World's Scariest Police Chases: Deadly Pursuit, an Unreleased Dreamcast that escaped

If we know the PSX version, World's Scariest Police Chases , released in 2001 developed by Unique Development Studios and published by Activision , we forget that a game of this license was also to appear on Dreamcast. It would have been called World's Scariest Police Chases: Deadly Pursuit , it would have been totally different while following a similar concept.

“You saw it on television. Now is your chance to experience it. You are in control of the craziest police chases there is.  (Fox press release) "

World's Scariest Police Chases: Deadly Pursuit developed by an English team, Teeny Weeny Games, was based on the American TV show World's Scariest Police Chases, a series of 56 episodes of reality (1998-2001) broadcast by the Fox videos showing police chases, arrests for example.

"Initially it was a game called ' deadly pursuit ', Fox took it over, added the intellectual property and made it a game for police officers."

Dreamcast (US) World's Scariest Police Chases Deadly Pursuit FRONT fusion.png

The game would have played out exactly like the reality shows in American car chase reality shows, and would have been inspired by their camera angles and helicopter views. As a police officer, the player would have had several cars to choose from and plenty of weapons at his disposal to attempt to complete more than 75 missions designed to test his reactions and composure. One of the planned features, other than multiplayer, was support for the Dreamcast microphone. We could have used it to call for reinforcements.

“He looked a lot like GTA before GTA . The city was open-world, with a linear mission structure supported by many side quests. ”

World's Scariest Police Chases Deadly Pursuit Dreamcast (beta).jpg

The screenplay was a classic take on the cop movies Tango and Cash , Lethal Weapon to name a few. A woman, gun fanatic, with a strong sense of humor, teamed up with a man more experienced and calmer than her. The story was about drugs, arms trafficking, turf wars between gangs and  cartels to end in corruption cases between the police and the DEA (a US federal agency combating drug trafficking and distribution in the United States ).

“We recorded the script in Los Angeles with Ice-T as the main antagonist and a lot of supporting actors.”

beta of World's Scariest Police Chases Deadly Pursuit for Dreamcast.jpg

The car chase game was about 40% complete, it was playable. Fox terminated the project because they did not see a future for the Dreamcast and did not want to continue funding it. The development team was small and shrinking.  One of the game's programmers had mentioned that they had incorporated cars, physics, and most of the city into the game, but no missions had been developed.

“It's a shame, it was a magnificent game. They pretty much canceled everything  because it was clear that the DC was doomed. It was also a very strict PI with an America centric audience. "

Dreamcast World's Scariest Police Chases Deadly Pursuit beta.jpg

Deadly Pursuit was very discreet. Some sites and magazines were still able to receive screenshots of the title to show it to their readers.

"We would have had to wait another year before its release, it was not really covered."

Scariest Police Chases: Deadly Pursuit had potential and could have filled Dreamcast aficionados with a game close to a GTA or a Driver .

Thanks to the game producer / designer / writer for shedding light on this Unreleased from the Dreamcast. All we need to do is hope to be able to play it in the future!

World's Scariest Police Chases Deadly Pursuit Dreamcast (prototype).jpg

He also tells us that he worked on 2 other Dreamcast projects that were canceled, a motocross game for THQ and a racing game, Paris-Dakar , for SoftBank . These two projects, at the technical demo stage, were never announced. They had arrived too late in the console lifecycle.

"Dakar was really only at the level of the presentation and the technical demonstration, so we don't count it as a game :)"

Definitely the Dreamcast had a tragic fate. It was predestined, even before its commercialization, to die!

World's Scariest Police Chases: Deadly Pursuit, un Unreleased Dreamcast qui s'est évadé

Si nous connaissons la version PSX, World's Scariest Police Chases, sortie en 2001 développée par Unique Development Studios et éditée par Activision, nous oublions qu'un jeu de cette licence devait également paraître sur Dreamcast. Il se serait appelé World's Scariest Police Chases: Deadly Pursuit, il aurait été totalement différent tout en suivant un concept similaire.

«Vous l'avez vu à la télévision. Maintenant, c'est votre chance de le vivre. Vous êtes aux commandes des poursuites policières les plus folles qui soient.  (communiqué de presse de la Fox)»

World's Scariest Police Chases: Deadly Pursuit développé par une équipe anglaise, Teeny Weeny Games, était basé sur l'émission télévisée américaine World's Scariest Police Chases, une série de téléréalité de 56 épisodes (1998-2001) diffusés par la Fox montrant des vidéos policières de courses poursuites, d'arrestations par exemple.

«Au départ, c'était un jeu appelé "deadly pursuit", la Fox l'a repris, a ajouté la propriété intellectuelle et en a fait un jeu réservé aux policiers.»

Dreamcast (US) World's Scariest Police Chases Deadly Pursuit FRONT fusion.png

Le jeu se serait déroulé exactement comme dans les reality-shows américains de poursuites de bandits en voiture, et se serait inspiré de leurs angles de caméra et de leurs vues d'hélicoptère. En tant que policier, le joueur aurait eu plusieurs voitures à choix et de nombreuses armes à sa disposition pour tenter d'accomplir plus de 75 missions conçues pour mettre à l'épreuve ses réactions et son sang-froid. Une des fonctionnalités prévue, autre que le mode multijoueur, était la prise en charge du microphone Dreamcast. On aurait pu s'en servir pour appeler les renforts.

«Il ressemblait beaucoup à GTA avant GTA. La ville était en monde ouvert, avec une structure de mission linéaire soutenue par de nombreuses quêtes secondaires.»

World's Scariest Police Chases Deadly Pursuit Dreamcast (beta).jpg

Le scénario était une approche classique des films de binômes policiers, Tango et Cash, l'arme fatale pour en citer quelques-un. Une femme, fanatique d'armes à feu, avec un humour prononcé, faisait équipe avec un homme plus expérimenté et plus calme qu'elle. L'histoire portait sur la drogue, le trafic d'armes, les guerres de territoire entre gangs et  les cartels pour se terminer par des affaires de corruption entre la police et la DEA (une agence fédérale américaine de lutte contre le trafic et la distribution de drogues aux États-Unis).

«Nous avions enregistré le scénario à Los Angeles avec Ice-T comme antagoniste principal et un grand nombre d'acteurs secondaires.»

beta of World's Scariest Police Chases Deadly Pursuit for Dreamcast.jpg

Le jeu de poursuite en voiture était terminé à environ 40%, il était jouable. La Fox a mis fin au projet car elle ne voyait pas d'avenir pour la Dreamcast et ne souhaitait pas continuer à le financer. L'équipe de développement était petite et se réduisait.  Un des programmeurs du jeu avait mentionné qu'ils avaient intégré les voitures, la physique et la plupart de la ville dans le jeu, mais aucune mission n'avait été développée.

«C'est dommage, c'était un jeu magnifique. Ils ont pratiquement tout annulé  car il était clair que la DC était condamnée. C'était aussi une IP très stricte avec un public centré sur l'Amérique

Dreamcast World's Scariest Police Chases Deadly Pursuit beta.jpg

Deadly Pursuit se montrait très discret. Certains sites et magazines avaient quand même pu recevoir des captures d'écrans du titre pour le montrer à leurs lecteurs.

«Il aurait fallu attendre encore un an avant sa sortie, il n'a pas vraiment été couvert.»

Scariest Police Chases: Deadly Pursuit avait du potentiel et aurait pu combler les aficionados de la Dreamcast avec un jeu proche d'un GTA ou d'un Driver.

Merci au producteur/concepteur/scénariste du jeu de faire la lumière sur ce Unreleased de la Dreamcast. Il ne nous manque plus qu'a espérer pouvoir y jouer dans le futur !

World's Scariest Police Chases Deadly Pursuit Dreamcast (prototype).jpg

Il nous apprend également avoir travaillé sur 2 autres projets Dreamcast qui furent annulés, un jeu de motocross pour THQ et un jeu de courses, Paris-Dakar, pour SoftBank. Ces deux projets, au stade de démo technique, n'ont jamais été annoncés. Ils étaient arrivés trop tardivement dans le cycle de vie de la console.

«Dakar n'était vraiment qu'au niveau de la présentation et de la démonstration technique, donc on ne le compte pas comme un jeu :)»

Décidément la Dreamcast a eu un destin tragique. Elle était prédestinée, avant même sa commercialisation, à mourir !