Planet of the Apes Dreamcast crashes on an Unreleased planet.

Who does not know the first Planet of the Apes film from 1968? Granted, that was 53 years ago!

My father introduced me to this masterpiece of science fiction cinema when I was a child. Charlton Eston , the star actor, played the role of an astronaut crashing into an unknown planet ruled by evolved apes. This unknown world was nothing other than our land in the distant future where humans, from slaves, had become primitive beings. The final scene is masterful with Charlton Eston falling to his knees in front of the remains of the Statue of Liberty while lambasting humanity for destroying its own world.

Since then, the franchise has included many other films and derivative products. It was only fitting that the Planet of the Apes appeared in video games. The Fox , now bought by The Walt Disney Company , entrusted the portage of the work of the writer Pierre Boulle to the French studio Visiware founded by Laurent Weill .

The game, which was to accompany the release of the next Saga film, was based on the story of the franchise's first feature film. No scenario had yet been selected for the new film from Fox , the developers had been forced to create their own stories. The gameplay was inspired by the Tomb Raider series. Announced in 1997 for the Playstation and the Saturn , after long delays, the game will finally be released in 2001 for PC and PS1 . The Saturn and Dreamcast versions, which were originally planned, will eventually be canceled.

By playing Ulysses , a human who crashed on the Planet of the Apes , the player would have to go through fifteen levels grouped into 70 sub-levels, the game was immense. Many weapons were placed at his disposal to fight and ensure his survival. The adventure was not left aside as Ulysses had to solve a number of puzzles. During his journey, he was going to be able to converse with an impressive number of non-player characters, Visiware promised no less than 2000 lines of dialogue.

Planète des singes film, scène final.jpg
Dreamcast Planet of the Apes Cover.webp
Dreamcast prototype Planet of the Apes Dreamcast.jpg

Planet of the Apes was a multi-platform game, that is to say the same video game adapted to the technological capacities of the different consoles. It was due out for the first quarter of 2001.

For convenience, the developers worked on PC first. The PS1 and DC versions were ports, very reduced in graphics resolution for the PSOne but identical for the Dreamcast .

The port to the latest Sega console was based on WindowsCE / DirectX and not on the native OS (the fastest solution but not the most efficient). The prototype offered a fairly average refresh rate.

Planet of the Apes Dreamcast (prototype).jpg

The DC version was canceled for marketing reasons. Producer " Fox " thought the game was not going to sell.

Although Visiware made daily updates, tested immediately, Planet of Apes DC was canceled rather quickly. The best Dreamcast version was not as successful as the PC version .

The PC version was released hastily to coincide with the film's release. The PSOne port was tweaked for a few more months to match Christmas !

Planet of the Apes Dreamcast.jpg

We can assume that the stage of development of Planet of the Apes on Dreamcast had gone beyond that of a simple tech demo. Don't expect a full game, certainly just a few playable levels.

In 1989 came out on Amiga , Atari ST and Commodore 64 " Stunt Car Racer ", a cult game using 3D. For lovers of old computers, according to the words of an employee of the French studio, his prototype was worn in a super-playable way on classic Xbox !!!

Thanks to a developer for shedding light on this Unreleased game from the Dreamcast.

Planet of the Apes Dreamcast (beta).jpg

Planet of the Apes Dreamcast s'écrase sur une planète d'Unreleased.

Qui ne connaît pas le premier film de la Planète des Singes de 1968 ? Je vous l'accorde, c'était il y a 53 ans !

Mon père m'avait fait découvrir ce chef-d'oeuvre du cinéma de science-fiction quand j'étais enfant. Charlton Eston, l'acteur vedette, jouait le rôle d'un astronaute s'écrasant sur une planète inconnue dirigée par des singes évolués. Ce monde inconnu n'était rien d'autre que notre terre dans un futur lointain où les humains, des esclaves, étaient devenus des êtres primitifs. La scène finale est magistrale avec Charlton Eston tombant à genoux devant les vestiges de la statue de la liberté en fustigeant l'humanité pour avoir détruit son propre monde.

Depuis, la franchise comporte de nombreux autres films et produits dérivés. Il était tout à fait normal que la Planète des Singes fasse son apparition en jeux vidéo. La Fox, aujourd'hui rachetée par The Walt Disney Company, confia le portage de l'oeuvre de l'écrivain Pierre Boulle au studio français Visiware fondé par Laurent Weill.

Le jeu, qui devait accompagner la sortie du prochain film de la Saga, était basé sur l'histoire du premier long-métrage de la franchise. Aucun scénario n'ayant encore été retenu pour le nouveau film de la Fox, les développeurs avaient été obligé de créer leurs propres histoires. Le gameplay était inspiré de la série Tomb Raider. Annoncé en 1997 pour la Playstation et la Saturn, après de longs retards, le jeu sortira finalement en 2001 pour PC et PS1. Les versions Saturn et Dreamcast, qui était initialement prévue, seront finalement annulée.

En incarnant Ulysses, un humain qui s'écrasait sur la Planète des Singes, le joueur allait devoir parcourir quinze niveaux regroupés en 70 sous niveaux, le jeu était immense. De nombreuses armes étaient mise à sa disposition pour combattre et assurer sa survie. L'aventure n'était pas laissée de côté puisque Ulysses devait résoudre un certain nombre d'énigmes. Durant son périple, il allait pouvoir converser avec un nombre impressionnant de personnages non joueurs, Visiware promettait pas moins de 2000 lignes de dialogue.

Planète des singes film, scène final.jpg
Dreamcast Planet of the Apes Cover.webp
Dreamcast prototype Planet of the Apes Dreamcast.jpg

La Planète des Singes était un jeu multi-plateforme, c’est-à-dire un même jeux vidéo adapté aux capacités technologiques des différentes consoles. Il devait sortir pour le premier trimestre 2001.

Par commodité, les développeurs travaillaient d’abord sur PC. Les versions PS1 et DC étaient des portages, très réduits en résolution graphique pour la PSOne mais à l’identique pour la Dreamcast.

Le portage sur la dernière console de Sega se basait sur WindowsCE/DirectX et non sous l’OS natif (la solution la plus rapide mais pas la plus performante). Le prototype offrait un taux de rafraîchissement assez moyen.

Planet of the Apes Dreamcast (prototype).jpg

La version DC fut annulée pour des raisons marketing. Le producteur "Fox" pensait que le jeu n'allait pas se vendre.

Bien que Visiware effectuait des mises à jour quotidiennes, testées dans la foulée, Planet of Apes DC fut annulé assez vite. La meilleure version Dreamcast ne fut pas aussi aboutie que celle sur PC.

La version PC fut publiée hâtivement pour coïncider avec la sortie du film. Le portage PSOne fut quant à lui peaufiné durant quelques mois supplémentaires pour concorder avec Noël !

Planet of the Apes Dreamcast.jpg

Nous pouvons supposer que le stade de développement de la Planète des Singes sur Dreamcast avait dépassé celui d'une simple démo technique. Il ne faut pas s'attendre à un jeu complet, certainement juste quelques niveaux jouables.

En 1989 sortait sur Amiga, Atari ST et Commodore 64 "Stunt Car Racer", un jeu culte exploitant la 3D. Pour les amoureux de vieux ordinateurs, d'après les dires d'un employé du studio français, son prototype fut porté de manière super-jouable sur Xbox classique !!!

Merci à un développeur de faire la lumière sur ce jeu Unreleased de la Dreamcast.

Planet of the Apes Dreamcast (beta).jpg