top of page

Spirit of Speed 1937 Dreamcast/PC, its history, its development and the Broadsword Interactive archive

One of the best-selling genres in the video game market today is car racing, whether it is rally or circuit style. In the circuit racing format, there is the closed saloon style (touring cars) and the open style (Formula 1). In 1998 and still today, the market was flooded with F1 titles.

Spirit of Speed 1937 was intended to be an original racing title that would take the player out of the classics and into the mythical races of the 1920s to 1939. Broadsword Interactive, the studio in charge of the game, hoped to compete with Grand Prix Legends, which took place in the late 1960s.

At that time, the cars had poor handling and a lot of power. They didn't run around the circuit as if they were on rails, they slid around corners with drifts on all four wheels, the norm at the time. Driver safety was not a concern, neither for the drivers nor for the general public. Accidents were spectacular.

Spirit of Speed 1937 artwork

Early prototype video Dreamcast

The Spirit of Speed

The adventure of Spirit of Speed by Broardswords Interactive

Spirit of Speed 1937 Dreamcast is the last game credited to LJN, a video game publisher reduced to a simple logo after being bought out in 1990 by Acclaim Entertainment (special release of 80 prototypes). The LJN trademark was mainly used by Acclaim to get around Nintendo's restrictions on the number of Nes titles a publisher could publish in a year (5 unless I am mistaken).

3D Studio Max 2.5

Although LJN is listed in the credits of SOS 1937, the real development studio in charge of the game is Broadsword Interactive based in the UK. Founded in 1995, the small UK company was originally a subsidiary of production company Broadwsord Television. At the time, BI was to provide resources for a TV show mixing virtual reality footage with live action. The show, known to the British as Knightmare, aired between 1987 and 1994.

Spirit of Speed is the first game created by Broadsword Interactive. The idea for a historical car game set before the Second World War came about as the development team drove past the famous Brooklands circuit in England every day. Prior to this, the team had been involved in the conversion of Wipeout PC in support of Psygnosis.

The PC version of SOS was to be financed by Microprose. In 1998, the American publisher ran out of cash and sold its catalogue to Hasbro, a company mainly known in the toy world. The MicroProse brand would still be used, but it would now be controlled by the toy manufacturer. The complications were just beginning for Broadsword. The development of the game was going to be affected by this handover from the owners of SOS 1937. For the Dreamcast version, Acclaim will take care of its distribution after having bought the rights from Hasbro.

Two or three producers, all with different visions of the game, went back and forth during the creation process of the title. One wanted a racing game with arcade style gameplay, the next wanted a more realistic driving experience. The physics of the vehicles kept changing, and in the end SOS 1937 suffered from poor handling. Hasbro had the last word with what they considered to be a suitable approach to marketing the game. The Broadswords team, with its hands tied, could do nothing!

The engine used by SOS 1937 is called BORIS (Broadsword Object Rendering and Interaction System). Other technologies such as Glide, Direct3D and EIDOS Escape/DirectSHow were used by the game development team.

To promote the PC version, marketing campaigns are non-existent on Dreamcast, MicroProse now a label of Hasbro, had organised events to present Spirit of Speed 1937. One of them took place on August 2nd 1999 in the prestigious Silverstone circuit. The press was invited to discover "The Spirit of Speed" (the old name of the game) during the "Coys International Historic Festival".

Plagued by catastrophic development and pressured by Hasbro to release the game, the result is unequivocal: Spirit of Speed 1937 is not finished and suffers from numerous defects. However, Broadsword's desire and ability to market a waffled game was there!

3DSMax Spirit of Speed 1937.png

3D Studio Max 2.5

outils de dev.png

Physic Shema

Spirit of Speed 1937 Physic cars.png

Gravity Shema

Gravity SOS 1937 Dreamcast and PC.png

Structure of a car

5.png

Let's not even talk about the Dreamcast version which will be destroyed by the critics. Sales did not follow with 16,255 copies sold in the US. According to Mike Phelan of Dreamcast Junkyard, only 39 Japanese copies were sold in the land of the rising sun. Why did Acclaim insist on releasing it in Japan?

Playing the game

Have you ever wondered what it was like to drive the huge racing cars of early motorsport? Speeding around steeply banked circuits like Brooklands or Monza, clinging to a steering wheel one metre in diameter on solid tyres less than 15 centimetres thick? What about the brakes? What brakes? SOS 1937 would allow players to experience these sensations...

Spirit of Speed 1937 PC Demo

The challenge of driving the cars of the 1930s is incomparable to that of driving today's Formula 1 cars. Yet the men and women who drove these cars are still considered the greatest pioneers and heroes of their time. If motor sport has become more democratic, it is partly thanks to them.

In the early decades of the twentieth century, motor racing was mainly a hobby for the wealthy, but for many it became an obsession, an addiction to speed. Fortunes were won and lost, as well as many lives. The search for the adrenaline rush was more important than anything else, they lived for the love of thrills and speed.

Ingame Spirit of Speed 1937

Spirit of Speed offers a unique and exciting driving experience for driving game fans. The game features legendary cars from the pre-war era, which were very powerful but unsafe. This was the most dangerous period in the history of motorsport!

Meticulously selected tracks, ranging from high-speed concrete ovals like Brooklands to challenging country circuits like Montlhéry, from the desert heat of Tripoli to the urban circuit of Pau, are designed to offer a challenging variety of environments that will test the skills of even the most hardcore racing fans while maintaining the interest of the casual player.

In-game objective

You start your career in the Decade Challenge as a novice driver with the ultimate ambition to reach the top and gain public recognition as a world-class racing ace. You must first establish your credentials and status as a driver by qualifying for international events. To do this, you compete in races on your local circuit to win prizes and win bets against your rivals.

The more money you earn, the better the choice of car you get. These cars are classified according to performance bands, A, B and C. After a modest qualifying period, the race schedule for the year's race series is published. The order is completely random and will be different each time the game is played.

Your opponents in the Decade Challenge will also have developed their skills on their local circuit and will be entering the first race of the season with the car of their choice. It is recommended that you start as a novice with a C class car. Experienced players may opt for a higher difficulty level and a higher class car or a modified version if they can afford it

As you progress through the season, you can take on a particular opponent for a bet in a head-to-head challenge. This can be a good way to raise money, but it comes with risks. You too can become the subject of a bet. Bets appear at the bottom of the screen in the form of a telex message that scrolls from right to left.

As the years pass, new tracks are built and existing circuits are modified. The tracks then become available for the season of the corresponding year and for the following one.

SOS 1937
Spirit of Speed 1937

Progress is presented after each race in the form of newspaper headlines and at the end of each year in the form of old film clips

Characters

Each character is fully modelled in 3D and textured. They age as they complete the decade-long challenge. The modelled heads have animated expressions and gestures that allow them to have a range of pre-defined interactions with other drivers, particularly in the head-to-head challenge.

The characters appear in the "choose a driver" section of the homepage as cigarette card caricatures and, once selected, they transform into a full 3D version.

Manager Character - Wally

Sketch Wally SOS 1937
Wally Draft SOS 1937

Czechoslovakia

Artwork The Spirit of Speed
Spirit of Speed 1937 Dreamcast Draft
Sketch Spirit of Speed PC

USA

Rough SOS 1937 DC
Sos 1937 sketch pc
Spirit of Speed 2002 Sketch

Germany

Artwork SOS 1937 PC
Spirit of Speed Dreamcast Artwork
Rough Spirit of Speed 1937

Italy

Sketch spirit of speed dreamcast
SOS 1937 PC artwork
The Spirit of Speed PC artwok

United Kingdom       

Dreamcast SOS 1937 sketch
Dreamcast Spirit of Speed 1937 draft
Spirit of Speed 2002 PC sketch

Belgium        

Sos 1937 rough
Spirit of Speed 1937 DC
Spirit of Speed 1937 PC rough

France

Spirit of Speed 2002 sketch
Sketch Spirit of speed 2002 pc
Video game Sketch

The characters, once animated, blink, have a questioning expression etc. before returning to their initial positions. Each individual behaves differently depending on whether they are intimidated (unconfident) or confident (presumptuous)).

Beginning of character modelling with different expressions

Spirit of Speed 2002
Spirit of Speed 1937
SOS 1937

Example storyboard

The opening cutscene first storyboard:

The opening scene begins in a cinema. It's a posh place. The people sitting there are fidgeting slightly, some of them are smoking. The projection screen is covered with a scalloped silk curtain. Suddenly, an image and a logo appear behind the curtain before it rises. The image and logo give way to a video of car racing from the 1930s in front of the astonished audience. The style of the projected film is very vintage.

The camera slowly approaches the projection screen so that the image is full screen. The video of the car race slowly fades to the Brooklands circuit as it is today. The track is overgrown with weeds and abandoned. The camera slowly descends to the road and almost lands on it, looking through the weeds. An empty packet of crisps falls to the ground, silence reigns except for the increasing sound of wind and leaves blowing across the tarmac.

The shot fades into a view of the same section of the circuit, the weeds and decrepitude of the place disappearing as a shiny, well-maintained track comes into view and a heavy race car speeds towards us with an ever increasing din.

Storyboard Spirit of Speed 1937

The opening cutscene second storyboard :

You are in a gloomy workshop. A single lamp illuminates the engine compartment of a racing car. The rest of the car glows softly in the ambient light. You can barely make out the chaotic interior of a typical 1930s garage. Mechanics work feverishly on the engine and wheels.

The camera rotates slowly as it gets closer to the car. The mechanics finish their work and retreat into the shadows leaving the driver to start the engine. The car roars and the lights in the workshop come on, casting hazy rays of light on the car and the driver.

The large sliding doors of the garage, made of dark green enamel, rumble open, throwing the reflected light of the summer day outside. The camera pulls back, the car begins to move slowly forward. The vehicle moves from darkness to sunlight producing bright reflections on the car's paintwork and deep, dark shadows below. The camera rises as the car turns sharply and heads towards the starting grid to join the other competitors who are queuing up.

Storyboard video game

Some Cutscene with explanation

The Newspapers:

The first pages of the logs that appear at the end of each race need to be very structured to take into account the number of variations that need to be taken into account throughout the Decade Challenge.

  • Title Section : This area contains the title "The Motor Gazette". It alternates with "Motoring Magazine" to the right. This section is fully localised and contains the magazine titles for the country concerned.

  • The titles section : This area contains the following titles: "**** wins ****" (eg Fabrizio wins Pau). The second title is "****S BRILLIANT VICTORY" (for example, BUGATTIS BRILLIANT VICTORY). The logs reflect the actual result of each race.

  • Black and White Photograph : This section contains a black and white photograph of the winning driver.

  • The date : This date will be scheduled to be the publication date after the race.

  • The general design : It faithfully follows the style of the publications of the time, both in terms of graphic design and printing technology (monochrome, spot colours, three-colour process, etc.).

Getting kicked out of the car after an accident:

For very serious head-on collisions, which occur only very rarely, we switch to an FMV (pre-recorded video) of a driver being blown into the air after a terrible crash. A cloud of smoke disperses beneath him. As he hovers, a wheel passes over his head and a muffler underneath him.

SOS 1937 storyboard
Storyboard

The tracks

All tracks are built in 3D Studio Max (see SOS 1937 documents). The track building process was split between building in 3D Studio and analysis in the game engine. Instant feedback of the track's appearance in the game was crucial to maintain efficient production. There was no specific polygon budget for the entire circuit, but the number of polygons drawn per frame in the game engine should ideally not exceed 2000.

Circuit Stige

All textures were created in Adobe PhotoShop, and tended to be hand-painted or derived from photographs and 3D renderings. The size of a single texture was limited to rectangular dimensions of 2n pixels, and alpha channels were allowed at 1 or 4 bit resolution.

Several processes were involved in the construction of the tracks, which could generally be divided into several stages :

Sitges track spirit of speed 1937
  • Construction of a base track.

  • Construction of the surrounding landscape.

  • Trees, fences, hedges and other objects associated with the loft in the background.

  • Introduction of buildings, stands and other objects of interest.

  • Placement of trees and vegetation in the custom editor.

top of page

Spirit of Speed 1937 Dreamcast/PC, son histoire, son développement et l'archive de Broadsword Interactive

L'un des genres les plus vendus aujourd'hui sur le marché des jeux vidéo est la course automobile, qu'elle soit de type rallye ou circuit. Dans le format course de ciruit, il y a le style berline fermée (voitures de tourisme) et le style ouvert (Formule 1). En 1998 et encore de nos jours, le marché était inondé de titres de F1.

Spirit of Speed 1937 se voulait être un titre orignal de course sortant des classiques du genre projetant le joueur dans les courses mythiques des années 1920 à 1939. Broadsword Interactive, le studio en charge du jeu, espérait concurrencer Grand Prix Legends qui lui se déroulait à la fin des années soixante.

À l'époque, les voitures avaient une faible tenue de route et énormément de puissance. Elles ne parcouraient pas le circuit comme si elles étaient sur des rails, elles glissaient dans les virages avec des dérives sur les quatre roues, la norme à l'époque. La sécurité des pilotes n'était pas une préoccupation, ni pour les pilotes ni pour le public en général. Les accidents étaient spectaculaires.

Spirit of Speed 1937 artwork

Video prototype précoce Dreamcast

The Spirit of Speed

L'aventure Spirit of Speed par Broardswords Interactive

Spirit of Speed 1937 Dreamcast est le dernier jeu créditant LJN, un éditeur de jeux vidéo réduit à un simple logo après avoir été racheté en 1990 par Acclaim Entertainment (release spécial de 80 prototypes). La marque LJN était principalement employée par Acclaim pour contourner les restrictions de Nintendo sur le nombre de titres  Nes qu'un éditeur pouvait publier au cours d'une année (5 sauf erreur).

3D Studio Max 2.5

Si LJN figurent dans les crédits de SOS 1937, le vrai studio de développement en charge du jeu est Broadsword Interactive basé au Royaume-Uni. Fondée en 1995, la petite entreprise anglaise était à l'origine une filiale de la société de production Broadwsord Télévision. À cette époque, BI devait fournir des ressources pour un show télévisé mélangeant des images de réalité virtuelle à des prises de vue en temps réelles. L'émission, connue par les Britanniques sous le nom de Knightmare, est passée à l'antenne entre 1987 et 1994.

Spirit of Speed est le premier jeu créé par Broadsword Interactive. L'idée d'un jeu de voitures historiques se déroulant avant la Deuxième Guerre mondiale est venue alors que l'équipe de développement passait quotidiennement devant le célèbre circuit Anglais de Brooklands. Au préalable, le team avait participé à la conversion de Wipeout PC en soutien à Psygnosis.

La version PC de SOS devait être financée par Microprose. L'éditeur américain, en 1998, se retrouvera à court de liquidier et vendra son catalogue à la société Hasbro principalement connue dans le monde des jouets. La marque MicroProse sera toujours utilisée mais dorénavant pilotée par le fabricant de jouets. Les complications ne faisaient que commencer pour Broadsword. Le développement du jeu allait être éprouvé par cette passation des ayants droit de SOS 1937. Pour la version Dreamcast, Acclaim se chargera de sa distribution après avoir racheté les droits à Hasbro.

Deux ou trois producteurs, tous avec des visions différentes du jeu, se sont enchaînés durant le processus de création du titre. L'un voulait un jeu de courses avec un gameplay de style Arcade, le suivant désirait une conduite plus réaliste. La physique des véhicules n'arrêtait pas de changer, au final SOS 1937 souffrira d'une maniabilité laissant à désirer. C'est Hasbro qui a eu le dernier mot avec ce qu'il considérait comme une approche adéquate en vue de la commercialisation du soft. Le Team de Broadswords, les mains liées, ne pouvait rien faire !

Le moteur utilisé par SOS 1937 est appelé BORIS (Broadsword Object Rendering and Interaction System). D'autres technologies comme par exemple Glide, Direct3D et EIDOS Escape/DirectSHow furent employées par l'équipe en charge du développement du jeu.

Pour promouvoir la version PC, les campagnes marketings sont inexistantes sur Dreamcast, MicroProse maintenant un label d'Hasbro, avait organisé des évènements de présentation de Spirit of Speed 1937. L'un d'entre eux s'était déroulé le 2 août 1999 dans les enceintes du prestigieux circuit de Silverstone. La presse était invitée à découvrir "The Spirit of Speed" (ancien nom du jeu) lors du "Coys International Historic Festival".

Plombé par un développement catastrophique et pressé par Hasbro de sortir le jeu, le résultat est sans équivauque, Spirit of Speed 1937 n'est pas fini, il souffre de nombreux défauts. Pourtant le désir et les capacités de Broadsword de commercialiser un jeu pauffiné étaient là !

3DSMax Spirit of Speed 1937.png

3D Studio Max 2.5

outils de dev.png

Physic Shema

Spirit of Speed 1937 Physic cars.png

Gravity Shema

Gravity SOS 1937 Dreamcast and PC.png

Ossature d'une voiture

5.png

Ne parlons même pas de la version Dreamcast qui se fera détruire par les critiques. Les ventes ne suivront pas avec 16 255 exemplaires vendus sur le territoire Américain. Selon Mike Phelan de Dreamcast Junkyard, seules 39 copies japonaises auraient trouvé preneur au pays du soleil levant. Pourquoi Acclaim s'était-il entêté à vouloir le sortir au Japon ?

Le jeu

Vous êtes-vous déjà demandé ce que c'était que de conduire les énormes voitures de course du début du sport automobile ? De rouler à vive allure sur les circuits à forte inclinaison comme celui de  Brooklands ou de Monza accroché à un volant d'un mètre de diamètre sur des pneus pleins de moins de 15 centimètres d'épaisseur ? Et les freins ? Quels freins ? SOS 1937 allait permettre aux joueurs de connaître ces sensations ...

Spirit of Speed 1937 PC Demo

Le défi que représente la conduite des voitures des années 30 est incomparable à  celui de piloter les Formule 1 d'aujourd'hui. Et pourtant, les hommes et les femmes qui conduisaient ces véhicules sont encore considérés comme les plus grands pionniers et héros de leur époque. Si le sport automobile c'est démocratisé, s'est en partie grâce à eux.

Au cours des premières décennies du vingtième siècle, les courses automobiles étaient surtout le fait de personnes aisées qui s'adonnaient à un passe-temps qui, pour beaucoup, est devenu une obsession, une dépendance à la vitesse. Des fortunes ont été gagnées et perdues, ainsi que de nombreuses vies. La recherche de la montée d'adrénaline était plus importante que tout, ils vivaient pour l'amour des sensations fortes et de la vitesse.

Ingame Spirit of Speed 1937

Spirit of Speed offre une expérience de conduite unique et passionnante pour les amateurs de jeux de conduite. Le jeu met en scène des voitures légendaires de l'avant-guerre, très puissantes mais peu sûres. Ce fut la période la plus dangereuse de l'histoire du sport motorisé !

Des circuits soigneusement choisis, allant d'ovales en béton à grande vitesse comme Brooklands à des circuits de campagne difficile comme Montlhéry, de la chaleur du désert de Tripoli au circuit urbain de Pau, sont conçus pour offrir une variété stimulante d'environnements qui mettront à l'épreuve les compétences des plus grands fans de course tout en maintenant l'intérêt du joueur occasionnel.

Objectif en jeu

Vous commencez votre carrière dans le Decade Challenge en tant que pilote novice avec pour ultime ambition d'atteindre les sommets et de gagner la notoriété du public en tant qu'as de la course de renommée mondiale. Vous devez d'abord établir vos références et votre statut de pilote en vous qualifiant pour les événements internationaux. Pour ce faire, vous participez à des courses sur votre circuit local pour remporter des prix et gagner des paris contre vos rivaux.

Plus vous gagnez d'argent, meilleur est le choix de la voiture qui vous est proposée. Ces voitures sont classées selon des fourchettes de performances, A, B et C. Après une modeste période de qualification, le calendrier des courses pour la série de courses de l'année est publié. L'ordre est complètement aléatoire et sera différent à chaque fois que le jeu sera joué.

Vos adversaires dans le Decade Challenge auront également développé leurs compétences sur leur circuit local et se présenteront à la première course de la saison avec la voiture de leur choix. Il est recommandé de commencer  en tant que novice avec une voiture de classe C. Les joueurs expérimentés pourront opter pour un niveau de difficulté plus élevé et une voiture de classe supérieure ou une version modifiée s'ils en ont les moyens.

Au fur et à mesure que vous progressez dans la saison, vous pouvez affronter un adversaire particulier  pour un pari dans un défi en tête à tête. Cela peut être un bon moyen de collecter des fonds, mais cela comporte des risques. Vous aussi pouvez devenir le sujet d'un pari. Les mises apparaissent en bas de l'écran sous la forme d'un message télex qui défile de droite à gauche.

Au fur et à mesure que les années passent, de nouvelles pistes sont construites et les circuits existants sont modifiés. Les coures deviennent alors disponibles pour la saison de l'année correspondante et pour la suivante.

SOS 1937
Spirit of Speed 1937

Les progrès sont présentés après chaque course sous forme de titres de journaux et à la fin de chaque année sous forme de vieux films d'actualités.

Les personnages

Chaque personnage est entièrement modélisé en 3D et texturé. Ils vieillissent au fur et à mesure qu'ils relèvent le défi de la décennie. Les têtes modélisées ont des expressions et des gestes animés qui leur permettent d'avoir une gamme d'interactions prédéfinies avec les autres conducteurs, notamment dans le défi tête à tête.

Les personnages apparaissent  dans la section "choisir un conducteur" de la page d'accueil sous forme de caricatures de cartes de cigarettes et, une fois sélectionnés, ils se transforment en une version complète en 3D.

Manager Character - Wally

Sketch Wally SOS 1937
Wally Draft SOS 1937

Czechoslovakia

Artwork The Spirit of Speed
Spirit of Speed 1937 Dreamcast Draft
Sketch Spirit of Speed PC

USA

Rough SOS 1937 DC
Sos 1937 sketch pc
Spirit of Speed 2002 Sketch

Germany

Artwork SOS 1937 PC
Spirit of Speed Dreamcast Artwork
Rough Spirit of Speed 1937

Italy

Sketch spirit of speed dreamcast
SOS 1937 PC artwork
The Spirit of Speed PC artwok

United Kingdom       

Dreamcast SOS 1937 sketch
Dreamcast Spirit of Speed 1937 draft
Spirit of Speed 2002 PC sketch

Belgium        

Sos 1937 rough
Spirit of Speed 1937 DC
Spirit of Speed 1937 PC rough

France

Spirit of Speed 2002 sketch
Sketch Spirit of speed 2002 pc
Video game Sketch

Les personnages, une fois animés, clignent des yeux, ont une expression se posant des questions etc. avant de reprendre leurs positions initiales. Chaque individu a un comportement différent selon qu'il soit intimidé (peu confiant) ou sûr de lui (présompteux).

Début de la modélisation des personnages avec différentes expressions

Spirit of Speed 2002
Spirit of Speed 1937
SOS 1937

Cutscene en Storyboard 

La cutscene d'ouverture premier storyboard :

La scène d'ouverture commence dans un cinéma. C'est un endroit cossu. Les gens assis s'agitent  légèrement, certains d'entre eux fument. L'écran de projection est recouvert d'un rideau de soie festonnée. Tout d'un coup, une image et un logo apparaissent derrière le rideau avant que celui-ci ne se lève. L'image et le logo laissent la place à  une vidéo de courses automobiles des années trente devant des spectateurs médusés. Le style du film projeté est très vintage.

La caméra s'approche lentement de la toile de projection pour que l'image soit en plein écran. La vidéo de la course automobile s'estompe lentement pour laisser place au circuit de Brooklands tel qu'il est aujourd'hui. La piste est envahie par les mauvaises herbes et laissée à l'abandon. La caméra descend lentement vers la route et se pose presque dessus en regardant à travers les mauvaises herbes. Un paquet de chips vide tombe par terre, le silence règne à l'exception du bruit croissant du vent et des feuilles qui soufflent sur le bitume.

Le plan se fond dans une vue  de la même section du circuit, les mauvaises herbes et la décrépitude des lieux disparaissent tandis qu'une piste brillante et entretenue se manifeste et qu'une lourde voiture de course fonce vers nous dans un vacarme de plus en plus fort.

Storyboard Spirit of Speed 1937

La cutscene d'ouverture deuxième storyboard :

Vous êtes dans un atelier lugubre. Une unique lampe éclaire le compartiment moteur d'un bolide de course. Le reste de la voiture brille doucement dans une lumière ambiante. On distingue à peine l'intérieur chaotique d'un garage typique des années 30. Des mécaniciens travaillent fébrilement sur le moteur et les roues.

La caméra tourne lentement en se rapprochant de la voiture. Les mécaniciens terminent leur travail et se retirent dans l'ombre laissant le conducteur démarrer le moteur. La voiture rugit et les lumières de l'atelier s'allument, projetant des rayons de lumière brumeuse sur la voiture et le conducteur.

Les grandes portes coulissantes du garage, en émail vert foncé, s'ouvrent en grondant  projetant la lumière réfléchie de la journée d'été à l'extérieur. La caméra recule, la voiture commence à avancer doucement. Le véhicule passe de l'obscurité à la lumière du soleil produisant des reflets brillants sur la peinture de la voiture et des ombres profondes et sombres en dessous. La caméra  monte alors que la voiture tourne brusquement et se dirige vers la grille de départ pour rejoindre les autres concurrents qui forment une file d'attente.

Storyboard video game

Quelques Cutscenes avec expliquation

Les Newspaper :

Les premières pages des journaux qui apparaissent à la fin de chaque course doivent être très structurées afin de tenir compte du nombre de variations qui doivent être prises en compte tout au long du Decade Challenge.

  • Section titre : Cette zone contient le titre "The Motor Gazette". Il alterne avec, à sa droite,  "Motoring Magazine". Cette section est entièrement localisée et contient les titres des magazines pour le pays concerné.

  • La section des titres : Cette zone contient les titres suivants : "**** wins ****" (par exemple Fabrizio wins Pau). Le deuxième titre est "****S BRILLIANT VICTORY" (par exemple, BUGATTIS BRILLIANT VICTORY). Les journaux reflètent le résultat réel de chaque course.

  • La photographie en noir et blanc : Cette section contient une photographie en noir et blanc du pilote gagnant.

  • La date : Cette date sera programmée pour être la date de publication après la course.

  • La conception générale : Elle suit fidèlement le style des publications  de l'époque, tant sur le plan de la conception graphique que sur celui de la technologie d'impression (monochromie, tons directs, trichromie, etc.).

Se faire expulser de la voiture après un accident :

Pour les collisions frontales très graves, qui ne se produisent que très rarement, on passe à une vidéo FMV (vidéo pré-enregistrée) d'un conducteur  se faisant expulser dans les airs après un terrible choc. Un nuage de fumée se disperse sous lui. Durant son vol plané, une roue passe au dessus de sa tête et un pot d'échappement sous lui.

SOS 1937 storyboard