V-Rally 2 Expert Edition Dreamcast prototypes

Sega Rally 2 had revealed itself as the undisputed master of rally racing on Dreamcast. The game's previous incarnations on the arcade and Saturn are no stranger to its success on Sega's 128-bit console. Could V-Rally 2 Expert Edition dethrone Sega's king and make a place for itself on Dreamcast ?

V-Rally is at the origin of the creation of Eden Games in 1997. David Nadal, then a tester for Infogrames, joined the team working on this racing game as a physics and 3D programmer. David joined forces with Stéphane Baudet, the project manager, to create Eden Studios.

The title was a real success (7 million games sold), and a contract for a sequel, V-Rally 2, was signed in the same period. The company was one of the most important French studios of the time. It worked mainly for the publisher Infogrames.

«My lunch for almost six months (the time of the crunch for the Dreamcast port) was Euro-Kebab rue Baraban (apparently "Ararat" now)»

V-Rally 2 is one of the jewels of the French publisher "Infogrames" developed by the studio "Eden Studios" from Lyon. The game had already established itself on other media as a reference in rally racing, including V-Rally on PS1 which still enjoys a certain notoriety.

«Since the PS1 version of VR2 was not finished, I had to compile the PSX sources. Unluckily, the "C" compiler of Hitachi for the Dreamcast was not Ansi/ISO compatible. So I had to write a conversion program to regenerate Dreamcast compatible sources. As I couldn't spend my time changing the UI to reflect the changes of the PSX version, I wrote a PSX GPU emulator so all the Dreamcast UI is displayed as if it was on PSX (OT List management

V-Rally 2 promo

The Dreamcast title was designed to be superior to the Playstation 1 version. The fineness of the textures had been multiplied by four and the graphics were now in 16 bits. The cars were composed of 2200 triangles each. The engine managed up to 4 cars at the same time in 60 frames per second.

«We only had two dev kits. Dreamcast dev kits. One for me (with the GD-ROM burner) and one for the guy who made the tracks for the game. The first versions of V-Rally 2 Dreamcast were basically an emulation of the game running on PSX. At first we used the tracks from the PS1 version. It took a while to figure out how much memory we would have available, then we stuffed ourselves»

Ari Vatanen, former world champion of the discipline, was a consultant for Eden. He brought his knowledge and his remarks so that the players could find the sensations of a real race.

«The damage display in Rally mode is unique to the Dreamcast version, it's something I did one weekend without telling the manager because it would have been rejected (having the car more and more difficult to drive without any visual indication made me think more of a game quality problem/bug than a problem due to the player's driving style).»

V Rally Ari Vatanen Interview

After an introduction in a short movie, the player could choose between four game modes: Arcade, Rally Trophy, Championship and Time Trial. At the wheel of 26 real cars, the flagship of the discipline at the time, as well as prestigious legendary cars that have marked the history of rallying, the gamer had to reach the top of the podium. V-Rally 2 also offered an unusual feature, a very complete and easy-to-use track editor.

The engine noises didn't make you want to turn down the volume after ten minutes of play. The audio was realistic as was the sound of acceleration. You could hear even the cracking of branches when you ran into a bush or you could distinguish the different tire squeaks depending on the grip of the surface (mud, tar etc.).

«The guy who was working on the audio for the PSX version of VR2 had no more disk space. He had thrown away all the high quality versions of the sounds. In the Dreamcast (and PC) version, the PSX sounds are decompressed from the Sony ADPCM format to the Sega format, so there is a big loss of quality that could have been avoided easily»

V Rally Markteting Investment Document

Driving was all about skidding and vehicle control. Depending on the type of terrain encountered (asphalt, snow, dirt, etc.), the game offered 80 different tracks in 12 countries. In total, there were more than 400 km of special !

We no longer needed to take a plane to travel and discover the beauty of the French Alps, the density of the Indonesian jungle and the green forests of England. The graphics were inspired by the geographical and climatic particularities of each visited country. Virtual tourism, it was still necessary to find the time to raise the nose of its notes !

«A lot of people were missing in the official credits of the game. In the Dreamcast version I hid a scrolling message with the complete list of people who participated in the DC version (you have to have the Dreamcast keyboard and make a key combination to see it)»

Right medium, left tight, right short !!!

V-Rally promotionnal Document Stephane Baudet

You can download the V-Rally promotional folder below

V-Rally (dossier promotionnel)

They were young!!!

Eden team.png

V-Rally 2 Dreamcast avec Debug Menu

V Rally 2 Cover.jpg

The specificities of the January 25, 2000 Dreamcast build :

This prototype of V-Rally 2 Expert Edition Dreamcast dates from January 25th 2000, about 4 months before the creation of the Master. It contains a Debug Menu which is well provided and easy to use, for once. By comparing this early build with the retail version, we can guess the development path of the game..

They liked green at Eden!

V-Rally 2 Expert Edition Dreamcast prototype Debug Menu.jpg
  • When launching this early build of V-Rally 2, the game starts directly on a green Debug Menu (I'll come back to it in detail below). The tempting introduction cinematic is therefore not viewable.

  • The icon on the memory card is always the same "loading". It should change depending on which menu the player is in.

  • By pressing START at this screen, VR2 starts normally. That is, without debug functions or game mode shortcuts. This is where the analysis of the prototype really begins.

Inforgrame Copyright V-Rally 2 Dreamcast prototype.jpg
  • A language selection window (English, French, Deutsch), with the flag of the 3 countries, appears. This screen will be removed from the final version. It replaces the known title menu. The choice of the language is normally made in "Display Options". Sometimes, the screen with the copyright of the publisher "Infograme" replaces the language choice menu (maybe depending on the number of controllers and vmu connected to the console). The color of the logo is yellow and not white.

  • Once at the main screen, the title of the game is "V-Rally Millenium Edition 2", maybe a temporary name. It will definitely be called "V-Rally 2 Expert Edition 2". The help button "A", at the bottom right of the screen, has a different look. The description of its function will change from "Valid" here to "Confirm" on the commercial copy.

It was a good menu !

Dreamcast prototype V-Rally 2 Expert Edition.jpg

«The name of the game is typically the thing we don't care about during the development of the software, in the end it's always the marketing department that decides.»

  • During the auto-demo, the player is not prompted to press START to return to the main menu. The "Press Start" message does not flash during the replay. The VR2 logo is also smaller than usual. The loadings between the auto-demo and the main window are black with just "Loading Demo please wait" written. The background should, for example, be a preview of a car in race.

A racing game without replay is like a raclette without cheese !

V-Rally 2 Millenium Edition prototype Dreamcast.jpg

Where is the sun ?

Beta V-Rally 2 loading Dc.jpg
  • Some characteristics of the prototype are repeated in several menus, such as: a different layout, the location of the help buttons in other places and the graphic style used for them, a black and white photo for the background when they should be in color, the brightness used to make the menus darker, another font deployed (the size of this one may also differ), the alignment and arrangement of the options in the menus, etc..

Example for Audio Options

prototype

V-Rally 2 Dc prototype Debug.jpg

Final

V-Rally 2 Expert Edition Dreamcast.jpg
  • The default setting of some options does not correspond to the original configuration of the final version.

  • The standby system does not exist yet.

V-Rally 2 Dreamcast prototype Main Menu.jpg
Dreamcast V-Rally 2 Expert Edition prototype (PS1).jpg
  • In the "Game Progression" menu, the game seems to be 100% finished. There is a picture in each box showing if the game mode has been finished or if the secret car has been won. When starting a new game, these boxes should be black. The pictures in the first column are temporary until the real ones are available. The colors of the arrows are grey and not orange.

V-Rllay 2 Expert Edition Dreamcast prototype progression.jpg
Game Progression V Rally 2 sega dreamcast.jpg
  • This prototyped version of V-Rally 2 Dreamcast is very close to the PS1 game. The PS1 memory card icon replaces the VMU one in front of the option to save or load a game. When you enter the "Memory Cards" menu, the symbols are still linked to the PSX. Moreover, the warning messages to load or save a game don't refer to the Visual Memory Unit of Sega.

V the series, you know ?

Cars Selection V-Rally 2 Dreamcast beta.jpg
Dreamcast GD-R V-Rally 2.jpg
V-Rally 2 Sega Dreamcast.jpg
  • In the "Driver Selection" menu, the "Driver Copy" option comes from the Playstation 1 game. This feature will be removed from the Dreamcast version. Other menus have this particularity like "Track Editor".

V Rally 2 Dreamcast prototype Cars.jpg
  • The transition between the "Driver Selection" and "Cars" menus is weird. The whole screen turns green for a second. The menu layout border then keeps this strange color.

  • It is impossible to choose and drive the "Corolla Brundle" car. It is simply not there !!!

  • In the "Cars" menu, once the car is adopted, it appears in the small box at the bottom left of the menu, the one with its driver name. On the prototype, it is seen from the back while in the retail version, it is from the front.

V Rally 2 millenium edition time trial beta.jpg
  • From the "Cars" menu, the loading times react strangely. If they are no longer basic like the previous ones, the final loading display appears only a fragment of a second before the screen goes black.

  • Attention, when entering the level editor (as always a layout specific to the prototype), it will be impossible to exit it, certainly due to a bug.

  • When the game offers to choose the country and then the special stage to race, some rally tracks displayed in the right sidebar have glitches. For some races, the presentation of the track is non-existent. The courses in France "French Alps" are called on the prototype "Monte Carlo".

V rally Dreamcast prototype.jpg
  • Before taking part in a competition, final adjustments are possible by accessing the "Driving Setting" option. The small orange square to calibrate and see the current position of the steering wheel configuration is not present. By browsing the "Controller" menu, 2 new options are revealed. One of them allows you to choose between the PS1 Negcon controller (its image is on the screen) and the PSX wheel. The last one allows to set the Negcon controller.

  • Few races correspond to those playable on the final version. Sometimes the SS number (when it exists) is not the same. It is possible that this prototypical version of V-Rally 2 is identical to the Playstation 1 mount, which would explain these important differences.

V rally 2 beta Dc Negcon controller.jpg

No more drugs for this guy !

V-Rally 2 Dreamcast Unfinished track prototype.jpg
  • The button assigned to change the view is normally the "Y" button. In this beta, the "B" button is assigned to this mission. Take a look at the cockpit view !

Sega Dreamcast V-rally 2 prototype.jpg
V-Rally 2 Sega Dreamcast prototype.jpg
  • When stopping the car on a slope, the force of attraction does not make it continue to move. It will stop dead in its tracks. The driving on the prototype seems more sensitive. The noise of the vehicles and the environment is a problem.

«The PSX doesn't have a floating computation unit, all the physics/dynamics is done in integers. On Dreamcast it was converted to floats but the first versions were using PSX code so it's possible that this prototype is in integers.»

  • Decorative elements in the levels were removed during the finalization of the race while some elements in the game scenery are missing. The animation of the audience running for cover has not been introduced yet.  There is no water effect on the gravel. Parts of the tracks are not finished, textures do not load or were not ready.

Dreamcast V-Rally 2 Prototype In Game.jpg
Dreamcast V-Rally 2 In Game.jpg
V-Rally 2 Dreamcast prototype in game.jpg
V-Rally 2 Dreamcast In Game.jpg

The Debug Menu :

The Debug Menu can be opened anywhere and not necessarily in the first green menu of the game. All the necessary indications to activate it are written when the prototype is launched. To use it, you have to connect a Dreamcast keyboard to any controller port of the console.

The buttons to use :

  • Esc : Open and exit the Debug Menu

  • F1 : "Debug Message" window

  • F2 : "ViewvRam Pages" sub-menu

  • F3 : "Device Infos" window

  • F4 : Sub-menu "3D3 Switches

  • F5 : "Game Control" sub-menu

  • F6 : "Memory Info" window

  • F7 : "Game Cheater" sub-menu

  • F8 : "Video Infos" window

  • F9 : "Cameras" sub-menu

  • F10 : "Fog Control" sub-menu

  • F11 : "Background Control" sub-menu

  • F12 : "VM Manager" window

  • Maj + F1 = "Sound" window

The buttons to use to modify the parameters, the values of the different options are explained in each sub-menu of the Debug. This Debug Menu is very complete, it allows a great interactivity with the game. It is possible to configure the display of the background according to our taste, to modify the height of the car and to have the AI drive the vehicle for us. These are just a few examples among many others !

Debug Message

V-Rally 2 Dreamcast Debug Message.jpg

Device Infos

V-Rally 2 Dreamcast Device Infos.jpg

3D3 Switches

V-Rally 2 Dreamcast Debug D3D switches option.jpg

VM Manager

VM Manager Dc V-Rally 2 Debug Menu.jpg

Game Control

V-Rally 2 Debug Menu Game control option.jpg

Backgroud Control

V-Rally 2 Dreamcast Backerground control debug.jpg

Memory Info

V-Rally 2 Dreamcast Debug Memory Info.jpg

Sound

V Rally 2 Sound Debug.jpg

Fog Control

Fog Control Debub option V Rally 2 Dc.jpg

Debug Menu

V-Rally 2 Dreamcast Debug Menu Esc.jpg

ViewRam Pages

View Ram V-Rally 2 Dreamcast prototype.jpg

Video Infos

Video Infos Dreamcast V-Rally 2 gd-r.jpg

Game Cheater

V-Rally 2 Dc Dreamcast Game Cheat.jpg

Camera

Camera mode V-Rally 2 Dreamcast gd-r.jpg

Inside the files :

There are references in the game files for two cars that were removed from the final product or thought to be included. The Volkswagen Golf in the KITKAT 2L class and the Ford Puma in the 1L6 class had to be removed relatively early in the development process of V-Rally 2 Expert Edition since they are not playable in this prototype. The clues to their existence can be seen in the scripts "ROOTCARS.SCR" and "ROOTIA.SCR". The Volkswagen is incorrectly named Wolfswagen.

Many scripts (.SCR file) are present in the game files. For some of them, they are only found on the prototype.

The script with the name of the 2 unknown cars

V-Rally 2 Dreamcast prototype Script.jpg

File comparator, on the left the prototype, on the right the final version

V-Rally 2 Millenium Edition gd-r Dc script comparaison.jpg

Any resemblance of the background of the Debug Menu of V-Rally 2 DC with the main menu of Time Commando 1 (PS1 and PC) from the development studio Adeline Software International is not a coincidence !

V-Rally 2 Sega Dreamcast Debug Menu weird
Time Commando Ps1 Adeline Software International.png

A few things to know :

On the final version, you can navigate through the menus and play with a Dreamcast keyboard connected to the console's A port. Once in the main menu, unplug the controller and connect the keyboard. The error message "A Controller As Been Removed or ..." will flash at the bottom of the screen. Press the "§ (left of 1)" key on the keyboard to make the game recognize the accessory as the A controller.

How to use the keyboard instead of the joystick :

Directional arrows : Replaces the D-Pad on the controller

Space : START button

Ctrl : Y Button (view change)

Alt Gr : Right trigger and Y button (In game, acceleration or view change)/A button in menus (validation)A dans les menus (validation)

S2 (Windows) : B button to go back in the menus / X button for handbrake in game

S3 (right of Windows) : Left trigger to brake in game

  • Open the Debug Menu on the final version : You have to write MIKERIE in the menu princiap by activating the Dreamcast keyboard as explained above (AZERTY or QWERTY keyboard).

  • To access the scrolling of the secret credits on the final version : You have to write THECREDITS in the main menu by opening the Debug Menu and activating the Dreamcast keyboard as explained above (AZERTY or QWERTY keyboard)

A caricature of Defence Force made by Gilles Benois (the Art Director on Kya: Dark Lineage)

Mikerie developer of V-Rally 2 Expert Edition Dreamcast.png

«Why MIKERIE? Because I used to come out with a lot of jokes, that's the name that buddies and colleagues gave to my style of joke.»

Importantly, we were unable to activate the Debug Menu and the scrolling of secret credits on the commercial copy. However, the code is present.

V-Rally 2 Expert Edition (Jan 25, 2000 Dreamcast prototype).jpg

You can download the build of V-Rally 2 Expert Edition Dreamcast below

V-Rally 2 Expert Edition (Jan 25, 2000 prototype)

Redump with TOSEC method impossible, GD-R seems dead.

The other prototypes of V-Rally 2 Dreamcast normal :

V-Rally 2 Expert Edition (Mar 06, 2000 Dreamcast prototype).jpg
V-Rally 2 Dreamcast Preview.jpg

V-Rally 2 Expert Edition Dreamcast prototypes

Sega Rally 2 s'était révélé comme le maître incontesté des courses de rallye sur Dreamcast. Les montures précédentes du  jeu sur borne d'arcade et sur Saturn ne sont pas étrangères à son succès sur la console 128 bit de Sega. V-Rally 2 Expert Edition pouvait-il détrôner le roi de Sega et se faire une place de choix sur Dreamcast ?

V-Rally est à l'origine de la création d'Eden Games en 1997. David Nadal, alors testeurs pour Infogrames, rejoint les rangs  de l'équipe bossant sur ce jeu de courses à un poste de programmeur physique et 3D. David s'associe avec Stéphane Baudet, responsable du projet, pour créer Eden Studios.

Le titre rencontrant un réel succès (7 millions de jeux vendus), un contrat pour une suite, V-Rally 2, est signé dans la foulée. La société faisait partie des studios français les plus importants du moment. Elle travaillait principalement pour l'éditeur Infogrames.

«Mon repas de midi pendant près de six mois (le temps du crunch pour le portage Dreamcast) à été Euro-Kebab rue Baraban (apparemnent "Ararat" maintenant).»

V-Rally 2 était un des fleurons de l'éditeur français "Infogrames" développé par le studio Lyonnais "Eden Studios". Le jeu s'était déjà imposé sur d'autres supports comme une référence en matière de course de rallye, notamment V-Rally sur PS1 qui jouit toujours d'une certaine notoriété.

«Vu que la version PS1 de VR2 n'était pas finie, il fallait que je puisse compiler les sources PSX. Manque de bol, le compilateur "C" d'Hitachi pour la Dreamcast n'était pas compatibles Ansi/ISO. Donc j'ai dû écrire un programme de conversion pour régénérer des sources compatible Dreamcast. Comme je ne pouvais pas passer mon temps à changer l'UI pour refléter les changements de la version PSX, j'ai écrit un émulateur de GPU de la PSX donc toute l'UI Dreamcast est affichée comme si c'était sur PSX (gestion de OT List

V-Rally 2 promo

Le titre Dreamcast avait été conçu pour être supérieur à la version Playstation 1. La finesse des textures avait été multipliée par quatre et les graphismes étaient désormais en 16 bits. Les voitures se composaient de 2200 triangles chacune. Le moteur gérait jusqu'à 4 voitures en même temps  le tout en 60 images par seconde.

«Nous n'avions que deux kits de dev. Dreamcast. Un pour moi (avec le graveur de GD-ROM) et un pour le gars qui faisait les pistes pour le jeu. Les premières versions de V-Rally 2 Dreamcast était en gros une émulation du jeu tourant sur PSX. Au début, nous avons utilisé les circuits de la version PS1. Cela a pris un certain temps pour savoir combien de mémoire nous aurions à disposition, puis nous nous sommes gavés»

Ari Vatanen, ancien champion du monde de la discipline,  était consultant pour Eden. Il avait apporté ses connaissances et ses remarques pour que les joueurs puissent retrouver les sensations d'une véritable course.

«L'affichage des dégâts en mode Rally est unique à la version Dreamcast, c'est un truc que j'ai fait un week-end sans le dire au manager parce que ça aurait été refusé (avoir la voiture de plus en plus difficile à conduire sans indication visuelle faisait plus penser à un problème de qualité du jeu/bug qu'a un problème dû à la façon de conduire du joueur).»

V Rally Ari Vatanen Interview

Après une introduction en un petit film, le joueur avait le choix entre quatre modes de jeu : Arcade, Trophée Rally, Championnat et Contre la montre. Au volant  de 26 voitures plus vraies que natures, le fleuron de la discipline à cette époque sans oublier de prestigieuses voitures de légende ayant marqué l'histoire du rallye, le gamer devait monter sur la plus haute marche du podium. V-Rally 2 proposait également une fonctionnalité peu courante, un éditeur de circuit très complet et simple d'utilisation.

Les bruits de moteur ne donnaient pas l'envie de baisser le volume après dix minutes de jeu. L'audio était réaliste comme le bruitage des accélérations. On entendait jsuqu'au craquement des branchages lors d'une sortie de route  contre un buisson ou encore on distinguait les différents crissements de pneus selon le grip des surfaces (boue, goudron etc.).

«Le gars qui bossait sur l'audio de la version PSX de VR2 n'avait plus de place disque. Il avait balancé toutes les versions hautes qualité des sons. Dans la version Dreamcast (et PC) on utilise les sons de la PSX décompressés du format ADPCM Sony vers le format Sega, donc grosse perte de qualité qui aurait pu été évitée facilement

V Rally Markteting Investment Document

La conduite se présentait tout en dérapages et maîtrise du véhicule. Selon les types de terrains rencontrés (asphalte, neige, terre etc.), le jeu proposait 80 pistes différentes réparties dans 12 pays. Au total, il y avait plus de 400 km de spécial !

Nous n'avions plus besoin de prendre l'avion pour voyager et découvrir la beauté des Alpes Française, la densité de la jungle Indonésienne et les forêts verdoyantes de l'Angleterre. Les graphismes s'inspiraient des particularités géographiques et climatiques de chaque contrée visitée. Du tourisme virtuel, fallait-il encore trouver le temps de lever le nez de ses notes !

«Il manquait plein de personnes dans les crédits officiels du jeu. Dans la version Dreamcast j'ai caché un message défilant avec la liste complète des gens ayant participé à la version DC (il faut avoir le clavier Dreamcast et faire une combinaison de touches pour le voir).»

Droite moyen, gauche serrée, droite court !!!

V-Rally promotionnal Document Stephane Baudet

Vous pouvez télécharger le dossier promotionnel de V-Rally  ci-dessous

V-Rally (dossier promotionnel)

Ils étaient jeunes !!!

Eden team.png

V-Rally 2 Dreamcast avec Debug Menu

V Rally 2 Cover.jpg

Les spécificités de la  build Dreamcast du 25 janvier 2000 :

Ce prototype de V-Rally 2 Expert Edition Dreamcast date du 25 janvier 2000 soit environ 4 mois avant la création du Master. Il contient un  Debug Menu qui est bien fourni et simple d'utilisation, pour une fois. En comparant cette build précoce avec la version de détail, on devine le cheminement du développement du jeu.

Ils aimaient le vert chez Eden !

V-Rally 2 Expert Edition Dreamcast prototype Debug Menu.jpg
  • En lançant cette early build de V-Rally 2, le jeu débute directement sur un menu vert de type Debug Menu (j'y reviendrai en détail plus bas). L'alléchante cinématique d'introduction n'est donc pas visionnable.

  • L'icône sur la carte mémoire est toujours la même "loading". Elle devrait changer suivant dans quel menu le joueur se trouve.

  • En appuyant sur START à cet écran, VR2  se lance normalement. C'est-à-dire sans fonctions Debugs ou des raccourcis de mode jeu. C'est là que l'analyse du prototype commençe réellement.

Inforgrame Copyright V-Rally 2 Dreamcast prototype.jpg
  • Une fenêtre de sélection du language (English, French, Deutsch), avec le drapeau des 3 pays, se manifeste. Cet écran sera supprimé de la version finale. Il remplace le menu titre connu. Le choix de la langue s'effectue normalement dans "Display Options". Parfois, l'écran avec le copyright de l'éditeur "Infograme" remplace le menu de choix de la langue (peut-être en fonction du nombre de manettes et de vmu branchés à la console). La couleur du logo est jaune et non pas blanche.

  • Une fois à l'écran principal, le titre du jeu est "V-Rally Millenium Edition 2", peut-être un nom provisoire. Il s'appellera de manière définitive "V-Rally 2 Expert Edition 2". Le bouton d'aide "A", au fond à droite de l'écran, à un autre look. La description de sa fonction passera de "Valid" ici à "Confirm" sur la copie commerciale.

Il était bien ce menu !

Dreamcast prototype V-Rally 2 Expert Edition.jpg

«Le nom du jeu est typiquement le truc dont on a rien à faire pendant le développement du soft, au final c'est toujours le département Marketing qui décide.»

  • Durant l'auto-demo, le joueur n'est pas invité à appuyer sur START pour revenir au menu principal. Le message "Press Start" ne clignote pas pendant le replay. Le logo de VR2 est également plus petit qu'à l'accoutumée. Les loadings entre l'auto-demo et la fenêtre principale sont noirs avec juste écrit "Loading Demo please wait". L'arrière-plan devrait, par exemple,  être un aperçu d'une voiture en course.

Un jeu de course sans replay c'est comme une raclette sans fromage !

V-Rally 2 Millenium Edition prototype Dreamcast.jpg

Où est le soleil ?

Beta V-Rally 2 loading Dc.jpg
  • Des caractéristiques du prototype se répètent dans plusieurs menus comme : une mise en page différente, l'emplacement des boutons d'aide à d'autres endroits et le style graphique utilisé pour ceux-ci, une photo en noir et blanc pour l'arrière-fond alors qu'elles devraient être en couleur, la luminosité employée rendant les menus plus sombre, une autre police d'écriture déployée (la grandeur de celle-ci peut aussi différer), l'alignement et l'agencement des options dans les menu etc..

Exemple pour Audio Options

prototype

V-Rally 2 Dc prototype Debug.jpg

Finale

V-Rally 2 Expert Edition Dreamcast.jpg
  • Le paramétrage par défaut de certaines options ne correspond pas à la configuration d'origine de la version finale.

  • Le système de mise en veille n'existe pas encore.

V-Rally 2 Dreamcast prototype Main Menu.jpg
Dreamcast V-Rally 2 Expert Edition prototype (PS1).jpg
  • Dans le menu "Game Progression", la partie semble avoir été terminé à 100 %. On y retrouve une image dans chaque encadré montrant si le mode de jeu a été finis ou si la voiture secrète a été gagnée. En commençant une nouvelle partie, ces encadrés devraient être noir. Les photos de la première colonne sont provisoire en attendant les vraies. Les couleurs des flèches sont grises et non pas orange.

V-Rllay 2 Expert Edition Dreamcast prototype progression.jpg
Game Progression V Rally 2 sega dreamcast.jpg
  • Cette version prototypée de V-Rally 2 Dreamcast est très proche du jeu PS1. L'icône de la carte mémoire PS1 remplace celle de la VMU devant l'option pour sauvegarder ou charger une partie . En rentrant dans le menu "Memory Cards", les symboles sont toujours liés à la PSX. D'ailleurs, les messages d'avertissement pour charger ou sauver une partie ne font pas référence à la Visual Memory Unit de Sega.

V la série, vous connaissez ?

Cars Selection V-Rally 2 Dreamcast beta.jpg
Dreamcast GD-R V-Rally 2.jpg
V-Rally 2 Sega Dreamcast.jpg
  • Dans le menu "Driver Selection", l'option "Driver Copy" provient du jeu Playstation 1. Cette fonctionnalité sera retirée de la version Dreamcast. D'autres menus ont cette particularité comme "Track Editor".

V Rally 2 Dreamcast prototype Cars.jpg
  • La transition entre les menus "Driver Selection" et "Cars" est bizarre. La totalité de l'écran devient vert l'espace d'une seconde. Le pourtour de mise en page du menu garde ensuite cette drôle de couleur.

  • Il est impossible de choisir et de rouler avec la voiture "Corolla Brundle". Elle n'est tout simplement pas là !!!

  • Dans le menu "Cars", une fois la voiture adoptée, elle apparaît dans le petit encadré au fond à gauche du menu, celui avec son nom de pilote. Sur le prototype, on la voit de dos tandis qu'en version au détail, elle est de face.

V Rally 2 millenium edition time trial beta.jpg
  • Depuis le menu "Cars", les temps de chargement réagissent étrangement. S'ils ne sont plus basiques comme les précédents, l'affichage du loading définitif n'apparaît qu'un fragment de seconde avant que l'écran ne devienne noir.

  • Attention, en rentrant dans l'éditeur de niveaux (comme toujours une disposition propre au prototype), il sera impossible d'y sortir, certainement dû à un bug.

  • Lorsque le jeu propose de choisir le pays puis la spéciale  à disputer, des  tracés de rally s'affichant dans l'encadré de droite ont des glitchs. Pour certaines courses, la présentation de la piste est inexistante. Les parcours en France "French Alps" se nomment sur le prototype "Monte Carlo".

V rally Dreamcast prototype.jpg
  • Avant de prendre part à une compétitons, des derniers réglages sont possibles en accédant à l'option "Driving Setting". Le petit carré orange pour calibrer et voir la position actuelle de la configuration du  volant n'est pas présent. En parcourant le menu "Controller", 2 options inédites se dévoilent. L'une d'entre elles permet de choisir entre la manette PS1 Negcon (son image est à l'écran) et le volant PSX. La dernière, quant à elle, permet de paramétrer la manette Negcon.

  • Peu de courses correspondent à celles jouables sur la version finale. Parfois, le numéro de la SS (quand elle existe) n'est pas le même. Il se peut que cette version prototypée de V-Rally 2 soit identique à la monture Playstation 1, ce qui expliquerait ces importantes différences.

V rally 2 beta Dc Negcon controller.jpg

Plus de drogue pour ce mec !

V-Rally 2 Dreamcast Unfinished track prototype.jpg
  • La touche affectée pour changer de vue est normalement le bouton "Y". Sur cette bêta, le bouton "B" est attribué à cette mission. Faites un tour dans la vue cockpit !

Sega Dreamcast V-rally 2 prototype.jpg
V-Rally 2 Sega Dreamcast prototype.jpg
  • En arrêtant la voiture dans une descente, la force d'attraction ne la fait pas continuer à rouler. Elle stoppera net. Le pilotage sur le prototype semble plus sensible. Le bruitage des véhicules et de l'environnement  pose  problème.

«La PSX n'a pas d'unité de calcul flottant, toute la physique/dynamique est faite en entiers. Sur Dreamcast ca a été convertit en floats mais les premieres versions utilisaient le code PSX donc possible que ce proto soit en entiers.»

  • Des éléments décoratifs dans les niveaux ont été enlevé lors de la finalisation de la course tandis qu'il manque certains éléments dans les décors du jeu. L'animation du public  courant pour se mettre à l'abri n'est pas encore introduite.  Il n'y a aucun effet d'eau sur le gravier. Des parties des pistes ne sont pas terminées, des textures ne chargent pas ou n'étaient pas prêtes.

Dreamcast V-Rally 2 Prototype In Game.jpg
Dreamcast V-Rally 2 In Game.jpg
V-Rally 2 Dreamcast prototype in game.jpg
V-Rally 2 Dreamcast In Game.jpg

Le Debug Menu :

Le Debug Menu peut s'ouvrir n'importe où et non obligatoirement au premier menu vert du jeu. Toutes les indications nécessaires à son activation sont écrites au lancement du prototype. Pour l'utiliser, il faut connecter un clavier Dreamcast dans n'importe quel port manette de la console.

Les boutons à utiliser :

  • Esc : Ouvrir et quitter le Debug Menu

  • F1 : Fenêtre "Debug Message"

  • F2 : Sous-menu "ViewvRam Pages"

  • F3 : Fenêtre "Device Infos"

  • F4 : Sous-menu "3D3 Switches"

  • F5 : Sous-menu "Game Control"

  • F6 : Fenêtre "Memory Info"

  • F7 : Sous-menu "Game Cheater"

  • F8 : Fenêtre "Video Infos"

  • F9 : Sous-menu "Cameras"

  • F10 : Sous-menu "Fog Control"

  • F11 : Sous-menu "Background Control"

  • F12 : Fenêtre "VM Manager"

  • Maj + F1 = Fenêtre "Sound"

Les touches à utiliser pour modifier les paramètres, les valeurs des différentes options sont expliquées dans chaque sous-menu du Debug. Ce Debug Menu est très complet, il permet une grande interactivité avec le jeu. Il est possible de configurer  l'affichage  de l'arrière-plan selon nos goûts, de modifier la hauteur de la voiture et de faire piloter le véhicule par l'AI à notre place. Ce ne sont que quelques exemples parmi tant d'autres !

Debug Message

V-Rally 2 Dreamcast Debug Message.jpg

Device Infos

V-Rally 2 Dreamcast Device Infos.jpg

3D3 Switches

V-Rally 2 Dreamcast Debug D3D switches option.jpg

VM Manager

VM Manager Dc V-Rally 2 Debug Menu.jpg

Game Control

V-Rally 2 Debug Menu Game control option.jpg

Backgroud Control

V-Rally 2 Dreamcast Backerground control debug.jpg

Memory Info

V-Rally 2 Dreamcast Debug Memory Info.jpg

Sound

V Rally 2 Sound Debug.jpg

Fog Control

Fog Control Debub option V Rally 2 Dc.jpg

Debug Menu

V-Rally 2 Dreamcast Debug Menu Esc.jpg

ViewRam Pages

View Ram V-Rally 2 Dreamcast prototype.jpg

Video Infos

Video Infos Dreamcast V-Rally 2 gd-r.jpg

Game Cheater

V-Rally 2 Dc Dreamcast Game Cheat.jpg

Camera

Camera mode V-Rally 2 Dreamcast gd-r.jpg

A l'intérieur des fichiers :

Il y a des références dans les fichiers du jeu pour deux voitures qui ont été retirées du produit final ou pensée pour y être intégrées. La Volkswagen Golf de la catégorie KITKAT 2L et la Ford Puma dans la catégorie 1L6 ont dû être supprimée relativement tôt dans le processus de développement de V-Rally 2 Expert Edition puisqu'elles ne sont pas jouables  dans ce prototype. Les indices de leurs existances peuvent être vus dans les scripts "ROOTCARS.SCR" et "ROOTIA.SCR". La Volkswagen est incorrectement nommée Wolfswagen.

Beaucoup de scripts (fichier.SCR) sont présents dans les fichiers du jeu. Pour certains, on ne les retrouve que sur le prototype.

Le script   avec le nom des 2 voitures inconnues

V-Rally 2 Dreamcast prototype Script.jpg

Comparateur de fichier, à gauche le prototype, à droite la version finale

V-Rally 2 Millenium Edition gd-r Dc script comparaison.jpg

Toute ressemblance de l'arrière-fond du Debug Menu de V-Rally 2 DC avec le menu principal de Time Commando 1 (PS1 et PC) du studio de développement Adeline Software International n'est pas une coïncidence !

V-Rally 2 Sega Dreamcast Debug Menu weird
Time Commando Ps1 Adeline Software International.png

Quelques petites choses à savoir :

Sur la version finale, on peut naviguer dans les menus et jouer avec un clavier Dreamcast connecté dans le port A de la console. Une fois au menu principal, débranchez la manette puis raccordez le keyboard. Le message d'erreur "A Controller As Been Removed or ..." clignotera au fond de l'écran. Appuyez sur la touche "§ (à gauche de 1)" du clavier pour que le jeu reconnaisse l'accessoire comme le controller A.

Mode d'emploi du clavier à la place de la manette :

Flèches directionnelles : Remplace le D-Pad de la manette

Espace : Bouton START

Ctrl : Bouton Y (changement de vue)

Alt Gr : Gâchette droite et Bouton Y (En jeu, accélération ou changement de vue)/Bouton A dans les menus (validation)

S2 (Windows): Bouton B pour revenir en arrière dans les menus)/Bouton X pour le frein à main en jeu

S3 (à droite de Windows): Gâchette gauche pour freiner en jeu

  • Ouvrir le Debug Menu sur la version finale : Il faut écrire MIKERIE au menu princiap en activant le clavier Dreamcast comme expliqué au-dessus (clavier AZERTY ou QWERTY)

  • Accéder au défilements des crédits secrets sur la version finale : Il faut écrire THECREDITS dans le menu principal en ouvrant le Debug Menu et en activant le clavier Dreamcast  comme expliqué au-dessus (clavier AZERTY ou QWERTY)

Une carricature de Defence Force faite  par Gilles Benois (le Directeur artistique sur Kya: Dark Lineage)

Mikerie developer of V-Rally 2 Expert Edition Dreamcast.png

«Pourquoi MIKERIE ? Parce que je sortais beaucoup de vannes, c'est le nom que les potes et collègues ont donné a mon style de blague.»

Important, nous n'avons pas réussi à activer le Debug Menu et le défilement des crédits secrets sur la copie commerciale. Le code est cependant présent.

V-Rally 2 Expert Edition (Jan 25, 2000 Dreamcast prototype).jpg

Vous pouvez télécharger la build de V-Rally 2 Expert Edition Dreamcast ci-dessous

V-Rally 2 Expert Edition (Jan 25, 2000 prototype)

Redump avec la méthode TOSEC impossible, le GD-R semble mort.

Les autres prototypes de V-Rally 2 Dreamcast normaux :

V-Rally 2 Expert Edition (Mar 06, 2000 Dreamcast prototype).jpg
V-Rally 2 Dreamcast Preview.jpg
V-Rally Dreamcast Main Start Menu.jpg
V-Rally 2 Expert Edition (Apr 18, 2000 Dreamcast prototype).jpg

Remerciement à :

  • Defense Force pour son témoignage et la mise à disposition du document promotionnel