Armada 2 and Dark Angel: Vampire Apocalypse on Dreamcast,  behind the scenes of 2 Unreleased from the company  Metro3D !!!

Metro3D was an American video game development and publishing company founded in 1998. Based in San José, California, the company published several games for various consoles including the Dreamcast.

“The Dreamcast was a special system. As a young team of PC developers, this was our first console, so it was an exciting opportunity. ”

For fans of the spiral console, Metro3D is known to have created the game Armada, an American exclusive.

Metro3D logo.png

TAM TAM TAM TAM TANAM TAM TANAM Armada here we are !!!

The game was set in the indefinite future. Mankind had fled to the stars in an attempt to survive a space fleet, the Armada, led by aliens who destroyed the earth. Centuries later, the survivors will form six distinct factions united by a fragile alliance to fight against the Armada. Revenge is near!

The gameplay is typical of RPGs: it is about increasing the level of your ship so that it withstands more hits and is able to inflict more damage.

“For the first Armada, we wanted to use Random Generation to create a huge play space that four players could co-op explore on the couch.”

The development team faced many technical obstacles including performance issues related to the accumulation of layers of transparency. Sega and Microsoft appearing to be in conflict, the Windows boot operating system (the dreamcast had a dual boot system, native or Windows / CE) was not running efficiently, which hurt their project. It was hard to deliver the game on a tight deadline.

“I think that relationship led Microsoft to want to build their own console rather than trying to cooperate. Sega didn't seem to make a long-term commitment to supporting the second operating system, or even the console itself. ”

Two other Metro3D projects failed, Amarda 2 and Dark Angel. They should  go out on DC. They were canceled for reasons explained below.

“There are so many games that fail. There are thousands of reasons things fall apart, usually political. ”

Armada Dreamast main title.jpg
Armada Dreamcast selection race.jpg
Armada Dreamcast in game.jpg
Dreamcast Windows CE.jpg

Dark Angel: Vampire Apocalypse  and Armada 2, unfinished projects

Dark Angel: Vampire Apocalypse was an action RPG game promising 400 hours of gameplay in which we had to play as a vampire by the name of Anna. The forces of evil had just made their appearance in the world at the dawn of this new year 1670. With the help of his avatar, the player would protect the Townsmen of three cities, preparing them for the next attack which was to come. produce in a year. Anna was going on a crusade against the Shadow Lord and his three armies of monsters: the living dead, the forgotten and the mutants. The Dark Angel, a heroine to follow closely!

Dark Angel Vampire Apocalypse logo.JPG
Anna Dark Angel Vampire Apocalypse artwork.JPG
Dark Angel Dreamcast.JPG

"What I remember is that we had planned to ship Dark Angel on the Dreamcast, but the console was ditched before the game was ready to release and our sales managers decided it would cost us too much. expensive to spend time finishing it to be worth releasing in a market that Sega had essentially abandoned. ”

This title was finally released on Playstation 2 and did not receive good reviews. We can now understand why by knowing its secret development.

“It had to be for PS2. We put together a game that was generated 100% randomly, including the text of the missions. We did the best we could, but no one was very happy with the result. We completely stopped working on Armada 2 at that point. ”

The cancellation of Dark Angel Dreamcast is complex. A new Taiwanese studio was in charge of the Dreamcast port. Despite a great team and a lot of resources, they were unable to make the basics of the game work, worse they hid it at the parent company. Finally, the Taiwanese director made an agreement with another company and took half of his team with him. The four programmers of the American office found themselves having to deliver Dark Angel in four months with nothing and with few usable resources!

“I think the Dreamcast version was far from over, so it wasn't just a matter of fixing a few bugs and getting it certified. It was probably playable because Armada 2 was and they used the same codebase. In many ways you could call Dark Angel an Armada 2 alpha total conversion mod. "

Dark Angel Vampire Apocalypse Dreamcast.JPG

Armada 2: Exodus, was in development, initially for the Dreamcast, then for the Xbox, the Gamecube and possibly the PS2. However, due to repeated delays and rework as well as limited resources, the game was canceled after spending over 4 years in varying degrees of development.

Armada 2 DC had to focus on online multiplayer. A fun online game was born from this project: Armada Online. It operated for 13 years. "

Dreamcast Armada 2 gameplay.jpg
Armada 2 Dreamcast gameplay.jpg

Conclusion

Sales and marketing executives continued to call for rushed games like this. Given Armada 2's delays and Dark Angel's quality issues, they persuaded the CEO to get rid of internal development and just focus on releasing games from other studios. The company will close in 2004.

“I have fond memories of Soul Calibur, Virtua Tennis, Crazy Taxi, Marvel v Capcom and Jet Set Radio on Dreamcast. Everyone thought it was going to be a big hit and there would be an amazing Dreamcast 2. Luckily we still have three strong competitors in the console business, pushing each other to improve, but I miss Sega. . "

Dreamcast press photo

Thanks to Mark Jordan , Designer and lead on Dark Angel and Armada 1 & 2, and Chris Lambert for their testimonials.

Armada 2 et Dark Angel: Vampire Apocalypse sur Dreamcast,  dans les coulisses de 2 Unreleased de la société  Metro3D !!!

Metro3D était une société américaine de développement et d'édition de jeux vidéo fondée en 1998. Basée à San José en Californie, l'entreprise a publié plusieurs jeux pour différentes consoles dont la Dreamcast.

«La Dreamcast était un système spécial. En tant que jeune équipe de développeurs PC, c'était notre première console, c'était donc une opportunité excitante.»

Pour les fans de la console à spirale, Metro3D est connu pour avoir créé le jeu Armada, une exclusivité Américaine.

Metro3D logo.png

TAM TAM TAM TAM TANAM TAM TANAM Armada nous voilà !!!

Le jeu se déroulait dans un futur indéterminé. L'humanité avait fui vers les étoiles pour tenter de survivre à une flotte spatiale, l'Armada, dirigée par des extraterrestres ayant détruit la terre. Des siècles plus tard, les survivants formeront six factions distinctes unies par une alliance fragile afin de lutter contre l'Armada. La vengeance est proche !

Le gameplay est typique des RPG : il s'agit d'augmenter le niveau de votre vaisseau pour qu'il résiste à plus de coups et soit capable d'infliger plus de dégâts.

«Pour le premier Armada, nous voulions utiliser la génération aléatoire pour créer un immense espace de jeu que quatre joueurs pourraient explorer en coopération sur le canapé.»

L'équipe de développement s'est confrontés à de nombreux obstacles techniques notamment des problèmes de performance liés à l'accumulation de couches de transparences. Sega et Microsoft semblant être en conflit, le système d'exploitation de démarrage de Windows (la dreamcast avait un système de double démarrage, natif ou Windows/CE) ne fonctionnait pas efficacement, ce qui a nui à leur projet. Il a été dur de livrer le jeu dans un délai imparti qui était court.

«Je pense que cette relation a conduit Microsoft à vouloir construire sa propre console plutôt que d'essayer de coopérer. Sega ne semblait pas s'engager à soutenir à long terme le second système d'exploitation, ni même la console elle-même.»

Deux autres projets de Metro3D n'ont pas pu aboutir, Amarda 2 et Dark Angel. Ils devaient  sortir sur DC. Ils furent annulés pour des raisons expliquées plus bas.

«Il y a tellement de jeux qui n'aboutissent pas. Il y a des milliers de raisons pour lesquelles les choses s'écroulent, généralement d'ordre politique.»

Armada Dreamast main title.jpg
Armada Dreamcast selection race.jpg
Armada Dreamcast in game.jpg
Dreamcast Windows CE.jpg

Dark Angel : Vampire Apocalypse  et Armada 2, des projets inachevé

Dark Angel : Vampire Apocalypse était un jeu d'action RPG promettant 400 heures de jeu dans lequel nous devions incarner un vampire répondant au nom d'Anna. Les forces du mal venaient de faire leur apparition dans le monde à l'aube de cette nouvelle année 1670. Avec l'aide de son avatar, le joueur allait protéger les Citadins de trois villes  en les préparant à la prochaine attaque qui devait se produire dans un an. Anna partait en croisade contre le Seigneur de l'ombre et ses trois armées de monstres : les morts-vivants, les oubliés et les mutants. Le Dark Angel, une héroïne à suivre de près !

Dark Angel Vampire Apocalypse logo.JPG
Anna Dark Angel Vampire Apocalypse artwork.JPG
Dark Angel Dreamcast.JPG

«Ce dont je me souviens, c'est que nous avions prévu d'expédier Dark Angel sur la Dreamcast, mais la console a été abandonnée avant que le jeu ne soit prêt à sortir et nos responsables commerciaux ont décidé qu'il nous coûterait trop cher de passer du temps à le terminer pour qu'il vaille la peine de le sortir sur un marché que Sega avait essentiellement abandonné.»

Ce titre est finalement sorti sur Playstation 2 et n'a pas reçu de bonnes critiques. On peut désormais comprendre pourquoi en connaissant son développement cachotique.

«Il fallait que ce soit pour PS2. Nous avons monté un jeu qui était généré à 100% de façon aléatoire, y compris le texte des missions. Nous avons fait du mieux que nous pouvions, mais personne n'était très satisfait du résultat. Nous avons totalement arrêté de travailler sur Armada 2 à ce moment-là.»

L'annulation de Dark Angel Dreamcast est complexe. Un nouveau studio Taïwanais était en charge du portage Dreamcast. Malgré une grande équipe et beaucoup de ressources, ils ont été dans l'incapacité de faire fonctionner les bases du jeu, pire ils l'ont caché à la maison mère. Enfin, le directeur taïwanais a passé un accord avec une autre société et a emmené la moitié de son team avec lui. Les quatre programmeurs du bureau américain se sont retrouvé à devoir livrer Dark Angel en quatre mois sans rien et avec peu de ressources utilisables !

«Je pense que la version Dreamcast était loin d'être terminée, il ne s'agissait donc pas seulement de corriger quelques bugs et de la faire certifier. Elle était probablement jouable parce qu'Armada 2 l'était et qu'ils utilisaient la même base de code. À bien des égards, on pourrait appeler Dark Angel un mod de conversion totale d'Armada 2 alpha.»

Dark Angel Vampire Apocalypse Dreamcast.JPG

Armada 2 : Exodus, était en cours de développement, initialement pour la Dreamcast, puis pour la Xbox, la Gamecube et peut-être la PS2. Cependant, en raison de retards et de remaniements répétés ainsi que de ressources limitées, le jeu a été annulé après avoir passé plus de 4 ans à divers degrés de développement.

«Armada 2 DC devait mettre l'accent sur le multijoueur en ligne. Un jeu en ligne amusant est né de ce projet : Armada Online. Il a fonctionné pendant 13 ans.»

Dreamcast Armada 2 gameplay.jpg
Armada 2 Dreamcast gameplay.jpg

Conclusion

Les responsables des ventes et du marketing ont continué à réclamer des jeux précipités de ce type. Compte tenu des retards d'Armada 2 et des problèmes de qualité de Dark Angel, ils ont persuadé le PDG de se débarrasser du développement interne et de se concentrer uniquement sur la publication de jeux d'autres studios. La société fermera en 2004.

«J'ai de bons souvenirs de Soul Calibur, Virtua Tennis, Crazy Taxi, Marvel v Capcom et Jet Set Radio sur Dreamcast. Tout le monde pensait qu'elle allait être un grand succès et qu'il y aurait une incroyable Dreamcast 2. Heureusement, nous avons encore trois concurrents forts dans le secteur des consoles, qui se poussent mutuellement à s'améliorer, mais Sega me manque.»

Dreamcast press photo

Merci à Mark Jordan, le Designer et le lead sur Dark Angel et Armada 1 & 2, et Chris Lambert pour leurs témoignages.