Three accessories / devices canceled from the Dreamcast

The Dreamcast did not have the life it deserved, many now agree. A large number of projects were canceled following the announcement of Sega to withdraw from the race to the manufacturers. If we know the Unreleased games, we forget that accessories, sometimes surprising, were also abandoned.

From the online game to the reservation of concert tickets through listening to MP3s and video dialogue, the whole aspect of the Dreamcast connected to the net was planned. Sega believed in the possibilities Online with a catalog of accessories more than complete, some of which will never see the light of day. Sega was investing in I-mode by offering many services linking the Dreamcast and the web by cell phone, for example.

The Japanese firm wanted  transform your last console into a multimedia station  as the Dreamcast Zip Drive proves.

Various accessories

Dreamcast Accessory.jpg

DVD player (Unreleased)

Dreamcast DVD Player

A mysterious tablet

Sega Dreamcast mysterious Accessory.webp

A Swatch watch connected to a Dreamcast:

The Swatch Group SA is a multinational company headquartered in Neuchâtel, Switzerland. It is the largest watch company in the world. It produces a wide variety of watches ( Swatch , Flik Flak , Omega ) and manufacturing elements for them.

Internet time was introduced and marketed by the Swiss group in 1998. One of the main objectives of this concept was to have universal time by abolishing any notion of time zone. In this system, the hours, minutes and seconds are replaced by a unit called "Beats". A 24 hour day corresponds to 1000 beats.

Swatch Switzerland logo.jpg

Sega used internet time for its Phantasy Star Online online games released in 2000 to facilitate intercontinental games between the Japanese , Americans and Europeans .

On February 14, 2000, Swiss watchmaker Swatch and Japanese video game maker Sega announced a technical cooperation agreement in Tokyo. The goal: to develop a range of new products capable, on the Internet, of ensuring the marriage between a watch and a video game console. Swatch and Sega believed that it was possible to communicate a watch and a video game console through the Internet.

Phantasy Star Online Dreamcast Internet Time.jpg

The launch of the accessory was scheduled for April 2000. Its  price was set at around 120 - 155 Euros.

Swatch had a watch called " Access " with a memory, like that of a computer, which could record data. This series of watches had two types of chips inside: a SkiData chip, which allowed access to different ski resorts, and a chip which allowed to pay for all kinds of things like drinks, museum passes or ski passes. public transport.

Sega wanted to allow the watch to use the full potential of the Dreamcast game console.

Dreamcast swatch accessoire.jpg

The user of a watch could have read the information contained in its memory by plugging into connection points installed by Sega in cinemas, museums ect. in order to connect to the DC via the net from anywhere!

By using "Internet & Wearable" technology, the Swatch Access watch would have interfaced with the Dreamcast via a controller plugin using RFID technology (technology which makes it possible to save and retrieve data remotely on so-called chips. or RFID tags or radio tags) inside the watch.

Dreamcast swatch acccessoire présentation photo.jpg

The Sega network connected watch project ended at the same time as the Dreamcast project, with the death of director Isao Okawa .

The Swatch archivist about the project:

Knowing the (proven) technology used for this connection, it is likely that the prototype was functional; it remains to be seen whether the network itself had been tested. I do not know and I have no documentation on this subject. In my opinion, the shutdown of the project is not due to a technological problem but mainly linked to the shutdown of the Dreamcast. "

The only product that came out on the market, the result of a partnership between Swatch and Sega ,  is the Swatch Sonic The Hedgehog (SQK101) in 2001.

Dreamcast swatch accessoire

A limited console prototype, the Dreamcast " Swatch Club " was presented at a press conference. Its production phase never started. Its location still remains a mystery. Does it still exist where it was destroyed? Sega Japan may well have the answer ...

Sega dreamcast Swatch Nicolas Hayek
Console Dreamcast Limited Swatch Club.jpg
Swatch Sonic The Hedgehog (SQK101) 1.jpg

Dreamcast Pace-VR, a 2 in 1 TV box

Dreamcast TV Box (PACE) prototype

Today, everyone has a TV decoder in order to access our favorite channels. The more sophisticated models offer additional functions such as connecting to the internet or playing. In 2001, a box stamped Sega almost saw the light of day.

PACE , a British company specializing in TV decoders, had made an agreement with Sega to create a TV box incorporating the hardware of the Dreamcast. It was presented on January 29, 2001, a few days before the announcement of Sega to stop production of its console.

Sega Dreamcast TV Box prototype

The device did not have a GD-Rom reader. The games, for download, were recorded on a hard drive of 40 GB, an impressive size for the time.

A channel offering the catalog of Dreamcast games was planned for the TV box. It was used to download demos or full games for a $ 20 monthly subscription, Xbox Game Pass ahead of time.

Online games were in the game with the addition of a video conference function allowing you to see your opponents in a corner of the screen, much like the Dreameye, an accessory released only in Japan.

Dreamcast TV Box Pace.jpg

During the presentation of the Sega-Pace , some softs were playable like Sonic Adventure 2 , Shenmue and Crazy taxi . They worked perfectly. The hard drive could accommodate around 50 titles. Other types of content could be downloaded like music and even backup files.

A release was slated for 2002 with a selling price of £ 450. PACE was also considering boxes for Gamecube, Playstation 2 and Xbox.

" Sega was expressing its desire to provide Dreamcast hardware to devices other than game consoles in order to expand its market."

The project was abandoned along the way probably because of the disastrous financial situation of the Japanese manufacturer.

Where is this prototype hiding? Would it be possible to make it functional like 20 years ago?

MP3 music player

The MP3 player was  a large VMU to connect to the console through the controller port to download songs from the Internet. We assume that he could connect to a PC to record the music of our choice.

Sega had little communicated about it, no technical information was ever revealed.

The MP3 VMU was interesting since it could store 2 hours of music. With a capacity of 64 MB, it was going to be sold for around 90 Euro.

The accessory was presented at the Tokyo Game Show in 2000 along with a video. This presentation suggests that the project was well advanced.

Dreamcast VMU MP3
Dreamcast MP3 Unreleased.jpg

My article on another canceled prop from the Dreamcast:  The Dreamcast Zip Drive

Trois accessoires/périphéiques annulés de la Dreamcast

La Dreamcast n'a pas eu la vie qu'elle méritait, beaucoup s'accordent aujourd'hui à le dire. Un grand nombre de projets ont été annulé suite à l'annonce de Sega de se retirer de la course aux constructeurs. Si nous connaissons les jeux Unreleased, nous oublions que des accessoires, parfois étonnants, furent également abandonnés.

Du jeu online à la réservation de places de concert en passant par l'écoute de MP3 et le dialogue vidéo, tout l'aspect de la Dreamcast branchée sur le net était prévu. Sega croyait aux possibilités Online avec un catalogue d'accessoires plus que complet dont certains qui ne verront jamais le jour. Sega investissait dans l'I-mode en proposant de nombreux services liant la Dreamcast et le web par téléphone portable par exemple.

La firme japonaise voulait  transformer sa dernière console en station multimédia  comme le prouve le lecteur Zip Drive Dreamcast.

Divers accessoires

Dreamcast Accessory.jpg

Lecteur DVD (Unreleased)

Dreamcast DVD Player

Une mystérieuses tablette

Sega Dreamcast mysterious Accessory.webp

Une montre Swatch connectée à une Dreamcast :

The Swatch Group SA est une entreprise multinationale dont le siège se situe à Neuchâtel en Suisse. C'est la plus grande société d'horlogerie du monde. Elle produit une grande variété de montre (Swatch, Flik Flak, Omega) et d'éléments de fabrication pour celles-ci.

L'heure d'Internet fut introduite et commercialisée par le groupe Suisse en 1998. L'un des objectifs principaux de ce concept était d'avoir une heure universelle en abolissant toute notion de fuseau horaire. Dans ce système, les heures, minutes et secondes sont remplacées par une unité appelée "Beats". Une journée de 24 h correspond à 1000 beats.

Swatch Switzerland logo.jpg

Sega utilisa l'heure d'internet pour son jeux en ligne Phantasy Star Online sorti en 2000 afin de faciliter les parties intercontinentales entre les Japonais, les Américains et les Européens.

Le 14 février 2000, l’horloger suisse Swatch et le fabricant japonais de jeu vidéo Sega annonca à Tokyo un accord de coopération technique. Le but: développer une gamme de nouveaux produits capables, sur Internet, d'assurer le mariage entre une montre et une console de jeux vidéo. Swatch et Sega pensaient qu'il était possible de faire communiquer une montre et une console de jeux vidéo à travers Internet.

Phantasy Star Online Dreamcast Internet Time.jpg

Le lancement de l'accessoire était prévu pour avril 2000. Son  prix était fixé à environ 120 - 155 Euros.

Swatch disposait d'une montre nommée "Access" dotée d'une mémoire, comme celle d'un ordinateur, qui pouvait enregistrer des données. Cette série de montre possédait deux types de puces à l'intérieur : une puce SkiData, qui permettait d'accéder à différentes stations de ski, et une puce qui permettait de payer toutes sortes de choses comme des boissons, des pass de musée où les transports en commun.

Sega voulait permettre à la montre d'utiliser tout le potentiel de la console de jeux Dreamcast.

Dreamcast swatch accessoire.jpg

L'utilisateur d'une montre aurait pu lire les informations contenues dans la mémoire de celle-ci en se branchant sur des points de connexion installés par Sega dans des cinémas, des musées ect. afin de se connecter à la DC via le net de n'importe où!

En utilisant la technologie "Internet & Wearable", la montre Swatch Access se serait interfacée avec la Dreamcast via un plugin de contrôleur utilisant la technologie RFID (technologie qui permet de sauvegarder et récupérer des données à distance sur ce que l'on appelle des puces ou tags RFID ou encore des radios-étiquettes) à l'intérieur de la montre.

Dreamcast swatch acccessoire présentation photo.jpg

Le projet de montre connectée au réseau Sega s’est arrêtée en même temps que le projet Dreamcast, avec le décès du directeur Isao Okawa.

L'archiviste de Swatch au sujet du projet :

«Connaissant la technologie (éprouvée) utilisée pour cette connexion, il est probable que le prototype était fonctionnel ; reste à savoir si le réseau en lui-même avait été testé. Je l’ignore et je n’ai pas de documentation à ce sujet. À mon avis, l’arrêt du projet n’est pas dû à une problématique technologique mais essentiellement lié à l’arrêt de la Dreamcast.»

Le seul produit qui est sorti sur le marché, fruit d'un partenariat entre Swatch et Sega,  est la Swatch Sonic The Hedgehog (SQK101) en 2001.

Dreamcast swatch accessoire

Un prototype de console limited, la Dreamcast «Swatch Club» fut présenté en conférence de presse. Sa phase de production n'a jamais débuté. Sa localisation demeure toujours un mystère. Existe-t-elle toujours où fut elle détruite? Sega Japon pourrait bien avoir la réponse...

Sega dreamcast Swatch Nicolas Hayek
Console Dreamcast Limited Swatch Club.jpg
Swatch Sonic The Hedgehog (SQK101) 1.jpg

Dreamcast Pace-VR, une box TV 2 en 1

Dreamcast TV Box (PACE) prototype

Aujourd'hui, tout le monde possède un décodeur TV afin d'accéder à nos chaînes préférées. Les modèles les plus sophistiqués proposent des fonctions supplémentaires comme se connecter à internet ou jouer. En 2001, une box estampillée Sega faillit voir le jour.

PACE, une société britannique spécialisée dans les décodeurs TV, avait passé un accord avec Sega dans le but de créer une box TV incorporant le hardware de la Dreamcast. Elle fut présentée le 29 janvier 2001, quelques jours avant l'annonce de Sega d'arrêter la production de sa console.

Sega Dreamcast TV Box prototype

Le périphérique ne disposait pas de lecteur GD-Rom. Les jeux, à télécharger, s'enregistraient sur un disque dur de 40 Go, une taille impressionnante pour l'époque.

Une chaîne proposant le catalogue des jeux de la Dreamcast était prévue pour la box TV. Elle servait à télécharger des démos ou des jeux complets moyennant un abonnement de 20 dollars mensuel, le Xbox Game Pass avant l'heure.

Les jeux en ligne étaient de la partie avec l'ajout d'une fonction de vidéo-conférence permettant de voir ses adversaires dans un coin de l'écran, un peu comme le Dreameye, un accessoire sorti uniquement au Japon.

Dreamcast TV Box Pace.jpg

Lors de la présentation de la Sega-Pace, quelques softs étaient jouables comme Sonic Adventure 2, Shenmue et Crazy taxi. Ils fonctionnaient parfaitement. Le disque dur pouvait accueillir environ 50 titres. D'autres types de contenu pouvaient être téléchargés comme de la musique et même des fichiers de sauvegarde.

Une sortie était prévue en 2002 avec un prix de vente de 450 £. PACE songeait également à des box pour Gamecube, Playstation 2 et Xbox.

«Sega avouait son désir de vouloir fournir du hardware Dreamcast à des appareils autres que les consoles de jeux afin d'étendre son marché.»

Le projet fut abandonné en cours de route probablement à cause de la situation financière désastreuse du constructeur japonais.

Ou se cache ce prototype ? Serait-il possible de le rendre fonctionnel comme il y a 20 ans ?

Le lecteur de musique MP3

Le lecteur MP3 était  une grande VMU à connecter à la console via le port contrôleur pour télécharger des chansons sur Internet. Nous supposons qu'il pouvait se connecter à un PC pour enregistrer la musique de notre choix.

Sega avait peu communiqué à son sujet, aucune information technique n'a jamais été dévoilé.

La VMU MP3 était intéressante puisqu'elle pouvait stocker 2 heures de musique. D'une capacité de 64 Mo, elle allait être vendue environ 90 Euro.

L'accessoire avait été présenté au Tokyo Game Show en 2000 avec une vidéo. Cette présentation suggère que le projet était bien avancé.

Dreamcast VMU MP3
Dreamcast MP3 Unreleased.jpg

Mon article sur autre accessoire annulé de la Dreamcast :  Le lecteur Zip Drive Dreamcast