Deer Hunter, the hunt was to begin on Dreamcast!

With  700,000 copies of the game sold in the United States , Deer Hunter on PC had been a real success. No one suspected that a hunting simulation, simplistic in its approach, could create such a craze for the loan of players. Deer Hunter had become a phenomenon that animal welfare associations could no longer stop.

Seeing hunting, a controversial activity, being available for the first time in video games was fun. At least we could indulge in this hobby, warm behind our screens, in  telling us "I do not mistreat any animal, it is only virtual"!

The Top 20 Us PCs of 1998  is indicative of the tidal wave of DH . The sim-hunting ranked second in sales just behind Starcraft . A new concept was born, other publishers were soon to follow in its footsteps.

The software was then adapted for Playstation and many extensions will emerge. WizardWorks had found its goose that laid the golden eggs!

On current consoles, the title, with its sequels, still attracts hunters from around the world.

Its principle: choose a character and go hunting for deer, bear etc. in several regions available. The animal is tracked down by locating its excrement or traces of its passage before killing it, equipping it with a sniper rifle or other weapon. We must feed the small family!

We can blame the developers for not having pushed realism to the maximum by allowing players to take a friendly virtual break and cool off by drinking a bottle of wine, hunting is also that !!!

What we didn't know was that  deer stalking season was ready to begin on the Dreamcast. Following Sega's decision to withdraw from the industry as a manufacturer, the game was canceled.

He was playable. There were still many  months to finish it.

Deer Hunter was at 50% of his development.

In 2017, a surprising discovery aroused astonishment. Someone had found a Dreamcast prototype version of Deer Avengers 3 , the game parodying Deer Hunter . As of now, her ISO has not been released, she may never be. No regrets since this Dreamcast mount looks like a technical demo without much interest. We can see it working on video.

Like what Deer Hunter and its parody Deer Avenger wanted to make a place of choice on the last console of Sega . Ironically, both were canceled. Decidedly, one followed the other!

A list of Unreleased from the Dreamcast had been established by referring to the presentations of the games in specialized magazines. No one had thought, until now, of those that were never announced. The recent discoveries of Stampede , The Smurfs and Ring: The Legend of the Nibelungen confirm that plenty of unsuspected Unreleased must exist!

deer hunter cover avant.png
Deer Hunter Dreamcast (Hunter parody).jpg
Deer Hunter Dreamcast pc article.jpg
Dear Avenger dreamcast beta
Deer Avenger main title.jpg

As hopes of finding new Unreleased Dreamcasts waned year after year, when we thought we had unearthed the 70% of canceled games from DC, we now know that we will have to reckon with the unknown spiral console titles!

When I learned of Deer Hunter's existence on Dreamcast, I laughed to myself. I didn't expect this game to be in development on the white queen. We must be able to play it !!!

Deer Hunter, la chasse devait débuter sur Dreamcast !

Avec  700 000 copies du jeu vendues aux États-Unis, Deer Hunter sur PC avait été un véritable succès. Personne ne se doutait qu'une simulation de chasse, simpliste dans son approche, puisse créer un tel engouement au prêt des joueurs. Deer Hunter était devenu un phénomène que les associations de protections des animaux ne pouvaient plus arrêter.

Voir la chasse, une activité sujette à polémique, être déclinée pour la première fois en jeu vidéo était amusante. Au moins nous pouvions nous adonner à ce loisir, au chaud derrière nos écrans, en  nous disant "Je ne maltraite aucun animal, ce n'est que virtuel" !

Le top 20 Us PC de 1998  est révélateur du raz-de-marée de DH. Le sim-chasse se classait deuxième des ventes juste derrière Starcraft. Un nouveau concept était né, d'autres éditeurs n'allaient pas tarder à suivre ses traces.

Le soft a été ensuite adapté sur Playstation et de nombreuses extensions verront le jour. WizardWorks avait trouvé sa poule aux oeufs d'or !

Sur les consoles actuelles, le titre, avec ses suites, attire toujours les chasseurs du monde entier.

Son principe : choisir un personnage et partir à la chasse aux cerfs, à l'ours etc. dans plusieurs régions disponibles. On traque l'animal en repérant ses excréments ou des traces de son passage avant de le tuer équiper d'un fusil à lunettes ou d'une autre arme. Il faut bien nourrir la petite famille !

On peut reprocher aux développeurs de n'avoir pas poussé le réalisme au maximum en permettant aux joueurs de faire une pause virtuelle conviviale et se rafraîchir en buvant une bouteille de vin, la chasse c'est aussi ça!!!

Ce que nous ne savions pas, c'est que  la saison de la traque au daim était prête à commencer sur la Dreamcast. Suite à la décision de Sega de se retirer du secteur en tant que constructeur, le jeu fut annulé.

Il était jouable. Il restait encore de nombreux  mois pour le finir.

Deer Hunter était rendu à 50 % de son développement.

En 2017, une découverte surprenante avait suscité l'étonnement. Quelqu'un avait trouvé une version prototype Dreamcast de Deer Avengers 3, le jeu parodiant Deer Hunter. À l'heure actuelle, son ISO n'a pas été libéré, elle ne le sera peut-être jamais. Sans regret puisque cette monture Dreamcast s'apparente à une démo technique sans grand intérêt. On peut la voir fonctionner en vidéo.

Comme quoi Deer Hunter et sa parodie Deer Avenger voulaient se faire une place de choix sur la dernière console de Sega. Combles de l'ironie, les deux furent annulés. Décidément, l'un suivait l'autre !

Une liste des Unreleased de la Dreamcast avait été établie en se référant aux présentations des jeux dans les magazines spécialisés. Personne n'avait pensé, jusqu'à présent, à ceux qui n'ont jamais été annoncés. Les récentes découvertes de Stampede, des Schtroumpfs et de Ring : The Legend of the Nibelungen confirme que pleins d'Unreleased insoupçonnés doivent exister !

deer hunter cover avant.png
Deer Hunter Dreamcast (Hunter parody).jpg
Deer Hunter Dreamcast pc article.jpg
Dear Avenger dreamcast beta
Deer Avenger main title.jpg

Alors que l'espoir de trouver de nouveaux Unreleased Dreamcast diminuait année après année, alors que nous pensions avoir déterré le 70 % des jeux annulé de la DC, nous savons dorénavant qu'il faudra compter avec les titres inconnus de la console à spirale !

En apprenant l'existence de Deer Hunter sur Dreamcast, j'ai rigolé intérieurement. Je ne m'attendais pas à ce que ce jeu soit en développement sur la dame blanche. Il faut qu'on puisse y jouer !!!