Vanishing Point Dreamcast prototypes

Vanishing Point  was developed by an English studio called Clockwork Games. We owe them for games like Lemmings 3D and Rush Hour.

Vanishing Point offers everything we were entitled to expect from a racing game at the time (races, time trials, championships), while adding a Stunt mode. In this mode, comprising about fifteen events, many acrobatics must be performed to obtain the most points possible.

The choice of vehicles from prestigious licenses was one of the strong points of the game. Thus, driving a hippie bus Volkswagen  brought real happiness, with the impression of bringing our band of friends to Woodstock to soar while listening to Jimi Hendrix.

As is often in the racing genre, you had to wait a while before getting more interesting cars and fully enjoying the game. About thirty cars were available on about ten circuits. You had to pilot your vehicles in road traffic, avoiding collisions with other motorists, slaloming between users and other competitors.

In terms of piloting, Vanishing Point was resolutely intended to be an arcade experience.

The specificities of  builds:

Vanishing Point Dreamcast Cover.jpg
Vanishing Point Dreamcast beta Intro.jpg
Dreamcast GD-R Vanishing Point game.jpg
  • To get to the Vanishing Point title menu, 4 different screens follow one another in a precise order. In this prototype version, 3 are missing: the one with the copyright concerning the title of the game with the brands of the licensed cars, the one with the logo of the VP game starting with "Acclaim Entertainment.Inc Presents" and finally, the loading one with the VP- logo  displaying "Accessing Data".

Vanish Point Dreamcast prototype Title Menu.jpg
prototype Dreamcast Vanishing Point Credit.jpg
  • The title menu is also slightly different. There should be a box containing the logos of the publisher, the studio and the game. In the prototype, the image is uniform, without cuts and without a box. The name of the game Vanishing Point is not present, the copyright is written in a different way, "Clockwork Games Limited 2000" instead of "TM 2000 Clockwork Games Limited".

prototype

Vanishing Point Dreamcast prototype Title Menu.jpg

Final

Final Vanishing Point Dreamcast Title Menu.jpg
  • At the main menu, at the bottom right, it's shown the version number of the build, the time and the date of its creation.

  • By leaving the game on without pressing a button on the controller, it should go to sleep with the crests of the various car manufacturers. The screen saver does not seem to be implemented.

Beta Vanishing Point Dreamcast Records.jpg
  • In the box at the top of the menu windows, the one that changes color with the different brands of vehicles, the Acclaim publisher name, the Clockwork studio name, and the Vanishing Point game name should appear alternately. Nothing happens in this beta.

  • When selecting Extra from the main menu, the "Secret" option is missing.

  • The Credits in the Extra selection are basic. The names of different people  having worked on the game and their role (written primarily in yellow) are not present. There are only acknowledgements to people and companies outside of  Acclaim and the studio.

Vanishing Point prototype Dreamcast Visual Settings.jpg
  • Following this path "Option" - "Records" - "Tournaments" - "Single Race", the last option "1 Lap" should be "2 Lap". By selecting it, 3 choices open (1 Lap, 2 Lap and 3 Lap) instead of 2 for the final version. "1 Lap" is specific to this build.

  • By going to "Sound Settings" in the "Option" menu, the default values for music and sound are not the same as in the commercial version. "Music Volume" is set to 60% instead of 90% while "Movie Volume" is set to 90%, which should be 100%. These differences in values, for music, are also found in the pause menu once in game.

Vanishing Point Dreamcast prototype Warning.jpg
  • In "Controller Settings" for "Player 1" in the "Option" menu, "Steering Sensitivity" is set to Normal and not Low.

  • In "Visual Settings" of the "Options" menu, the choice "Rival Makers" does not yet exist.

  • By going through the different menus, some options are selectable when they should not be; others are not when they should be. It would take too long to list them all.

  • At the end of the creation of a profile in order to play on the Internet in "Internet Challenge", a warning screen appears. The word Warning should be in red and not the same color as the rest.

  • When wanting to play the "Head 2 Head" mode, 3 choices should be presented to players, including "Single Race", "Balloon Buster" and "Chicken Race". In this beta, these 3 sub-modes are not there; we come directly to the choice of vehicle. This problem is also found in "Multiplayer" mode, the player will arrive directly to the "Multiplayer Setup" window in which some information is missing.

Prototype

Vanishing Point Dreamcast prototype Multiplayer Setup.jpg

Final

Vanishing Point Dreamcast Multiplayer Setup.jpg
  • When playing the "Stunt Jump" mode in "Arcade", at the Objectives screen, the font is larger, some text is missing and the game offers another car to drive. The allocated time is 13 seconds instead of 12 and the objective to reach is 60 meters instead of 80.

GD-R Dreamcast Vanishing Point The Long Jump.jpg
Vanishing Point Dreamcast Final Stunt Driver.jpg
  • In-game, in "Stunt Jump", the remaining time at the top-left includes hundredths, it should be just seconds. Another time count, the one spent in the race, should be present at the bottom-left.

  • After the time has elapsed in "Stunt Jump", the "OUT TIME" window appears. The distribution of points to win is not the same: 25 points for "Time Remaining" (it should also be called just "Time") instead of 75 for example; it's reversed.

Dreamcast Vanishing Point prototype in game.jpg
Vanishing Point  Dreamcast in game.jpg

It's up to you to look for other subtleties, especially in-game!

VANISHING POINT (Nov 03, 2000 prototype).jpg

You can download Vanishing Point Dreamcast builds below

VANISHING POINT (Nov 03, 2000 prototype)

VANISHING POINT (Nov 10, 2000 prototype).jpg

VANISHING POINT (Nov 10, 2000 prototype)

I have not analyzed this build in detail, the dates being close to one another

More than 200 prototypes, documents, press kit have been dumped or scanned, you will find them in free download in the "Releases de prototypes et documents"

Vanishing Point Dreamcast prototypes

Vanishing Point a été développé par un studio anglais du nom de Clockwork Games. On leur doit des jeux comme Lemmings 3D ou Rush Hour.

Vanishing Point propose tout ce qu'on était en droit d'attendre d'un jeu de course à l'époque (courses, contre-la-montre, championnats), tout en y ajoutant un mode Stunt. Dans ce mode-ci, comprenant une quinzaine d'épreuve, de nombreuses acrobaties doivent être réalisées pour obtenir le plus de points possible.

Le choix de véhicules issus de licences prestigieuses étaient l'un point fort du jeu. Ainsi, conduire un bus hippie Volkswagen procurait un réel bonheur, l'impression d'amener notre bande d'amis à Woodstock pour planer en écoutant Jimi Hendrix.

Comme souvent dans le genre racing, il fallait attendre un certain temps avant d'obtenir des voitures plus intéressantes et profiter pleinement du jeu. Une trentaine de bolides étaient disponibles sur une dizaine de circuits. On devait piloter nos véhicules dans un trafic routier en évitant les collisions avec d'autres automobilistes, en slalomant entre les usagers et les autres concurrents.

Niveau pilotage, Vanishing Point se voulait résolument Arcade.

Les spécificités des  builds :

Vanishing Point Dreamcast Cover.jpg
Vanishing Point Dreamcast beta Intro.jpg
Dreamcast GD-R Vanishing Point game.jpg
  • Pour arriver au menu titre de Vanishing Point, 4 différentes fenêtres se succèdent dans un ordre précis. Sur cette version prototype, il en manque 3, celle du copyright concernant le titre du jeu avec les marques des voitures sous licence, celle avec le logo du jeu VP commençant par "Acclaim Entertainment.Inc Presents" et pour finir celle de chargement avec le logo VP affichant "Accessing Data".

Vanish Point Dreamcast prototype Title Menu.jpg
prototype Dreamcast Vanishing Point Credit.jpg
  • Le menu titre est lui aussi légèrement différent. Il devrait y avoir un encadré contenant les logos de l'éditeur, du studio et du jeu. Sur le prototype l'image est uniforme, sans coupure et sans encadré. Le nom du jeu Vanishing Point n'est pas présent, le copyright est écrit d'une autre manière, "Clockwork Games Limited 2000" à la place de "TM 2000 Clockwork Games Limited".

prototype

Vanishing Point Dreamcast prototype Title Menu.jpg

Finale

Final Vanishing Point Dreamcast Title Menu.jpg
  • Une fois arrivé au menu principal, au fond à droite apparaît le numéro de version de la build, l'heure et la date de sa création.

  • En laissant le jeu allumé sans appuyer sur un bouton de la manette, il devrait se mettre en veille avec les écussons des différents constructeurs de voitures. L'écran de veille ne semble pas implémenté.

Beta Vanishing Point Dreamcast Records.jpg
  • Dans l'encadré au sommet des fenêtres des menus, celui qui change de couleur avec les différentes marques des véhicules, le nom de l'éditeur Acclaim, le nom du studio Clockwork et le nom du jeu Vanishing Point devraient apparaître en alternance. Rien ne se passe sur cette bêta.

  • En sélectionnant Extra du menu principal, il manque l'option "Secret".

  • Les crédits dans  Extra sont basiques. Le noms des différentes personnes  ayant travaillé sur le jeu et leur rôle (écrit en principe en jaune) ne sont pas présents. On y trouve uniquement les remerciements aux personnes et aux entreprises extérieures à Acclaim et au studio.

Vanishing Point prototype Dreamcast Visual Settings.jpg
  • En suivant ce chemin d'accès "Option" - "Records" - "Tournaments" - "Single Race", la dernière option "1 Lap" devrait être "2 Lap". En la sélectionnant 3 choix s'ouvrent (1 Lap, 2 Lap et 3 Lap) au lieu de 2 pour la version finale. "1 Lap" est spécifique à cette build.

  • En allant dans "Sound Settings" du menu "Option", les valeurs par défaut de la musique et du son ne sont pas les mêmes que sur la version commerciale. "Music Volume" est paramétré à 60 % au lieu de 90 % tandis que "Movie Volume" à 90 % qui devrait être 100 %. Ces différences de valeurs, pour la musique, se retrouvent également au menu pause une fois en jeu.

Vanishing Point Dreamcast prototype Warning.jpg
  • Dans "Controller Settings" pour le "Player 1" du menu "Option", "Steering Sensitivity" est réglé sur Normal et non pas Low.

  • Dans "Visual Settings" du menu "Options", le choix "Rival Makers" n'existe pas encore.

  • En parcourant les différents menus, certaines options sont sélectionnables alors qu'elles ne devraient pas l'être, d'autres ne le sont pas alors qu'elles devraient l'être. Ce serait trop long de toutes les citer.

  • À la fin de la création d'un profil afin de jouer sur Internet dans "Internet Challenge", un écran d'avertissement apparaît. Le mot Warning devrait être en rouge et non pas de la même couleur que le reste.

  • En voulant jouer le mode "Head 2 Head", 3 choix devraient se présenter aux joueurs dont "Single Race", "Balloon Buster" et "Chicken Race". Sur cette bêta, ces 3 sous modes ne sont pas là, on arrive directement au choix du véhicule. Ce problème se retrouve également en mode "Multiplayer", le joueur arrivera directement à la fenêtre "Multiplayer Setup" dans laquelle il manque quelques informations.

Prototype

Vanishing Point Dreamcast prototype Multiplayer Setup.jpg

Finale

Vanishing Point Dreamcast Multiplayer Setup.jpg
  • En jouant le mode "Stunt Jump" dans "Arcade", en arrivant à la fenêtre des objectifs à accomplir, la police d'écriture est plus grande, il manque du texte et le jeu propose une autre voiture à piloter. Le temps réparti est de 13 secondes au lieu de 12 et l'objectif à atteindre est de 60 mètres au lieu de 80.

GD-R Dreamcast Vanishing Point The Long Jump.jpg
Vanishing Point Dreamcast Final Stunt Driver.jpg
  • En jeu dans "Stunt Jump", le temps restant  en haut à gauche comprend des centièmes, il devrait être juste en seconde. Un autre décompte de temps, celui passé en course, devrait être présent en bas à gauche.

  • Une fois le temps écoulé dans "Stunt Jump", la fenêtre "OUT TIME" apparaît. La répartion des points à gagner n'est pas la même, 25 points pour "Time Remaining" (il devrait d'ailleurs se nommer juste "Time") au lieu de 75 par exemple, c'est inversé.

Dreamcast Vanishing Point prototype in game.jpg
Vanishing Point  Dreamcast in game.jpg

A vous de chercher d'autres subtilités notamment en jeu !

VANISHING POINT (Nov 03, 2000 prototype).jpg

Vous pouvez télécharger les build de Vanishing Point Dreamcast ci-dessous

VANISHING POINT (Nov 03, 2000 prototype)

VANISHING POINT (Nov 10, 2000 prototype).jpg

VANISHING POINT (Nov 10, 2000 prototype)

Je n'ai pas analysé en détail cette build les dates étant proches

Plus de 200 prototypes, documents, press kit ont été dumpés ou scannés, vous les retrouverez en libre téléchargement dans la rubrique "Releases de prototypes et documents"