Outtrigger E3 prototype  (to be confirmed)

Outtrigger  is a first and third shooter video game  person developed by Sega-AM2 dedicated to arcade machines and the Dreamcast console. The game was released in 1999 in arcades then has  was ported to Dreamcast in 2001.

As a member of an international counterterrorism force, you will travel the world to eliminate its enemies. There are four selectable characters, each specializing in specific weapons (laser pulse rifles, sniper rifles, etc.). There is an edit mode where you can mix and match different weapons from other characters to customize your own fighter.

 

Characters can only carry three different weapons: a shooting weapon, an artillery-type explosive weapon, and grenades. During your frenzied games, you can collect interesting bonuses; these include thermography which  allows you to see through walls, a plasma cannon that shoots an energy ball that bounces off walls, and a power-up icon that temporarily increases the damage you deal. All of these items and weapons are extremely useful, especially with the maze-like design of the levels.

The peculiarities of the prototype:

There is no information on the GD-R or in the files to tell who this demo was intended for. While searching on Youtube, I came across a video from E3 in which we see a prototype of Outtrigger playing out. After comparison, it must be the same build. It's funny to be able to put a vintage, vintage video on a recently found beta.

Original E3 footage

  • The ip bin corresponds to that of F355 Ferrari . I had never been confronted with this specificity before.

  • Since this is a demo, the gameplay is very limited. The presentation logos of studio AM2 , SEGANET , Mpeg Sofdec (video format) and ADX (sound format) are not displayed. The Sega logo should be on a black background. We go directly to the title screen where  the game information below the " PRESS START " is not entered.

  • By letting the game run on the title screen, no cutscene is launched.

  • After pressing START , we go directly to the choice of characters. We can notice that the loading with the target is missing.

  • The character selection screen is  different from the one we know. It is impossible to write his name.

  • There is no pause menu.

  • the scoring in point " 0000000 " should be present under the bar  at the top of the screen

  • The levels, at least the first, have differences in their  designs. All maps should be analyzed in detail.

Outtrigger dreamcast.jpg
Outtrigger Dreamcast prototype.jpg
Outtrigger prototype dreamcast sega copyright.jpg
Outtrigger Dreamcast GD-R title menu.jpg
Outtrigger beta dreamcast carachter menu.jpg

Outtrigger E3 prototype  (to be confirmed)

Outtrigger  est un jeu vidéo de tir à la première et troisième  personne développé par Sega-AM2 dédié aux bornes d'arcade et à la console Dreamcast. Le jeu est sorti en 1999 en salles d'arcade puis a  été porté sur Dreamcast en 2001.

En tant que membre d'une force antiterroriste internationale, vous voyagerez à travers le monde pour éliminer ses ennemis. Il y a quatre personnages sélectionnables, chacun spécialisé dans des armes spécifiques (des fusils à impulsion laser, des fusils de sniper, etc.). Il existe un mode d'édition où vous pouvez mélanger et assortir différentes armes d'autres personnages pour personnaliser votre propre combattant.

 

Les personnages ne peuvent porter que trois armes différentes : une arme de tir, une arme explosive de type artillerie et des grenades. Durant vos parties endiablées, vous pourrez récupérer des bonus intéressants ; ceux-ci incluent la thermographie qui  permet de voir à travers les murs, un canon à plasma qui tire une boule d'énergie qui rebondit sur les murs, et une icône de mise sous tension qui augmente temporairement les dégâts que vous infligez. Tous ces objets et armes sont extrêmement utiles, en particulier avec la conception en forme de labyrinthe des niveaux.

Les particularités du prototype :

Aucune information sur le GD-R ou dans les fichiers ne permet de savoir à qui cette démo était destinée. En cherchant sur Youtube, je suis tombé sur une vidéo de l'E3 dans laquelle nous voyons un prototype d'Outtrigger se jouer. Après comparaison, il doit s'agir de la même build. Il est marrant de pouvoir mettre une vidéo vintage, d'époque, sur une beta retrouvée dernièrement.

Original E3 footage

  • L'ip bin correspond à celle de F355 Ferrari. Je n'avais jamais été confronté à cette spécificité auparavant.

  • Comme il s'agit d'une démo, le gameplay est très limité. Les logos de présentation du studio AM2, de SEGANET, de Mpeg Sofdec (format vidéo) et ADX (format son) ne sont pas affichés. Le logo Sega devrait quand à lui être sur un fond noir. On arrive directement à l'écran titre où  les informations du jeu en dessous du "PRESS START" ne sont pas inscrites.

  • En laissant le jeu tourner à l'écran titre, aucune cinématique ne se lance.

  • Après avoir appuyé sur START, nous arrivons directement sur le choix des personnages. On pourra remarquer qu'il manque le loading avec la cible.

  • L'écran de sélection des personnages est  différent de celui que nous connaissons. Il est impossible d'écrire son nom.

  • Il n'y a pas de menu pause.

  • le scoring en point "0000000" devrait être présent sous la barre  au sommet de l'écran

  • Les niveaux, du moins le premier, comportent des différences dans leurs  conceptions. Il faudrait analyser en détail toutes les maps.

Vous pouvez le télécharger ci-dessous :

Outtrigger E3 prototype (to be confirmed)

Outtrigger dreamcast.jpg
Outtrigger Dreamcast prototype.jpg
Outtrigger prototype dreamcast sega copyright.jpg
Outtrigger Dreamcast GD-R title menu.jpg
Outtrigger beta dreamcast carachter menu.jpg