top of page

The history of No Cliché and its original Dreamcast games, from Toy Commander to Agartha... not forgetting Toy Racer !

No Cliché was a development studio created in 1997 by Sega, and supervised by Frédérick Raynal. The small French company was composed of most of the former members who worked on one of the very first survival-horror made in 1992: Alone in the Dark. The company was based in Lyon (74, rue Maurice Flandin69003) and employed 22 people: graphic designers, programmers, game designers, musician, etc. They all shared the same passion: designing video games!

No Cliché's adventure with Sega lasted 4 years, during which they created the studio's most emblematic game: Toy Commander. Other titles followed, such as Toy Racer, Quake 3 Arena (coding only) and Agartha, which was cancelled.

Following Sega's abandonment as a console manufacturer, the company will cease operations in 2001.

The history of No Cliché

In 1992 the game Alone in the Dark was released by Infogrames. It is considered today as the precursor of survival-horror. The game created by Frédérick and a team of 7 people allowed its author to become known to the general public and to make a name for himself internationally.

In 1993, several disagreements with Infogrames and Frédérick Raynal forced the designer to leave the French publisher, accompanied by Didier Chanfray (quotes in italics on this page), and to found their own development company called Adeline Software. From this new entity, Little Big Adventure was born in less than 2 years, selling 500,000 copies (first edition). It was such a success that a second episode was immediately started. In the meantime, Time Commando was released on PS1 and PC. The year Little Big Adventure 2 was released (800,000 units sold) marked an important step in what would become the future No Cliché.

No Cliché studio logo

No Cliché at the 24 hours of Kart. They will beat those of the Eden studio.  Frédérick Raynal's daughter was born the next day.

Sega had a roadmap, the management was striving to own European studios. The goal was to cater to all continents by offering players the style of game that best suited them. Japanese games tended not to sell well outside Japan (cultural differences). The manufacturer had signed up several large studios across the globe to enrich its future catalogue of titles to be released on Dreamcast.

«Sega was a great experience. I learned a lot, especially from the game designers. We had been to Japan a few times, we talked to other designers like Sega Rally, Sonic, Jet Set Radio, super humble guys. We had a good relationship.»

Team No Cliché Frédérick Raynal

Sega's takeover of the studio was by chance. Every year, the Japanese company used to visit the members of Adeline Software. The company with the blue hedgehog was investigating to find external developers (Third Party) in order to program games on a new console, the Katana, which will become the Dreamcast. As in 1997 Delphine Groupe had decided to sell Adeline Software, Frédérick Raynal took the opportunity to point this out.

«It was the first time we were with a manufacturer. I had been with a publisher, Infogrames, and then we were independent. It's another way of approaching production. There are no longer any financial problems, we were free of that!»

Photo by the No Cliché team from the old website

photo.jpg

The No Cliché team in photo (Time Commando era)

When No Cliché was for sale, Sega, but also Nintendo (Shigeru Miyamoto had liked LBA a lot) were in the running. The choice was between Sonic and Mario. Sega was chosen, because the characteristics of the future Dreamcast were impressive.

Sega had not really acquired Adeline Software. Licences like Little Big Adventure or Time Commando were not included in the buyout package. They only took over the contracts, the staff in a way. It was an opportunity for the Lyon team to work for the first time with a console manufacturer.

Didier Quentin (Senior Game Designer for Agartha)«We all knew each other very well, since No Cliché was built on a large part of the Adeline Software team. I remember that, very often, we celebrated birthdays in the studio, in the evening, after working hours. I think the studio carpet remembers that!»

The bond between them made it possible to understand what each individual could bring to each of the No Cliché projects. They relied on the creativity of all the members of the development studio and everyone contributed to the daily running of the studio. This was a big part of a pleasant working atmosphere where everyone was aware that their skills were helping the projects they were assigned to.

Contrary to the name Adeline which had been imposed on them, this time they had the possibility to decide on the future name of the company and design the new logo of the development studio. They wanted something simple with French sounds, but also with English sounds. No Cliché was the perfect choice!

For the first collaboration with No Cliché, Sega wanted a multiplayer game with a target audience of 14 year old boys (teenagers). Agartha wasn't going to be for the moment, as the Japanese company didn't want an adventure game as the first software with the French team. Frédérick will still have to wait to make his baby!

«This was the only constraint given Sega's marketing and editorial position at the time.»

No Cliché Team.jpg

Structure of Sega France, with telephone number of the studio

Sega France Document No Cliché.jpg

Sega trusted them and, although they obviously had a studio-publisher relationship, they did a lot of work before showing them the progress they made on the games . Of course, Sega would sometimes be surprised by a direction they were taking or would want to control their creativity to make sure they had a game that could meet a large audience, but this was not something they felt on a daily basis. On the contrary, they felt free but knew that sometimes they had to defend their choices, which was quite normal.

And so the Toy Commander adventure began!

The Toy Commander adventure

Toy Commander, initially known under the working title "The Gutherman Project", had been in the works since the first versions of the Dreamcast development kits, PC graphics cards commonly known as SET 2, appeared. The trade press first mentioned the title on September 30, 1998 with a mysterious photo.

Mockup of Toy Commander menus with its code name

 Gutherman Project Dreamcast sketche
artwork  Gutherman Project
Mockup Toy Commander

First test of the Toy Commander title screen

Toy Commander early main title

First test of a Toy Commander menu in connection with the Mockups above

Early Main Menu Toy Commander

Cutscene (Bumper), first test in connection with the Mockup above

Bumper Toy Commander Test

I can't find an equivalent for this first test!

conceptual material Toy commander

The kind of photo that is a pleasure to see, hoping that the CD-Rs are not rotten!

Toy Commander and Toy Racer Bakcup.jpg

«Very quickly the idea of a little boy who dreamed of being a pilot came up, Gutherman may be the name of a famous aeroplane pilot, I don't really remember.»

No Cliché always used code names for its projects, Toy Commander came much later by careful choice of the marketing department. It was on May 12, 1999 that the final name of the Gutherman project was revealed, during the list of games presented at the Electronic Entertainment Expo (E3) on the Sega booth.

At that time, the exact specifications of the console were not known. The Dreamcast controller did not yet exist, it was still at a conceptual stage. The first developers to work on Sega's latest console initially imagined their games on the model of the Saturn controllers. This was the case for the collective led by Frédérick Raynal.

The controller configuration based on a Saturn 3D pad

Toy Commander conceptual draft
conceptual Toy Commander sketche
Toy Commander sketche

«There was an incredible challenge for the programmers, they liked it. The machines (development kits), at the beginning of the graphics cards, looked like nothing when we got them.»

Every time they received a new version of the development kit, a number of features already developed no longer worked. The programmers would roll up their sleeves and modify the code to make it compatible. Once the frustration was over, they were all amazed at the capabilities of the Dreamcast!

Didier Quentin :«Really, the Dreamcast was exceptional and should have had a much better fate.»

It was on his way home on the evening of the meeting with Sega to finalise the contract between the development studio and the console manufacturer that the story of toys flying around in a house was born in Didier Chanfray's imagination. Sneaking into his son's bedroom in his pyjamas, then aged 3 or 4, a slipper in one hand and a Lego in the other, he started bombing a Kapla block tower that his child had carefully erected before it collapsed. As you can imagine, the boy started to cry, what emotions!

«I like the angles in a hou

top of page

L'histoire de No Cliché et de ses jeux Dreamcast originaux, de Toy Commander à Agartha... sans oublier Toy Racer !

No Cliché était un studio de développement créé en 1997 par Sega, et supervisé par Frédérick Raynal. La petite société française était constituée de la plupart des anciens membres ayant oeuvré sur l'un des tout premiers survival-horror réalisé en 1992 : Alone in the Dark. La compagnie basée à Lyon (74, rue Maurice Flandin69003) employait 22 personnes : graphistes, programmeurs, game designers, musicien, etc...Ils partageaient tous la même passion : concevoir des jeux vidéo !

L'aventure de No Cliché avec Sega aura duré 4 ans, durant lesquels ils conçurent le jeu le plus emblématique du studio : Toy Commander. D'autres titres suivirent, comme Toy Racer, Quake 3 Arena (codage seulement) et Agartha qui sera, lui, annulé.

Suite à l'abandon de Sega comme constructeur de consoles, la société cessera ses activités en 2001.

L'histoire de No Cliché

En 1992 sort le jeu Alone in the Dark, édité par Infogrames. Il est considéré aujourd'hui comme le précurseur des survival-horror. Le jeu créé par Frédérick et une équipe de 7 personnes permet à son auteur de se faire  connaître auprès du grand public et de se faire un nom à l'international.

En 1993, plusieurs désaccords avec Infogrames et Frédérick Raynal forcent le créatif à quitter l'éditeur français, accompagné de Didier Chanfray (citations en italique sur cette page), et à fonder leur propre société de développement qui se nommera Adeline Software. De cette nouvelle entité naîtra, en moins de 2 ans, Little Big Adventure qui se vendra à 500 000 exemplaires (première édition). Le succès est tel qu'un second épisode est immédiatement mis en chantier. Entre-temps, Time Commando sortira sur PS1 et PC. L'année de la parution de Little Big Adventure 2 (800 000 unités écoulées) marque une étape importante dans ce qui deviendra le futur No Cliché.

No Cliché studio logo

No Cliché lors des 24 h du Kart. Ils battront ceux du studio Eden.  La fille de Frédérick Raynal naquit le lendemain.

Sega avait une feuille de route, la direction s'évertuait à devenir propriétaire de studios européens. L'objectif était de contenter tous les continents en offrant aux joueurs le style de jeu qui leur convenait le mieux. Les jeux japonais avaient tendance à ne pas forcément se vendre en dehors du Japon (différences culturelles). Le constructeur avait signé plusieurs gros studios à travers le globe pour enrichir son futur catalogue de titres à sortir sur Dreamcast.

«Sega était une très belle expérience. J'ai beaucoup appris, surtout au niveau des Game Designers. On avait été quelquefois au Japon, on a discuté avec d'autres concepteurs comme ceux de Sega Rally, Sonic, Jet Set Radio, des mecs super humbles. On avait de bonnes relations.»

Team No Cliché Frédérick Raynal

Le rachat du studio par Sega s'était fait par hasard. Chaque année, c'était une habitude, la société japonaise passait rendre visite aux membres d'Adeline Software. La compagnie à l'hérisson bleu investiguait pour trouver des développeurs externes (Third Party) afin de programmer des jeux sur une nouvelle console, la Katana, qui deviendra la Dreamcast. Comme en 1997 Delphine Groupe avait décidé de vendre Adeline Software, Frédérick Raynal en avait profité pour le  signaler.

«C'est la première fois que nous étions chez un constructeur. J'avais été chez un éditeur, Infogrames, puis après nous étions indépendants. C'est une autre façon d'aborder la production. Il n'y a plus trop de problèmes financiers, on était dégagés de ça !»

Photo de l'équipe de No Cliché provenant de l'ancien site internet

photo.jpg

L'équipe de No Cliché en photo (époque de Time Commando)

Au moment où No Cliché était à vendre, il y avait Sega, mais également Nintendo (Shigeru Miyamoto avait beaucoup aimé LBA) sur les rangs. Il avait fallu choisir entre Sonic et Mario. Sega a été choisi, car les caractéristiques de la future Dreamcast étaient impressionnantes.

Sega n'avait pas réellement acquis Adeline Software. Les licences comme Little Big Adventure ou Time Commando n'étaient pas incluses dans le package de rachat. Ils n'ont repris que les contrats, le personnel en quelque sorte. C'était l'occasion pour l'équipe lyonnaise de travailler une première fois avec un constructeur de consoles.

Didier Quentin (Senior Game Designer sur Agartha)«Nous nous connaissions tous très bien, puisque No Cliché s’est construit sur une grande partie de l’équipe d’Adeline Software. Je me souviens que, très souvent, nous fêtions les anniversaires dans les locaux du studio, le soir, au-delà des heures de travail. Je pense que la moquette du studio doit s’en souvenir !»

Cette connivence entre eux permettait de bien comprendre ce que chaque individu pouvait apporter sur chacun des projets de No Cliché. Ils comptaient sur la créativité de l'ensemble des membres du studio de développement et tous apportaient, jour après jour, leur pierre à l’édifice. Cela participait beaucoup d’une ambiance de travail agréable où chaque personne avait conscience que ses compétences faisaient avancer les  projets sur lesquels elles étaient assignées.

Contrairement à l'appellation Adeline qui leur avait été imposée, cette fois-ci, ils avaient carte blanche pour se prononcer sur le futur nom de la boîte et ébaucher le nouveau logo du studio de développement. Ils souhaitaient quelque chose de simple avec des consonances françaises, mais également avec des sonorités anglophones. No Cliché était tout trouvé !

Pour la première collaboration avec  No Cliché, Sega désirait un jeu multijoueur avec comme public cible les garçons de 14 ans (les adolescents). Agartha n'allait pas être pour tout de suite, puisque l'entreprise nipponne ne voulait pas comme premier soft avec la team française un jeu d'aventure. Frédérick devra encore patienter afin de réaliser son bébé !

«C'était la seul contrainte au vu de la position marketing et éditoriale de Sega à ce moment.»

No Cliché Team.jpg

Organigramme de Sega France, avec numéro de téléphone du studio

Sega France Document No Cliché.jpg

Sega avait confiance en eux et, même s'ils avaient évidemment des relations studio-éditeur, ils travaillaient beaucoup avant de leur présenter leurs avancées. Bien entendu, Sega pouvait parfois être étonné d’une direction qu’ils prennaient ou vouloir encadrer leur créativité pour s’assurer d’avoir un jeu qui pouvait rencontrer un grand public, mais ce n’était pas quelque chose qu’ils ressentaient au quotidien. Au contraire, ils se sentaient libres tout en sachant qu’ils fallait parfois défendre leur choix ; ce qui étaient bien normal.

C'est ainsi que l'aventure Toy Commander pouvait commencer !

L'aventure Toy Commander

Toy Commander, connu au début sous le titre provisoire "Le projet Gutherman",  était en préparation depuis l'apparition des premières versions des  kits de développement de la Dreamcast, des cartes graphiques PC appelées communément SET 2. La presse spécialisée mentionne ce titre, la première fois, en date du 30 septembre 1998 accompagné d'une mystérieuse photo.

Mockup des menus de Toy Commander avec son nom de code

 Gutherman Project Dreamcast sketche
artwork  Gutherman Project
Mockup Toy Commander

Premier essai de l'écran titre de Toy Commander

Toy Commander early main title

Premier test d'un menu de Toy Commander en lien avec les Mockups du dessus

Early Main Menu Toy Commander

Cutscene (Bumper), premier test en lien avec le Mockup du dessus

Bumper Toy Commander Test

Je ne trouve pas d'équivalent pour ce premier test !

conceptual material Toy commander

Le genre de photo qui fait plaisir à voir en espérant que les CD-R ne soient pas pourris !

Toy Commander and Toy Racer Bakcup.jpg

«Très vite l'idée d'un petit garçon qui rêvait d'être pilote est venue, Gutherman est peut-être le nom d'un célèbre pilote d'avion, je ne m'en souviens plus trop.»

No Cliché employait toujours des noms de code pour ses projets, Toy Commander est venu beaucoup plus tard par un choix minutieux du service marketing. C'est le 12 mai 1999 que la dénomination finale du projet Gutherman fut révélée, à l'occasion de la liste des jeux présentés à l’Electronic Entertainment Expo (E3) sur le stand de Sega.

À cette époque, les spécifications exactes de la console n'étaient pas connues. La manette de la Dreamcast n'existait pas encore, elle était toujours à un stade conceptuel. Les premiers développeurs à avoir travaillé sur la dernière console de Sega ont imaginé, dans un premier temps, leurs jeux sur le modèle des manettes Saturn. Ce fut le cas pour le collectif dirigé par Frédérick Raynal.

La configuration de la manette sur la base d'un pad Saturn 3D

Toy Commander conceptual draft
conceptual Toy Commander sketche