The Sonic Adventure scout road trip conducted by the Sonic Team in South America.

The travel blog, in Japanese, was found in a prototype of Sonic Advenutre. Its translation, from Japanese to French, may seem approximate. I apologize in advance, it's really not easy.

The Sonic Team in South America part 1

In the fall of 1996, approximately six months had passed since the end of the development of Night Into Dreams on Sega Saturn. The Sonic Team was already working on their next game: a new Sonic.

At the start of its development, the six key members of the team had conducted research overseas to find ideas. The region selected was South America. It was necessary to see the ancient ruins that existed with their own eyes rather than through books and TV documentaries .

The world of the new Sonic began on a sunny island, a casino district, and ancient ruins lurking in a dense forest. Sonic 2's "Casino Night Zone" level was filled with pinball machines and slot machines. The map was greatly appreciated. The rendering of this area was probably due to the studio's trip to Las Vegas during the development of Sonic 2.

"Nothing is more useful than the experience you gain yourself. Seeing ancient ruins with your own eyes may lead to new ideas and a new world."

Preparations for this scouting trip were quickly made. In November, they took the plane. There were two main destinations on the program, first the Mayan ruins, scattered throughout the rainforest of Central America, and then the remains of the Inca civilization, from the South American continent. It was the first time that they had all traveled together for a project of this magnitude.

Sonic Team Road Trip 1

Everyone in Tulum

Inhabitant of Machu Picchu

Sonic Team Road Trip Yuji Naka

Take a nap at Tical

Sonic Team Road Trip for Sonic Adventure Dreamcast

Dining in Cancun

Sonic Team Road Trip for Sonic Adventure Dreamcast 2

Exit to the sea

Sonic Team Road Trip for Sonic Adventure Dreamcast 3

On a llama

Sonic Team Road Trip for Sonic Adventure Dreamcast 5

The Sonic Team

Sonic Team Road Trip for Sonic Adventure Dreamcast 6

The Sonic Team in South America part 2

On November 26, a flight took them to Narita Airport in Cancun (Mexico) via Dallas Airport in the United States.

On the 27th, after getting used to the jet lag, they set off to visit the first archaeological site, the ruins of Chichen Itzer, the largest Maya site in Mexico. They were able to admire sculptures of snakes resembling deities, pyramids appearing in the distance, murals on walls, crumbling towers, exotic plants and uprooted trees cluttering the path between the various buildings. Some of these elements will be found in ... Sonic Adventure!

"The landscape of the Castillo stone pyramid made us realize that we were very far from Japan".

On the 28th, they headed for the ruins of Tulum. Tulum directly faces the Caribbean Sea. The smell of the sea and the local wind blew strongly. At the entrance of the Mayan city appeared stone houses in the middle of a pasture of well-tended green grass. A huge temple rose above a cliff overlooking the sea. A coral reef delays its erosion. The contrast between the blue of the water and the green of the forest was striking.

On the 29th, they took a boat to the ruins of San Herbasio on the island of Cozumel. The floating ruins are not those of Sonic 3!

Chichen Itzer

The Sonic Team in South America 3

The adventurers

The Sonic Team in South America 4
The Sonic Team in South America 1

Hotel in Cancun

The Explorer

The Sonic Team in South America 2

The Sonic Team in South America part 3

On the 30th, they flew this time to Guatemala to admire the Tikal ruins in the tropical forest.

Shortly after entering the jungle, a lodge (a kind of campsite), the starting point for exploring the site. The path looked like the one used by cattle. Under their feet, enormous ants made their way, nests of tarantulas buried themselves in the ground. Wild animals were spying on them. The monkeys fought in the trees while the peacocks strutted past them.

A monkey in the jungle

Voyage de la Sonic Team en Amérique du Sud 1

As they walked up the main staircase to the top of the Mayan temple and then looked down, they felt like they just kept going. Trees blocked the view once we got to the top. What they saw as they climbed the stone roof of the temple was an endless expanse of trees. In this wilderness, all they could hear were the cries of monkeys and the chirping of birds.

The next day, December 1, they drove to “Washaktun Ruins”. The road was impassable, mud formed a swamp. A guide told them about the history of the Mayas in front of the Washaktun pyramid, which has a unique style.

By December 2, they had gone to other temples in Tulum that they had not been able to visit the last time. They arrived in Lima on the morning of the 4th. The destination is known for the famous geoglyphs of Nazca.

Aboriginal

Voyage de la Sonic Team en Amérique du Sud 2

They climbed it !!!

"This journey was like an Indiana Jones story with the jungle, the Caribbean and the desert."

When their little Cessna (passenger plane) passed through town, the landscape below was nothing more than a grain of sand. They had seen a number of ruins which amazed them and branded them with a hot iron. The most majestic, the most impressive of them were undoubtedly the Nazca lines. In a place where there is nothing, a huge image emerges on the ground. The emotion was at its height!

Voyage de la Sonic Team en Amérique du Sud 3

Is this plane small?

Voyage de la Sonic Team en Amérique du Sud 4

There is nothing

Voyage de la Sonic Team en Amérique du Sud 5

What show

Voyage de la Sonic Team en Amérique du Sud 6

The Sonic Team in South America part 4

On the 5th, they took the road to Cusco, a town in Takayama. Cusco was once the capital of the Inca Empire nestled at 3400 meters above sea level. After its destruction, people continued to live there.

On the 6th, they went to Machu Picchu, a citadel city lurking in the high mountains. It is said that director Hayao Miyazaki (Princess Mononoke) visited this place as well. Stone houses appeared and disappeared in the clouds. It was raining, the mist invaded the site. The ghost town was reminiscent of Laputa, the legendary flying garden city of the Japanese director.

lack of oxygen

Sonic Adventure, road trip de la Sonic Team 1

On December 7 they were heading to their last destination, Pachakama. As they descended the mountain by bus, the desert stretched out as far as the eye could see. The temple of Pachakama had many very narrow passages and was like a labyrinth. When they climbed to the top of one of the buildings, the Pacific Ocean appeared to the west.

This is how our six friends ended their longest journey with exhausted body and mind. There was only 30 hours of flight time to get home.

The different places they visited were summed up with the word “ruins”, but each was different and had a special charm. They were able to feel the history of the past emerging there. Their eyes were filled with happiness.

coca tea

Sonic Adventure, road trip de la Sonic Team 2

This road trip strongly inspired Sonic Adventure on Dreamcast

Amazing

Sonic Adventure, road trip de la Sonic Team 3

The train to Cusco

Sonic Adventure, road trip de la Sonic Team 4

The sonic team is here!

Sonic Adventure, road trip de la Sonic Team 5

bonus

Sonic Adventure, road trip de la Sonic Team 6

stake

Sonic Adventure jungle dreamcast

Bonus photos of the premises of the Sonic Team, June Senoue and other musicians:

PHOTO1.JPG
HIKENAI.JPG
DRAMA0.GIF
June Senoue Sonic Adventure Dreamcast
PHOTO0.JPG
DRAMA1.GIF

Download the photo pack and the HTLM file containing the blog

Pack photo + htlm link

Download the Sonic Adventure Planet Web prototype containing the set

Sonic Adventure Planet Web V0.500 1999/06/10

Some prototypes related to sonic:

Le road trip de répérage pour Sonic Adventure effectué par la Sonic Team en Amérique du Sud.

Le blog de voyage, en japonais,  a été trouvé dans un prototype de Sonic Advenutre. Sa traduction, du japonais au français , pourra sembler approximative. Je m'en excuse d'avance, ce n'est vraiment pas évident.

La Sonic Team en Amérique du Sud partie 1

A l'Automne 1996, environ six mois s'étaient écoulés depuis la fin du développement de Night Into Dreams sur Sega Saturn. L’équipe de la  Sonic Team travaillait déjà sur leur prochain jeu : un nouveau Sonic.

Au début de son développement, les six membres clés de l’équipe avaient mené des recherches à l’étranger afin de trouver des idées. La région retenue était l'Amérique du sud. Il était nécessaire de voir les ruines antiques qui existaient  avec leurs propre yeux plutôt qu'au travers des livres et des documentaires TV.

Le monde du nouveau Sonic commençait sur une île ensoleillée, un quartier de casino et des ruines anciennes tapies dans une forêt dense. Le niveau "Casino Night Zone" de Sonic 2 était rempli de flippers et de machines à sous. La map était très appréciée. Le rendu de cette zone était sans doute due au voyage du studio à Las Vegas durant le développement de Sonic 2.

"Rien n’est plus utile que l’expérience que vous acquerez vous-même. Voir de ses propres yeux des ruines antiques pourra amener à de nouvelles idées et un nouveau monde."

Les préparatifs pour ce voyage de repérage ont été rapidement effectué. En novembre, ils prenaient l'avion. Il y avait deux destinations principales au programme, tout d’abord les ruines mayas, dispersées dans la forêt tropicale d’Amérique centrale, puis les vestiges de la civilisation Inca, du continent sud-américain. C'était la première fois qu'ils voyageaient tous ensemble pour un projet d’une telle envergure.

Sonic Team Road Trip 1

Tout le monde à Tulum

Habitant du Machu Picchu

Sonic Team Road Trip Yuji Naka

Faire une sieste au Tical

Sonic Team Road Trip for Sonic Adventure Dreamcast

Dîner à Cancun

Sonic Team Road Trip for Sonic Adventure Dreamcast 2

Sortie à la mer

Sonic Team Road Trip for Sonic Adventure Dreamcast 3

Sur un lama

Sonic Team Road Trip for Sonic Adventure Dreamcast 5

La Sonic Team

Sonic Team Road Trip for Sonic Adventure Dreamcast 6

La Sonic Team en Amérique du Sud partie 2

Le 26 novembre, un vol les emmène à l'aéroport de Narita à Cancun (Mexique) via l'aéroport de Dallas aux États-Unis.

Le 27, après s'être habitué au décalage horaire, ils partent visiter le premier site archéologique, les ruines de Chichen Itzer, le plus grand site Maya du Mexique. Ils purent admirer des sculptures de serpents ressemblant à des divinités, des pyramides apparaissant au loin, des peintures murales sur des murs, des tours en ruine, des plantes exotiques et des arbres déracinés encombrant le chemin entre les divers bâtiments. Certains de ces éléments se retrouveront dans... Sonic Adventure !

"Le paysage de la pyramide de pierre Castillo nous avait fait prendre conscience que nous étions très  loin du Japon".

Le 28, ils se dirigèrent vers les ruines de Tulum. Tulum fait directement face à la mer des Caraïbes. L’odeur de la mer et le vent du pays soufflaient fortement. A l'entrée de la cité Maya apparaissaient des maisons en pierre au milieu de pâturage d'herbe verte bien entretenue. Un immense temple s'élevait au dessus d'une falaise qui surplombait la mer. Un récifs coralien retarde son érosion. Le contraste entre le bleu de l'eau et le vert de la forêt était saisissant.

Le 29, ils prirent un bateau pour les ruines de San Herbasio sur l’île de Cozumel. Les ruines flottantes ne sont pas  celles de Sonic 3 !

Chichen Itzer

The Sonic Team in South America 3

Les aventuriers

The Sonic Team in South America 4
The Sonic Team in South America 1

Hôtel à Cancun

L'explorateur

The Sonic Team in South America 2

La Sonic Team en Amérique du Sud partie 3

Le 30, ils s'envolèrent cette fois pour le Guatemala afin d'admirer les ruines Tikal dans la forêt tropicale.

Peu de temps après être entrés dans la jungle, un lodge (une sorte de camping), le point de départ de l'exploration du site. Le chemin d'accès ressemblait à celui emprunté par le bétail. Sous leurs pieds, d'énormes fourmis faisaient leur route, des nids de tarentules s'enfouissaient dans le sol. Des animaux sauvages les espionnaient. Les singes se battaient dans les arbres tandis que les paons se pavanaient devant eux.

Un singe dans la jungle

Voyage de la Sonic Team en Amérique du Sud 1

En montant l’escalier principal menant au sommet du temple maya puis en regardant vers le bas, ils avaient l'impression qu'ils n'en finissaient plus. Des arbres bloquaient la vue une fois arrivé au sommet. Ce qu'ils ont vu en montant sur  le toit en pierre du temple était une étendue d’arbres à n'en plus finir. Dans cette nature sauvage , tout ce qu'ils pouvaient entendre étaient les cris  des singes et le chant des oiseaux.

Le lendemain, le 1er décembre, ils sont allés à « Washaktun Ruins » en voiture. La route était impraticable, de la boue formait un marécage. Un guide leurs conta l'hitoire des Mayas devant la pyramide de Washaktun qui possède un style à part.

Le 2 décembre, ils étaient allés dans d' autres temples de Tulum qu'il n'avaient pas pu visiter la dernière fois. Ils arrivèrent à Lima le matin du 4. La destination est  connue pour les célèbres géoglyphes de Nazca.

Les autochtones

Voyage de la Sonic Team en Amérique du Sud 2

Ils l'ont grimpé !!!

"Ce périple ressemblait à  un histoire d’Indiana Jones avec la jungle, les Caraïbes et le désert."

Lorsque leur petit Cessna (avion de tourisme) traversa la ville, le paysage en dessous n'était plus qu'un grain de sable. Ils avaient vu un certain nombre de ruines qui les émerveillèrent et les marquèrent au fer rouge. Les plus majestueuses, les plus impressionnantes d’entre elles étaient incontestablement les lignes de Nazca. Dans un endroit où il n'y a rien, une image énorme se dessine à même le sol. L'émotion était à son comble !

Voyage de la Sonic Team en Amérique du Sud 3

Cet avion est-il petit ?

Voyage de la Sonic Team en Amérique du Sud 4

Il n'y a rien

Voyage de la Sonic Team en Amérique du Sud 5

Quel spectacle

Voyage de la Sonic Team en Amérique du Sud 6

La Sonic Team en Amérique du Sud partie 4

Le 5, ils prenaient la route pour Cusco, une ville de Takayama. Cusco était autrefois la capitale de l’Empire Inca nichée à 3400 mètre d'altitude. Après sa destruction, les gens continuèrent de vivre là bas.

Le 6, ils sont allés au Machu Picchu, une ville citadelle tapie dans les hautes montagnes. Il est dit que le réalisateur Hayao Miyazaki (Princesse Mononoké) avait également visité cet endroit. Les maisons en pierre  apparaissaient et disparaissaient dans les nuages. Il pleuvait, la brume envahissait le site. La  ville  fantôme rappelait  Laputa, la légendaire cité-jardin volante du réalisateur japonais.

le manque d'oxygène

Sonic Adventure, road trip de la Sonic Team 1

Le 7 décembre ils se dirigeaient vers leur dernière destination, Pachakama. Alors qu'ils descendaient de la montagne en bus, le désert s'étendait à perte de vue. Le temple de Pachakama avait de nombreux passages très étroits et était comme un labyrinthe. Quand ils montèrent au sommet d'un des bâtiments, l’océan Pacifique apparaissait à l'ouest.

C'est ainsi que nos six compères terminèrent leur plus grand voyage le corps et l'esprit épuisés. Il ne restait plus que 30 heures de vol pour rentrer chez eux.

Les différents endroits qu'ils ont  visités se résumèrent avec le mot « ruines », mais chacune était différente et possédait un charme particulier. Ils ont pu ressentir l'histoire du passé qui s'y dégageait. Leurs yeux était remplis de bonheur.

du thé de coca

Sonic Adventure, road trip de la Sonic Team 2

Ce road trip inspira fortement Sonic Adventure sur Dreamcast

Stupéfiant

Sonic Adventure, road trip de la Sonic Team 3

Le train à Cusco

Sonic Adventure, road trip de la Sonic Team 4

La sonic team est là !

Sonic Adventure, road trip de la Sonic Team 5

bonus

Sonic Adventure, road trip de la Sonic Team 6

en jeu

Sonic Adventure jungle dreamcast

Photos bonus des locaux de la Sonic Team, de June Senoue et d'autre musiciens :

PHOTO1.JPG
HIKENAI.JPG
DRAMA0.GIF
June Senoue Sonic Adventure Dreamcast
PHOTO0.JPG
DRAMA1.GIF

Télécharger le pack de photo et le fichier HTLM contenant le blog

Pack photo +htlm link

Télécharger le prototype de Sonic Adventure Planet Web  contenant l'ensemble

Sonic Adventure Planet Web V0.500 1999/06/10

Quelques prototypes en lien avec sonic :