The adventures of SEGA

After Sega Logistics and Sega France after-sales service , let's focus on the rise of the firm with the blue hedgehog and its dizzying fall.

Let us not forget the French launch of the Dreamcast, its online connectivity and the brief rebirth of the brand.

Some anecdotes will be told to you including one about Propeller Arena .

This is a compendium of end-to-end information that I archived over a period of 6 years. They may reflect the experience of individuals and not necessarily reality. Good reading !

A glimpse into the history of Sega France through the ages

For the record, Virgin Loisirs became Sega Franc at the end of 1991, Sega Japan having taken over direct distribution. These pioneers will be called the "historical". It was a team, a big family where they had the feeling of working with wonderful colleagues.

Team Sega France, launch of the Dreamcast

Sega France team (époque dreamcast)

The Sega brand was in the top 5 of the most well-known company names behind Coca Cola according to an in-house study carried out during the Megadrive period. The "Sega is stronger than you" ads have helped a lot.

At the beginning of the nineties, the sales figures exploded, a merciless war was declared against Nintendo. It was another time when money was flowing, there were seminars in the islands with buyers, for the 1993 Formula 1 season the whole team had gone to Le Mans by TGV to visit the paddocks. We will also remember the millions injected for the European Formula 1 Grand Prix in the same year.

 

The Sega train was an abyss in cost. It was the record of money spent per target hit. They had calculated the number of visitors / budget. He couldn't "technically" reach more people.

Euro Challenge, Sega train

Train Sega Euro Challenge 1993.jpg

The war between manufacturers was still good, there were tensions like us between Super Nintendo players and Megadrive. The meetings between the various representatives and manufacturers were warmly communicated.

The failure of the Saturn marked the end of Sega France's first period. A Saturn at 2900 francs could not compete with a Playstation at 1990 or 2490 francs. Ridge Racer was running in all outlets, the Sony wave was starting.

The Saturn vs PlayStation had been a drama. There were not many parts and the price was exorbitant, the Saturn, a suicide announced.

After Sega Japan's mistakes in firing all game designers (Saturn period), there was the creation of a lot of third parties including Acclaim who picked up tech from Sega. Hardly any third party has developed a game for the Saturn because of the maneuver in Tokyo of treating everyone like pawns.

 

The Sony group had considerable means to impose itself and especially the financial means to obtain temporary exclusives with third-party publishers.

 

In six months, Sega was no longer making any sales, Christmas 1995 was the beginning of the end. After voluntary departures, the Japanese made a great social plan. By June 1996, more than 150 people had left the company. Sega was just a shadow of herself. This will close the first chapter of Sega France which will have lasted 5 years.

The second period was difficult to live for some "historical", many left in other companies like Sony, Acclaim or Disney. The change of direction and policy is not for nothing.

Whats shenmue

Sega Dreamcast président.jpg

The renaissance with the Dreamcast was brief. Sega was the zero level of management. Without Isao Okawa's personal fortune, everything would have stopped after the Saturn crash for the reasons seen above.

In Tokyo the atmosphere was unequivocal. As long as Isao Okawa gave the banks the guarantee, it held. In March 2001 he died, everything was closed, the banks said Stop. Japanese management was a disaster and not just for Sega. They couldn't handle it when there was a little wind in the sails.

The departure of the offices of Sega France was done by a great vacuum cleaning. A massive campaign of destruction was launched when Bigben arrived. Very little was saved. Perhaps hot air balloons which unfortunately with the vagaries of time and the cost of storage ended up in the dumpster a few years ago.

When Sega became a third-party publisher, it was hard to adapt and sell to those who were then their competitors.

Some anecdotes

The commercial failure of the Action Chair Megaddrive !!!

350 Sega Megadrive chairs were sold to Fnac, 600 others were destroyed.

 

1 armchair = 1 euro for pallet space, imagine the cost of storage!

 

Outside of Fnac, there were maybe 20 sales! So invoicing of 950 pallets each month by the warehouse. (950 E)

A big plastic rally-like chair mounted on a big joystick with which we turned while leaning, a stupid thing! The employees of sega France used it to make competitions in the office. Sega tried to offer them to the staff but no one wanted them.

When a salesperson sold 350 pieces at knockdown prices at Fnac, it was party time at the office, Pizza and Coke for everyone! The buyer of Fnac must have regretted his purchase. It was offered with the purchase of a MEGA CD at Fnac.

A helicopter for the Marketing department !!!

For an event which took place in Courchevelle, the Marketing product manager found himself with 12 dreamcast demonstration units in the lower station. They had no way of getting the equipment up to the top station for a party that started around 9pm.

Caught off guard, at 5 p.m., they found a helicopter and a pilot in the process. He had his furniture ready to be used for his fiesta.

 

Calculate the price of a rotation for a helicopter then twelve!

Action Chair Sega Megadrive.png
Hélicoptère article Sega marketing anecd

What if a stock of Propeller Arena existed !!!

Everyone knows the story of Tetris on Megadrive. The game would have been produced and then its stock destroyed. About ten copies were saved.

The Dreamcast game Propeller Arena may have suffered the same fate. Some at Sega of America make this hypothesis without being able to confirm it.

The release date was scheduled a week after its cancellation. Copies may be lying dormant. If September 11 had not happened (the reason for its cancellation), it would undoubtedly have been delayed. Pre-production copies ( Silver ) were made. No destruction order was given. The stock may still be sleeping in the back of a warehouse!

"The funny thing is the release date was a week away when they canceled it so

I still think there has to be retail copies sitting in a warehouse somewhere! But all of the people I asked told me they were never actually made and that the game was going to be delayed if Sept 11 hadn't happened. Who knows if they were telling the truth

 

it was canceled solely because of Sept 11. And it was totally done too, packaging and everything, though no retail copies were ever made. Its a good game too! Just bad timing.

Propeller Arena Dreamcast.jpg
Atari_E.T._Dig-_Alamogordo,_New_Mexico_(

I did own a Propeller Arena silver. Maybe someday they will see the light of day! I know they didn't go and destroy anything, so they are somewhere if they were made "

The launch of the dreamcast and its network

The morning of the launch of the Dreamcast in France, the online network was not working. Four Paris-London round trips with a jet specially chartered for SEGA were necessary to resolve the problems by going to BT (English operator). At 9 p.m., the consoles could connect to Dreamarena.

The cost of the Dreamcast's failed launch would have cost more than renting an airplane.

During network tests, one of the numbers assigned by France Telecom to Sega France was the number of an individual. The poor man was getting dozens of modem calls trying to connect!

It would have been possible to operate the online network all over Europe from England. Sega France, for example, had solutions with SFR which relayed for BT . A Relay farm was established in each region. Switzerland, which had to wait a minimum of 6 months to experience the pleasure of the Online, could have been connected from the start in eastern France.

There were 2 launches for the Dreamcast in France, one intimate and one official. At Virgin Champs-Élysées for the sales launch and the official VIP launch party at the France America show .

The Dreamcast with Rocco Siffredi's signature was one of the consoles used during the party at the Virgin Mega Store , the first time Sega connected Dreamarena in public. It was sold a few years ago on Ebay.

Rocco signed the console that gave the official Top of the Dreamcast launch. It is the first public Dreamcast console to have shot in France.

He was a friend of a guy from Sega.

Invitation card for the launch evening of the "Salon France Amérique" dreamcast

Dreamcast, lancement français invitation
TrickStyle Dreamcast Rocco Siffred dreamcast pub.j

Failing to be able to scan it, some photos of a Dreamcast Marketing brochure in relief.

It was designed by Sonic Team in London under the control of marketing France, using the graphic charter defined by Sonic Team London and Tokyo.

It was given to journalists and customers of power plants

Toy's "r" Us, Micromania, Fnac etc ... and newspapers in all media (specialized in games and daily or weekly press) without forgetting specialized TV programs and journalists (Collaro, Drevet, Chevalet).

He explains the network set up for the promotion of the launch of the console.

You can download it in PDF and photo here

La montée en puissance de Sega France et sa chute vertigineuse !

Après la Logistique de Sega et le SAV de Sega France, attardons-nous sur la montée en puissance de la firme à l'hérisson bleu et à sa chute vertigineuse.

N'oublions pas le lancement français de la Dreamcast, sa connectivité online et la brève renaissance de la marque.

Quelques anecdotes vous seront racontées dont une à propos de Propeller Arena.

Il s'agit d'un condensé d'informations mises bout à bout  que j'ai archivé sur une période de 6 ans.  Elles peuvent refléter l'expérience des individus et non pas forcément la réalité. Bonne lecture !

Un aperçu de l'histoire de Sega France à travers les âges

Pour la petite histoire, Virgin Loisirs devînt Sega Franc fin 1991, Sega Japon ayant repris la distribution en direct. On appellera ces pionniers, les "historiques". C'était un team, une grande famille où ils avaient le sentiment de travailler avec des collègues merveilleux.

Team Sega France, lancement de la Dreamcast

Sega France team (époque dreamcast)

La marque Sega était dans le top 5 des noms de sociétés les plus connus derrière Coca Cola selon une étude réalisée à l'interne durant la période Megadrive. Les publicités "Sega c'est plus fort que toi" ont bien aidé.

Au début des années nonantes, les chiffres de ventes explosaient,   une guerre sans merci était déclarée contre Nintendo. C'était une autre époque où l'argent ruisselait, il y avait des séminaires dans les îles avec les acheteurs, pour la saison de formule de 1 de 1993 toute le team était parti au Mans en TGV visiter les paddocks. On se souviendra également des millions injectés pour le Grand Prix Européen de Formule 1 la même année.

 

Le train Sega fut un abîme en coût. C'était le record d'argent dépensé par cible touchée. Ils avaient fait le calcul nombre de visiteurs/ budget. Il ne pouvait pas " techniquement" atteindre plus de personnes.

Euro Challenge, train Sega

Train Sega Euro Challenge 1993.jpg

La guerre entre constructeurs restait bon enfant, il y avait des tensions comme nous entre les joueurs Super Nintendo et Megadrive. Les réunions entre les différents représentants communications  constructeurs étaients chaleureuses.

L'échec de la  Saturn marqua la fin de la première période de Sega France . Une Saturn à 2900 francs ne pouvait pas rivaliser avec une Playstation à 1990 ou 2490 francs. Ridge Racer tournait dans tous les points de vente, la déferlante Sony commençait.

La Saturn vs PlayStation avait été un drame. Il n'y avait pas beaucoup de  pièces et le prix était exorbitant, la Saturn, un suicide annoncé.

Après les erreurs de Sega Japon en virant tous les concepteurs de jeux (période Saturn ), il y a eu la création de beaucoup de third party dont Acclaim qui a récupéré des techs de Sega. Pratiquement aucune third party n'a développé de jeu pour la Saturn à cause de la manœuvre à Tokyo de traiter tout le monde comme de vulgaires pions.

 

Le groupe Sony avait des moyens considérables pour s'imposer et surtout les moyens financiers d'obtenir des exclusivités temporaires avec les éditeurs tiers.

 

En six mois, Sega ne faisait plus aucune vente, Noël 1995 fut le début de la fin. Après des départs volontaires, les Japonais ont fait un grand plan social. En juin 1996, plus de 150 personnes avaient quitté l'entreprise. Sega n'était plus que l'ombre d'elle-même. Ceci clôtura le premier chapitre de Sega France qui aura duré 5 ans.

La deuxième période fut difficile à vivre pour certains "historiques ", beaucoup sont partis dans d'autre sociétés comme Sony, Acclaim ou Disney. Le changement de direction et de politique n'y est pas pour rien.

Whats Shenmue

Sega Dreamcast président.jpg

La renaissance avec la Dreamcast fut brève. Sega était le niveau zéro du management. Sans la fortune personnelle d'Isao Okawa, tout se serait arrêté après le plantage de Saturn pour les raisons vues plus haut.

À Tokyo l’ambiance était sans équivoque. Tant qu'Isao Okawa donnait la garantie aux banques, ça tenait. En mars 2001 il est mort, tout était bouclé, les banques ont dit Stop. Le management japonais était une catastrophe et pas que pour Sega. Ils ne savaient pas gérer quand il y avait un peu de vent dans les voiles.

Le départ des bureaux de Sega France s'est fait par un grand nettoyage par le vide. Une grosse campagne de destruction a été lancée lorsque Bigben arriva. Très peu de choses furent sauvées. Peut-être des montgolfières qui hélas avec les aléas du temps et le coût de stockage ont fini à la benne il y a quelques années.

Lorsque Sega passa éditeur tiers, ce fut dur à s'adapter et vendre à ceux qui étaient alors leurs concurrents.

Quelques anecdotes

L'échec commercial de l'Action Chair Megaddrive !!!

350 fauteuils Sega Megadrive furent vendues à la Fnac, 600 autres ont été détruit.

 

1 fauteuil = 1 euro place palette, imaginez-vous le prix de stockage !

 

En dehors de la Fnac, il y a  eu peut-être 20 ventes ! Donc facturation de 950 palettes chaque mois par l'entrepôt.(950 E ) 

Un gros fauteuil genre rallye en plastique monté sur un gros joystick avec lequel on tournait en se penchant, un truc a la con ! Les employés de sega France s'en servaient pour faire des concours au bureau. Sega essayait de les offrir au personnel mais personne n'en voulait.

Quand un commercial a vendu 350 pièces à prix cassé à la Fnac, c'était la fête au bureau, Pizza et coca pour tout le monde ! L'acheteur de la Fnac a dû regretter son achat. Il était offert à l'achat d'une MEGA CD à la Fnac.

Un hélicoptère pour le département Marketing !!!

Pour un évènement  qui avait lieu à Courchevelle, le chef produit Marketing s'était retrouvé avec 12 meubles de démonstrations dreamcast dans la station du bas. Ils n'avaient aucun moyen de monter le matériel à la station du haut pour une soirée qui démarrait vers les 21 heures.

Pris au dépourvu, à 17 h, ils ont trouvé dans la foulée un hélicoptère et un pilote. Il a eu ses meubles prêts à être utilisés pour sa fiesta.

 

Faites le calcul du prix d'une rotation pour un hélicoptère alors douze !

Action Chair Sega Megadrive.png
Hélicoptère article Sega marketing anecd

Et si un stock de Propeller Arena existait !!!

Tout le monde connaît l'histoire de Tetris sur Megadrive. Le jeu aurait été produit puis son stock détruit. Une dizaine de copies ont été sauvées.

Il se peut que le jeu  Dreamcast Propeller Arena ait subi le même sort. Certains de chez Sega of America émettent cette hypothèse sans avoir pu la confirmer.

La date de sortie était prévue une semaine après son annulation. Des copies dorment peut-être dans un dépôt . Si le 11 septembre n'avait pas eu lieu ( la cause de son annulation), il aurait été sans doute retardé. Des copies de préproduction (Silver) ont été faites. Aucun ordre de destruction n'a été donné. Le stock dort peut-être toujours au fond d'un entrepôt !

"The funny thing is the release date was a week away when they cancelled it so

I still think there has to be retail copies sitting in a warehouse somewhere!  But all of the people I asked told me they were never actually made and that the game was going to be delayed if Sept 11 hadn't happened.  Who knows if they were telling the truth

 

it was cancelled solely because of Sept 11. And it was totally done too, packaging and everything, though no retail copies were ever made. Its a good game too! Just bad timing.

Propeller Arena Dreamcast.jpg
Atari_E.T._Dig-_Alamogordo,_New_Mexico_(

I did own a Propeller Arena silver. Maybe someday they will see the light of day!  I know they didn't go and destroy anything, so they are somewhere if they were made"

Le lancement de la dreamcast et de son réseau

Le matin du lancement de la Dreamcast en France, le réseau online ne fonctionnait pas . Quatre allers-retours Paris- Londres avec un jet spécialement affrété pour SEGA furent nécessaires pour résoudre les problèmes en se rendant chez BT (opérateur anglais). À 21 h, les consoles pouvaient se connecter à Dreamarena.

Le coût du lancement raté de la Dreamcast aurait coûté plus cher que la location d'un avion.

Lors des essais du réseau, un des numéros attribué par France Télécom à Sega France était le numéro d'un particulier. Le pauvre recevait des dizaines d'appels de modem qui essayaient de se connecter !

Il aurait été possible de faire marcher le réseau online partout en Europe depuis l'Angleterre. Sega France, par exemple, avait des solutions avec SFR qui relayait pour BT. Une ferme Relay était implantée dans chaque région. La Suisse qui du attendre minimum 6 mois pour connaître le plaisir de l'Online aurait pu être connectée dès le départ sur l'Est de la France.

Il y a eu 2 lancements pour la Dreamcast en France, un intimiste et un officiel. Chez Virgin Champs-Élysées pour le lancement ventes et la soirée de lancement VIP officielle au salon France Amérique.

La Dreamcast avec la signature de Rocco Siffredi était une des consoles utilisée lors de la soirée au Virgin Mega Store, la première fois que Sega connecta Dreamarena en public. Elle a été vendue il y a quelques années sur Ebay.

Rocco a signé la console qui a donné le Top officiel du lancement de la Dreamcast. C'est la première console Dreamcast publique à avoir tourné en France.

Il etait le pote d'un gars de chez Sega.

Carton d'invitation soirée lancement de la dreamcast "Salon France Amérique"

Dreamcast, lancement français invitation
TrickStyle Dreamcast Rocco Siffred dreamcast pub.j

À défaut de pouvoir le scanner, quelques photos d'un fascicule Dreamcast Marketing en relief.

Il a été dessiné par Sonic Team à Londres sous le contrôle du marketing France en reprenant la charte graphique définie par Sonic Team Londres et Tokyo.

Il était remis aux journalistes et aux clients des centrales

Toy’s « r » Us, Micromania, Fnac etc...et les journaux  tous supports (spécialisés jeux et presse quotidienne ou hebdomadaire) sans oublier les émissions et journalistes spécialisés Tv (Collaro, Drevet, Chevalet).

Il explique le réseau mis en place pour la promo du lancement de la console.

Vous pouvez le télécharger en PDF et photo ici