Stunt GP Dreamcast prototypes

Stunt GP features remote control cars reminding us of our childhood. This style of play was not common, since Re-Volt, no remote control car games had appeared on PC and Dreamcast.

The Team 17 studios (Worms) had embarked on this colorful project in which the player would drive remote-controlled cars. The gameplay was intended to be Arcade and gave pride of place to intuitive piloting.

It contains all the ingredients of a real racing game with lots of circuits, different cars with their own behavior and the obligation to have a good ranking to progress and move on to the next circuit. What differentiates SGP from its competitors is the addition of stunts that can be performed on any race.

The tricks are easily achievable, just press a button and the car spins in the air. By misjudging its speed, by not controlling its trajectory, we quickly find ourselves on the roof.

Stunt GP is a very nice little racing game with enough springboards and turbos to send us into the air to touch the sun!

Stunt GP Dreamcast beta.jpg
Stunt GP Dreamcast prototype.jpg

Team 17 and Stunt GP

Stunt GP suffered many delays. Several publishers followed one another throughout its development, including Hasbro. He will eventually come out under the tutelage of Titus.

A poor launch and marketing campaign meant that the game never achieved the sales it deserved. As a result, plans for SGP2 never materialized.

Stunt GP Hasbro.jpg

«Stunt GP is, in a sense, the last game to come out of Team 17 in its original form and philosophy.»

Stunt GP was created when Team 17 changed its development policy from contract to full-time employees. It was primarily developed by Pete Opdam (code) and Danny Burke (graphics), with help from Karl Morton, Dan Cartwright, and sound from Björn Lynne.

«We felt the need for Team 17 to switch to 100% internal development carried out by salaried and hierarchical staff with designers, producers, programmers, artists, playtest etc...»

Stunt GP old logo.jpg

The development studio had to restructure in order to assert itself on loan from publishers and put an end to an existence which relied exclusively on the work of the contract workers of the people mentioned above.

«All this triggered tensions between this new Team 17 and the contractors which had an impact  on the development of Stunt GP. The mood just wasn't great at the end...»

The early 2000s were pretty tough for British gaming. In the Wakefield/Leeds area alone, nearly all studios closed at this time. Today, Team 17 is one of the last (if not the last) studio still in operation in the region.

A little bit of technique :

From a technical point of view, it was a project ahead of its time and capable of doing much more than SGP.

«Pete wrote his own automotive physics engine for Stunt GP . It was very well done for the time, I remember...»

At the time, textures were limited to 256x256 due to target platform limitations. PCs were able to handle 512x512 but at a high memory cost. There was no real hardware smoothing of the textures, they were all "mip-mapped".

When developing the underlying engine(s), there was no hardware rendering and the 3d engine had software rendering. This means that early cars only had around 120 polygons and textures were small because every pixel on the screen had to be drawn by the main CPU. Fortunately, at some point in the project there was a transition to hardware rendering, the rendering pipeline was adjusted accordingly.

The game only loaded 24-bit .TGA files during development. The engine looked for the various graphics file formats and preferred 24-bit .TGA if present (hence the string graphics24). This means that the artist could easily modify the graphics of the game without the need for a programmer. In fact, the artist could create new levels, objects and vehicles in the game with the tools available. 512 (maybe 1024) pixel textures worked at the time, but only in development code. Much of this code was left out of the final exe during compilation.

Stunt GP PC Engine.jpg
Engine Stunt GP prototype.jpg
Stunt GP Dreamcast Engine Demo.jpg

Unused content:

This prototype of Stunt GP Dreamcast dates from October 02, 2000, almost 2 months before the final version. This title is part of European exclusives like Headhunter. The game reacts differently if played on an emulator or on a real console. On the latest Sega machine, it is not in fullscreen, you can see a light frame that changes color regularly. Remains of textures are visible during all loadings and not only on the first one (color palette) as on an emulator.

By searching the game files, this prototype becomes extremely interesting even if its Debug Menu (detailed below), all by itself, is worth the detour. By extracting its content, we see that many files, not just 2 or 3 as we are used to seeing on other prototypes, are specific to the build.

Many scripts, found only here, can be opened. They should be able to modify the game, ideal for modders. In the "OLDDEMOOVERLAYS" folder following the "GAME - CONFIG" path, 5 scripts certainly refer to demo versions shown during the development of the game. For example, browsing the textures of Stunt GP, some are linked at events such as E3.

Ten textures correspond to car models from Nascars. Stunt GP does not have any cars in this discipline. We can therefore think of automobiles, not used on the retail version, perhaps corresponding to a new game mode since 2 files, which are only found on this build, are called "CHALLENGE 2" and "CHALLENGE 3". Only one Challenge race is available in game. Stunt GP has a cartoon graphic style, textures of these records are more realistic. The presence of Stock-car cars could be explained in another way:

Stunt GP Dreamcast Extraction prototype.jpg

«Looking at these texture files and Googling, I'm pretty sure they're from EA 's 1999 version of Nascar Revolution for Windows

«It's possible that Pete Opdam pulled some models from Nascar Revolution for testing purposes during the early days of Stunt GP development. They were just integrated with the rest of the game data.»

«One thing I'm sure of is that at that time, no Team 17 artist would have been able to create this model of Nascar and the way it's unboxed.»

Stunt GP Dreamcast E3 Texture.jpg
Stunt GP Dreamcast Montain Texture.jpg
Stunt GP Dreamcast Unused Nascar Cars (1).jpg

By understanding how the scripts work and if they are linked to the 1ST_READ or the EXE, it may be possible to modify the game and have it play the different demos. There may be a way to make the 2 new Challenges playable by renaming and interchanging files.

The specifics of the  build:

Dreamcast prototype Stunt GP Main Title.jpg
Prototype Dreamcast Stunt GP Amerian English.jpg
  • When starting a new game, the screen with the "Digital Entertainment" logo is missing. The next window should be an image of a disc with the title name and not just the Stunt GP game logo. This is the loading of the title. As explained above, a color palette appears during the first loading.

prototype

Logo prototype Stunt GP Dreamcast.jpg

Final

Stunt GP Loading.jpg
  • In the language selection menu, the developers had planned for United States English. We can deduce that an American version was planned but finally canceled. The country flags representing their respective languages are not in a rounded shape.

  • The game icon to be displayed on the VMU is not present.

Stunt GP Dreamcast Data File (VMU).jpg
  • While interacting in the various menus of Stunt GP, there is no music, only navigation sound effects. This peculiarity is also audible when playing a race.

  • When arriving at the VMU selection window, the typography of the text used is in italics. This choice of the developers will be repeated in the other menus. Text should not be highlighted. On the prototype, the message "No VM present" is displayed in a box at the bottom of the screen. On the final version, the text is as follows: "No VM found - A VM whit at least 19 block of space is required to save". When trying to play without a memory card, it says "Quit whithout creating Data?" instead of "Cancel without creating Data File?". These grammatical changes are present elsewhere.

  • On the title menu, the copyright is slightly different.

Sunt GP Dreamcast Playstation 1 Pad.jpg
  • During auto-play, by not pressing START on the title menu, the Stunt GP logo is displayed at the bottom of the screen, it should not appear. The writings "DEMO PLAY" and "PRESS START BUTTON" are not visible during the demo.

  • The "SELECT LANGUAGE" and "CREDITS" submenus are not present in the "OPTIONS". By clicking on "VIEW BITMAPS" (a new development option"), a sort of "Texture Viewer" opens allowing you to observe 386 different images (textures). Some textures belong to portage_cc781905-5cde-3194-bb3b- 136bad5cf58d_ Playstation and PC (gamepad image).

  • In "VM MENU" it misses "INITIALISED DATA".

Pause Menu Stunt GP prototype.jpg
  • The presentation of "CONTROLLER MENU" is basic with no text written in the menu, only the logo of the 4 Dreamcast controllers. Unlike the final version, it is impossible to interact on this screen.

  • In "VIDEO MENU" the option "DETAIL LEVEL: 100%" is new, it allows you to adjust the values of the details of the levels that will appear in game.

  • The "RECORDS" menu does not exist yet, nothing happens by selecting it.

  • In "CATALOG", the "HORNS" section is specific to the build. Maybe the developers had planned to be able to change the horn of vehicles. (to confirm)

Stunt GP Multi Player Startup Dreamcast beta.jpg
  • When playing in multiplayer mode, the presentation of the menu is different, the logos of the 4 controllers do not appear there, only inscriptions in a box asking to press START to play with the chosen controller port. Just before arriving at the player selection, you can choose between "QUICK RACE" and "TOURNAMENT". The latter is locked or non-existent since it is impossible to access it.

  • When pausing during a game, a new option is available as "DETAIL" (the same option as in the "VIDEO MENU"  previously explained). Above the "PAUSE" menu box, it should read "PLAYER 1 PAUSED". The "CAMERA" option is selectable  in "STUNT CHALLENGE" mode, it is normally only available in other game modes.

Select Vehicule Stunt GP prototype.jpg
  • When a race begins, in "TIME TRIAL" mode, the message "ROLLING START" is not displayed at the bottom of the screen before the start countdown.

  • By choosing "EXHIBITION" mode, all cars are unlocked.  The "STUNT-BOWL SPECIAL" car (the one from Stunt Challenge) can be driven in normal race, it should only be available in the Stunt Challenge mode, its color is yellow with no black zebra spots. It is no longer mandatory to progress in the game to play all the circuits since these are also unlocked.

  • Adjustments have been made between the prototype and the commercial release of Stunt GP. For example, the road color of some races is  not the same.

Le Debug Menu :

Play  on the Dreamcast keyboard with its associated keys:

By plugging a Dreamcast keyboard into one of the controller ports ( A, B, C or D), the player can trigger build development options:

  • The direction arrows (Controller port A only) : Allows you to play the game without the controller by accelerating, braking and turning. By driving the automobile in this way, it will slightly follow a predefined trajectory. There is some kind of driver assistance.

  • ESC (ESCAPE) : Pauses the game.

  • F3  : Camera changes to distant top view mode (like Micromachine)

  • F5 : The camera does not follow the car, it remains frozen in place.

  • F6 : Cancel all camera options back to default.

  • F7, F9 or 4 : The camera  zooms in and gets closer to the rear of the car.

  • F8 : The camera zooms out and moves slightly away from the rear of the car.

  • F9 : As for the camera option of the F7 key.

  • 7 : A gray (on the ground) and red (in the air) line that follows the path appears. Its usefulness is unknown.

  • 5 : Cancels the option of key 7.

  • A : Respawn the car as if it was off the track.

  • T : Four bars, red, green, yellow and rouge  appear at the bottom of the screen. They increase or decrease during the game a bit like a loading. The usefulness of this option is unknown. Pressing T will cancel the option.

  • Z : Make the car reappear in the opposite direction of the race.

  • O : By holding this key, the player interface will disappear.

  • D : A trajectory is displayed on the screen with small dots of different colors. You have to keep the button pressed.

  • F : The game freezes on purpose. It will still be possible to interact with the Debug Menu. By pressing F again, the game can resume normally. Be careful, this option reacts differently between a Dreamcast console and an emulator.

Dev option key 7

Stunt GP Dreamcast early build dev option 7.jpg

Dev option key D

Dreamcast prototype Stunt GP Dev Option D.jpg

Dev option key T and F3

Stunt GP Dreamcast prototype weird option T.jpg

So far it was simple, now let's get down to business. This Stunt GP prototype has the most impressive  Debug Menu I've seen. Accessing and navigating between the different sub-menus is complicated. I couldn't find how to increase or decrease certain values when they pass 0.0000.

To activate the 26 special development menus, press the "TAB" key on the keyboard. The first default Debug Menu window will appear. Having already opened the Debug Menu previously, the last visited submenu will appear. By pressing "TAB" again, the game will resume as if nothing had happened. Why make it simple when you can make it complicated, right?

Once the Debug Menu is activated, the "Page Up" and "Page Down" keys allow you to scroll forwards or backwards through the 26 debugging windows. Ten of these windows are pre-recorded by default by pressing between the "1" and "0" keys on the keyboard.

To navigate in a sub-menu, press the "F12 " key. The window title will turn red. "Page Up" and "Page Down" allows, at this moment, to select the option of the menu to modify. Pressing the "ENTER" key will change the options, for example in the "Stadium Grand Prix Menu System Display" menu, between "ON " or "OFF". By pressing  "ENTER" on numbers, these will be set to zero, I have not found how to modify them. Values in some Debug Menu items can be adjusted with the help of the direction arrows. By pressing "F12" again, the game returns to normal mode to choose the desired window. The different sub-menus in photo :

Fullscreen

Fullscreen Debug Menu Stung GP Dreamcast.jpg

Lighting Variables

Ligthing Varivales Stunt Gp prototype.jpg

Race Info Variables

Stunt Gp Debug Menu Race Info Variables.jpg

Control Setup Menu (Debug)

Debug Menu Stunt GP Dreamcast Control Setup Menu (Debug).jpg

Collision Test Variables

Collision Test Variables Stung GP Dreamcast beta.jpg

Display Menu

Stung GP Dc Gd-r Display Debug Menu.jpg

SGP Network Intro Page

Stunt GP Team 17 SGP Network Intro Page.jpg

Camera Menu

Team 17 Stunt GP Camera Debug.jpg

Level Menu

Stung GP Dreamcast Level Menu.jpg

Car Replacement Mask

Debug Menu Stung GP Car Replacement Mask.jpg

Car Statistics

Stunt GP Car Statistics Debug Menu.jpg

Car Dimension Constants

Car Dimension Constants Stung GP prototype.jpg

Center of Mass Position

Center of Mass Position Stung gp.jpg

Aeorodynamic Constants

Aeorodynamic Constants Stung gp Debug menu.jpg

Tyre Left Front

Stung gp dreamcast prototype Tyre Left Front.jpg

Tyre Friction Constants

Team  17 Dreamcast Tyre Friction Constants.jpg

Shock Left Rear

Stunt GP DC prototype Shock Left Rear Debug.jpg

Gear Box Constants

Stunt GP Dreamcast proto Gear Box Constants.jpg

Engine Constants

Dreamcast prototype Stunt GP Engine Constants Debug Menu.jpg

Control Method

Stunt GP Dreamcast Debug Menu.jpg

Max Booster RPM

Dc Stunt gp Max Booster RPM Debug Menu.jpg

Replay Menu

Stunt GP Replay Menu Debug.jpg

Car Specific SFX

Stunt GP Car Specific SFX Menu.jpg

Stunt Constants

Stunt GP Dreamcast Stunt Constants.jpg

Car AI SuntKnots Editing Page

Car AI SuntKnots Editing Page Stung GP Dreamcast.jpg

FPS

Stunt GP Dreamcast prototype FPS.jpg
Stunt GP (Oct 02, 2000 Dreamcast prototype) disc.jpg

You can download Sunt GP Dreamcast build below

Stunt GP (Oct 02, 2000 prototype)

Home page of about 200 prototypes for download: List of prototypes to download

Stunt GP Dreamcast prototypes

Stunt GP met en avant des voitures téléguidées nous rappelant notre enfance. Ce style de jeu n'était pas fréquent, depuis Re-Volt, aucun jeu de voitures télécommandées n'avait fait son apparition sur PC et Dreamcast.

Les studios de la Team 17 (Worms) s'étaient lancés sur ce projet haut en couleur dans lequel le joueur allait conduire des voitures téléguidées. Le gameplay se voulait Arcade et laissait la part belle à un pilotage intuitif.

On y retrouve tous les ingrédients d'un vrai jeu de courses avec plein de circuits, différents bolides au comportement propre à eux et l'obligation d'avoir un bon classement pour progresser et passer au circuit suivant. Ce qui différencie SGP de ses concurrents est l'ajout de cascades que l'on peut effectuer sur n'importe quelle course.

Les figures sont facilement réalisables, il suffit d'appuyer sur une touche pour que la voiture tournoie dans les airs. En jugeant mal sa vitesse, en ne contrôlant pas sa trajectoire, on se retrouve vite sur le toit.

Stunt GP est un petit jeu de course fort sympathique avec ce qu'il faut de tremplins et de turbos pour nous envoyer dans les airs toucher le soleil !

Stunt GP Dreamcast beta.jpg
Stunt GP Dreamcast prototype.jpg

Team 17 et Stunt GP

Stunt GP a subi de nombreux retards. Plusieurs éditeurs se sont succédé tout au long de son développement dont Hasbro. Il sortira finalement sous la tutelle de Titus.

Un lancement et une campagne marketing médiocres ont fait que le jeu n'a jamais atteint les ventes qu'il méritait. En conséquence, les plans pour SGP2 ne se sont jamais matérialisés.

Stunt GP Hasbro.jpg

«Stunt GP est, dans un sens, le dernier jeu issu de Team 17 dans sa forme et philosophie originale»

Stunt GP a été créé au moment où Team 17 avait modifié sa politique de développement, passant de contractuels à des employés à plein temps. Il a été principalement développé par Pete Opdam (code) et Danny Burke (graphisme), avec l'aide de Karl Morton, Dan Cartwright et le son de Björn Lynne.

«On sentait bien le besoin de Team 17 de passer au dévelopement 100% interne exécuté par du staff salarié et hiérarchisé avec des designers, des producers, programmeurs, artistes, playtest etc...»

Stunt GP old logo.jpg

Le studio de développement devait se restructurer afin de s'affirmer au prêt des éditeurs et mettre fin à une existence qui s'appuyait exclusivement sur le travail de contractuels des gens cités plus haut.

«Tout ça a déclenché des tensions entre ce nouveau Team 17 et les contractuels ce qui a eu un impact  sur le développement de Stunt GP. L'ambiance n'était tout simplement pas très bonne sur la fin...»

Le début des années 2000 a été assez difficile pour le jeu vidéo britannique. Dans la seule région de Wakefield/Leeds, la quasi-totalité des studios a fermé à ce moment-là. Aujourd'hui, Team 17 est un des derniers (si ce n'est pas le dernier) studio toujours en activité dans la région.

Un peu de technique :

D'un point de vue technique, c'était un projet en avance sur son temps et capable de faire beaucoup plus que du SGP.

«Pete a écrit son propre moteur de physique automobile pour Stunt GP. C'était très bien fait pour l'époque, je m'en souviens...»

À l'époque, les textures étaient limitées à 256x256 en raison des limitations des plateformes cibles. Les PC étaient capables de gérer du 512x512 mais à un coût mémoire élevé. Il n'y avait pas de véritable lissage matériel des textures, elles étaient toutes "mip-mapped".

En développant le(s) moteur(s) sous-jacent(s), il n'y avait pas de rendu matériel et le moteur 3d avait un rendu logiciel. Cela signifie que les premières voitures n'avaient qu'environ 120 polygones et que les textures étaient petites car chaque pixel à l'écran devait être dessiné par le CPU principal. Heureusement, à un certain stade du projet, il y a eu une transition vers le rendu matériel,  le pipeline de rendu a été ajusté en conséquence.

Le jeu ne chargeait que des fichiers .TGA 24 bits pendant son développement. Le moteur recherchait les différents formats de fichiers graphiques et préférait le .TGA 24 bits s'il était présent (d'où la chaîne graphics24). Cela signifie que l'artiste pouvait facilement modifier les graphismes du jeu sans avoir besoin d'un programmeur. En fait, l'artiste pouvait créer de nouveaux niveaux, objets et véhicules dans le jeu avec les outils disponibles. Les textures de 512 (peut-être 1024) pixels fonctionnaient à l'époque, mais uniquement dans le code de développement. Une grande partie de ce code a été exclue de l'exe final lors de la compilation.

Stunt GP PC Engine.jpg
Engine Stunt GP prototype.jpg
Stunt GP Dreamcast Engine Demo.jpg

Le contenu non utilisé :

Ce prototype de Stunt GP Dreamcast date du 02 octobre 2000 soit presque 2 mois avant la version finale. Ce titre fait partie des exclusivités Européennes comme Headhunter. Le jeu réagit de manière différente si on le joue sur un émulateur ou sur une vraie console. Sur la dernière machine de Sega, il n'est pas en fullscreen, on aperçoit un légé encadré changeant de couleur régulièrement. Des restants de textures sont visibles durant tous les loadings et non pas uniquement sur le premier (palette de couleurs) comme sur un émulateurs.

En fouillant les fichiers du jeu, ce prototype devient extrêmement intéressant même si son Debug Menu (détaillé plus bas), à lui tout seul, vaut le détour. En procédant à l'extraction de son contenu, on constate que de nombreux fichiers, non pas juste 2 ou 3 comme on a l'habitude d'en voir sur d'autres prototypes, sont spécifiques à la build.

De nombreux scripts, se trouvant uniquement ici, peuvent être ouverts. Ils doivent permettre de modifier le jeu, l'idéal pour les moddeurs. Dans le dossier "OLDDEMOOVERLAYS" en suivant le chemin d'accés "GAME - CONFIG", 5 scripts font certainement référence à des versions de démonstrations montrées durant le développement du jeu. Par exemple, en parcourant les textures de Stunt GP, certaines sont liées à des évènements tels que l'E3.

Dix textures correspondent à des modèles de voitures de Nascars. Stunt GP ne possède aucune voiture de cette discipline. On peut donc penser à des automobiles, non utilisées sur la version au détail, correspondant peut-être à un mode de jeu inédit puisque 2 dossiers, que l'on ne trouve que sur cette build, se nomment "CHALLENGE 2" et "CHALLENGE 3". Une seule course de Challenge est disponible en jeu. Stunt GP a un style graphique cartoon, des textures de ces dossiers sont plus réalistes. La présence des voitures de Stock-car pourrait s'expliquer autrement :

Stunt GP Dreamcast Extraction prototype.jpg

«En regardant ces fichiers de textures et en cherchant sur Google, je suis presque sûr qu'ils proviennent de la version 1999 de Nascar Revolution pour Windows de EA

«Il est possible que Pete Opdam ait extrait certains modèles de Nascar Revolution à des fins de tests durant les premiers jours du développement de Stunt GP. Ils ont juste été intégrés avec le reste des données du jeu.»

«Une chose dont je suis sûr, c'est qu'à cette époque, aucun artiste de Team 17 n'aurait été capable de créer ce modèle de Nascar et la façon dont il est déballé.»

Stunt GP Dreamcast E3 Texture.jpg
Stunt GP Dreamcast Montain Texture.jpg
Stunt GP Dreamcast Unused Nascar Cars (1).jpg

En comprenant comment fonctionnent les scripts et s'ils sont reliés au 1ST_READ ou à l'EXE, il sera peut-être possible de modifier le jeu et le faire jouer les différentes démos. Il y a peut-être un moyen de rendre jouables les 2 nouveaux Challenges en renommant et interchangeant des fichiers.

Les spécificités de la  build :

Dreamcast prototype Stunt GP Main Title.jpg
Prototype Dreamcast Stunt GP Amerian English.jpg
  • En démarrant un nouveau jeu, il manque l'écran avec le logo "Digital Entertainment". La fenêtre suivante devrait être l'image d'un disque avec le nom du titre et non pas tout simplement le logo du jeu Stunt GP. Il s'agit du loading du titre. Comme expliqué plus haut, une palette de couleurs apparaît lors du premier loading.

prototype

Logo prototype Stunt GP Dreamcast.jpg

Finale

Stunt GP Loading.jpg
  • Dans le menu de sélection des langues, les développeurs avaient prévu l'anglais des États-Unis. On peut en déduire qu'une version américaine était prévue mais finalement annulée. Les drapeaux des pays représentant leurs langues respectives ne sont pas dans une forme arrondie.

  • L'icône du jeu devant s'afficher sur la VMU n'est pas présente.

Stunt GP Dreamcast Data File (VMU).jpg
  • En interagissant dans les différents menus de Stunt GP, il n'y a aucune musique, uniquement les effets sonores de navigation. Cette particularité est également audible en jouant une course.

  • En arrivant à la fenêtre de sélection des VMU, la typographie du texte utilisée est en italique. Ce choix des développeurs se répètera dans les autres menus. Le texte ne devrait pas être mis en évidence. Sur le prototype, le message "No VM present" s'affiche dans un encadré au fond de l'écran. Sur la version finale, le texte est le suivant : "No VM found - A VM whit at least 19 block of space is required to save". En voulant jouer sans carte mémoire, il est écrit "Quit whithout creating Data ?" au lieu de "Cancel without creating Data File ?". Ces changements grammaticales sont présents ailleurs.

  • Au menu titre, le copyright est légèrement différent.

Sunt GP Dreamcast Playstation 1 Pad.jpg
  • Durant l'auto-play, en n'appuyant pas sur START au menu titre, le logo de Stunt GP s'affiche au fond de l'écran, il ne devrait pas apparaître. Les écritures "DEMO PLAY" et "PRESS START BUTTON" ne sont pas visibles durant la démo.

  • Les sous menus "SELECT LANGUAGE" et "CREDITS" ne sont pas présents dans les "OPTIONS". En cliquant sur "VIEW BITMAPS" (un option de développement inédites"), en quelque sorte une "Texture Viewer" s'ouvre permettant d'observer 386 images différentes (textures). Certaines textures appartiennent au portage  Playstation et PC (image de manette).

  • Dans "VM MENU" il manque "INITIALISE DATA".

Pause Menu Stunt GP prototype.jpg
  • La présentation de "CONTROLLER MENU" est basique sans aucun texte écrit dans le menu, uniquement le logo des 4 manettes Dreamcast. Contrairement à la version finale, il est impossible d'interagir sur cet écran.

  • Dans "VIDEO MENU" l'option "DETAIL LEVEL: 100%" est inédite, elle permet d'ajuster les valeurs des détails des niveaux qui apparaîtront en jeu.

  • Le menu "RECORDS" n'existe pas encore, rien de ne se passe en le sélectionnant.

  • Dans "CATALOGUE", la rubrique "HORNS" est spécifique à la build. Peut-être que les développeur avait prévu de pouvoir faire évoluer le klaxon des véhicules. (à confirmer)

Stunt GP Multi Player Startup Dreamcast beta.jpg
  • En jouant au mode multiplayer, la présentation du menu est différente, les logos des 4 manettes n'y figurent pas, uniquement des inscriptions dans un encadré demandant de presser START pour jouer avec le port de manette choisies. Juste avant d'arriver à la sélection des joueurs, on peut choisir entre "QUICK RACE" et "TOURNAMENT". Ce dernier est verrouillé ou inexistant puisqu'il est impossible d'y accéder.

  • En faisant pause durant une partie, une nouvelle option est disponible comme "DETAIL" (la même option que dans le menu "VIDEO MENU"  précédemment expliqué). Au-dessus de l'encadré du menu "PAUSE", on devrait pouvoir y lire "PLAYER 1 PAUSED". L'option "CAMERA" est sélectionnable  en mode "STUNT CHALLENGE", elle n'est normalement disponible que dans les autres modes de jeu.

Select Vehicule Stunt GP prototype.jpg
  • Quand une course commence, en mode "TIME TRIAL", le message "ROLLING START" ne s'affiche pas au fond de l'écran avant le décompte du départ.

  • En choisissant le mode "EXHIBITION", toutes les voitures sont déverrouillées.  La voiture "STUNT-BOWL SPECIAL" (celle de Stunt Challenge) est pilotable en course normale, elle devrait être uniquement disponible dans le mode Stunt Challenge, sa couleur est jaune sans taches zébrées noires. Il n'est plus obligatoire de progresser dans le jeu pour jouer tous les circuits puisque ceux-ci sont également débloqués.

  • Des ajustements ont été effectué entre le prototype et la sortie commerciale de Stunt GP. Par exemple, la couleur de la route de certaines courses n'est  pas la même.

Le Debug Menu :

Jouer  au clavier Dreamcast avec ses touches associées :

En branchant un clavier Dreamcast dans un des ports de manettes (A, B, C ou D), le joueur peut enclencher des options de développement de la build :

  • Les flèches de direction (Port manette A uniquement) : Permet de jouer au jeu sans la manette en accélérant, freinant et en tournant. En conduisant l'automobile de cette manière, elle suivra légèrement une trajectoire prédéfinie. Il y a une sorte d'aide à la conduite.

  • ESC (ESCAPE): Permet de mettre le jeu en pause.

  • F3  : La caméra change et passe en mode vue de haut éloignée (comme Micromachine)

  • F5 : La caméra ne suit pas la voiture, elle reste figée sur place.

  • F6 : Annule toutes les options de caméra pour revenir à celle par défaut.

  • F7, F9 ou 4 : La caméra  zoom et se rapproche de l'arrière de la voiture.

  • F8 : La caméra dezoom et s'éloigne légèrement de l'arrière de la voiture.

  • F9 : Comme pour l'option de caméra de la touche F7.

  • 7 : Une ligne grise (au sol) et rouge (dans les airs) qui suit le tracé apparaît. Son utilité est inconnue.

  • 5 : Annule l'option de la touche 7.

  • R : Faire réapparaître la voiture comme si elle était sorti de la piste.

  • T : Quatre barres, rouge, verte, jaune et rouge  apparaissent au fond de l'écran. Elles augmentent ou diminuent durant la partie un peu comme un loading. L'utilité de cette option est inconue. En appuyant sur T, l'option s'annulera.

  • Z : Faire réapparaître la voiture dans le sens inverse de course.

  • O : En maintenant cette touche, l'interface du joueur disparaîtra.

  • D : Une trajectoire s'affiche à l'écran avec des petits points de différentes couleurs. Il faut maintenir la touche appuyée.

  • F : Le jeu se freeze volontairement. Il sera toujours possible d'interagir avec le Debug Menu. En appuyant à nouveau sur la F, la partie pourra reprendre normalement. Attention, cette option réagit de manière différente entre une console Dreamcast et un émulateur.

Dev option touche 7

Stunt GP Dreamcast early build dev option 7.jpg

Dev option touche D

Dreamcast prototype Stunt GP Dev Option D.jpg

Dev option touche T et F3

Stunt GP Dreamcast prototype weird option T.jpg

Jusqu'ici c'était simple, maintenant passons aux choses sérieuses. Ce prototype de Stunt GP possède le plus impressionnant  Debug Menu que j'ai vu. Accéder et naviguer entre les différents sous-menus est compliqué. Je n'ai pas trouvé comment augmenter ou diminuer certaines valeurs quand elles passent à 0.0000.

Pour activer les 26 menus spéciaux de développement, il faut appuyer sur la touche du clavier "TAB". La première fenêtre par défaut du Debug Menu s'affichera. En ayant déjà ouvert le Debug Menu précédemment, le dernier sous-menu visité apparaîtra. En appuayant à nouveau sur "TAB", le jeu reprendra comme si de rien n'était. Pourquoi faire simple quand on peut faire compliqué non ?

Une fois le Debug Menu activé, les touches "Page Up" et "Page Down" permettent de faire défiler en avant ou en arrière les 26 fenêtres de debogage. Dix de ces fenêtres sont pré-enregistrées par défaut en appuyant entre les touche "1" et "0" du clavier.

Pour naviguer dans un sous-menu, il faut presser la touche "F12". Le titre de la fenêtre deviendra rouge. "Page Up" et "Page Down" permet, à ce moment, de sélectionner l'option du menu à modifier. En appuyant sur la touche "ENTER", les options se modifieront, par exemple dans le menu "Stadium Grand Prix Menu System Display", entre "ON" ou "OFF". En appuyant  "ENTER" sur des chiffres, ceux-ci se mettront à zéro, je n'ai pas trouvé comment les modifier. Des valeurs, dans certaines rubriques du Debug Menu, peuvent être ajustées avec l'aide des flèches de directions. En appuyant à nouveau sur "F12" le jeu repasse en mode normal pour choisir la fenêtre désirée. Les différents sous menu en photo :

Fullscreen

Fullscreen Debug Menu Stung GP Dreamcast.jpg

Lighting Variables

Ligthing Varivales Stunt Gp prototype.jpg

Race Info Variables

Stunt Gp Debug Menu Race Info Variables.jpg

Control Setup Menu (Debug)

Debug Menu Stunt GP Dreamcast Control Setup Menu (Debug).jpg

Collision Test Variables

Collision Test Variables Stung GP Dreamcast beta.jpg

Display Menu

Stung GP Dc Gd-r Display Debug Menu.jpg

SGP Network Intro Page

Stunt GP Team 17 SGP Network Intro Page.jpg

Camera Menu

Team 17 Stunt GP Camera Debug.jpg

Level Menu

Stung GP Dreamcast Level Menu.jpg

Car Replacement Mask

Debug Menu Stung GP Car Replacement Mask.jpg

Car Statistics

Stunt GP Car Statistics Debug Menu.jpg

Car Dimension Constants

Car Dimension Constants Stung GP prototype.jpg

Center of Mass Position

Center of Mass Position Stung gp.jpg

Aeorodynamic Constants

Aeorodynamic Constants Stung gp Debug menu.jpg

Tyre Left Front

Stung gp dreamcast prototype Tyre Left Front.jpg

Tyre Friction Constants

Team  17 Dreamcast Tyre Friction Constants.jpg

Shock Left Rear

Stunt GP DC prototype Shock Left Rear Debug.jpg

Gear Box Constants

Stunt GP Dreamcast proto Gear Box Constants.jpg

Engine Constants

Dreamcast prototype Stunt GP Engine Constants Debug Menu.jpg

Control Method

Stunt GP Dreamcast Debug Menu.jpg

Max Booster RPM

Dc Stunt gp Max Booster RPM Debug Menu.jpg

Replay Menu

Stunt GP Replay Menu Debug.jpg

Car Specific SFX

Stunt GP Car Specific SFX Menu.jpg

Stunt Constants

Stunt GP Dreamcast Stunt Constants.jpg

Car AI SuntKnots Editing Page

Car AI SuntKnots Editing Page Stung GP Dreamcast.jpg

FPS

Stunt GP Dreamcast prototype FPS.jpg
Stunt GP (Oct 02, 2000 Dreamcast prototype) disc.jpg

Vous pouvez télécharger la build de Sunt GP Dreamcast ci-dessous

Stunt GP (Oct 02, 2000 prototype)

Page d'accueil d'environ 200 prototypes en téléchargement : Liste des prototypes à télécharger