2049 Dreamcast prototype Video.jpg
  • La première chose qui saute aux yeux en jouant au prototype est le design et la présentation des différents menus. Ils sont basiques et provisoires comme vous pouvez le constater sur les photos au-dessus. La police d'écritures n'est pas la même, les éléments sélectionnables ne sont pas mis en évidence dans un encadré. Les boutons "A" et "B", pour revenir en arrière ou passer à la fenêtre suivante, sont inexistants sauf dans le menu principal. Tous les menus  ont ces particularités.

Midway Dreamcast prototype Game.jpg
  • La prochaine étape est celle permettant de choisir le mode de jeu entre 6 possibles (SINGLE RACE, PRACTICE, GHOST RACE, CIRCUIT, STUNT et OBSTACLE (secret)). Mais ça, c'est sur la version au détail car  les modes "GHOST RACE" et "CIRCUIT" eux ne sont pas présents sans oublier "TIME TRIAL" qui doit correspondre au "PRACTICE" avec un délai de temps de 1000 secondes avant que la partie ne se termine.

  • Tous les modes de jeux, toutes les courses et tous les véhicules sont déverouillés dans cette version prototypée, plus besoin de progresser pour débloquer des bonus !

Les modes de jeu

Rush San Francisco 2049 Dreamcast GD R.jpg
  • Au menu du choix des circuits, le mode de jeu et le nombre de joueurs précédemment validé y sont inscrit. Ils ne devraient pas l'être. Une image représentant la course devrait s'afficher à droite du tracé de celle-ci ainsi qu'un petit logo (drapeau) Rush 2049. Diverses options inédites, comme "LAPS", "GRAVITY" et "DEATHS"  permettent de modifier des paramètres de courses en mode "TIME TRIAL". Les courses n'ayant encore aucun nom au moment du développement de ce prototype, elles sont appelées tout simplement "TRACK 1, 2, 3 etc.". La course 1 se nommera plus tard MARINA. Certaines des ces différences sont  présentent dans tous les modes de jeu.

Ou sont les roues ? humm

Unfinished Car San Francisco Run 2049 prototype Dreamcast.jpg
Select Track Dreamcast prototype Rush San Francisco 2049.jpg
Select Track Rush San Francisco 2049 Dreamcast.jpg
  • Au menu de sélection de la voiture, les couleurs par défaut des véhicules ne sont pas les mêmes. Certains bolides  ne sont pas terminés, les roues peuvent être mal ajustées. Ils ne sont pas polis. Deux voitures sont inédites à la build (CAR 7 et 13), elles sont jouables uniquement ici. En modifiant les paramètres du véhicule (Engine, Tires etc.), la vue de l'intérieur devrait montrer, par exemple,  le compartiment moteur, cependant, sur le prototype, la visualisation de l'intérieur est représentée par une modélisation quadrillée verte de la voiture. Comme pour les circuits, les voitures ont des noms provisoires. Les spécifications des voitures ne figurent pas à gauche de l'écran (Top Speed, Acceleration etc.). Elles devraient tourner sur une sorte de podium gris métallisé qui n'est pas présent. Des paramétrages de voitures semblent inédits ou leurs nominations changent.

San Francisco Rush 2049 Car Dreamcast GD-R.jpg
Car Selection Rush 2049 Dreamcast.jpg
  • En jouant au mode "OBSTACLE", 2 paramètrages de la course, uniques au prototype, permettent de modifier la valeur du vent et du brouillard. Cette course n'est pas finie, son avancement était à un stade très précoce.

San Francisco Rush Dreamcast prototype Obstacle Race.jpg
Rush 2049 Dreamcast Obstacle Race.jpg
  • En jouant au mode "STUNT", il manque une arène sur le prototype, "The Rim". Les niveaux ne sont pas terminés. Des textures diffèrent et l'agencement de certaines arènes est différent.

Rush San Francisco 2049 prototype Dreamcast Stunt.jpg
Stunt San Francisco Rush 2049 DC.jpg
  • L'interface joueur comportera de grands changements entre la version Alpha et la version commerciale. Il doit s'agir de l'interface des Rush 1 et 2 de la Nintendo 64.

Single Race San Francisco Rush 2049 Dreamcast prototype.jpg
San Francisco rush Dreamcast Single Race.jpg
  • Si le tracé des courses est le même, les décors ont des différences, pas de ligne de départ à damier, des textures qui changent, pas d'animations, pas de publicités , la ligne départ peut être placée de quelques mètres en arrière ou en avant etc.

voiture inédite

Unused Car San Francisco Rush 2049 Dc prototype.jpg

voiture inédite

Unused Car Rush 2049 Dreamcast prototype.jpg

Course obstacle non terminée

prototype of Rush 2049 Dreamcast Obstacle course.jpg

Course obstacle non terminée

Rush San Francisco 2049 Work in progress Dreamcast.jpg
San Francisco Rush 2049 Midway prototype.jpg
Rush 2049 Midway Dreamcast prototype.jpg
Prototype Dreamcast Rush 2049 in game.jpg
San Francisco Rush Dreamcast in game.jpg
San Francisco Rush Dreamcast prototype game.jpg
Rush San Francisco  midway  in game.jpg
Rush San Francisco 2049 Dreamcast.jpg
Rush 2049 Dreamcast.jpg
San Francisco Rush 2049 Beta Dreamcast.jpg
San Francisco Rush Dreamcast final.jpg

A vous de trouver les autres particularité de cette version Alpha !

Rush 2049 prototype disc.jpg

Vous pouvez télécharger la build de San Francisco Rush 2049 Dreamcast ci-dessous

San Francisco Rush 2049 (Feb 17, 2000 prototype)