From understanding to interpretation of Agartha Dreamcast.

I discovered quite a few unreleased from the Dreamcast. Each game canceled has its history, each title has its untapped potential.

 

Agartha is arguably the most fun and exciting Unreleased to analyze. The video, the playable parts of the title show nothing but at the same time reveal a lot. Its gameplay, its game mechanics, its graphics, its scenario and its agonizing atmosphere allow an unprecedented approach totally different from other canceled games. It is possible to imagine playing a finished game and yet this survival horror was far from being, we only have the contours of a future Hit in the form of a simple demo. Let's face it, apart from walking and browsing its inventory, the game of No Cliché does not allow more interaction. He  It is necessary to go further in its understanding by interpreting what it could have become once the product is finalized.

 

By observing the different environments that the hero can explore, one can hypothesize for future puzzles to be solved. Winks are hidden in the sets or in the build files.

"We created while moving forward ... it was a rather special method ... nowadays, we tend to plan more things before going into production at the risk of wasting money on things that do not will not be in the final game. "

Some details about the construction of prototypes: Video builds contain several folders called _SEQ preceded by a number. Each SEQ, with its number, corresponds to a sequence of the video. Each sequence of the video ends with a loading screen before moving on to the next.

Animations, scripts, and models have fun temporary names.

“Sometimes personal delusions of the one who took care of making these assets. It feels good to have a good laugh to get rid of the stress of a production. "

The name of the animation is "MemeQuenouille", that of the model "MemeArno"

Agartha Dreamcast Animation.png

Agartha's video

Unreleased Agartha Dreamcast inside the build.jpg

The name of the script "Chasseurkisfaitbouffe"

Agartha Dreamcast Hunter Script Name.jpg

Please note, what follows is only interpretation. Who knows if I'm right!

Possible puzzles?

  • We now know that Kirk had to venture into the depths of Transyslavania to solve the secrets of the Hollow Earth (from 10 minutes 25) . By viewing the video above ( from 11:51 ) , to access it, the player would have, in my opinion, to follow a path in an old ore mine (16_SQE), then navigate with a boat on an underground lake before arrive in the bowels of our planet (15_SQE). The entrance to the mine was in a mill (12_SQE). While being attentive to the video (from 8:11) , the camera shots linger on the machinery of the mill. The objective would have been to restore the mill to working order by having to recover a crank or a belt.

Mine + underground lake (playable part, CDI Agartha 16_SQE)

Dreamcast Agartha Unreleased Dreamcast Games Mine.jpg

Village, telegraph (playable part, CDI Agartha 09_SQE)

Agartha Beta Dreamcast télégraphe.jpg

Inn toilet (playable part, CDI Agartha 09_SQE)

Auberge Agartha Dreamcast.jpg

Windmill (playable part, CDI Agartha 12_SQE)

Agartha prototype Dreamcast Moulin.jpg

Cave with lava (playable game, CDI Agartha 15_SQE)

Agartha unreleased Dreamcast games lave.jpg
  • In a room of one of the buildings in the 9_SQE playable game, there is an object resembling a telegraph. Headphones are even placed on the table. Referring to Agartha's screenplay, Kirk would unwittingly lure his Tibetan sister Julie or Julia (temporary name) to Romania. Perhaps he was going to contact him by sending him a telegram.

  • Also in the same SQE, close to where we start the game, is a hostel. Take advantage of admiring, at the entrance of the building, the attention to detail brought by the developers with the Amoiry of the Romanian royal family on the large barrel. The hostel has a free-fall restroom outside. Based on the video (from 2:11) , something terrible is happening in this scene. By choosing to play 5_SQE, the interior of the hostel will be accessible. A secret room is located near the cauldron. We discover a prisoner hanging with his feet from the ceiling. In my reasoning, the plummeting toilet was going to be a means of escape for the player, an escape from the sights of events going to happen there, perhaps in the form of a cutscene.

  • An earthquake would draw Kirk to Romania . He was probably going to be the trigger for the avalanche planned at the start of the game (see sketch and play the E3 demo, 3_SQE and 6_SQE). On the snowy roads of Dracula's country, a government convoy (minus the Romanian flags on the front of the vehicles) was going to be swept away by the avalanche (2_SQE). In the video (from 0:48) , a camera shot stops on a mysterious briefcase. I deduce that it could contain top secret, confidential documents related to the sect. The Romanian government probably knew  what was happening.

Accident (playable part, CDI Agartha 02_SQE)

Dreamcast Agartha prototype avalanche.jpg

Armoiry of the royal family (playable part, CDI Agartha 09_SQE)

Agartha prototype Dc Rouman royal family.jpg

The interior of the hostel (playable part, CDI Agartha 05_SQE)

prototype of Agartha Dreamcast Chaudron.jpg

Winks?

Agartha Texture Dreamcast, philippe.png
  • In the textures extracted from Agartha , one of them is called "11775_phillipeface.pvr" (Philippe Vachay?). An NPC using these textures is present in the video (from 15:00) . It must be a delirium between the members of No Cliché .

  • Above the classroom on playable map 9_SQE are 2 apartments. Posters stuck to the wall with the writing "Pan t is dead" decorate one of them. They must have a meaning that escapes me at the moment. Did the pupils of the school below learn French?

Pan is dead to you (playable part, CDI Agartha 09_SQE)

Agartha GD-R Dreamcast pan t'est mort.jpg

To learn more about Agartha Dreamcast and  download the different prototypes:

Agartha Dreamcast release

De la compréhension à l'interprétation d'Agartha Dreamcast.

J'ai découvert bon nombre d'Unreleased de la Dreamcast. Chaque jeu annulé à son histoire, chaque titre à son potentiel non exploité.

 

Agartha est sans doute l'Unreleased le plus plaisant et passionnant à analyser. La vidéo, les parties jouables du titre ne montrent rien mais en même temps en dévoilent beaucoup. Son gameplay, ses mécaniques de jeu, ses graphismes, son scénario et son ambiance angoissante permettent une approche inédite totalement différente des autres jeux annulés. Il est possible de s'imaginer jouer à un jeu fini et pourtant ce survival horror était loin de l'être, nous n'avons que les contours d'un futur Hit sous la forme d'une simple démo . Reconnaissons-le, a part marcher et parcourir son inventaire, le jeu de No Cliché ne permet pas plus d'interaction. Il  faut aller plus loin dans sa compréhension en interprant ce qu'il aurait pu devenir une fois le produit finalisé.

 

En observant les différents environnements que le héros peut explorer, on peut émettre des hypothèses pour de futures énigmes à résoudre. Des clins d'oeil se cachent dans les décors ou dans les fichiers des builds.

«On créait en avançant... c'était une méthode un peu particulière... de nos jours, on tend plutôt à prévoir plus de choses avant de se lancer en production au risque de gâcher de l'argent sur des choses qui ne seront pas dans le jeu final.»

Quelques précisions à propos de la construction des prototypes : Les builds vidéo contiennent plusieurs dossiers appelés _SEQ précédé par un chiffre. Chaque SEQ, avec son numéro, correspond à une séquence de la vidéo. Chaque séquence de la vidéo se finit par un écran de loading avant de passer à la suivante.

Des animations, des scriptes et des modèles ont des noms temporaires amusants.

«Des délires parfois perso de celui qui s'est occupé de faire ces assets. Ça fait du bien de se marrer pour se débarrasser du stress d'une production.»

Le nom de l'animation est "MemeQuenouille", celui du modèle "MemeArno"

Agartha Dreamcast Animation.png

La vidéo d'Agartha

Unreleased Agartha Dreamcast inside the build.jpg

Le nom du scripte "Chasseurkisfaitbouffe"

Agartha Dreamcast Hunter Script Name.jpg

Attention, ce qui suit n'est que de l'interprétation. Qui sais si je suis dans le vrai !

De possibles énigmes ?

  • Nous savons à présent que Kirk devait s'aventurer dans les profondeurs de la Transyslavanie pour résoudre les secrets de la terre creuse (dès 10 minutes 25). En visionnant la vidéo au-dessus (dès 11:51), pour y accéder, le joueur allait devoir, selon moi, suivre un chemin dans ancienne mine de minerais (16_SQE), puis naviguer avec une barque sur un lac souterrain avant d'arriver dans les entrailles de notre planète (15_SQE). L'entrée de la mine se situait dans un moulin (12_SQE). En étant attentif à la vidéo (dès 8:11), les plans de caméra s'attardent sur la machinerie du moulin. L'objectif aurait été de remettre en état de marche le moulin en devant récupérer une manivelle ou une courroie.

Mine + lac souterrain (partie jouable, CDI Agartha 16_SQE)

Dreamcast Agartha Unreleased Dreamcast Games Mine.jpg

Village, télégraphe (partie jouable, CDI Agartha 09_SQE)

Agartha Beta Dreamcast télégraphe.jpg

Auberge toilette (partie jouable, CDI Agartha 09_SQE)

Auberge Agartha Dreamcast.jpg

Moulin (partie jouable, CDI Agartha 12_SQE)

Agartha prototype Dreamcast Moulin.jpg

Caverne avec la lave (partie jouable, CDI Agartha 15_SQE)

Agartha unreleased Dreamcast games lave.jpg
  • Dans une pièce d'un des bâtiments de la partie jouable 9_SQE, on distingue un objet ressemblant à un télégraphe. Des écouteurs sont même posés sur la table. En se référant au scénario d'Agartha, Kirk allait involontairement attirer sa soeur Tibétaine Julie ou Julia (prénom temporaire) en Roumanie. Peut-être allait il l'a contacté en lui envoyant un télégramme.

  • Toujours dans la même SQE, proche de l'endroit où nous commençons la partie, se trouve une auberge. Profitez d'admirer, à l'entrée de la batisse, le soin du détail apporté par les développeurs avec l'Amoiry de la famille royale Roumaine sur le gros tonneau. L'auberge possède des toilettes en chute libre à l'extérieur. En se fiant à la vidéo (dès 2:11), il se passe quelque chose de terrible dans cette scène. En choisissant de jouer la 5_SQE, l'intérieur de l'auberge sera accessible. Une pièce secrète se trouve proche du chaudron. On y découvre un prisonnier pendu les pieds au plafond. D'après mon raisonnement, les toilettes en chute libre allaient être un moyen de fuir pour le joueur, une échappatoire aux vues des évènements allant arriver en ce lieu, peut-être sour la forme d'une cinématique.

  • Un séisme allait attirer Kirk en Roumanie. Il allait probablement être l'élément déclencheur de l'avalanche prévu au début du jeu (voir esquisse et jouer à la démo E3, la 3_SQE et la 6_SQE). Sur les routes enneigées du pays de Dracula, un convoi gouvernemental (déduction faite grâce aux drapeaux Roumains à l'avant des véhicules) allait se faire emporter par l'avalanche (2 _SQE). Dans la vidéo (dès 0:48), un plan de caméra s'arrête sur une mystérieuse mallette. J'en déduis qu'elle pouvait contenir des documents top secret, confidentiels en lien avec la secte. Le gouvernement Roumain savait sans doute  ce qui se passait.

Accident (partie jouable, CDI Agartha 02_SQE)

Dreamcast Agartha prototype avalanche.jpg

Armoiry de la famille royale (partie jouable, CDI Agartha 09_SQE)

Agartha prototype Dc Rouman royal family.jpg

L'intérieur de l'auberge (partie jouable, CDI Agartha 05_SQE)

prototype of Agartha Dreamcast Chaudron.jpg

Des clins d'oeil ?

Agartha Texture Dreamcast, philippe.png
  • Dans les textures extraites d'Agartha, l'une d'entre elles s'appelle "11775_phillipeface.pvr"(Philippe Vachay ?). Un NPC utilisant ces textures est présent dans la vidéo (dès 15:00). Il doit s'agir d'un délire entre les membres de No Cliché.

  • Au-dessus de la salle de classe de la map jouable 9_SQE se trouve 2 appartements. Des affiches collées au mur avec écrit "Pan t'est mort" décorent l'un d'entre eux. Elles doivent avoir une signification qui m'échappe pour le moment. Les élèves de l'école du dessous apprenaient-ils le français ?

Pan t'est mort (partie jouable, CDI Agartha 09_SQE)

Agartha GD-R Dreamcast pan t'est mort.jpg

Pour en apprendre d'avantage à propos d'Agartha Dreamcast et  télécharger les différents prototypes :

Agartha Dreamcast release